Health Type 1 diabetes & Type 2 diabetes

stimix
post Jun 27 2013, 10:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well probably by now the western trained doctors now have to agree that diabetes can be cured...hmnnnn
rjb123
post Jun 28 2013, 12:33 AM

1,820 posts

Type 2 can be cured (reversed - by diet + excersize) , as I know there is no cure for Type 1 yet (properly diagnosed Type 1 at least)

samurai, how high was your mmo//l on diagnosis?

This post has been edited by rjb123: Jun 28 2013, 12:33 AM
samuraikacang
post Jun 28 2013, 09:39 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 28 2013, 12:33 AM)
Type 2 can be cured (reversed - by diet + excersize) , as I know there is no cure for Type 1 yet (properly diagnosed Type 1 at least)

the meter at the clinic display error for too high blood sugar and hospital was around 25 - 30 mmol if i can remember correctly.
rjb123
post Jun 28 2013, 04:48 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 28 2013, 09:39 AM)
the meter at the clinic display error for too high blood sugar and hospital was around 25 - 30 mmol if i can remember correctly.
Similar to my case - meter just read "HI" , blood measured at 38 mmol/l yawn.gif
samuraikacang
post Jun 28 2013, 05:16 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 28 2013, 04:48 PM)
Similar to my case - meter just read "HI" , blood measured at 38 mmol/l  yawn.gif
I was obese and taking carbonated water and kopi susu like plain water
rjb123
post Jun 28 2013, 10:02 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 28 2013, 05:16 PM)
I was obese and taking carbonated water and kopi susu like plain water
My weight was fine (185cm, 75kg around) but damn thirsty + peeing a lot, so was drinking quite a few fruit juices / soft drinks also ... not knowing I was diabetic of course , if I had that many carbs now god knows how high my BG would go cry.gif
rjb123
post Jun 29 2013, 01:46 AM

1,820 posts

Looks like my first CGMS sensor has given up it's ghost - guaranteed for 7 days but some users reported getting up to 21 days out of one.

Got 10 days out of it and since around 10PM no readings, looks like a new one needs to go in tomorrow morning sad.gif
samuraikacang
post Jun 30 2013, 09:39 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 28 2013, 10:02 PM)
My weight was fine (185cm, 75kg around) but damn thirsty + peeing a lot, so was drinking quite a few fruit juices / soft drinks also ... not knowing I was diabetic of course , if I had that many carbs now god knows how high my BG would go  cry.gif
yeah same with me

i feel lethargic and drinking sweet drink makes me feel better. never thought it was diabetes symptom.
ExpZero
post Jul 1 2013, 11:11 AM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 30 2013, 09:39 PM)
yeah same with me

i feel lethargic and drinking sweet drink makes me feel better. never thought it was diabetes symptom.
shit....by looking at your post...I'm worry now...

Within half a year I have gain about 5-10kg, I drink a lot of sweet drink and carbohydrate to make me feel better this half year...
samuraikacang
post Jul 1 2013, 11:32 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Jul 1 2013, 11:11 AM)
shit....by looking at your post...I'm worry now...

Within half a year I have gain about 5-10kg, I drink a lot of sweet drink and carbohydrate to make me feel better this half year...
just go to a clinic. make a quick blood glucose test. if you take lunch at 1 pm go to a clinic 2 hour after that.
ExpZero
post Jul 1 2013, 12:20 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jul 1 2013, 11:32 AM)
just go to a clinic. make a quick blood glucose test. if you take lunch at 1 pm go to a clinic 2 hour after that.
Random glucose test accurate?

Any suggestion to prevent it to happen? Stop all sugar drink? I'm scare now ohmy.gif
samuraikacang
post Jul 1 2013, 12:25 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Jul 1 2013, 12:20 PM)
Random glucose test accurate?

Any suggestion to prevent it to happen? Stop all sugar drink? I'm scare now ohmy.gif
random glucose will be accurate to know whether you have high sugar now.

reduce sugar intake if you can but still you have to check with doctor.

don't procrastinate since any glucose level above 33 mmol can result in diabetic coma
rjb123
post Jul 1 2013, 11:46 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 30 2013, 09:39 PM)
yeah same with me

Sweet drink didn't make me feel better , just didn't know I was diabetic so was drinking all sorts including many sweet drinks to keep hydrated.

I kind of diagnosed myself online and thought I might be diabetic, the doctor thought I was wrong and didn't want to test for it until I suggested.

She thought I'd been on drugs as my pupils weren't reacting to change of light (ie large pupils even when shining torch) blink.gif
samuraikacang
post Jul 2 2013, 10:13 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jul 1 2013, 11:46 PM)
Sweet drink didn't make me feel better , just didn't know I was diabetic so was drinking all sorts including many sweet drinks to keep hydrated.

I kind of diagnosed myself online and thought I might be diabetic, the doctor thought I was wrong and didn't want to test for it until I suggested.

She thought I'd been on drugs as my pupils weren't reacting to change of light (ie large pupils even when shining torch) blink.gif
probably old school GP who doesn't listen to patient suggestion.
60t5
post Jul 4 2013, 09:29 PM

97 posts

well to diagnose it is easier these days.
do a 10 -12 hours fasting sugar test, and the range should be 4-5.6mmol/L
and do another one 2 hours right after your usual meal and that should not be more than 8.8mmol/L

60t5
post Jul 4 2013, 09:30 PM

97 posts

other than that, u could probably do a HbA1C test every 3-6 months to get the average blood sugar for the past 90 days.

rjb123
post Jul 7 2013, 01:10 AM

1,820 posts

Been nearly 3 weeks using CGMS so far - really think it helps me -, although my overnight patterns still seem to be a bit dodgy - think I need to try some days of eating exactly the same thing / routine to get things into check.

Sometimes the high BG alert can be annoying an hour or so after a meal as that's expected , but waking me up at night when sugar is low/dropping has definitely come in useful!

So overall happy, but at RM300 a week just for the sensors, it's expensive sad.gif
whuffy_aniki
post Jul 8 2013, 04:56 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Jun 28 2013, 12:33 AM)

i was reading 1 article back in 2010,they said western doctor`s are working on artificial panchreas for diabetic patient type 1,as they said normally type 1 patients problem is jez their pancreas stop working,thats why they`re using insulin pen to control the sugar within the body..

and btw,back in 2008.i get the symptom,frequently pee,until 2009,i peed every 30 minutes,very hard to go long distance places,n i get perfect ending by diabetic comma n admitted in hospital while i was in kuching in disember 2009 biggrin.gif
samuraikacang
post Aug 23 2013, 02:20 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

Had my tri monthly blood profile.

HB1AC at 5.4
Total Cholesterol 4.7
HDL 2.0
LDL 2.5
Triglycerides 0.4
Cholesterol/HDL Ratio 2.4
Fasting Glucose 4.8
stimix
post Aug 25 2013, 12:31 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Aug 23 2013, 02:20 PM)
Had my tri monthly blood profile.

HB1AC at 5.4
Total Cholesterol 4.7
HDL 2.0
LDL 2.5
Triglycerides 0.4
Cholesterol/HDL Ratio 2.4
Fasting Glucose 4.8
Wah your sugar level really damn good for the so called ex- diabetic biggrin.gif For record here's mine done in May this Year...U mean you do 3 times monthly ..walao eh.. shocking.gif

HB1AC at 7.2%
Total Cholesterol 4.6
HDL 1.17
LDL 2.96
Triglycerides 1.03
Cholesterol/HDL Ratio 3.9
Fasting Glucose 7.4

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0160sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:35 PM