1,337 posts

go and eat lady finger (bendi)
samuraikacang
post Aug 25 2013, 08:55 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 25 2013, 12:31 PM)
Wah your sugar level really damn good for the so called ex- diabetic  biggrin.gif  For record here's mine done in May this Year...U mean you do 3 times monthly ..walao eh.. shocking.gif

HB1AC at 7.2%
Total Cholesterol 4.6
HDL 1.17
LDL 2.96
Triglycerides 1.03
Cholesterol/HDL Ratio 3.9
Fasting Glucose 7.4
and best thing is that I dont really follow strict diet of mine.

now can eat durian without feeling guilty or drink starbucks or ais kacang but I always exercise now.

yeah i do every 3 month since the company policy cover it.
samuraikacang
post Nov 8 2013, 03:35 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

My latest blood test

HB1AC at 5.3%
Total Cholesterol 4.3
HDL 2.0
LDL 2.1
Triglycerides 0.4
Cholesterol/HDL Ratio 2.2
Fasting Glucose 4.3

my haemoglobin and red blood cell has since touch normal compare to previous result since i started taking iron supplement. side effect of not taking that much of red meat.
stimix
post Nov 8 2013, 09:59 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

whoa.. that's super low...almost hypo everyday...Sure u stable throughtout the day?
samuraikacang
post Nov 9 2013, 10:27 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 8 2013, 09:59 PM)
whoa.. that's super low...almost hypo everyday...Sure u stable throughtout the day?
yeah quite stable since I exercise everyday. no issue with hypoglycemia. energetic throughout the day.
Mr7077
post Nov 9 2013, 11:07 AM

ARsenALEternaL
1,684 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Nov 8 2013, 03:35 PM)
My latest blood test

HB1AC at 5.3%
Total Cholesterol 4.3
HDL 2.0
LDL 2.1
Triglycerides 0.4
Cholesterol/HDL Ratio 2.2
Fasting Glucose 4.3

my haemoglobin and red blood cell has since touch normal compare to previous result since i started taking iron supplement. side effect of not taking that much of red meat.
rclxms.gif very good man !! keep it up !!...I m also taking less animal product...encourage ur friends to eat a healthy diet and exercise....Msians are extremely overweight icon_question.gif ...focus on reducing body fat and visceral fat....there are some scales that can measure that...
samuraikacang
post Nov 9 2013, 11:11 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(Mr7077 @ Nov 9 2013, 11:07 AM)
rclxms.gif very good man !! keep it up !!...I m also taking less animal product...encourage ur friends to eat a healthy diet and exercise....Msians are extremely overweight icon_question.gif ...focus on reducing body fat and visceral fat....there are some scales that can measure that...
if diabetic patient can reduce visceral fat, they can actually reverse their diabetic condition especially true for type 2 like myself. type 1 definitely depend on medication and whatever hopes and research they are doing now on pancreas transplant and genetic modification.
samuraikacang
post Mar 10 2014, 10:32 AM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

A while since this thread got update but anyhow I would like to share my latest blood test report

HB1AC at 5.1%
Total Cholesterol 4.3
HDL 1.7
LDL 2.4
Triglycerides 0.5
Cholesterol/HDL Ratio 2.5
Fasting Glucose 4.1

This post has been edited by samuraikacang: Mar 10 2014, 10:32 AM
stimix
post Aug 25 2014, 11:26 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hmnn.. Got a shock this Morning while replenishing my insuling from nearby Govt clinic.

They have changed the supplier.. Previously Novo - Insulatard (Basal- night) & Actrapid (daytime) to Sanofi- Insuman Basal & Insuman rapid...same dosage..

Now looking for more info.. & indeed not easy to get
samuraikacang
post Aug 25 2014, 01:22 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 25 2014, 11:26 AM)
Hmnn.. Got a shock this Morning while replenishing my insuling from nearby Govt clinic.

They have changed the supplier.. Previously Novo - Insulatard (Basal- night) & Actrapid (daytime) to Sanofi- Insuman Basal & Insuman rapid...same dosage..

Now looking for more info.. & indeed not easy to get
Kinda weird since Government hospital has been using Novo Nordisk Insulin since 90's
stimix
post Aug 25 2014, 01:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Aug 25 2014, 01:22 PM)
Kinda weird since Government hospital has been using Novo Nordisk Insulin since 90's
Yeah.. Entirely new Basal & Rapid insulin.. Not much info except in sanofi websites & those brochures from those drugs info sites sad.gif ..No forum discussion found on this Ïnsuman" Seems like 1 step lower than the high end sanofi-Lantus
samuraikacang
post Aug 25 2014, 01:39 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 25 2014, 01:26 PM)
Yeah.. Entirely new Basal & Rapid insulin.. Not much info except in sanofi websites & those brochures from those drugs info sites  sad.gif ..No forum discussion found on this Ïnsuman" Seems like 1 step lower than the high end sanofi-Lantus
Insuman and Insulatard/Atrapid should be on par since both have the Isophane ingredient making them human insulin which is cheaper i guess than analogue insulin.

Lantus is analogue insulin which is more expensive(?) and on par with Novo nordisk Novorapid, Levemir and government hospital don't carry them. I guess we can only get cheap insulin at government hospital.
stimix
post Aug 25 2014, 01:48 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Aug 25 2014, 01:39 PM)
Insuman and Insulatard/Atrapid should be on par since both have the Isophane ingredient making them human insulin which is cheaper i guess than analogue insulin.

Lantus is analogue insulin which is more expensive(?) and on par with Novo nordisk Novorapid, Levemir and government hospital don't carry them. I guess we can only get cheap insulin at government hospital.
Haha. Probably novo also increase their price that resulted in the sudden switch. Nevertheless almost free drugs from govt.. and since it's works on me should complain much. I will only be using the new insulin in 1.5 mth time bcos still having old stocks of novo smile.gif
Better Life
post Aug 27 2014, 05:35 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Jun 27 2013, 04:45 PM)
Meal plan

July 2012 until September 2012
Change all rice diet to bread gardenia breakthru and oats
add more vege
protein intake minimal

September 2012 until now
no carbo intake thru grain
vegetables, 5 types, fruits and salmon fish 200g daily, olive oil too breakfast and lunch, dinner usually drinks milk or glucerna or fruits
Your story is very inspiring notworthy.gif

I've also read of cases in the West where diabetes type 2 can be reversed thru diet and exercise.

Mind sharing what types of vegetables and fruits do you take and in what amount?

Regarding the oats that u took earlier, is it instant, quick cook or rolled? And is the milk you drink low fat?

A sample menu will be helpful.
samuraikacang
post Aug 27 2014, 07:59 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(Better Life @ Aug 27 2014, 05:35 PM)
Your story is very inspiring  notworthy.gif

I've also read of cases in the West where diabetes type 2 can be reversed thru diet and exercise.

Mind sharing what types of vegetables and fruits do you take and in what amount?

Regarding the oats that u took earlier, is it instant, quick cook or rolled? And is the milk you drink low fat?

A sample menu will be helpful.
Romaine Lettuce 6 Leaves X 2 meals
Yellow capsicum 1 handful chopped X 2 meals
Brocolli 1 handful X 2 meals
Cherry Tomato 6 X 2 meals
Cucumber 10 slices X 2 meals
Button Mushroom 2 medium size X 2 meals
Salmon 55g X 2 meals

2 meals for breakfast and lunch

I eat 2 boiled eggs and 1 cup of chick peas with extra virgin olive oil as dressing

rolled oat preferably and fresh milk since fat or not fat doesn't affect me much.
Better Life
post Aug 28 2014, 03:00 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(samuraikacang @ Aug 27 2014, 07:59 PM)
Romaine Lettuce 6 Leaves X 2 meals
Yellow capsicum 1 handful chopped X 2 meals
Brocolli 1 handful X 2 meals
Cherry Tomato 6 X 2 meals
Cucumber 10 slices X 2 meals
Button Mushroom 2 medium size X 2 meals
Salmon 55g X 2 meals
2 meals for breakfast and lunch

I eat 2 boiled eggs and 1 cup of chick peas with extra virgin olive oil as dressing

rolled oat preferably and fresh milk since fat or not fat doesn't affect me much.
I see. Thanks for the info. So the menu is the same every day?

May I know what fruits do you take and in what amount?

Personally I'm wary of fruits since some like bananas and mangoes are high in carbs and sugars. Occasionally I take an apple or a guava, and am toying with trying out grapefruit.

I'm not a diabetic but several 6 months ago, a blood test showed my blood sugar (HB1AC and fasting) is right at the border between "normal" and "pre-diabetic". Since then, with diet changes (cut down on white rice by 50% and replace it with veggies, and avoid all desserts and sweet drinks and most fruits) and moderate exercise, fasting is 4.8-5.4 range and 2 hours post-meal is 4.7-6.4 (with one exception of one carb-heavy meal of vietnamese rice paper rolls, fish bites fried in thick batter and mee goreng sotong which spiked it to 7.2 for several hours).

My doctor said my blood sugar is "normal" and fluctuations do occur, but personally I'm not so sure hmm.gif
samuraikacang
post Aug 28 2014, 12:16 PM

You tak suka You Keluar
710 posts

QUOTE(Better Life @ Aug 28 2014, 03:00 AM)
I see. Thanks for the info. So the menu is the same every day?

May I know what fruits do you take and in what amount?

Personally I'm wary of fruits since some like bananas and mangoes are high in carbs and sugars. Occasionally I take an apple or a guava, and am toying with trying out grapefruit.

I'm not a diabetic but several 6 months ago, a blood test showed my blood sugar (HB1AC and fasting) is right at the border between "normal" and "pre-diabetic". Since then, with diet changes (cut down on white rice by 50% and replace it with veggies, and avoid all desserts and sweet drinks and most fruits) and moderate exercise, fasting is 4.8-5.4 range and 2 hours post-meal is 4.7-6.4 (with one exception of one carb-heavy meal of vietnamese rice paper rolls, fish bites fried in thick batter and mee goreng sotong which spiked it to 7.2 for several hours).

My doctor said my blood sugar is "normal" and fluctuations do occur, but personally I'm not so sure  hmm.gif
I usually take kiwi fruit, apple and bananas. Yeah I know bananas is considered bad fruit for diabetes but since I exercise daily and frequent, eating bananas doesn't affect my blood sugar. Kiwi is a good fruit and it has lower Glycaemic Index but it is expensive so a bit of luxury in eating them.

I've been eating the same thing for the last two years and it works for me. I can't guarantee it will work for others. I do sometimes eat other than my usual diet but I don't binge. Just eat them to satisfy the taste bud.
SUSTham
post Sep 1 2014, 10:19 AM

1,576 posts

A molecular connection of Pterocarpus marsupium, Eugenia jambolana and
Gymnema sylvestre with dipeptidyl peptidase-4 in the treatment of diabetes.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/24074231

Alzheimer's has been called ''Type 3 Diabetes''.

Dipeptidyl peptidase-4 inhibition by Pterocarpus marsupium and
Eugenia jambolana ameliorates streptozotocin induced Alzheimer's disease.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/24667360

Antidiabetic and antiulcer effects of extract of Eugenia jambolana seed in
mild diabetic rats: study on gastric mucosal offensive acid-pepsin secretion.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/20112817

Natural Remedies for Diabetes.

http://www.healthkhazana.com/natural-remedies-diabetes/

Health Benefits of Eugenia Jambolana.

http://www.healthbenefitstimes.com/health-...enia-jambolana/

A pharmacological appraisal of medicinal plants with antidiabetic potential.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3283954/

Indian herbs and herbal drugs used for the treatment of diabetes.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2275761/

Traditional Indian Medicines Used for the Management of Diabetes Mellitus

http://www.hindawi.com/journals/jdr/2013/712092/

ngaisteve1
post Sep 2 2014, 10:43 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

In short, I would say that aim for low Glycemic Index (GI) food.

The glycemic index, or GI, measures how a carbohydrate-containing food raises blood glucose. Foods are ranked based on how they compare to a reference food — either glucose or white bread.

A food with a high GI raises blood glucose more than a food with a medium or low GI.

Meal planning with the GI involves choosing foods that have a low or medium GI. If eating a food with a high GI, you can combine it with low GI foods to help balance the meal.

Examples of carbohydrate-containing foods with a low GI include dried beans and legumes (like kidney beans and lentils), all non-starchy vegetables, some starchy vegetables like sweet potatoes, most fruit, and many whole grain breads and cereals (like barley, whole wheat bread, rye bread, and all-bran cereal).

Meats and fats don’t have a GI because they do not contain carbohydrate.

Below are examples of foods based on their GI.

Low GI Foods (55 or less):

- 100% stone-ground whole wheat or pumpernickel bread
- Oatmeal (rolled or steel-cut), oat bran, muesli
- Pasta, converted rice, barley, bulgar
- Sweet potato, corn, yam, lima/butter beans, peas, legumes and lentils
- Most fruits, non-starchy vegetables and carrots

Medium GI (56-69):

- Whole wheat, rye and pita bread
- Quick oats
- Brown, wild or basmati rice, couscous

High GI (70 or more):

- White bread or bagel
- Corn flakes, puffed rice, bran flakes, instant oatmeal
- Shortgrain white rice, rice pasta, macaroni and cheese from mix
- Russet potato, pumpkin
- Pretzels, rice cakes, popcorn, saltine crackers
- melons and pineapple

For more info: http://www.diabetes.org/food-and-fitness/f...h.zIxPCUyT.dpuf

SUStlts
post Sep 3 2014, 06:51 AM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

hi.would like to ask....can we use a novafine needle thats written 4/2014 (not sure is manufacturing date or expire date)
do needle got expired?or still safe to use?

just come back from clinic....docter advice can use but only ONCE them discard it (just to share icon_rolleyes.gif )

This post has been edited by tlts: Sep 3 2014, 01:39 PM

14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0256sec    1.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:10 AM