Proud owner of HD681 Evo.
Pro: The sound is superb. Bass is strong.
Cons: Sound leakage. Comfort.
Headphones Superlux club V2, updated 19/5/13 with pad seller
Sep 29 2015, 10:46 AM
151 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Proud owner of HD681 Evo.
Pro: The sound is superb. Bass is strong. Cons: Sound leakage. Comfort. |
Oct 10 2015, 06:59 AM
171 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Im interested in the HD681 evo.
I owned a superlux hd661 but it is not comfortable at all. too tight Here i wanna ask does the HD681 evo easily make your ear sweating? |
Oct 18 2015, 09:18 PM
64 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(kietto @ Oct 10 2015, 06:59 AM) Im interested in the HD681 evo. I bought 681 evo a week ago, it not comfortable also, pads quite hard.I owned a superlux hd661 but it is not comfortable at all. too tight Here i wanna ask does the HD681 evo easily make your ear sweating? But 681 evo come with velour pads, this is cooler than pleather, but still hard, not sure is there is any 3rd party pads that really soft. |
Oct 19 2015, 12:19 AM
314 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Oct 19 2015, 12:21 AM
314 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(kietto @ Oct 10 2015, 06:59 AM) Im interested in the HD681 evo. Yes sweat a lot until the inside got your sweat if u open it up. Like a dried up salt water. More like sweat vapour...I owned a superlux hd661 but it is not comfortable at all. too tight Here i wanna ask does the HD681 evo easily make your ear sweating? |
Dec 9 2015, 05:39 PM
1,570 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Hi guys,
I bought a 668b after few hours in Star Pickers, rotating between 668b, 681evo and my (broken, plastic headband) existing can. I heard wider soundstage from 668b. 681evo has boosted bass and great for fun listening. Between the 2, 668b is closer to my current target, Hifiman400s, so I went with them. The padding is terrible on 668b though. |
Dec 19 2015, 03:17 AM
34 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
anybody got hd 685? care to share thoughts
Mar 22 2016, 07:25 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
809 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Mar 22 2016, 08:05 PM
Short review of upgraded cable for Superlux
![]() Superlux is a Taiwan company which produces a lot of high CP ratio entry level headphones, especially HD681 evo. Its price range is only around RM100+, and comes with detachable cable. It is a very competitive product but I do think it can sound better. Currently the treble is a little bit dark. It has enough quantity of bass but slightly lack of details. Sound stage is very wide but the depth and height are not very clear. So, I tried to play around with it and found out that STOCK CABLE caused the bottle neck !!! ![]() After changing to "Uranus HP-SPOFC Teflon cable", the sound stage become very spacious. You can feel the depth and height of the space now. Treble is sparkling but not aggressive. Bass is tighter, clearer and more punchy. ![]() I have another "Uranus HP-OFC Copper cable". The sound stage is not as wide as the Teflon one, but still much better than the stock cable. The strength of this OFC cable is the ambience of mids and bass. It is warm and thick, but clearer and more transparent than stock cable. You can feel that the singer is singing beside your ears. Sound signature is natural and comfortable for long time listening. |
Mar 24 2016, 11:10 AM
208 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Sand Grow |
QUOTE(biggerman88 @ Mar 27 2015, 01:22 PM) Own a few superlux HD681.. but this thing make my ear sweat like crazy (im a big guy, with huge head). But still, for the price - AMAZING sound and semi open design is great.. if compared to 681-evo , which one is gooding in bass? im a basshunter1 - I open the padding and found that the filter was too thin thin for my liking, so i cut out some cloth and lay it on the inside of the filter. This took out a few treble that i don't really like. Of course this is mostly preferential. 2 - I think the sponge on the padding is ok, but the pleather surface itself is quite hard, so had the genius idea of flipping it inside out i was absolutely amazed by the result. The inside surface of HD681 was softer, and helps a lot with the sweating. Somehow it felt nicer too (on my ear at least) Anyway. Just wanted to share just in case anyone else has same issue. [attachmentid=4388748] [attachmentid=4388752] |
Apr 1 2016, 02:36 PM
Apr 26 2016, 12:30 PM
85 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(liquidgal @ Mar 22 2016, 08:05 PM) Short review of upgraded cable for Superlux How much for teflon set? I think it's time to come back to evo, been missing the soundstage ![]() Superlux is a Taiwan company which produces a lot of high CP ratio entry level headphones, especially HD681 evo. Its price range is only around RM100+, and comes with detachable cable. It is a very competitive product but I do think it can sound better. Currently the treble is a little bit dark. It has enough quantity of bass but slightly lack of details. Sound stage is very wide but the depth and height are not very clear. So, I tried to play around with it and found out that STOCK CABLE caused the bottle neck !!! ![]() After changing to "Uranus HP-SPOFC Teflon cable", the sound stage become very spacious. You can feel the depth and height of the space now. Treble is sparkling but not aggressive. Bass is tighter, clearer and more punchy. ![]() I have another "Uranus HP-OFC Copper cable". The sound stage is not as wide as the Teflon one, but still much better than the stock cable. The strength of this OFC cable is the ambience of mids and bass. It is warm and thick, but clearer and more transparent than stock cable. You can feel that the singer is singing beside your ears. Sound signature is natural and comfortable for long time listening. |
Jul 14 2016, 04:52 PM
333 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Johor |
Hello .. recently buy my first superlux headphone HD681EVO .. i'm really noob in audiophile .. few days listening to this headphone via pc n iphone 6 .. my question is :
1) is this fon sound really slow?? .. i have to set volume to 100% at my pc n iphone when using this fon .. b4 this even 20% is more than enough using other speaker and earfon .. 2) i read b4 about burn in new headfon to increase sound quality .. what is the actual way to do the burn in?? will the burn in increase sound level too?? 3) any sifu here can suggest any amp or other accessories than i can buy to get better sound .. budget below 200 can?? hope somebody can shed some light in this matter .. tq for your help .. |
Jul 15 2016, 10:27 AM
268 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuching |
QUOTE(zawani @ Jul 14 2016, 04:52 PM) Hello .. recently buy my first superlux headphone HD681EVO .. i'm really noob in audiophile .. few days listening to this headphone via pc n iphone 6 .. my question is : 1) you could try buying portable amplifier. try search for FiiO portable amp. I think here in garage sales got seller.1) is this fon sound really slow?? .. i have to set volume to 100% at my pc n iphone when using this fon .. b4 this even 20% is more than enough using other speaker and earfon .. 2) i read b4 about burn in new headfon to increase sound quality .. what is the actual way to do the burn in?? will the burn in increase sound level too?? 3) any sifu here can suggest any amp or other accessories than i can buy to get better sound .. budget below 200 can?? hope somebody can shed some light in this matter .. tq for your help .. 2) you can burn it by playing music full blast for couple of days. later on you will feel the music quality is better. sound level i not sure. 3) see no 1. plus you can buy custom cable which is thicker than ori cable, which slightly improve sound. again, look in garage sales, price under 200 source: previous owner of HD668B |
Jul 15 2016, 11:04 AM
1,218 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
The 668B needs an amp to drive it. Just bite the bullet and get one. If you upgrade your cans, you'll still need an amp anyway.
Jul 15 2016, 12:48 PM
22 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
U got any suggestion for 668b cable? Below rm100
Jul 15 2016, 12:49 PM
22 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
Edit
This post has been edited by rhezes: Jul 15 2016, 12:49 PM |
Jul 15 2016, 12:55 PM
268 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuching |
QUOTE(rhezes @ Jul 15 2016, 12:48 PM) try asking this guyhttps://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1976688 I ordered my cable from him. its quality is good. under Rm100 depend on what u want for your cable (it is custom) |
Jul 15 2016, 06:31 PM
333 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Johor |
QUOTE(Askzra @ Jul 15 2016, 10:27 AM) 1) you could try buying portable amplifier. try search for FiiO portable amp. I think here in garage sales got seller. thanks for ur help .. the burn in seem improve the volume .. no need to set to 100% anymore .. 2) you can burn it by playing music full blast for couple of days. later on you will feel the music quality is better. sound level i not sure. 3) see no 1. plus you can buy custom cable which is thicker than ori cable, which slightly improve sound. again, look in garage sales, price under 200 source: previous owner of HD668B now looking for other option to make sound uality even better .. now hunting for affordable amp and custom cable as your suggestion .. can suggest amp below 200?? |
Jul 15 2016, 07:32 PM
1,218 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
Choosing amp will depend on how you plan to connect your amp to. Fiio amps are alright. I'm using e10k with the 668B and I'm happy with it using the stock cable.
| Change to: | 0.0305sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:55 AM |