QUOTE(bUGG @ May 29 2012, 09:40 PM)
I went to chan sow lin to claim under warranty. They have initiated the claim process. Guess its gonna take a few months. As usual, new car n no spare parts.V2 Kia Optima K5 club
V2 Kia Optima K5 club
May 29 2012, 11:51 PM
36 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
May 31 2012, 08:43 PM
I suggest u guys waitin for ur cars wif janji kosong shuld squeeze ur SA for freebies. Usually u pay the down payment once they hav assigned a unit to u. Tt means u hav ur chasis number oredi.
Jun 1 2012, 11:23 PM
Jun 2 2012, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(zapirwin @ Jun 2 2012, 09:38 AM) Thnks for all ur reply on sierra glow. Since a new car usually still have its shininess and glow, wouldnt it be more worth it to do the sierra glow after a year or two the the shininess or glow starts to loose its effect? I did pps n it looks really good. Better to do it early when ur car paint is still new.As for your issue, its not scratch proof coz my family dog gav my bro's car a nice scratch out of excitement. His car was oso PPS coated. Luckily the scratch only removed the coating n not the paint (dark blue paint can see white scratch marks). Actually stone chips is the biggest enemy. Added on June 2, 2012, 12:15 pmAnybody know where got sell boot tray for our K5? This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 2 2012, 12:15 PM |
Jun 4 2012, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(Tokyoboy2000 @ Jun 4 2012, 02:08 PM) Ya city drive sucks the fuel like minum air saja...or mayb I have a heavy right foot ?? Haha... My FC figure is based on 51L shell vpower 97 not 70L full tank Ron 95 so 580 km is a quit good figure in highway drive I think. but city drive is really terrible for me...even the best I try with full tank Ron 95, witch free by my SA from the first day I took my ride, only ability to hit 420km something in 90% city drive with my heavy right foot free...after 1st service and change to ron97 it's getting better but still is kinda high FC experience for me in city drive. By the way, the only mod I done for my ride is just only KnN filter. Bro, can ask if there is a difference in performance wif the k&n? I believe itsa drop in filter? Thanks.Added on June 4, 2012, 3:26 pm QUOTE(power2win @ Jun 4 2012, 02:14 PM) Is there any certain time frame I need to bring my car to service after it hit 1000km? By today is already 1300km and last sat the service centre is not open. Only till this coming sat I wil be free again. By that time it should almost hit 2000km. Is it alright? Refer to ur service voucher, must not exceed 2 mths or 2000km. If i m not mistaken.This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 4 2012, 03:26 PM |
Jun 4 2012, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(Tokyoboy2000 @ Jun 4 2012, 08:55 PM) Ya n After drop in the Thanks for the feedback. As long as the 0-150kmh range is good, then its worth putting in. We spent most of the time below the 150kmh range. Is the engine noise louder or no difference?KnN air filter, u will get more lighten acceleration n better pick up, but losing some power in high speed specially above 160km\n. overall is not bad n should be recommend especially for those who need a better pickup. Added on June 4, 2012, 10:39 pm Anybody know where or who got sell boot tray for our K5? This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 4 2012, 10:40 PM |
Jun 9 2012, 06:57 PM
Went for my 1st svc at Chan Sow Lin. Good fast service. Engine is noticeably smoother.
Suprisingly my wing mirror which I claimed exactly 2 weeks ago has arrived. Tt caught me by suprise. Honestly I was expecting at least a couple of months before it arrives. Now hav to arrange for the replacing appoinment. |
Jun 12 2012, 10:54 PM
Guys, I couldnt find the previous post/attachment on the maintenance cost for our K5. I searched all the pages n also with the search bar. Its somewat missing or i definitely got old man sydrome "bad eyesight".
Jun 12 2012, 11:39 PM
Jun 17 2012, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(bUGG @ Jun 16 2012, 11:53 PM) Such a big item. How they sent it? Got picture of how the parcel look like. Malaysia Custom didn't hold your item? Usually u hav to declare the item's value. They now stop pratically all items without declared value on the consignment note. Sometimes oso luck. Small little envelope with items in it oso they tahan.Added on June 17, 2012, 1:09 pm QUOTE(hamas86 @ Jun 17 2012, 12:26 AM) Guys,gonna book this monster next week...still having dilemma in choosing which color,white or silver? Both r nice. Can u guys vote?Wanna see which color win... White. If u like bling bling, go for white. Silver is a safer n matured colour for tis car.This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 17 2012, 05:47 PM |
Jun 18 2012, 12:23 AM
Need some advise. Do i need to dismantle the air ram to access the air filter? Trying to install a drop in. Dont think theres much space to juz open the 2 clips n swap the filters. Anyone here recently plonked in a drop in?
Jun 19 2012, 10:54 PM
Juz to share, fr Petronas Sg Besi to Ipoh, in front of Jusco.
Distance 211.8km, Average speed 101km/h, 7.2l/100km, Used 2 bars of fuel and Distance to empty 588km. Basically follow the speed limit all the way wif 90% cruise control on. This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 19 2012, 10:55 PM |
Jun 19 2012, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 19 2012, 10:58 PM) That 2 bars of fuel isnt accurate. As i mentioned earlier, i too did a 200km drive at around 180kmph and i too used up 2 bars of fuel. When i refilled, i pumped in 27L of fuel. Doesnt quite add up. I know tt mate. The initial readings is slow. After the 3rd bar, it starts to disappear fast. I believe it could be the design of the tank or the positioning of the fuel gauge sensor. |
Jun 20 2012, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 19 2012, 11:24 PM) Its both actually. Some time back, i did share that the Optima fuel tank has got a long 'neck' but the sensor is located way below that. Hence, why u can usually fill more 75L if ure quite empty. But this neck also causes the first few bar readings to be inaccurate. U could be rite. Not sure whether the k5 is using the wedge shape fuel tank. The top part of the tank wider than the bottom. This would oso b a possible reason of inaccurate readings. |
Jun 20 2012, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:31 AM) I dont think that's the problem actually. The Optima comes with hydraulic steering. Dunno why they keep saying electric assist. But seems that the steering issues in America are far worse than here. My problem is no where as serious as any of the complaints listed on that website. The US versions actually use mdps. Our neighbours in philipines n prolly brunei oso. N they both have the 2.4l but non gdi. Our counterparts in singaland is having similar steering issues like ours. Vibration n vague feeling at high speeds. U can view their comments in sg kia club. |
Jun 20 2012, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 04:35 PM) Unfortunately nope. They juz talk bout it some did complain to C&C (Kia dist.) but no outcome. Honestly i feel itsa design flaw. I believe the vibration is contributed fr big wheels, low profile tyres n stiff suspension. Lack of feel at hi speeds is definitely a missing or lack of sensitivity speed servo to regulate the steering weight at the gbox. This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 20 2012, 10:35 PM |
Jun 20 2012, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 20 2012, 05:07 PM) I think the lack of feel or numb steering is different from the problem many of them (and me) are facing. The problem is actually a 'jumpy' steering when u go over bumps or rough roads. This becomes more pronounced as the vehicle speed increases. These symptoms tt u mentioned is very similar to a track cars behaviour. Rubber parts r replaced wif bearings ie. heim joints or pu. I had the same issue wif my previous car when i upgraded the steering rack bushing to pu. Felt every pebble n steering kickback on uneven roads. On top of it, stiff suspension adds to other part of the equation.Hence, my theory is the k5 front suspension is transferring a lot of the vibration to the steering rack. The solution could be thicker tyres n dampers wif lower rebound rate. I noticed when my tyres were under inflated at 31psi the vibration was much less. But the moment it pumped it back to 35psi, u really feel the road. I hope my theory is wrong n the SC hav a solution to this. |
Jun 21 2012, 08:24 PM
For those of u waiting for delivery of ur beloved K5s, pls hang in there. Trust me, its really worth waitin for n i hav been a jap car user for more than 15yrs till today. I m really impressed n happy to own my 1st korean, my K5. This car is made to prove tt the koreans can produce wonderful cars. Wif the help of Peter Schreyer of course.
Honestly, the matter lies wif MITI n its not really nazas fault this time. I m not defending them neither do i work/affiliated wif them. Its good to know the truth rather bashing up someone whose got no control over the current situation. If u say the taxes has not been paid or setted then no way the cars can leave the port. Mind u tt MITI who is procesing the aps hav to serve other car manufacturers as well. I dun think they can cope nor intend to move faster to cope wif the demand. Bear in mind there has been new n upcoming car launches this recent months. Fyi, cars manufactured in thailand oso requires an ap. So theres backlog backlog n more backlogs. My friendly advise is to continue to hang on if u can. Easier said than done but i u can, u ll b rewarded wif a great driving experience. If u wanna know since i talk so much, i put in a booking fee in Dec 2011, i got my car in May 2012. Contributed by own fault causing the delay. But worth the wait. This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 21 2012, 09:15 PM |
Jun 21 2012, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(technick @ Jun 21 2012, 10:00 PM) Hi all Welcome mate. If u referrin the radio, then yes. Mine is oso somewat muffled or bass heavy. Best settings for me, bass +3, mid +9, treble +10 n fader +4 rear. If u notice, radio volume needs to be up fr 8-10 range for decent listening. Where as mp3, 8 is loud enuf, 10 if u dun wanna hear ur wife nag. Juz kiddin. Lol...Joining the club. Booked my silver K5 on Dec 28 when it was launched and collected car on Feb 16. Been driving around ever since and love it. To all new owners, because its very low, always be careful when you go over bump. Hit my bottom too when exiting Empire basement shopping mall car park. Heart wrenching. Be warned Another question to other fellow owners - the sounds from the driver and passenger speaker sounds muffled and unclear. It is configured naturally this way? the SA let me hear the sounds from other optima and it sounded the same. Thxs Regards Nick This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 21 2012, 10:22 PM |
Jun 22 2012, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(technick @ Jun 22 2012, 05:52 PM) Thanks SA6YEuro - what's the best settings to drown out the wife's nagging?....hahahaha Hope tt settings suit ur listening or at least close to it. The active headrest is designed tt way to reduce the effects of whiplash in the event of being rear ended.Will try out your settings on my radio tonight. Thxs so much for the advice By the way, wife hates the head rest and says it's not comfortable and I have to reverse the head rest which looks damn ugly. Anyone facing the same problem and any suggested solution? I know its either change the headrest or change the wife.....damn, i know i'm gonna miss my wife. So before i make the decision, asking around for advice Thxs Nick Added on June 22, 2012, 9:04 pm QUOTE(foongchai76 @ Jun 22 2012, 07:40 PM) bro the point is send back to kia also not used la, coz kia also no stock on k5 parts...... kia order parts tk longer thn we direct order from korea. If u intend to pay for ur own repairs, cost n time wise its the better option. However, u may encounter a possibilty of ordering a non compatible part.If its to b claimed under insurance, go back to an authorised workshop. Not even panel. Parts is an issue due it still being new n relatively small in numbers on the road but at least u know the parts is new n ori. Panel workshops got this habit of knocking back body panels instead of replacing. This post has been edited by SA6YEuro: Jun 22 2012, 09:04 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0516sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:10 PM |