6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

The Weight Loss Thread v3, Ask your weight loss questions here.

sweet_pez
post Sep 24 2013, 10:07 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(cazador007 @ Sep 24 2013, 10:03 AM)
hi
i am new here smile.gif
just sharing my story icon_rolleyes.gif

me also want to lose weight,
me friend suggest SHAKLEE SLIMMING SET~!!!

so i tried it alr  cool2.gif
at first it seems like "nothing happened" yawn.gif
but after about 1 week and a few days
when i weight myself,
i lost 2kg biggrin.gif  nod.gif

if i am more serious in this, i could lose 4-5kg nod.gif
i am doing it now, and i will take note of it  smile.gif
And you do know that once you stop taking it, high possibility you will put back the 4-5kg or more ya? biggrin.gif

sweet_pez
post Oct 1 2013, 04:52 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(silentpang @ Oct 1 2013, 04:11 PM)
Thanks for the advise.
im doing HITT Training every morning for 30minutes 5days a week is it enough?
can i need to add in weight training like 3 days a week for faster fat lost? Is It too much? 30minutes on weight lifting is it enough?

Very depressed, coz my waist line didn't seems to getting smaller... duno am i doing wrong things... or am i losing muscle not FAT~  cry.gif
HIIT 30min x 5 days is good enough in my opinion.

Add in weights training to tone up your body and build muscle. Time is not the concern but what sort of weight training you do, and whether you're doing it effectively.
sweet_pez
post Oct 3 2013, 01:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(jimsontan6939 @ Oct 3 2013, 12:53 PM)
Hi ,

I'm now in 20s and my weight in 120kgs .
I've lost my weight from 110kgs reduces to 80kgs quite some years ago and now i gained back my weight even more than where i started to lost .

I used to workout at gym but now i lost my passion of doing a lot of cardios , exercises . I joined Fitness first and Celebrity but terminated eventually due to not going , finding excuses for myself .

Now i thinking to join Jatomi , but i still not finding the right passion which i had ages ago . Anyone have any idea how to adjust my own mind ?
You'll need to understand the reason why you want to change, form a goal and then go for it. If you feel like giving up midway, then change your routine, get a workout partner or meet new people in the gym who can motivate you. You can also try out new programs and new challenges (eg. marathon).

Last but not least, a change of environment could be good as well (but again, just a matter of time till you get bored).
sweet_pez
post Oct 3 2013, 02:28 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Oct 3 2013, 02:02 PM)
i think u need some serious motivation. i used to be just like u, i lost about 7-8kgs then i give up, and eating my way back to the original weight of 102kg, and then keep gaining weight until 109kg. but after 1 of my colleague died of stroke at the age of mid 30s, and my company event organizer died of heart failure at the age of 41. it kind of struck me that i might end up like them if i dun start taking care of myself.

at 33yo, my blood pressure was 140/90, my cholestrol level is dangerously hight at 5.9, wegith 109kg. and all these stats just scream that i am very unhealthy. i felt tired easily too. i ate nasi lemak/roti canai for breakfast, mountain high of rice, especially bak kut teh for lunch, some other heavy meal such as McD for dinner, potato chips & a canned of coke for snacks before i sleep. sitting down pc gaming or watching movie after work every day. thinking back, feel kind of scary, biggrin.gif

then i dig back my old photo when i was mid 70kgs few years back, and that kind of make me sad. so i challenge myself to lose my weight to 75kg, lower down my cholestrol level to normal range, and hopefully i will be able to live without the med for my bp. oh ya, and able to wear those shirts and pants that left in my closet.
That was scary indeed, good thing you have resolved to changing your habit wink.gif

I used to be a couch potato. Love sitting in front of the TV with junk food (chips, twisties, whatever you name it). I still do but have since replaced them with groundnuts instead.

QUOTE(jimsontan6939 @ Oct 3 2013, 02:15 PM)
Thanks for your comment .
I think i need to take really serious consideration of my own physical workout and transformation to go healthly lifestyle .
Yup, you'll need to find the reason why you'd want to go through with the transformation (aesthetic, health or personal satisfaction etc) and then use that as the key motivation to stick to your workouts. Aim high biggrin.gif
sweet_pez
post Oct 3 2013, 02:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Oct 3 2013, 02:31 PM)
arent groundnuts supposed to be high in calories? not sure of it myself, been told bout that.

btw, every now and then, some frens/colleagues will come and ask me "are you losing weight? u look slimmer" and that kind of make my day, haha
Nuts, peanuts, peanut butter etc is good oil. I admit they're not low in calories so I tend to eat half the pack each time.

Couldn't agree better on the compliments. They always help in working harder.
sweet_pez
post Oct 7 2013, 03:51 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(arissa1992 @ Oct 7 2013, 11:20 AM)
Just want to ask,
why do I gain weight after a week of gymming?
and by a week of gymming I mean 5 days a week, and I weigh in weekly.
I feel better as in healthier but the numbers on the scale is depressing.

can anyone suggest a routine for me to follow for effective weight loss?
My built is pretty bulky already, so I'm aiming to tone up and lose flabs, with minimal muscle increase.
Plus I'm in an area where u can't really get healthy food apart frm fruits,
where people eat to survive, so any easily available healthy foods u guys can think of?
1. You shouldn't weigh every week, your weight fluctuates. Just weigh yourself once every 3-4 months to check progress.

2. What workout do you do in the gym?

3. With "I'm in an area where u can't really get healthy food apart frm fruits" maybe you can tell us what sort of choices you have. Otherwise it's too vast and vague to advice.
sweet_pez
post Oct 8 2013, 09:12 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Oct 7 2013, 09:09 PM)
You SHOULD weight yourself every week, at a particular time on a particular day. Only experienced people can purely rely on the mirror as a gauge.
Seriously? You mean if I started to weigh on Wednesday night, I should consistently do it on every Wednesday night? That seems a little too regular because improvement only shows after a month or two and so on... but I get your point, it's the ability to monitor closely.

One way I use to measure is clothes and belt (able to see progress from there as well).

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 8 2013, 09:13 AM
sweet_pez
post Oct 8 2013, 12:39 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(arissa1992 @ Oct 7 2013, 07:42 PM)
1. Then do u know of any way tht I can use to assess whether I'm constantly making progress or doing the right thing?

2.warm up, around 20 to 30 mins cardio, then some dumbbell lifting and stretching exercises plus the misc. Machines for the remaining 30 mins or so.

3.erm, the only green leafy vegetable is cabbage. I have oats too.
Rural area, so theres only the basic foods.

Thanks for ur prompt reply!
1. Best refer to Darklight's reply above.

2. Maybe you'll want to tweak your workout a little and do it differently each day. Eg. Day 1 and Day 4 focus only on Cardio - HIIT workout all the way. Day 2 and 5 weights only etc. Then another day = rest or stretching (eg yoga). Just a recommendation to tryout and see if it'll work. Everyone's body works differently.

3. Nothing wrong with eating meat if you can get it. More source of protein. Just be careful on the parts and method of cooking. If you really want to take care of your meal, eat lean meat that is cooked healthier - steam, boil stir fry, lightly pan fried, grilled etc instead of fried or deep fried.

Oats is good, take it regularly - but preferably you don't eat it with too much sugar. Otherwise it defeats the purpose wink.gif

QUOTE(TiF @ Oct 8 2013, 09:56 AM)
my weight now stucked and doesnt seems to go down. i eat the same amount of food (1600-1800 calories), jog 5km and some sit up. but tbh, i dont really care anymore. just gonna stick with my diet (cant eat much now too, feel like stomach got smaller biggrin.gif) and workout. good to see my weight go down that fast during my first month tho.

btw, i noticed that the more i workout the heavier i get the next day. after jogging for 20km over the weekend, i am 3kg heavier. so i get why some ppl feeling frustrated and might start giving up.
Time to tweak your workout? Body adapts easily.

And after you've jogged 20km... do you eat a lot to replenish?
sweet_pez
post Oct 16 2013, 11:48 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 16 2013, 11:09 AM)
93kg and still going.
was 100kg back in June. Take up outdoor cycling, gym, RPM class, weight lifting.
And I'm a happy man.

Time to lift heavier, reduce man's boobs and etc biggrin.gif
Wow good job, -7kg in less than 5 months' time. Keep up the good work thumbup.gif
sweet_pez
post Oct 25 2013, 12:05 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(geforce6701 @ Oct 17 2013, 06:44 PM)
im 76kg male
im going on a diet plan.
here is my diet plan

Breakfast:
2 slices of wholegrain bread and 2 half boiled egg
sometimes i eat karipap or donut

Lunch:
i dont eat rice.
usually i take fried chicken and egg
sometimes take like mee kari or mee sup

Dinnner:
chicken soup or mix tomyam
sometimes i also eat like sotong goreng tepung with soup

i drink mineral water most of time.

am i doing right ?
or can someone teach me a better diet plan ?
im plannning on losing weight and also burn the fats.

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
thanks in advance
As most of them pointed out, too many fried food. For breakfast you can opt for healthier replacements like Oats with low fat milk, low fat yoghurt, cereal etc. Cut, reduce or best of all, remove the curry puff and doughnut. If you must have, eat them once in a while - eg. once every 2 weeks. I hope you know how much oil they contain.

For lunch, eating the rice would have been better than your curry noodles. Sometimes take curry noodles, no problem but not often. Curry noodles have coconut milk (or santan) and it's unhealthy. Your fried chicken is also not a good choice. Replace with stir fry/ bake/ steam chicken breast (healthiest cut in terms of chicken).

Do all these + workout and you'll see result soon enough.

QUOTE(TiF @ Oct 17 2013, 10:52 PM)
what i do is i take less rice, more fried vege for my mix rice lunch. at nite i eat a small portion of meal (actually is single portion for my wife, but I used to eat 3 times of that), and fill my stomach with fruits, eg: apple, orange, pineapple, or yogurt.

im not starving myself, but also not over stuffed my stomach. and cut down all those fried stuff. I still eat those, just once a week or longer. From what I read online, curry contains very high calories too so that also in my No-No list.

My target is to lose about 30kgs. and I will reward myself with something cool for every 10kgs I lost (spending RM1.5k buying computer parts now for the first 10kg i lost  brows.gif ), a brand new LCD TV for the next goal, and for reaching the ultimate goal, I am going to get a tattoo. icon_idea.gif  I got myself targets, which make dieting and exercising easy for me.
Doesn't matter if you eat a lot in the morning or for dinner. It's still total calories in a day.

It's the coconut milk in curry that's bad. If you cook your curry with yoghurt instead, you can have some peace of mind. Then again, anything excessive is bad.

I like the idea of the reward, it's seriously one way to motivate yourself. As for the tattoo... I have been meaning to get one too but not till I've reached a certain stage of change(s) in my life. But I heard it's painful, very scared doh.gif might not go for it at the end of the day.

QUOTE(New Klang @ Oct 24 2013, 03:54 PM)
My daily exercise of 30 minutes is adequate. Sleep before 12 pm and not less than 6 hours. Don't get stressful. Go for weekly massage. Get excited and stimulated often. Think young.
Yes 30min is adequate if it's intense enough.
sweet_pez
post Oct 29 2013, 10:04 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(orang90 @ Oct 28 2013, 10:47 PM)
hello need advice on my diet,

im 23 180cm started from 4/10/2013 my weight is 115, and now it is 95kg, based on diet only, next month will started to go to the gym,

in the morning I eat 2 boiled egg
for lunch I eat fish/chicken soup based,
I always drink green tea in the morning and evening, I drink only plain water, iced, sometime put a few lemon in it, for dinner I usually dont eat,

I go swimming once a week, is there anything can I do to lose more fatt? right now stuck on 95kg only, huhu, need to be fitt before my graduation day on january, thanks all
You don't seem to be eating enough? No fruits and vege?

Note that what time you eat in a day doesn't matter because it's based on total consumption of calories per day. Swimming once a week is insufficient to lose fat. Do HIIT workout 2-3 times a week and you'll see result kick in.
sweet_pez
post Nov 18 2013, 11:48 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Nov 17 2013, 12:42 AM)
You could do HIIT runs about 3 times a week, on allternate days. http://www.marksdailyapple.com/what-are-ta.../#axzz2kpLpWOYM

Or using the stationary bike. http://www.fitocracy.com/knowledge/dr-layn...-in-15-minutes/

Yes, three times a week is all you need. What's more important would actually be your diet.

Higher healthy fats and protein, moderate levels of complex carbs, lots of mixed vegetables, mushrooms, and some fruits here and there, and zero sugar and refined carbs. All that, while maintaining about 10% below your TDEE.
The key challenge sweat.gif still working on it.
sweet_pez
post Nov 18 2013, 02:33 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Nov 18 2013, 01:39 PM)
Really? Comes easy to me though. Exercise consistency in terms of intensity is the tougher one.

Allow me to give a diet example, maybe it can give you extra ideas.

Morning: Half boiled eggs, olive/coconut oil, oats, black coffee/green tea. < filling, convenient, and fast.
Lunch (assuming you're working): Green smoothie, roasted chicken, some boiled potatoes, ice lemon tea (without sugar).
Dinner (assuming eating out): Plain nasi lemak with fried egg and some sambal / alternative: rice + dhaal + multiple veg types. Upon reaching home: one 500g tub of plain yoghurt, a bowl of blanched spinach and white mushrooms without dressing.

Above is similar to what I eat on a daily basis. I believe it's gonna be within your TDEE, most likely even giving a deficit. Can't be any faster either.
Thanks for the idea! I'm cutting down on carbs and that's where my struggle is. I'm a bread and sugar lover (which is bad) and being an asian, so used to growing up with noodles and rice (which I'm taking brown rice at the moment). Besides on weekends and some weekdays, I would eat with my friends. The menu are all carb-loaded. Friends love desserts just as much as I do and sometimes we'd binge on it after workout. Finding ways to tweak my meals at the moment and how I could still hang out with my friends without giving in to temptation doh.gif

I get hungry pretty easily/ fast as well. Always need to find some fruits or snacks (nuts etc) to fill myself in. Hope to drink/ eat something that could control my appetite. My body is like a biological clock - come tea time, I'd be craving for something whether I'm really hungry or not.
sweet_pez
post Nov 18 2013, 03:02 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Nov 18 2013, 02:58 PM)
I think you have some form of addiction to sugar there. Just like caffeine. Many Malaysians are. I wasn't used to coffee/tea/ice-lemon-tea and the likes without sugar too. After a few weeks of persistence, you automatically switch and will start to dislike those with added sugar. Of course, this must go along with the proper understanding that sugar is bad for your health and will lead to increased medical costs and lowered quality of life in the future.
Couldn't agree better, sugar addiction indeed. Will gradually cut sugar off, aim to go sugar free from Monday-Friday and limit intake on weekend. It'll take time but have to start somehow hmm.gif
sweet_pez
post Nov 25 2013, 09:53 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(syabilng @ Nov 23 2013, 03:58 PM)
Hi, new here. Someone redirected me regarding deficit? What is that. smile.gif
Read the sticky from Page 1 wink.gif you'll find a lot of useful info.
sweet_pez
post Nov 25 2013, 09:54 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Nov 20 2013, 11:07 PM)
It is quite easy to stop sugar diet.

Just imagine sugar=fat cells.
Not THAT easy for me doh.gif ...but thanks for the suggestion!
sweet_pez
post Nov 28 2013, 10:57 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(pokcek1 @ Nov 27 2013, 05:33 PM)
being a silent reader for a few days and decided to share my daily meals and activities.

i'm male, 24, weighing 60kg and 157cm..
being reading through the previous pages and i know that my bmi is in the ideal range but my goal now is to reduce my body fat percentage because currently having an ugly looking belly fat.

my diet plan :

breakfast - 3 in 1 oat cereal drink and 2 slices of wholegrain bread

lunch - half plate of white rice, lots of vege and ayam kurma (only chicken, without the gravy)

dinner - two slices, sometimes three slices of wholegrain bread with an omelette...

doing jump rope for every day, about an hour except on weekend..

am i on the right track or do i need to add more nutrients in my daily meals..
i hope all the sifus here can guide me... smile.gif
Oh... if you can, ditch the 3-in-1. Take oats + low fat milk or fruits. Natural and tastes good.

You only do jump rope? Try HIIT for more effective result.
sweet_pez
post Nov 29 2013, 10:25 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(scribbliciousss @ Nov 29 2013, 10:20 AM)

Something I seriously need. Have been getting only 4-5 hours' sleep recently doh.gif
sweet_pez
post Nov 29 2013, 10:48 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 29 2013, 10:44 AM)
I get 2-3 hours a night. Damn. For years.
ohmy.gif seriously?! Wow. 4-5 hours (or less) of sleep for weeks and I barely feel human.
sweet_pez
post Nov 29 2013, 10:59 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 29 2013, 10:53 AM)
Doctor plus chronic insomnia for years. Screwed up combo.
HAHAHAHA! What do you prescribe for patients with similar condition?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0604sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:14 PM