wanna ask, integra dc5

Vervain
post Apr 7 2012, 01:12 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

But why proton wira 1.6 SOHC got 16 valves? Waja 4G18 SOHC also got 16 valve?

Actually V6 does not mean it's inline 6 cylinder. Its a misconception by alot of people. V6 means 3 piston is laid on the left \ and another 3 piston on right / . Both connected to the crankshaft on the bottom.

If what you're saying is true? those engineers should be set ablazed for designing a dumb and inefficient engine. low torque but high FC.
e36.hartge
post Apr 7 2012, 01:16 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 7 2012, 12:39 AM)
V8 mah, V8 = valve 8  cool2.gif

if we don't use any cam mah save even more? unsure.gif
Idiot u think my standrd that low?u even bother check my previous what it mean by 3valves per piston/silinder?
U ever drive SOHC V6 engine with 18valves instead of DOHC V6 engine with 24valves????and yes FC between both are so much different

Added on April 7, 2012, 1:26 am
QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 7 2012, 01:12 AM)

Actually V6 does not mean it's inline 6 cylinder. Its a misconception by alot of people. V6 means 3 piston is laid on the left \ and another 3 piston on right / . Both connected to the crankshaft on the bottom.

If what you're saying is true? those engineers should be set ablazed for designing a dumb and inefficient engine. low torque but high FC.
Its the setting of each silinder la,and each manufacturer got their decision on how many parts should in the ngine
Even only using single cam,4valves can be attached to each piston
Its not fixed rule to say twin-cam must be coupled with 16valves
Heck even got 1 toyota engine(I forgot) DOHC inline4 but with 20valves(5valves for each piston) and it meant for high torque on low-end
Now u know its realy true afterall
But yes those I saw is 90s and early 2000 engine,nowaday got soft-turbo to assist high-torque on low-end without sacrifice FC

This post has been edited by e36.hartge: Apr 7 2012, 01:26 AM
Vervain
post Apr 7 2012, 01:33 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(e36.hartge @ Apr 7 2012, 01:16 AM)
Idiot u think my standrd that low?u even bother check my previous what it mean by 3valves per piston/silinder?
U ever drive SOHC V6 engine with 18valves instead of DOHC V6 engine with 24valves????and yes FC between both are so much different
Nope. i was poor, I drove a Saga Megavalve SOHC with 12 valves.

So to conclude. You're saying, less valves, less power, will have High FC?
Vervain
post Apr 7 2012, 01:44 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Its the setting of each silinder la,and each manufacturer got their decision on how many parts should in the ngine
Heck even got 1 toyota engine(I forgot) DOHC inline4 but with 20valves(5valves for each piston) and it meant for high torque on low-end
But yes those I saw is 90s and early 2000 engine,nowaday got soft-turbo to assist high-torque on low-end without sacrifice FC
owh.. now I know, 4A-GELU is a high torque engine at low end. is soft turbo like those mini turbo sold here? If can put in my car to get high torque will be great.
e36.hartge
post Apr 7 2012, 01:46 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 7 2012, 01:33 AM)
Nope. i was poor, I drove a Saga Megavalve SOHC with 12 valves.

So to conclude. You're saying, less valves, less power, will have High FC?
Yes but generaly to reduce the production costs also
Coz high FC also contributed by GB and the weight of the engine itself(cast block cheaper and lighter than forged block) and the weight of the chassis as well

Added on April 7, 2012, 1:51 am
QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 7 2012, 01:44 AM)
owh.. now I know, 4A-GELU is a high torque engine at low end. is soft turbo like those mini turbo sold here? If can put in my car to get high torque will be great.
Just scared your GB end-up barai cannot tahan the additional torque-well up to u to decide,just get advise from year pomen if the GB suitalbe or not

This post has been edited by e36.hartge: Apr 7 2012, 01:51 AM
Vervain
post Apr 7 2012, 02:00 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(e36.hartge @ Apr 7 2012, 01:46 AM)
Yes but generaly to reduce the production costs also
Coz high FC also contributed by GB and the weight of the engine itself(cast block cheaper and lighter than forged block) and  the weight of the chassis as well

Added on April 7, 2012, 1:51 am
Just scared your GB end-up barai cannot tahan the additional torque-well up to u to decide,just get advise from year pomen if the GB suitalbe or not
How to improve our GB to have low FC? I thought Cast block is heavier than forged block? Because forged billet block can use higher ms grade material or can perform heat treatment to increase the material hardness? People keep telling me cast rims are heavy while forged rims are light. Now I'm confused. But if engine block is same, GB is same, weight of chasis is same, the head is different, that means the lower valve will still consume more fuel than higher valve right? How much difference are we talking? this is good info to stop people from buying cars with little quantity of valves.

wah, you're quite knowledgeable, can you recommend your pomen to me? May need his help to advice me whether my GB is suitable or not.
e36.hartge
post Apr 7 2012, 02:51 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 6 2012, 11:21 AM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_M271_engine
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_M272_engine

took this out from links on the Merc W204 page. Pretty common car with common engines, and both are DOHC with 4 valves per cylinder and Variable Valve Timing. So what say you?
What say me?check merc V12 engine codename M275 for S600,its still SOHC with only 3valves per piston=36valves altogether instead of general assumption having DOHC and 48valves
Clearly merc setup this for low FC in mind since its a heavy and for daily usage car
Don't compare with another merc V12 engine codename M120 DOHC with 48valves since it for plonking in Pagani zonda body without concern bout FC at all

Added on April 7, 2012, 3:03 amBtw merc w204 C200 CGI only use small 1.8 DOHC with turbocharger,they clearly want to squeze every possible torque and hp from that little twin-cam engine coz the chassis is quite heavy though

Added on April 7, 2012, 3:10 am
QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 7 2012, 02:00 AM)
How to improve our GB to have low FC? I thought Cast block is heavier than forged block? Because forged billet block can use higher ms grade material or can perform heat treatment to increase the material hardness? People keep telling me cast rims are heavy while forged rims are light. Now I'm confused. But if engine block is same, GB is same, weight of chasis is same, the head is different, that means the lower valve will still consume more fuel than higher valve right? How much difference are we talking? this is good info to stop people from buying cars with little quantity of valves.
I think u must change the whole GB unit altogether,got better suggestion?
Forged block usualy tougher than cast one,eventhough it maybe lighter-its how u manufacture it is they not the material alone

Heh,later if got good one will PM u,but actualy I'm scared if I giv the wrong one who gv shitty service to u,end-up ruin my name also hehe

This post has been edited by e36.hartge: Apr 7 2012, 03:10 AM
mxsteven
post Apr 7 2012, 10:53 AM

58 posts

Added on April 7, 2012, 1:26 am
Finally something that you say is true..... couldnt agree more... this is what we called improve efficiency
Daniel John
post Apr 7 2012, 11:28 AM

38 posts

Where is the talking about dc5....
mxsteven
post Apr 7 2012, 11:45 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Apr 7 2012, 11:28 AM)
Hahahahahaha.. kaw kaw out of topic edi lols pity the TS thread kena hijack kaw kaw
theanswer
post Apr 7 2012, 12:01 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Apr 7 2012, 01:12 AM)

sohc and dohc mean the single or double camshaft. single camshaft that control all 16 valve or double that control 8 inlet and another one control 8 outlet valve.
lol..of course v6 is 'vee' engine. not inline 6. inline 6 like bmw engine..nissan rb26. v6 like perdana 6a12 and nissan VQ engine. its not misconception..everybody knows that. smile.gif
shift2
post Apr 7 2012, 12:03 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Apr 6 2012, 12:26 AM)
What's the rpm for VTEC to kick in for K20A?
should be more than 5000rpm red vtec lamp illuminate felt the power(amber lamp) almost near <6000rpm bro..cant really remember. correct me if i'm wrong bout the spec..
only had a ride in my fren's fd2r twice.. not really pay attention to the meter cluster area as vtec kicked in feel was so impressive.. thumbup.gif
theanswer
post Apr 7 2012, 12:04 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Apr 6 2012, 11:53 AM)
nah not gun down by me....

Vtec engage depends on models... and iVtec works differently.... the old heritage Vtec normally kick in about 4.2k and some 4.8k... B16A if not mistaken 4.2k and B18C and H22A 4.8k.... i cant confirm... u need to google hahaha but im sure B16A is 4.2k coz my civic with my brother is B16A auto.... everytime Vtec kicks in the gear change lololololssss
actually search it in youtube..better explanation with video. hahaha.

Added on April 7, 2012, 12:10 pmusually sohc engine a bit lighter at the low end. try google protons 4g13/4g18 and compared it with new s4pe/s4ph..the 4g13/4g18 will reach torque peak earlier than campro. but campro doch will give more power at high end..due to bad low end power..thats why they give iafm. it's theoretically only..but result is different based on manufacturer and engine spec. usually vvt system will help to eliminates this low end power loss.

This post has been edited by theanswer: Apr 7 2012, 12:10 PM
shift2
post Apr 7 2012, 12:18 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(vinesh22 @ Apr 6 2012, 05:16 PM)
I only know of one 2011 fd2r  in Langkawi. You know Shaun as well? LOL  laugh.gif
lol... biggrin.gif iehh..u knew him?batch mate? ya ..mat slow Shaun with his fd2r..
of cos i know him. he cant fly his aircraft without a good repair man..tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shift2: Apr 7 2012, 12:20 PM
vinesh22
post Apr 7 2012, 12:24 PM

Eat.Fly.Lift.Party.Love.Sleep
546 posts

QUOTE(shift2 @ Apr 7 2012, 12:18 PM)
lol...  biggrin.gif iehh..u knew him?batch mate? ya ..mat slow Shaun with his fd2r..
of cos i know him. he cant fly his aircraft without a good repair man..tongue.gif
My former instructor when I was still there, haha.
I still remember the day he brought it back, the fella was so worried handling a manual after a long while. But once he got used to the car, wham! laugh.gif
ReidenLing
post Apr 7 2012, 12:26 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Apr 7 2012, 11:28 AM)
haha coz now E36 want say that FC not that good compare to SOHC or neither single valve on single piston lol doh.gif

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0164sec    1.06    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:00 AM