Mazda CX-5

digitheatre
post May 13 2012, 09:36 AM

654 posts

QUOTE(888kb24 @ May 12 2012, 11:40 PM)
2.3 L/100km? meaning rm50 can last for 1100+ km? sure or not?
hehe..u hv to understand here in LYN so many salesmen..anything to lure ppl into booking
shift2
post May 13 2012, 12:24 PM

412 posts

haha..sure o not? good question. bluff 3 years old kid maybe can. even u tuned it with using RON 100 to produce superb performance/efficiency oso will not this low 2.3L/100km.. sweat.gif

maybe can if the chassis/body frame made by 100% carbon fiber reinforce plastic. suspension linkage 50% with aluminum alloy. go figure

if he said 5.3L/100L or 6.3L/100km still acceptable for a SUV. mind you cx 5 is SUV not chery QQ.
voodoo8808
post May 13 2012, 12:30 PM

82 posts

A test drive yesterday really proved its worth as acclaimed. To set the stage right, I'm driving an accord 2010 2.0, thinking to shift to SUV instead bcos i find getting in or out of a sedan is getting more & more taxing on my back nowadays.

Anyways, other than the exterior & interior that u guys can check it out yourselves, I'll just share my experience on the road handling, summary of the test as below:
1. Low end torque is slow. Trying to overtake at low gear is a drag.
2. NVH is slightly better than my accord, surprisingly. I'm using toyo CS1 225x18x45, changed all 4 doughs in Jan12.
3. Bumps absorption is also slightly better than my accord.
4. Engine sound is noisier at hi gear, above 5k rpm.
5. Steering is extremely light, somewhat close to my exHonda city 2008, with ori rims.
6. Manual gear shift is more fun as compared to paddle shift. Feels like driving an arcade race car, Daytona.
7. Didn't try the Bose sound system but navi voice was very crisp & clear. I liked the voice command as it was really accurate & helpful. It's a good workaround for the missing navi button that euro version has. Sad thing is it couldn't play DVDs. Hope it could be hacked, just like BMWs. For my kids, this is a big minus point. Also, Tom Tom doesn't seem updated or worse, impractical. It can't even recognise mid valley! SA claims it's free for life but i doubt so.

Overall, the minuses isn't a deal stopper for a big sedan owner like me to consider. In fact, personally, it's the best Asian SUV as compared to other similar class I've tested, eg Sportage, Tucson, Grand vitara, CRV & Asx. My only worry is service quality . My first mazda was back in 1994 & it was quite a nightmare...

I have booked the white but since it is fully refundable, I'll continue my search. maybe test a Chevy. Btw, i have tested x1 20d too.I'd warn u to stay away from that car. Once 'tasted' its power, you'll be addicted! Honestly, that may have already distorted my judgement onto others, like this cx5. Lol.

P/s: i too, don't think 2.3liter/100km is the right gauge or indication. We should use the average as read in the multi info display instead.

My 2cents worth.

This post has been edited by voodoo8808: May 13 2012, 12:42 PM
alohaxD
post May 13 2012, 12:46 PM

CX-5 fuel comsuption would be 5.6L/100km. this is the normal thing they mention on brochure.
but for city drive, it exactly running for 0.8cent - 0.9cent per km

This post has been edited by alohaxD: May 13 2012, 01:20 PM
thinkerr
post May 13 2012, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(voodoo8808 @ May 13 2012, 12:30 PM)
A test drive yesterday really proved its worth as acclaimed. To set the stage right, I'm driving an accord 2010 2.0, thinking to shift to SUV instead bcos i find getting in or out of a sedan is getting more & more taxing on my back nowadays.

Anyways, other than the exterior & interior that u guys can check it out yourselves,  I'll just share my experience on the road handling, summary of the test as below:
1. Low end torque is slow. Trying to overtake at low gear is a drag.
2. NVH is slightly better than my accord, surprisingly. I'm using toyo CS1 225x18x45, changed all 4 doughs in Jan12.
3. Bumps absorption is also slightly better than my accord.
4. Engine sound is noisier at hi gear, above 5k rpm.
5. Steering is extremely light, somewhat close to my exHonda city 2008, with ori rims.
6. Manual gear shift is more fun as compared to paddle shift. Feels like driving an arcade race car, Daytona.
7. Didn't try the Bose sound system but navi voice was very crisp & clear. I liked the voice command as it was really accurate & helpful. It's a good workaround for the missing navi button that euro version has. Sad thing is it couldn't play DVDs. Hope it could be hacked, just like BMWs. For my kids, this is a big minus point. Also, Tom Tom doesn't seem updated or worse, impractical. It can't even recognise mid valley! SA claims it's free for life but i doubt so.

Overall, the minuses isn't a deal stopper for a big sedan owner like me to consider. In fact, personally, it's the best Asian SUV as compared to other similar class I've tested, eg Sportage, Tucson, Grand vitara, CRV & Asx. My only worry is service quality . My first mazda was back in 1994 & it was quite a nightmare...

I have booked the white but since it is fully refundable, I'll continue my search. maybe test a Chevy. Btw, i have tested x1 20d too.I'd warn u to stay away from that car. Once 'tasted' its power, you'll be addicted! Honestly, that may have already distorted my judgement onto others, like this cx5. Lol.

P/s: i too, don't think 2.3liter/100km is the right gauge or indication. We should use the average as read in the multi info display instead.

My 2cents worth.
Can test drive already? hmm...
mwkiller
post May 13 2012, 03:45 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Glau @ May 12 2012, 03:09 PM)
Nice meeting you...yup the cx5 is a real beauty... Must ready my cheque book now!!!
Ni ce to meet you too... thanks for the support must book from me ok.. biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif

mwkiller
post May 13 2012, 04:05 PM

81 posts

that just show average on the meter
alot lyn member sure misteken what i means already & not all the time can get this.
mm... the calculation should 0.7 to 0.9cent / km
i think like this will be more clear.
icon_rolleyes.gif
CyntrixTech
post May 13 2012, 04:07 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

The steering is not all that light. It's definitely not as great as the Mazda 3 or any hydraulic steering's feel if you are used to them. Compared to older electric steering, it's one of the best. biggrin.gif
post May 13 2012, 04:42 PM

1,447 posts

such a big car can get 2.3l / 100km.....
abit too over do it i said.
curaptz
post May 13 2012, 05:16 PM

568 posts

so disappointed...not getting the car this month....
sad.gif
Winters
post May 13 2012, 07:14 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(curaptz @ May 13 2012, 05:16 PM)
sad.gif
Aiks...really ? I thought this week can get ?
thinkerr
post May 13 2012, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(curaptz @ May 13 2012, 05:16 PM)
sad.gif
When did you book?
curaptz
post May 13 2012, 10:03 PM

568 posts

early april

Added on May 13, 2012, 10:03 pmearly april

This post has been edited by curaptz: May 13 2012, 10:03 PM
kenneth1985
post May 14 2012, 10:12 AM

They started to have test driving session? Which branch is it?
kenso77
post May 14 2012, 12:10 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(kenneth1985 @ May 14 2012, 10:12 AM)
They started to have test driving session? Which branch is it?
I can't wait to test drive it myself too. Visited the Glenmarie showroom last week and saw a white unit parked there. Looked really sweet. Did an article about it:

http://www.kensomuse.com/2012/05/new-mazda...ew-new-car.html
CyntrixTech
post May 14 2012, 12:45 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

Most Mazda dealers have it. Just about all branches have it as well.

Taking delivery of an aluminum 2wd
kaneshi
post May 14 2012, 02:05 PM

170 posts

I am just so curious about 1 thing. Since this car has not yet being officially launched in MY, but there are already some on the road with registration.

Is the official pricing announced? the last I heard was 154K++.
kenso77
post May 14 2012, 02:10 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ May 14 2012, 02:05 PM)
I am just so curious about 1 thing. Since this car has not yet being officially launched in MY, but there are already some on the road with registration.

Is the official pricing announced? the last I heard was 154K++.
The official price HAS been announced.

2WD
Private: RM155,219.20 (w/o insurance) RM159,500.40 (with insurance)
Company: RM155,419.20 (w/o insurance) RM160,009.70 (with insurance)

4WD
Private: RM165,219.20 (w/o insurance) RM169,760.40 (with insurance)
Company: RM165,419.20 (w/o insurance) RM170,285.30 (with insurance)
kaneshi
post May 14 2012, 02:16 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(kenso77 @ May 14 2012, 02:10 PM)
The official price HAS been announced.

2WD
Private: RM155,219.20 (w/o insurance) RM159,500.40 (with insurance)
Company: RM155,419.20 (w/o insurance) RM160,009.70 (with insurance)

4WD
Private: RM165,219.20 (w/o insurance) RM169,760.40 (with insurance)
Company: RM165,419.20 (w/o insurance) RM170,285.30 (with insurance)
Never noticed that. smile.gif

Anyway, I wonder which model will get more popularity, 2WD or 4WD, perhaps in terms of city-driving. AFAIK, 4WD is meant for off road condition, unless there is some other things that I did not know about 4WD. icon_question.gif
Jinster
post May 14 2012, 03:34 PM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

don't keep bringing up the 2.3L/100KM thing...it's not true..

moving on..it's roughly 5.8L/100KM more or less.. depending on people's foot..
if prefer more pickup, use the manual, it's more fun

anyway i'm pretty sure not many SUV/CUV owners would use their pickup power during normal driving, i say this because whenever i was driving around town or anywhere...when i come across SUV/CUV or whatsoever..doesn't matter a crv, tuscon, sportage, tiguan, xtrail, etc etc...not even one drove fast after turning or going uphill with their so called "great" pickup said by them..
also for sure a lot of people would say the crv with 2.4cc is more powerful than the cx5 2.0cc.. come on...sometimes i hope they will think before they talk or start saying something..

the main thing is both are good cars, just that, cx5 won most of what was tested except "a tiny part of the boot space" where crv won that section -.-", and then many keep bragging about crv being bigger and whatnot... really sweat....

159 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:56 PM