8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)

izso
post Jul 19 2012, 07:48 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 18 2012, 07:55 PM)
I waiting for Champion car to come out then only do another TT laugh.gif

Last TT i didn't get the chance to demo your car. Was busy talking doh.gif
Oh ya hor. You were there. Oh well, no point auditing my setup, I had one tweeter that was faulty and now I'm one tweeter-less because sent for repairs.

Added on July 19, 2012, 7:49 pm
QUOTE(consrito @ Jul 19 2012, 12:18 PM)
Me not taiko lah taiko.. tongue.gif
Yes, seriously. Because never audit before. Only see ppl comment. So can't judge.

Muahahahaha....  brows.gif Wish to re-ice somemore. And I don't know you re-iced as well.  brows.gif
You and me different. brows.gif I only just reinstall what I used to have. You sell and then buy again.. not same! brows.gif

HXD2 again? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by izso: Jul 19 2012, 07:49 PM
izso
post Jul 19 2012, 08:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 19 2012, 07:56 PM)
that day seemed ok je? kong after TT or something?
I think you were lucky. I told you about the faulty tweeter right? Anyway one side was still slightly softer than the other. Apparently the voicecoil for the Dyns were dying.
izso
post Jul 22 2012, 09:24 PM

48 posts

Consrito : Vios very good platform for ICE. brows.gif
izso
post Jul 24 2012, 09:01 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jul 24 2012, 03:05 PM)
just found out that boston acoustics no longer manufacture ICE equipments...
How'd you find that out?

And whoever told you is lying through their teeth me thinks.

http://ap.bostonacoustics.com/Mobile-Audio-C236.aspx

Malaysia sommore. I think what might have happened is the distributor stopped importing the brand? BA hasn't stopped making ICE.

This post has been edited by izso: Jul 24 2012, 09:03 PM
izso
post Aug 8 2012, 09:08 PM

48 posts

CV Audio is an official distributor for Alpine. They can sort you out as well. Damansara branch has pretty good service
izso
post Aug 30 2012, 11:13 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Aug 30 2012, 10:24 AM)
already stated bro, 600-800..

but if u suggest 1.3k HU.. the quality should be up to the price paid for.. need to start save..
If you're not fussy about ICE and don't plan on upgrading to psychotic levels like Krayden, then any Alpine, Clarion, Kenwood or Pioneer that's within your budget range will be good enough. Go to a reputable accessory shop like EA Autoworks, CV Audio, etc and tell them your budget. They'll recommend based on what they have and installation usually is in their price.

Unless you plan on DIY-ing, there's no point listening to these master anaconda poisoners like Mywifecar, Quazacolt and all. Cuz once you kena poison, there's no turning back.........
izso
post Sep 1 2012, 05:45 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(ery90 @ Sep 1 2012, 04:18 PM)
rear and front using mohawk spk , but not sure what model .
still not satisfied coz the bass sound still cannot reach my heart .  tongue.gif
waiting for sifu howiechoo recommendation coz thinking of going there later  nod.gif
come try my myvi. Stock HU
izso
post Sep 3 2012, 08:45 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(ery90 @ Sep 1 2012, 09:57 PM)
where are u from ?  thumbup.gif
KL. I have a basic setup in my Myvi that is pretty decent for the money paid.
izso
post Sep 19 2012, 07:39 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Sep 18 2012, 07:03 PM)
oih, i din mean it like that la. i like it when ppl are happy with what they have.
anyway sifu mwc back ordy, so i go back into hiding.
There's two ways of looking at it.

1. They are happy cuz they haven't heard anything better.
2. They are just convincing themselves that nothing is better or is getting what they want from their gear.

Personally I don't like the Utopia range. Only the tweeter is nice, and when I say 'nice', I mean I like the Esotec Dynaudio range better since they are in the same 'range'.

PDX amps are great too but personally I prefer class AB sound. Class D just sounds so muted to me.
izso
post Sep 20 2012, 07:37 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(jasdeep007 @ Sep 19 2012, 10:48 AM)
Well depending on what you have fitted with the utopia, try putting it with a F4 PDX.. u will see the difference. I have Alpine Type X pro series aswel fitted as my back speakers. the utopia plays better. As for the Mono, Try out the Alpine PDX M-12 (1200Watts RMS) with the type X sub. u will know what im talking about.

Added on September 19, 2012, 10:56 am

Just an add on, if u have something better then the Utopia range, pls do tell me. Lets see which is better. 4.5K speakers are not priced that way if they were not good =)
You're already in love with Utopia so no matter what I say will not change your mind. For 4.5K there are lots of other brands out there that are so much better than Utopia la.

Focal and Alpine (PDX) has been the norm in terms of setup so yes I've heard the combination. It's great for sure, but I've heard better for the same money. Again, what's good is completely subjective. You like Utopia, I like Dynaudio, someone else probably Scanspeak. Have a listen to the Dynaudio Esotec or Esotar range of car audio powered with something considerably powerful like a TRU Billet or Brax. It's a different kind of sound. Drop by Audiocreations and have a listen to their Revatio / Scanspeak setup too.

The type-X sub is quite the performer too. But for the price the JL's are more value for money and not to mention the type-X uses quite a lot of power to really perform. So the amp you use for it will most likely be expensive. You should try a class-AB amp to power the sub and you'll hear the difference in sound. TRU Hammer would be the epitome of crazy-ass class-AB monoblocks. But lots of other 2-channels can be bridged to work subs.

Ultimately you can have all the best equipment, but if your installer is a crack, it'll sound like crap.
izso
post Sep 21 2012, 08:49 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Sep 21 2012, 01:45 AM)
Now I know what izso actually meant...........
Eh nooooooooooooo... your car had plenty of details. The sound wasn't dynamic and lively to my liking. My kind of music wouldn't do well in your setup but vocals in your car would beat mine flat out. Howie lives in his own little world (or perhaps it's ME that lives in my own world) so don't take his words as mine whistling.gif

But gotta give the fella credit, he knows what I like and can give me what I want. I finally got my Dyns replaced by a unbranded tweeter that Howie swore that I'd like.. and he was right! Dang these tweeters are good!

Jasdeep : Depending on your requirements (SPL or SQ), we cannot decide which subs are good and which aren't. To me the JL W6 is plenty good and already outperforms most subs I've come across. But at the same time the Fi sub that I've come across does way better in blasting out the SPL bass lines and some say comparable to the JL W7's. The Type-X isn't a SPL sub and has extremely good response times and sounds great, but to me it's overpriced and for the same money I'd rather get another sub. If you're looking for SPL, the Soundstream 15" Tarantula sub that's in CV Audio Uptown Damansara will go way louder that the Type-X if powered properly.

As for class-AB vs class-D, the sound differences isn't heaven and earth. But it's obvious enough to convert a lot of believers. In the past when I still had my JL W3v2, I used an Alpine monoblock, the venerable MRD605 and the bigger brother MRD1005. Class-D bliss was what I had until I got my hands on an even older gem, the Orion HCCA 250 G4 and the monstrous bigger brother Orion HCCA 275 G4. Both these class AB amps were stable bridged at 0.5ohms and the 275 had over 1000w of RMS power when bridged at 1ohm. Both amps were severely underrated and were churning out waaaaaaaaaay more power than advertised.

The difference in sound? Bass was sharper, tighter and in some cases, faster. Trying playing the soundtrack for the Pirates of the Carribean 1 on your setup then compare it with a setup that uses a class AB. The difference will be like day and night for that heavy bass dependent song.

I'm not trying to tell you that your setup is rubbish - because it's not. It's damn good and your stuff is pretty high end. But don't be so smitten into believing yours is the best and nothing else is better. There's always room for improvement but like what Krayden said - it all boils down to whether you're happy or not with your setup. If you've reached the peak of its performance and want more - then open your ears to alternatives. If you're happy where you are - don't come out for TT to poison yourself.

izso
post Sep 26 2012, 08:43 AM

48 posts

2.5k? I'd say keep yours. It's hard to find a class AB mono these days. Unless you don't mind bridging a class AB, but most bridged amps don't have a lot of power unless it had big power to begin with.

A 2nd hand TRU Billet might fit that budget though.
izso
post Sep 27 2012, 07:20 AM

48 posts

Can be done. But I recommend custom door panels first. Stock speakers are just not enough even after upgrade imho.
izso
post Sep 28 2012, 09:00 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Sep 27 2012, 11:11 PM)
- My ride: VIOS J
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: SQL
- File format/medium used for my source: FLAC(optional), mp3 320kbps
- Music genre: Trance, Vocal song
- Budget:  RM 5000
- Setup type preferences: What is this??
- Other requirements (if any): Sked void warranty
The Vios J has pretty crappy sound proofing so I'd suggest to spend some of that budget on soundproofing the doors and perhaps even the floor.

Since you're looking at MP3s generally, then a simple Alpine 9853 or something similar will suffice. Big powerful amp with dynamic sound speakers like Dynoaudios would be great but outta your budget. Howie's got these un-named tweeters that have great dynamism. Will really suit your type of music which essentially is what I'm using. Hehe.. come come let me poison you with my car.
izso
post Sep 28 2012, 03:25 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(jasdeep007 @ Sep 28 2012, 03:03 PM)
bro just to enquire, how much would a pair of dynoaudio component speakers cost?
Brand new you're looking the region of 2.5k and above. That's the non-esotar/esotec range. The 3-way is in the 5k price range. The highest end Esotec/esotar sell their speakers separately and the tweeter alone is 3k.

You rarely see this brand for sale 2nd hand too so I can't tell you how much these are.
izso
post Sep 28 2012, 08:55 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Sep 28 2012, 05:49 PM)
dun look at the price and let the high price influence ur mind...listen to the sound will be more practical..if really like it, 10k also u will buy..if dun like it, made from gold also meaningless to u...
+10

Btw, I thoroughly love Dynaudio sound which is why I'm so gung-ho about it
izso
post Oct 2 2012, 11:16 PM

48 posts

that noise will need to be solved with sound dampening. Or at least find out what is rattling and fix that.
izso
post Oct 4 2012, 07:57 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Oct 3 2012, 05:26 PM)
Lately I saw one of the ready made available aluminium mounting in market...too bad forgot to take photo.
How much? I think I need to redo my door panels already
izso
post Oct 22 2012, 07:10 AM

48 posts

Howie sold me these mysterious unbranded tweeters which are comparable to my old Dynaudios. Unbelievably good tweeters.

But they are a little more than the "RM100 - RM300" price range Quazacolt recommended. Actually a lot more. But well worth the money.
izso
post Oct 28 2012, 10:11 PM

48 posts

Then get the Alpine Type-R or Type-X

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:15 AM