15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Need recommendation/advice for CarAudio system V2, Please use this thread (omg v1 Aug 2005)

howiechoo
post Jul 23 2014, 02:54 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Jul 23 2014, 06:14 AM)
My ride: Perodua MyVi 1st Gen
- Prefers SQ/SPL/SQL: I want SQL. But should have a good kick for rock music and not boom boom when I listen to like trance.
- File format/medium used for my source: MP3
- Music genre: instrumental, pop, rock, R&B, Trance
- Budget: Preferably around RM1000 but can +- like maybe RM200-300 for HU and rest on Speaker and required stuff
- Setup type preferences: I'm new any recommendations?
- Other requirements (if any): New HU since my current HU only accepts CD's and apparently it scratches my CD's...something that can accept USB? Maybe an AMP if needed? Also recommend me a place to bring my car to, to upgrade xD cuz I definitely can't do it myself haha

I'll be using the MyVi for awhile and I hate being stuck in a jam without having good music haha, so i'm looking for a entry level setup but I don't want something lousy.

Maybe something that makes me go "Wow I can't believe something at this price would sounds good"

I'm headphone audiophile atm xD so i'm absolutely new to ICE and wanna improve the sound of my car.

A further examples of music I listen to :
Michael buble, Adam Lambert, The Piano Guys, Enrique Iglesias, Usher, Lady Gaga, Journey, Goo Goo Dolls, Yellowcard.
from ur budget and the source you can get (i read from above comment), you better just set up a simple setup that consist of a front spk change and a active sub....This is way more more better than your oem already and it give u most of the sound that you can hear......about 1k can get some decent spk and actve sub....till u get new car, maybe their system is already ok to you...so u move ur current active sub to the new car....
howiechoo
post Jul 23 2014, 02:54 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(FerrariST @ Jul 23 2014, 02:23 PM)
Hi Howie,

Appreciate for your feedback, let said if i want to go for reputable or at least decent quality music, how much more do i need to folk out? Excluding HU

dun forget you will need to mod ur door panel if u wan to fit in 6.5" component and it cost u few hundred already....
howiechoo
post Jul 31 2014, 08:20 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(adrianteo @ Jul 30 2014, 11:23 AM)
Hi all,

Im driving sonata yf 2011 model for the past 2 years. So far, i have only change the headunit to a touchscreen model.

I plan to upgrade the existing sound system but my budget is around RM1k.

Is there any suggestions for this?

I'm more towards SQL and i would prefer a little bit of bass.
get a component for front...if dun wish to invest more, get an active sub..
howiechoo
post Jul 31 2014, 08:21 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(tiju68 @ Jul 30 2014, 04:33 PM)
Hello to all the sifus and experts in ICE out there.. need some advice

Kinda new and learning abt ICE. Driving a MYVI ezi 1.3, the factory HU (2din) and speakers need more juice so planning to change out. Required setup is  good sound quality with decent bass (strong enough for my ears to hear not for my neighbours) for any kind of songs  thumbup.gif  max budget is Rm2k!

The setup as follows.

1. HU Alpine CDE-143EBT
2. Soundstream Picasso P4.800 800W 4-Channel Car Amplifier.
3. Focal Performance Subwoofer P 30 12" 4-ohm (RMS 50-250Watt)
4. Haven't decided on a COMPONENT SYSTEM  for the rear but maintaining the factory 4" speaker infront connected straight to head unit.
Guys please advise, not sure if the above set up plays well or is an overkill for a small car.  unsure.gif

and a suggestion for a decent COMPONENT SYSTEM for the rear for the mentioned setup.
Thanks Peeps  notworthy.gif
with budget 2k, get a real component and a hu change...
howiechoo
post Aug 3 2014, 01:03 AM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Aug 2 2014, 08:28 PM)
hi everybody, i'm driving a Mitsubishi Attrage and i'm thinking of upgrading my front speakers. Right now i'm considering the
- JBL GTO6508C 6.5' 210W 2-Way Component Speaker  or
- ROCKFORD FOSGATE FNX2614 6.5' 2-Way Car Component Speaker

Which is a better buy in terms of sound clarity and bass?

thanks in advance.
i believe both item u saw from online website? both at price tag rm2xx ?
howiechoo
post Aug 3 2014, 08:24 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Aug 3 2014, 08:50 AM)
Yes. They claimed it to be original. Is there a possibility that it is fake?
i believe there's no need to judge anymore...
howiechoo
post Aug 19 2014, 08:03 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Aug 17 2014, 12:51 PM)
Thinking about upgrading my HU (currently using an Alpine CDA-9857).

Requirements are BT AND iPod input (preferably both).

Optional, but would be nice - prefer display comparable to the CDA-9857 (not calculator display type). I can live without this, but I think the scrolling to read song names/album names/etc. would be really annoying with the calculator displays.

Obviously, because I am a proud Malaysian, I want cheap also tongue.gif so this is the third priority. Does anyone have recommendations?
148ebt?
howiechoo
post Aug 19 2014, 08:03 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Aug 16 2014, 11:57 AM)
ok guys, first time buying a 2din player with gps/video/etc. Looking for one with good GPS (and map support), decent video playback (support as many codecs as possible).

Which unit would be a best bang for buch choice?

I'm not really into ICE, but I'd though I'd ask here instead of opening a thread.

Thanks all.
pioneer avic f7200

howiechoo
post Aug 19 2014, 08:04 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Aug 12 2014, 10:29 AM)
hi guys can reccomend any good shop around gombak, ibu kota area to install head unit... trying to find ppl who sell this two models (can reccomend something similiar)... coz my budget is as close rm 500 as possible... most the lowyat forum seller dont do installation

KENWOOD DPX - U 5130
PIONEER FH-X555UI
travel a bit to find me lar.....pls
howiechoo
post Aug 29 2014, 04:38 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Aug 29 2014, 03:07 PM)
Is there any Plug & Play coaxial speakers for my new Honda Jazz front door that can give me a better treble compared to the ori speakers? There should not be any drilling or modification on the door panels.

there's oem pnp adapter u can use
howiechoo
post Sep 10 2014, 10:25 PM

1,919 posts

i got a few preamp wanna let go..working condition from 50-100..come my shop to pick if possible....

howiechoo
post Sep 17 2014, 01:31 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Sep 17 2014, 09:41 AM)
Budget is low as possible tongue.gif I'm using my mothers car for the next month (or two) while I replace my own car... so no point spending here... I already have a BT HU in mind for my own wheels when I get them.

Not really interested in multiple pieces of hardware just to get Spotify working. I'm looking for iPhone -> USB -> HU -> speakers. Our resident expert howiechoo has recommended the Blaupunkt 130 but can't confirm that the setup I'm interested in will work... that's why I'm asking here in case anyone has tested before.
the easiest way is to get a bt hu....99% it work with ur sportify.

howiechoo
post Sep 17 2014, 01:32 PM

1,919 posts

usb only control ur phone as additional storage..not the program.
howiechoo
post Sep 17 2014, 09:45 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Sep 17 2014, 02:19 PM)
BT HU I will definitely buy from you for my own car later... but temporary car also buy BT HU meh? tongue.gif Sorry boss... pokai oh tongue.gif
then dun request so much lor..
howiechoo
post Oct 1 2014, 11:49 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Sep 27 2014, 05:06 PM)
Dear all, may i know is kenwood ddx-630w good? sales person reckon is direct fix for toyota vios and there is no wiring alteration. is PNP. RM1550 with the price? many thanks all.
i will suggest u get the new jvc models....it's not toyota size but it will fit nicely with small side add on bracket...

feature and sound wise, it's of course better
howiechoo
post Oct 3 2014, 02:15 PM

1,919 posts

get a good active sub, then add in front component....the best and simplest way to upgrade oem sound..
howiechoo
post Oct 10 2014, 12:06 AM

1,919 posts

dun greedy...get an amp first..
howiechoo
post Oct 12 2014, 04:58 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Oct 10 2014, 07:44 PM)
Hmm too clarifyit thats why im askin..got some ppl i ask said it midrange..got some said tweeter sweat.gif
full range = full frequency can be play, depend on size and spec

tweeter = high frequency can be play, around 4k above

mid range = mid range freq from 400-4k can be play.

just get the driver that match the spec, then u can call it any way u want...
howiechoo
post Oct 12 2014, 05:19 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(anizanzainal @ Oct 12 2014, 04:12 PM)
After change hu, radio reception become poor compare to stock hu..if before i can get many radio channel..but now i cannot get the same channel as before..
pioneer lower end model are having some tuner problem...

howiechoo
post Oct 12 2014, 08:25 PM

1,919 posts

QUOTE(anizanzainal @ Oct 12 2014, 06:00 PM)
Im using pioneer avh-x5550bt..do u mean that this model also got tuner problem?
If yes, how to solve it? Tq in advance...
seriously, i dun have a solution

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0650sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:20 AM