Tareh, i've noticed on your demo you used to have a Marzocchi fork. Maybe you have a bit of knowledge regarding this. I have a 4X WC 2008. Know anything bout setting the fork?
Mountain Biking Heaven V26.8, the bestest two-wheel sport
Oct 18 2012, 02:21 PM
2,311 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Dark Zone, NYC |
Tareh, i've noticed on your demo you used to have a Marzocchi fork. Maybe you have a bit of knowledge regarding this. I have a 4X WC 2008. Know anything bout setting the fork?
Oct 18 2012, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(tareh @ Oct 18 2012, 03:56 PM) fork setting is easy one. as much ada 3 setting to do Umm... thanks. But actually, I wanted to know which knobs do which and which leg has what air. It's an old model fork. Online manual pun tak membantu... Haha... Nevermind, I'll ask JT. 1. fork plushness spring vs air. 2. fork rebound controls the speed at which your fork returns after being compressed by a bump. too fast, fork springy like a pogo stick. too slow, your fork is sluggish and sometime cannot recover to full extension quickly between bumps it will become progressively shorter in travel 3. fork compression controls the speed your fork compresses or reacts to a bump. too little: fork blow through travel. Too much: feel harsh, and it won't make full travel on the fast, big bumps so my suggestion is just, set everything at middle. then go ride, if you think: 1. you're diving at multiple drops - increase rebound 2. diving at cornering - increase rebound 3. hard to pedal, loosing speed- increase rebound 4. landing after drop but rear wheel sliding everywhere, and almost endo - reduce rebound 5. getting arm pump after going through roots etc - reduce compression 6. wanna go faster - increase rebound, increase compression, dont masturbate the day before ride in the end: actual setting is down to rider preference. This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Oct 18 2012, 06:34 PM |
Oct 18 2012, 06:32 PM
Oct 18 2012, 11:48 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Oct 19 2012, 08:29 PM
All the best to all joining Burung Hantu!
And make sure you have your mud guard with ya... |
Oct 23 2012, 11:32 AM
Oct 23 2012, 03:34 PM
Oct 24 2012, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(dickybird @ Oct 24 2012, 01:57 PM) my Anthem now doing double duty, commute and frim, OK more commute and road training@desa park than frim. She is still running on stock 2010 michelin wildracers, they roll OK but my LBS, Local Bangla Shop got a pair of Small Block 8s If you're okay with the tires, stick with it. SB8 and Wild Race'r have really different tread pattern. SB8 what size? If 2.35 I want so the Q is stick or switch? |
Oct 24 2012, 04:33 PM
Which shop selling Ikons eh? Actually I am looking for either SB8 2.35, Ikon 2.2 or Larsen TT 2.35 for my DJ.
Oct 24 2012, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(kaizer @ Oct 24 2012, 06:22 PM) I think JW stocks Ikon. The LarsonTT runs small, the Ikon is huge for a 2.2... LOL MK2 was also in my list previously cause I want to ride a bit aggressive like Jinya with the Vimana. Eeekekekekeke... Jumping jumping bukan selalu pun... Added on October 24, 2012, 6:29 pm I'm using MKII 2.4 folding. I think India made wan kua? Since it's not protection series. Got it from CRC. For me it's good enuf without BC compound for my use. Grip is almost parallel to Minion in my case and it's lighter than the Protection too! Was expecting the tire to be larger volume though. It's a comfy tire! Maybe I didn't maxed out the potential of the Minions? Been using for a few rides Schwalbe NN 2.1 folding Pacestar. Now that's a crappy tire. Friend's been swearing by it though, so one man's meat is another's poison? |
Oct 25 2012, 09:58 AM
Oct 25 2012, 02:30 PM
Oct 26 2012, 08:06 PM
See what I found...
![]() |
Oct 27 2012, 07:51 PM
Reliable? Dunno...
But Sektor better fork. Plush, 100-140mm u-turn. |
Oct 27 2012, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(ahchat @ Oct 27 2012, 07:59 PM) but now got a dilemma...i can increase my bdget to rm1000, but hav to wait till end of november...got dis offer for used (1 year) magura menja xc 100mm=rm900, used (1 year) rockshox revelation team 2010=rm1000 n d sektor n recon gold...which 1 is a good bargain?? Magura? Do you know anyone who can repair/service Maguras? If you don't, don't buy it. Not worth it.Rockshox on the other hand, there are a few people who can service it. Heck, if you download the service manual, you can do it on your own. Now, either Revelation or Sektor right? Rev is air u-turn (on BBS rite?) and Sektor is coil u-turn. Sektor is brand new correct? But... the coil might be too soft for you. So, maybe have to change. Not sure if you can get the springs locally. Rev is second hand, if something goes wrong, you will need to spend a bit money to service or repair it. But there are people who know how to do it. You can even send it to Gin Huat/Specialized. If you can wait, go for Sektor. If not, go with Revs. But, don't take my word on it. |
Oct 28 2012, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Oct 28 2012, 08:58 AM) You probably need to send it in Spore..there got a lot Magura Learn to service sendiri is better Similar to Leftys...leceh The thing about mtb the components require maintenance because of the off road riding we do....the more aggresive u ride the more likely you ll require to service your parts |
Oct 29 2012, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Oct 29 2012, 12:34 PM) Hi bro, need some advice.... I got two questions for you.recently my front brake always seems to jam- this happen after a ride when got home. I chuck my bike into my car boot (folding down rear seat). not sure what to do with it, but after a day or 2 it then free up. Doubt any issue during the ride ( but then i might not notice, if it sangkut only lightly). I am using elixer 3 btw.... yeah, not the best in the offer but also no $$$ to upgrade. Any clue how to DIY repair? it should not be air lock issue right? that would relate to lack of bite... 1. When you chucked your bike into your car boot, do you always remove the front wheel? (If your answer is Yes, please proceed to Q2) 2. When you remove your front wheel, do you have a brake spacer installed into your front calliper? If you answered No to question 2, then that will be your problem. You need to install brake spacers into Avid Elixirs' brake callipers when you remove the wheels. If the lever is accidentally squeezed without the wheels on or brake spacers, you're gonna have a bad time. This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Oct 29 2012, 02:00 PM |
Oct 29 2012, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(kaizer @ Oct 29 2012, 06:47 PM) Added on October 29, 2012, 6:56 pmOh, ZTR rims will also lost quite some spoke tension the moment you mount some tires on it and pump it up. So the wheel builder is very important in this case. Say building up a ZTR wheels, if the builder tension the rims at the min tension, after the tire is mounted, the spoke tension will drop significantly low, causing weak rims and wobbles. Either re-tension/re-true the wheels with tires on it or tension the spokes on the higher end of the allowable tension range. After that is done, the spoke tension varies much lesser between tire mounted and unmounted. FYI, all rims' spoke tension drop when mounted with tires. Just that ZTR has the tendencies to drop more than others if not build right. |
Oct 29 2012, 11:53 PM
What are you talking about?
Btw, XC is MTB, DJ is MTB, 4X is MTB. This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Oct 29 2012, 11:53 PM |
Oct 30 2012, 12:01 AM
| Change to: | 1.4025sec