Business ACCA V8, Global Body for Professional Accountants

Doreamon10
post Apr 4 2012, 11:21 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(yclim2 @ Apr 4 2012, 07:11 PM)
hey guys, jz wanna seek for opinions here. I got book vouchers from 1 college aldy n i also checked there is my name in the list of another college whr im studying at too, shd i get tat another Rm 200 voucher or not?

There is notice of warning there pasted outside of the collection counter, "if collected aldy at another coll, shdnt collect anymore as the list of names will be submitted to ministry of higher education after the deadline of the distribution."

Im wondering what can Ministry do to those acca students who claim vouchers at 2 colleges, phone call/issue letter to claim back rm200 fr me or blacklist me at somewhr...
Hi there, the virtue of an accountant is integrity! tongue.gif brows.gif
Doreamon10
post Apr 18 2012, 06:14 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Apr 18 2012, 12:25 PM)
How difficult/important is pieacemeal acquisition (P2)? I might have to tackle this topic on my own because unable to attend the lecture sad.gif
Piecemeal acquisiton tested 3 sittings in a row liao, my lecturer said highly unlikely but there again it depends on Mr. Grahman Holt whether wants to surprise/shock/kill us in the exam or not... : (

Doreamon10
post May 3 2012, 09:56 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 3 2012, 10:14 PM)
that time i took F5 and F9 at the same time, i got 3 weeks study leave (work full time) to prepare for exam but i had little knowledge bout F9, i knew i could not pass both, therefore i sacrificed F9. i passed F5 in that sitting, failed F9 with 31 marks, passed F9 in the following sitting. 

i always start 1 month before exam because most of the time i only take 1 paper. slow but steady because everytime also pass  laugh.gif so far i have only failed twice in ACCA exams and once in CAT exams

Passing P5 and P7 in the last sitting was a surprise for me since i did not take 2 papers at once for a long time already. i took 5 weeks leave just to study these 2 papers, at least my effort was not wasted.

Add on.
During that 5 weeks, i studied from noon till around 7-10pm at night (with some slacking in between)
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have done very well, only utilising about a month to prepare for exams, even though it is only 1 paper.

I think individual studying pattern makes a difference, some can clamp in a lot of info in a short period of time (e.g. yourself) while some need more time to absorb & digest (e.g. myself).

I am really happy for you that you have completed your ACCA journey. Enjoy your convocation! rclxms.gif

I will be taking my P2 this June, last paper. Hope to clear it. : )
Doreamon10
post May 4 2012, 02:28 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ May 3 2012, 11:14 PM)
thanks.

actually i have wasted a lot of time, by right i could have graduated much earlier if i took more papers (at least 2) each semester.  in the end i noticed that i am too slow, therefore i made up my mind to take P5 and P7 together.

I could only absorb around 20% to 30% during lecture class, i absorbed most of the knowledge during my study leave. as for p2, i did not know how to do conso during lecture, not even calculating the goodwill. i only have the motivation to study when exam is near, always last minute  laugh.gif

P2 needs a lot of practice, practise on the revision kit for few rounds, put extra attention on new accounting standards and effective time management. you should be able to pass  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif   Good luck!
Thank you for your valuable tips! Honestly, I don't like to do the same questions more than once although last year my P3 lecturer told us to do that, I went agst his advice.... actually... I tried but i gave up simply because i find it quite a chore having to do the same question again when there are so many more questions not attempted.

However, I will heed your advice and try to do it for my P2 since it is going to be my last paper, I will force myself to do it. flex.gif

Thank you once again! really want to get it done and over with.

Added on May 4, 2012, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(nick67 @ May 4 2012, 02:17 PM)
When you study your P2 did you memorize all the ias (definition etc)? Or just learn how to do the adjustments only?
Yes, good question asked, I want to know too. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by Doreamon10: May 4 2012, 02:29 PM
Doreamon10
post May 4 2012, 08:16 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ May 4 2012, 08:42 PM)
wah!! the exam docket surprised me!!! my cute photo is on the exam docket leh XD

anyone is taking P6 this sitting? i'm gonna resit it this coming sitting ._.
same here! ha ha...except for...my photo isn't cute leh.. tongue.gif
Doreamon10
post May 14 2012, 12:24 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 14 2012, 12:36 PM)
i regret my first seating so badly becoz i only focused on calculations a lot more than standards.

for 2nd seating p2, i thought its gonna be better becoz in anyway i had to study all standards for p7 as well.

so during paper, i knew my calculations sucked anyways(never balance) but i was confident with standards.

wrote everything i could and finished all the questions. guess what, most of the standard questions came out from bpp exam kit shocking.gif

sadly i only peek2 a bit, but still remember few things. so answer like photostat machine la.

got 58.. ahahaha  sweat.gif study 4 days only for p2 coz p2 was 2nd week. i tot p2 burn already.

ayam pretty confident ias 12 gonna come out dis time.. its been too long..

also interesting thing to note is,

calculations now only 30% from whole paper.. others all writing! (if u neglect the part b question, dont choose the kira2 one la sweat.gif )
wow! envy!

I am planning to bang on standards too. By the way, i only have kaplan revision kit. Do u think it is good enough?

Doreamon10
post May 21 2012, 03:22 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ May 20 2012, 11:08 PM)
u knoww.. the one where u burn ur books and put your head right on top of the flames  thumbup.gif

your brain will suck all the smoke..

okay2.. 3 more weeks to go now..  flex.gif

finish my p7 exam kit twice already.. if no pass also dunno lah how.
Aiyoh! I don't know this so called black magic will work or not! But for sure his books have all turned as black as charcoal!

Spend time doing something constructive lah - practise PYQs - the only way to pass ACCA.

Doreamon10
post May 22 2012, 01:11 PM

88 posts

Hi guys! Cool ok? I guess everyone is under great stress as the exam is getting closer.

I believe tzxsean did not mean it negatively.

He contributes to this forum regularly and he has given many valuable advices in the past. Please don't judge him by just this latest post. He might be facing great stress too!

Do stay positive and spend time practising PYQ and exam kits. And let's encourage each other and not arguing...

Let's spend our next few days constructively and do a few questions a day and keep the failing away!

Keep our spirit up! : )

Doreamon10
post Jun 11 2012, 09:45 PM

88 posts

Good luck everyone!

My paper is on next Tuesday. Having butterflies in my stomach liao.

: (
Doreamon10
post Jun 19 2012, 10:37 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jun 19 2012, 11:20 PM)
YEAH MAN WTF!!!!!!!! I memorized the whole suite of 5 but didn't come out!!!  doh.gif  doh.gif 

Menon missed her tips for the first time! Sad that it's my sem!  cry.gif
I seriously think that this IFRS37 should not even have appeared Q4 of P2!

http://www.ifrs.org/current+projects/iasb+...liabilities.htm

This IFRS37 amendment project has been suspended for a year.

My lecturer did not even utter a word on this standard for current issues. : (

Left with no options since cannot do Q4.

Doreamon10
post Jun 20 2012, 10:05 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(keeting89 @ Jun 20 2012, 10:56 AM)
Don scare me off wei..
Horizontal group or vertical group o...
I thought it is horizontal group... Lol
It is a simple structure, one acquistion is piecemeal from FVTPL into 60% subsi whilst another one is 80% owned subsi from day 1.

Consol qn for this sitting is pretty straight forward but I still could not balance my Consol SFP but it is ok as i am so used to unbalanced SFP ( I know i am lame ). LOL

Q4 is a shocker whilst Q2 and Q3 are issues on different standards, nicely broken into 3 or 4 parts.

Doreamon10
post Jul 25 2012, 01:21 PM

88 posts

Hi guys!

I've been trying to update my PER on myACCA but could not do it. The layout of the webpage for PER also looks so different from what it used to be a few months ago.

Is it just me or any of you have problems accessing that PER page?

Look forward to your reply..thanks!
Doreamon10
post Jul 30 2012, 11:15 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(pherac @ Jul 30 2012, 06:05 AM)
Guys, I have some question regarding lecturers

I'm taking P1, P2 and P3 this year at kasturi KL campus.
While I'm a huge fan of Joe Fang's teaching for P2, I don't find Parmindar's teaching for P3 to my liking.
2nd term is almost over and I'm thinking of discontinuing P3 class under Parmindar.
So I did some research online and found out that Michael Mainwaring will be lecturing for P3 in November at ALC (walking distance from the place I live). The thing is while it's meant to cover all the syllabus of P3, it is only a 4 day course.

Has anyone attended Michael's P3 class before? Can anyone kindly give any feedback?
Oh, my god! Joe Fang? His consolidation workings are all over the place! I joined his classes last term but i did not use his consolidation method. I was so afraid to destroy my chance of passing! If I was the marker, such messy workings (arrows here and there) will really piss me off.

Just my personal opinion, those who intend to join his class, better go around and ask his former students first!
Doreamon10
post Jul 31 2012, 02:51 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(hrevijay @ Jul 31 2012, 12:02 PM)
My apologies but I do not want to recommend/side with any lecturer so as to not appear to be biased. My intentions in posting about this issue was just share my thoughts, nothing more. What I can say I this, if all you want to do is pass your exam, then it doesn't really matter which lecturer you go to as every lecturer has his or her own unique method that enables student's to pass. But if you realize the importance of understanding what you're studying and being able I apply the knowledge in work and business in the future, I strongly urge students to look for a lecturer who focusses on fundamentals and not shortcuts.
It is not my intention to debate or prove anyone wrong. It just seemed a little odd that after just a few classes, you're able to confirm JF's methods to be clear. Anyways, you probably have a point. Lets put this issue to bed. Btw, don't you think for someone not very fluent in English, T acct methods theoretically should be easier, since it's just math ?
I think that's problem with a lot of ppl. Everyone is content with just passing. Don't get me wrong, but I feel that's risky and possibly could be the reason as to why many fail.
Yes, I agree with you. End of the day, we go for a pass in the paper. I understood his method and I tried to accept it too by practising those questions he extracted from PYP (which have been simplified to illustrate his unique consol method) for us to try at home.

But when reaches the stage of praticising of PYP questions, I faced problems because there are too many adjustments to accomodate the workings (which is on the face of SOFP or SOCI or CSF) on a single page.

Maybe it is just me, I was going for workings marks because I don't think I will ever get the SOFP balanced under exam condition, I wanted my workngs on my script to look clear enough for the marker. You know, to pass an exam, it is more than knowledge you have in the subject, you need to demonstrate exam techniques. And I strongly believe that for F7 or P2, workings are very very important.

I have nothing against Joe, In fact I appreciate his patience and kindness, he always stayed behind after classes to guide students. But I really dared not put my faith in his unique consol method. : (

Eventually, I used the schedule method taught in Kaplan textbook.

Still waiting for my results, I hope my strategy of gaining marks from workings worked.
Doreamon10
post Aug 1 2012, 10:48 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(lqcevox @ Jul 31 2012, 09:24 PM)
+1 ... I dont think anyone can pass p2 if they are just applying shortcuts anyway.. you pretty much have to understand everything that you apply.

anyway, i would also like to get a copy of joe fang's latest mind maps if anyone dont mind sharing it  brows.gif
Please and Thank you!  biggrin.gif
I am curious, what mind maps? I went thru his P2 class last term. He did not give us any mind maps. We were given 2 class notes. Book 1 consists of summary of FRS standards (in brief) , questions and answers. Book2 consists of consolidation, illustration of different kind of senarios, eg simple structure, complex structure, acqusition, disposal etc.

There is no mind maps leh. sad.gif

I have soft copies of notes he wrote during classes. I don't mind sharing, PM me if u want.

This post has been edited by Doreamon10: Aug 1 2012, 10:50 AM
Doreamon10
post Aug 6 2012, 08:40 PM

88 posts

2 more days!
Doreamon10
post Aug 8 2012, 10:23 AM

88 posts

2 more hours!! fingers crossed
Doreamon10
post Aug 8 2012, 10:34 AM

88 posts

Good luck folks!
Doreamon10
post Aug 8 2012, 10:45 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Aug 8 2012, 09:30 PM)
i cant get in too...but i got email..just want to double confirm
Hi there, tzxsean! You passed? I believe u did! : )

I managed to pass my P2, affiliate now, phew!
Doreamon10
post Aug 13 2012, 06:58 PM

88 posts

Suggestion to all: do NOT make your decision on which lecturer to go for based on "advice" from New Member. The advice maybe not genuine as we know there have been lecturers who came in to promote themselves, not openly, but in disguise. Just my 2 cents worth of opinion.

0.0497sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:46 AM