SΛMSUNG Galaxy W (I8150) Official Thread V5, Wonderful things coming to you Worldwide

jandroid
post Jul 9 2012, 11:53 AM

115 posts

new user reporting in. SGW black.
just wondering if anybody uses a stylus with this phone?

This post has been edited by jandroid: Jul 9 2012, 11:57 AM
jandroid
post Jul 9 2012, 01:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(emkay @ Jul 9 2012, 01:00 PM)
How much you get for the sgw? yesterday my bro in law bought samsung s advance for the same price as I paid for my sgw early this year. dang...

Added on July 9, 2012, 1:08 pm
did you release the power and volume up button before touchng menu button?
its RM349.00 cause i got from u mobile phone deal u88 so not very reflective of current market price.
jandroid
post Jul 31 2012, 12:46 AM

115 posts

@emkay & power slide, how old is the phone?
jandroid
post Jul 31 2012, 11:23 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jul 31 2012, 10:27 PM)
I bought mine in April! lol. So far I'm quite happy with it. But all these new phones coming out is very tempting. Not sure whether to switch to Iphone 5 when it comes out...
mine just 1 month old as of today but feel like holding it very long already(same thing happened with my galaxy mini doh.gif ) btw just wondering if anyone uses any sms backup to sdcard app?
jandroid
post Aug 15 2012, 12:18 AM

115 posts

i think charging thru pc usb will fast2 rosak the battery. experience with my much older phone and bros phone of a diff brand. battery kembung .
jandroid
post Sep 1 2012, 03:03 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(reef_d @ Sep 1 2012, 09:31 AM)
Wow.. Already v5 baru notice got thread for galaxy W owners.. tongue.gif

I have 2 issues that i hope u guys could shed some light on..

First.. The phone could suddenly vibrate nonstop when a sms or whatsapp comes in.. Had to turn the phone to get rid of it.. Is there a permanent fix or do i need to send it for warranty claim?

2ndly.. When i turn on hspa connection, gps and waze, the battery drains amazingly fast, it shuts down in less then an hour, so i plugged the phone to a car charger, now the issue here is the phone gets very2 hot.. Signs that the batt is not good anymore?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.. biggrin.gif
car charger rosak the battery fast i feel cause my galaxy mini been having some issues faster draining issues after using car charger. battery cannot last long not 18 hrs any more but 10 or less . 3g n bluetooth always on,
jandroid
post Sep 5 2012, 02:44 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(emkay @ Sep 3 2012, 08:10 AM)
My W is over 6 month and I charge daily during my sleep. by the time I woke up it usually been overcharged by over than 3 to 4 hours. Thankfully my ori battery still ok and no 'kembung' symptom. Wonder why there are few cases of battery kembung. izzit becoz of overcharging? using different charger or car charger? or the battery itselves are not truly ori? I did the same way (charging phone) on my last SE xperia and even my wife overcharge her csl mi300 (bought more than 1 year ago), but no battery kembung thingy.
QUOTE(Max @ Sep 3 2012, 08:38 AM)
i think using original charger wont damaged or overcharge the battery. the power already regulated for the internal charging circuit in the phone..
using 3rd party charger / car charger might be the problem..  hmm.gif
charging thru usb to pc long run will kembung battery too. my much older phone 2 batteries kembung, my bros phone usb charging only also kembung both of us over charged cause zzzzzzzzzz
jandroid
post Oct 7 2012, 11:47 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Oct 7 2012, 04:43 PM)
How do I make the application section for my Galaxy W list the applications like my Galaxy Tab (see picture below)? My Galaxy W is listing the applications as a long list (which requires a lot of scrolling down) but the Galaxy Tab is listing them as icons. Previously my Galaxy Tab is also listing them as icons but I'm not sure why it changed. Can't seem to find the settings to change it back.

get to apps list like the example in your picture then press the left touch key choose grid view. hope this helps. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jandroid: Oct 7 2012, 11:47 PM
jandroid
post Oct 8 2012, 01:01 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(mooney @ Oct 8 2012, 12:46 PM)
Guys. my phone hang yesterday then I pull out battery put back in. Before hang got 35% after pull out put back in it show 2% . Now my battery expand already , making it not fit straight liao. How now? cry.gif
simple one is tukar battery.

jandroid
post Oct 12 2012, 10:35 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(emkay @ Oct 12 2012, 08:45 AM)
Don't get me wrong. I'm still wondering why there some user are facing 'swollen' battery? Even my office kolik (SGW user) have same problem. Izzit because of the batteries or the charger itself. I have the feeling that the culprit is the defected batteries.
usb charging is the culprit and car charger also (heats up the battery too fast). power bank i'm not sure. battery defect cannot be sure.

anyway guys, how long can the phone go on a full charge?

mine is ~ 10 hrs 20 mins on 3g + bluetooth - light browsing, messenger, google currents and short calls.
jandroid
post Oct 21 2012, 10:51 AM

115 posts

I'm thinking of getting powerbank. if i play games like bad piggies batt will finish quickly!
jandroid
post Oct 21 2012, 02:51 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Oct 21 2012, 02:28 PM)
i dont think power bank is safe to use, as my friend burned his galaxy note internal chip/motherboard due to using power bank.

cost him a few 100 bucks to change a new one
this has been the nagging doubt i have abt those banks. not sure how safe is it.
jandroid
post Oct 22 2012, 11:03 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(emkay @ Oct 22 2012, 08:02 AM)
Sony have powerbank as an accessories. Maybe it is safer if you buy  a branded model like Sony. Not sure others have it or not
QUOTE(iamoracle @ Oct 22 2012, 09:23 AM)
Try get reputable powerbank brands like YooBao, Pineng, etc. I am using a Pineng. A friend is using YooBao on his Note 1 and S2.

So far so good. No issue.
considering yoo bao hmm.gif
jandroid
post Oct 22 2012, 12:56 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(emkay @ Oct 22 2012, 11:24 AM)
Careful with yoobao. There are many counterfiet yaobao in the market.
yes thats why not keen on buying online. sweat.gif once item arrived hard to dispute liow.
jandroid
post Oct 22 2012, 09:24 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(sepet @ Oct 22 2012, 09:17 PM)
i'm new android & samsung wonder user.. can anyone tell me what step must i do with my wonder?

and also application shud i install...

thanks 4 guide guys..
my first app installed was avast antivirus.
then these followed soon (honestly depending on what u like to do eg chatting ,music, games)

2. ymessenger
3. sound hound
4.winamp
5. hanping lite- chinese dictionary
6. app2sd
7.angry birds
8.battery solo widget.

jandroid
post Oct 23 2012, 05:28 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ahchun92 @ Oct 23 2012, 02:15 PM)
Hi guys, how's the battery life of your phone? Any idea how to save the battery? Just bought my mom a S advance & found out that W drains up battery faster even though both phone uses 1500mAh battery :/
start buy reducing brightness to abt 35%(or less if u can see) turn off 3g when not in use and use a darkcoloured wall paper, avoid live wall papers. make sure wifi is off when not in use.
jandroid
post Oct 23 2012, 11:19 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ahchun92 @ Oct 23 2012, 09:11 PM)
been there done there.. i dont have data plan so yeah, uses only wifi and it is off when not in used.. but still find it drains faster than the s advance, maybe my battery is dieing :/
how many hrs?

with 3g n bluetooth on is max 10 hrs nowadays i got play games n surf a bit more a bit about 7 hrs b4 its like 9%.

when i'm not using 3g i deactivate data i feel the batt left % meter hardly move hmm.gif . i never mangaed to try out how long it will go.
jandroid
post Oct 26 2012, 03:38 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(AppleForMyLife91 @ Oct 25 2012, 06:11 PM)
hi, unrelated reply... just want to ask you, do u know Samsung Shop got sell original Galaxy W Battery? how much would it cost?

btw, if i use sun global battery, would my warranty will void if using this brand battery? thank you very much...  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
ori batt is either rm 89 or 99 rclxub.gif based on Samsung mobile news letter. never been to samsung shop don't know got sell or not.
warranty pula void maybe? i'm not sure but to be on the safe side do keep your original battery and put it back before sending to claim warranty.

jandroid
post Apr 2 2013, 01:12 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Apr 1 2013, 05:40 PM)
using since feb 2012 until now battery didnt bloat

hope it bloat so i can dump and buy a new phone, so bored with it  tongue.gif
Bloating can be induced, by using till 0% then charge till overcharge eg . b4 sleep n off the charger when wake up. within 3 weeks i think the batt will bloat with beer belly d. Anyway after it swell a bit, it will keep bloating. Not recomended la cause it destroys the phone.

My phone bought in june 2012 by march 2013 battery bloated. till almost can't use the phone. From beginning my battery already problem cause when in camera mode on display can see wavy lines and if i continue to take pix it will capture the wavy lines as well ruining the pix. sometimes its there sometimes its not usually goes away after reseting phone. Now totally gone after battery replaced thats why i blame the stock battery. Anyone else face the problem b4?

The original battery is swelling further despite not being used anymore rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by jandroid: Apr 2 2013, 01:15 AM
jandroid
post Apr 3 2013, 10:01 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(darthbii @ Apr 2 2013, 07:17 PM)
hmm.. I did this daily "routine" of yours it managed to last more than a year. my battery just became bloated last month, had the phone since Dec 2011. plus its stock battery. maybe I was lucky biggrin.gif
Yes u r. i believe my battery had some underlying issues already just that i never realised. besides got once i was sick n kept sleeping and the battery really overcharge for more than 6 hrs or so for a few cycles.

0.0452sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:27 PM