6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Fitness The Runners Thread V4, Everything about running...

seng12345
post Mar 20 2012, 09:05 AM

189 posts

good morning to all sifu.,i'm new in lowyat. wondering around and found out here got runners group. i'm keen to join u guys.
before that i should introduce myself,
i'm seng, i've run for almost a year can consider myself as newbie in running.
fall in love with running after run my life's 1st half marathon.
so far ran 4 full marathon, 3 half marathon and others small event.

seng12345
post Mar 20 2012, 10:03 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Mar 20 2012, 09:15 AM)
wah....bro i salute u oh!!! 1year run experience, aldy run 4 FM n 3HM...how fast u did it?? make me curious... smile.gif
hahaha..,dun salute me la mate..i juz fresh meat...here sure got alot sifu alot faster than me...
all my FM is done near sub 5, the best 1 oso is 4:56:34...,freaking slow....
HM a little better, can finish within 2 hours la...
seng12345
post Mar 20 2012, 10:42 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(norizan @ Mar 20 2012, 10:07 AM)
some shoe may not suitable for you.
get professional advise base on ur foot and weight or else ur getting into injury if wrongly pick....
and u need Vaseline to prevent blister if require....
my piece of advice is dun buy on brand and price, buy on comfort and injury free.
choose the right 1 rather than perfect 1..vaseline for me not so effective, got 1 kind of powder quite useful to avoid blister..forgot wat's the name dy..

Added on March 20, 2012, 10:48 am
QUOTE(ultr4lite @ Mar 20 2012, 09:50 AM)
1. counted the cadence 4 times in the middle of run, 174, 174, 182, 182. all in slightly faster than current pace, but still comfortable.
2. when you said heel lift, was knee lift similar? or did u mean lift heel towards butt? sweat.gif I'm not lifting both knee n heel high, more down to earth  smile.gif
3. I have issue on arm-leg sync: I'll be running faster (feel like in good form), but will burnt out faster.  sweat.gif
4. not sure on "slightly twist of your spine will spreading the force to your arm and lower body", may you elaborate more? Thanks, will try later on timely basis. With 8-5 job, and a family with small son, I'm not sure if I'm able to run frequently. To have 30mins weekdays run is a bless smile.gif
1. listen to ur body, see how it react when u change ur running pattern. find the most suitable pace and go with it.
2. if possible the knee part dun move too aggressively, since u run long distance lifting knee do not help u much on increase ur pace. maintain 40 degree lift on heel to the back u will feel u go faster w/o feeling too tired.
3. ur body will sync automatically, no issue with tat. burnout fast is only lack of training. nutrient oso play important role.
4. no comment with tat, running can be simple "follow wat ur body tell u and go with it".. (well tat's my practice la)

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 20 2012, 10:48 AM
seng12345
post Mar 20 2012, 04:05 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Mar 20 2012, 11:29 AM)
WAH...still sub5, i also 1 year running experience and ran 2 FM. But still cant d sub5....salute u lor!!! smile.gif  smile.gif
ur time oso not bad a..,i always think like tis, at lease u finish wat many don't dare to start in the 1st place....
so my quote of the day, "NO MATTER HOW FAST OR HOW SLOW, ONCE U CROSS THE FINISH LINE, U R THE WINNER"

Added on March 20, 2012, 4:09 pm
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 20 2012, 11:52 AM)
My hero haha.. i been running 6 months and my HM time is only 2:30, no FM done yet.

ohya. i read about an advice from runnerworld forum, stop reading comment all those runnerworld's article and start running, you'll gain more (written by a forumer who done 3hrs FM, 1:20HM, 35mins 10k..)

some how with exploded amount of information on the neck, we become too worried before we even start to to run... I'm in the same case too, before this i am worry about if no compression shorts then will i run slower, then no gps watch, no hrm. Now when I have them I am wondering still no footpod no this no that.. I think I've been overburden myself with these.. time to start easy, go easy and just run..
wah..,dun say like tat..i juz kamikaze fresh meat only..hahhaha..we all the same, cuz we r runners !
u should read some but not all.,i suggest read something relate to nutrient and recovery after run and injury..
it does help u to get more prepared.
i always think like tis, y need to worry something u cannot foresee. JUST GO AHEAD AND RUN FREE!!

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 20 2012, 04:09 PM
seng12345
post Mar 20 2012, 04:13 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(266K @ Mar 20 2012, 12:04 PM)
Ha.ha, I started running after bought a RM120 cheap NB shoe, after a year a cheap Mizuno Wave shoe RM180. with a stop watch only, no hrm no gps...poor guy.

In less then 2 year, personal best run is 15km about 1:30. Never took part in any race, but going to run 17km race in Pg this Sunday.

Added on March 20, 2012, 12:05 pm
How true indeed.
i still remember my 1st ever running shoe is RM100 cheap NB shoes, then upgrade to 430 asics shoe finally settled with VFF until today. hahaha.
only gear carried all along with me is the gifted timex watch.

Added on March 20, 2012, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(dude1218 @ Mar 20 2012, 04:13 PM)
Salute this legend....
join us at Fb...sure alot people will praise u
https://www.facebook.com/groups/lynrunners
o no no..,i'm not tat great basically. juz normal runner with daily job. hahahha...
tis year will commit 5 more FM and 1 ultra.

Added on March 20, 2012, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(ccube @ Mar 20 2012, 01:31 PM)
chck out Saucony Kinvara 2.  Selling at RM300.  If interested special price for LYN Runners.  PM me or 0193289083

Added on March 20, 2012, 1:38 pm
Seng, u definitely hv some running genes in u.  1 yr into running and get achieve sub5 in marathon.  Join us in FB page as well LYN Runners  rclxms.gif
thank u for welcoming me =)

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 20 2012, 04:20 PM
seng12345
post Mar 20 2012, 04:32 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 20 2012, 04:28 PM)
Shit you sounds like one of my friend who started 1 year into running but already done 2 ultras. or 3
wow, tat's god..!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
seng12345
post Mar 20 2012, 10:48 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Mar 20 2012, 07:18 PM)
sometime there's just too much choices around and quite hard to pick..so thought tat maybe can ask suggestion from sifus here for a one-type-fit-all shoes to get. tongue.gif

and within budget of cuz.. tongue.gif my budget is around Rm200-300. Do lemme know if there's a good one around...

i did come across Adizero Ace at RM330..very light.. smile.gif good one?
ya..,i know tat...coz i face tat dilemma too...
adiddas not my cup of tea, dun feel the shoes is specific for running (my opinion only)
i've tried NB, Nike, asics, brooks...,for me my standing would be
asics, brooks, NB.
asics is excellent in gel cushioning, but a little heavy and weak built in sidewall
brooks is good all round performance, but the gel is more to hard type and thin
NB is sturdiest build of all n tough very good to use as training shoe, but cushioning is complete useless

if u prefer cushion feel go for asics
if u prefer performance Brooks
if u wan cheap n tough shoes NB

200 - 300 can get very sufficient shoes from all these brand i mention already,
because tis budget belongs to entry level so no problem with those.

Added on March 20, 2012, 10:50 pm
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 20 2012, 07:32 PM)
I see you are looking for VFF stock too, thinking of importing from US? it's like half of what it cost here.. I might want to stock 3 pairs..
ya, i looking for komodo n bikila.
i oso come across its 100 cheaper than buy in local store.

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 20 2012, 10:50 PM
seng12345
post Mar 21 2012, 08:44 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 20 2012, 11:43 PM)
Need forwarder.. have to pay them for a fee. but still way cheaper than buying here.. Vibram is competing against other minimalist shoe in US. but here they seems to price themselve exclusively
i know got 1 kind of service co help u carrier goods u buy from US to m'sia..but not sure how it works.

Added on March 21, 2012, 8:55 am
QUOTE(fastreader @ Mar 20 2012, 11:55 PM)
alrite..thans a lot for the information. Will check out asics..since i believe more cushioning is better for the feet?..no?... hmm.gif
no problem mate.... icon_rolleyes.gif

actually there have 2 extreme group
1 is prefer wearing cushion shoes
1 is prefer barefoot running

both have there own arguments, it juz depend how u treat it and how ur body adapt it.
i dun put weight on either side, its equal for me.

cushion benefit is help to reduce severe road surface injury, but it make u tend to do more heel strike coz as u can see most of the shoes will have more cushion on the heel.
barefoot benefit is help ur leg to adapt the most natural running posture, but it might injured u with rough road surface and those glasses stone (i always got tat)

so depend on which u more prefer, old quote apply "listen to wat ur body tells u"

a little buying tips for u, ask the shop to allow u to walk n run the shoes for a while when u try it. tat way will gave u more feedback on whether tat shoe is suit for u or not.
dun worry, they will allow u to do so...hahahhaa..

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 21 2012, 08:55 AM
seng12345
post Mar 21 2012, 08:57 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Mar 21 2012, 08:56 AM)
I just shipped in a pair of VFF Treksport and cost me less than RM300
where u got it from?
seng12345
post Mar 21 2012, 09:45 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 21 2012, 09:27 AM)
In the past when there's no cushion shoe, everyone wear flat racer to run. but now it's relabelled as minimalist - mean for people who run fast.
I am not sure how well supported this is, but cushion shoe seems not helping me to ease any pain from running, after running there would sure be pain and sore too - I'm a very heavy person - heaviest in LYN runners group photo.

Encourage heel striking I find it not really true too, I only tried to forcefully did heel strike, on normal circumstances it would revert to fore or mid foot strike on regardless what shoe. Cushion shoe is also very comfortable, especially when you stand and walk but not necessary running (which is what you do when you shop for a new pair of shoe in a retail outlet).
agreed, different ppl have different situation...
so i still suggest go out n try it..

Added on March 21, 2012, 9:46 am
QUOTE(norizan @ Mar 21 2012, 09:28 AM)
i juz get ACE 3M green color from al-ikhsan rm260... last few unit i think.....

well difference ppl difference experience, if someone can wear adidas is doesn't mean suitable to everyone...
juz go n try 1st....i was started wearing adidas since i start running and i dont have problem so far.....
agreed., so juz go out and try until u satisfied.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 21 2012, 09:46 AM
seng12345
post Mar 21 2012, 11:30 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Mar 21 2012, 11:24 AM)
I've worn Power, Mizuno, NB, Newton, Adidas, Asics, Brooks. Right now for short races (10-12K) I'll use Asics Gel Hyperspeed 3, have had the shoe since last year, but that one is a true racer, dun last long, I dun think it'll last until end of this year. For HMs currently I'm happy with my Brooks Pure Cadence, & before that I had no probs with Newton. I set my HM PB with Newton. For training, tempos, intervals, anything less than 12K, I use Asics Gel Speedstar 5. For LSD I stick to my Brooks.

I'm currently carrying an injury & the doc's diagnosed my feet as flat. But I think since I'm midfoot/forefoot striker, I dun think shoe type matters. I've tried support/flat foot shoes, but I dun like the bulk & I dun think I need all that support becoz the support is on the heel. Why the hell shud I use a shoe with thick heel support when I dun even land on my heel when I run ?

When choosing a shoe, the first thing that will come to mind would be the brand, really. If Ur a Nike fan, U'd look for Nike shoes, a Brooks fan would do the same & head straight to Brooks' store.. Then U will see whether that favorite brand of Urs have any shoes that matches Ur feet type & Ur running style. Then U wud see whether the shoe falls within Ur budget, after that U'll look for Ur favorite color, whether it matches Ur clothings, etc. I believe this is true for most ppl. RM200-300 will get U some good shoes if U look hard enuff.

For me, recommending a shoe to anybody would be akin to telling somebody what U think is good for them. Of course we can recommend things like cushioning, feet type & all, but in the end, the decision is Urs. What works for me might not work for other ppl. I know what I want from a shoe, I know what to look for in a shoe & I'm not afraid to try. I've given away some shoes that didn't fit me although I thought it wud, I thought I've chosed carefully, like what happened to my NB MR796 (or 795, can't remember). I gave it away with less than 100km logged, becoz I chose wrong. After a few years of running, & trial & error, I think I've got enuff experience to make the right choice. Now, while I can help ppl make choices, I wud never let ppl choose based solely on my recommendations.
the 1 who make the final decision is still the user, i believe we juz sharing not recommending anyway.
seng12345
post Mar 21 2012, 02:11 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 21 2012, 01:28 PM)
When you are not feeling good while running, getting a new shoe might spike a new interest and motivation to run more. It's call gear acquiring syndrome, applicable to musician, home theatre, sound system, bicycle, and almost everything.

Sometimes you need to spend to be happy, just like why a woman need more than a pair of shoes and dozen of handbags
hahaha..,universal rules for all women.. spend to be happy

seng12345
post Mar 21 2012, 04:27 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 21 2012, 03:34 PM)
I am not sure what is easy in life... lol.. even watching tv at home requires you to earn money in order to buy that damn TV, after that you still have to setup your tv channel or pay monthly subscription etc... Not sure why friends is asking me don't you feel very tired doing this? Isn't it very difficult? If it's easy I wont be doing it already..

BTW:

I am considering my next purchase of VFF

Trekking / Hiking / Trail Running
- KSO Trek
- Trek Sport
- Spyridon (just released, the grip looks really good for rough tracks)

Running / walking
- Bikila LS
- KSO (which I am happily using)
- Sprint / classic

Any sharing on these? Cant seems to find the comparison chart
i can share bikila LS experience with u (having it for almost a year)
feel the same as KSO, different here is the upper mash. it give u kind of skin feel.
comfortable for me, i love used tis shoe to run on tarmac.
grip very good on tarmac as well, but a bit poor if wet. must careful when wet.
the rest should be same all across the line.

*BTw the time i bought tis shoe becoz i admired marathon legend (abebe bikila) icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on March 21, 2012, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(norizan @ Mar 21 2012, 03:10 PM)
barefoot running and join as unofficial runner every running event or ask someone to sponsor.... tongue.gif
i fall in love barefoot running once i've tried.

Added on March 21, 2012, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(black_howling @ Mar 21 2012, 03:25 PM)
Yeah i agree...i started off with a rm50 bata shoe and an ipod nano for running...when i got to my 3rd run then i got the arm band for my iphone to track my run and also for music...this year only i invested in my first running shoe, a brooks trance 10 running shoe.

So like how tenno and norizan said...get the feel for running first...some people i know buy all the gadget for show then quit after the first run sayin its too hard and they dont want it.
i prefer to run w/o fancy gadget. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 21 2012, 04:32 PM
seng12345
post Mar 21 2012, 05:24 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(carjack18 @ Mar 21 2012, 05:12 PM)
Agreed with wat u said, Tenno. Most of us start off running with a basic running shoe and dun think abt brands, technology and etc. Once u are into running, u will appreciate the different as u will likely to change the shoes throughout ur running time. Regardless of what shoe or technology, it is us being to run and not the equipment itself smile.gif
ur body is the 1 need to do the work, the shoe is juz a tool.
get the shoe tat adapt u, not ask ur body to adapt the shoe. brows.gif

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 21 2012, 05:27 PM
seng12345
post Mar 26 2012, 08:11 AM

189 posts

hey mates..,morning and have a great week ahead !!
seng12345
post Mar 26 2012, 04:02 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(ballsytennis @ Mar 26 2012, 03:29 PM)
hello, anyone here dream of participating in 4 deserts ultimate test of human endurance? sound silly but it's one of my vision to fulfill:)
we r on the same boat..,my final goal is cross the sahara dessert..and i'm aiming for tat for another 15 years..CHEERS!!!!!

Added on March 26, 2012, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 26 2012, 04:00 PM)
hi, before you can dream about this desserts race, you need to join 10k, 21k, 42k, 100k and 100 miles races and put all these in your pocket.

you probably can start off with Malaysia Ultra, The Most Beautiful THing 100km ultra trail race which held in Sabah.

It's good to have vision, but you need to be down to earth to know what to expect and how to achieve your vision.
there are another event u can go is the most extreme run in m'sia.,200km in sabah..i forgot the name but the distance is 200km and tis event is for memorial for ww2 in sabah.

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 26 2012, 04:11 PM
seng12345
post Mar 27 2012, 08:28 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Mar 26 2012, 04:28 PM)
Tht event is a run ? I thot it's a memorial service, a walk by war veterans to commemorate sumthing...
i guess if walk hardly can finish the distance within 5 days (unless 24/7 walking i believe can be achieved) , some more the 1st day is already 55km............
i think is marching kinda speed...

Added on March 27, 2012, 8:30 am
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 26 2012, 04:28 PM)
it's by the same organizer. Special Force 200KM. initially were 240km, and its being finalised with 200km.

anyway, if you're running enough Ultra races, you will automatically get connected with runners who done dessert races.

hope you know who i'm talking about... hehe...

on another note, your pocket need to be bottomless too. the entrance fees in USD.
ya..,1st time saw it...i was like *shock*..
RM at least 2k and above, plus need to bring alot of stuff...

hahaha..,there are only few ultras dare to run dessert..knew few of them...
hope can break my ultra virgin tis year..,since i've break my FM last year....hahahaha
any website can see the full list of ultras..?asia to be specific..

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 27 2012, 08:31 AM
seng12345
post Mar 29 2012, 10:29 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(black_howling @ Mar 29 2012, 10:27 AM)
guys...anyone know where i can sell off my Brooks Trance 10 shoe ah? Bought it before the brooks run...
It is extremely comfortable but it is smaller by 0.5 for my feet.  cry.gif
My toes are still blue black from the last brooks run.  sad.gif

can advise???
how long did u bought? and where u bought it?
if u bought from sunway piramid, i might able to help..,i know the shop manager there
seng12345
post Mar 29 2012, 10:34 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(black_howling @ Mar 29 2012, 10:31 AM)
just before the recent brooks race...bought it from the brooks in curve.
the time u bought the shoe.., they didn't help measure ur both foot meh..?
standard procedure should measure both leg and take the larger size leg, and leave approx a thumb space after wearing..

This post has been edited by seng12345: Mar 29 2012, 10:35 AM
seng12345
post Mar 30 2012, 09:35 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(alienfighter @ Mar 30 2012, 09:12 AM)
i have the blister issues if i run above 10km...
the first encounter while i'm using normal Nike Sport socks...
in Brooks HM, i change to Nike Running socks (anti-blister), but i still have them after the run (but i think its kinda less)..

so, my question is, will the Injinji socks will totally prevent the blister problem? cuz it cost even double from Nike Running socks worth of investment....or is there any brands that will help?
there have some powder can use to prevent blister, can get it from Running lab at tropicana city mall..

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0577sec    1.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:19 PM