planning to change 2012 altis stock tyre and rim, but dowan sacrifice comfort so much
DSV4600
Mar 12 2012, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 12 2012, 02:55 PM) how much F1A1?its performance will b on par with v12 and t1r? lets say if i use 215/50/R17 or 215/55/R17 tyres will it b ok?i won't b going for the new F1 series coz over budget liao...im' hoping mayb F1A1 got similar performance as v12 or c.drive2...will it b?how much per piece? If you die-die going for 17' rims, then please follow TRD specs since I saw someone posting it earlier. For tyre choice, it's very subjective. One man's poison, another man's meat. For me, I'm a Hankook kaki. If I can't find Hankook, then I would go for Michelin PS3 as 2nd choice, since I saw it in action at the 4G1 Series track day yesterday in the wet. Superb water dispersion & grip, even when tyres was almost bald. For price of tyres, please refer to Tyre Price list here or at Autoworld.
TSyamasce
Mar 12 2012, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Mar 12 2012, 03:17 PM) If you die-die going for 17' rims, then please follow TRD specs since I saw someone posting it earlier. For tyre choice, it's very subjective. One man's poison, another man's meat. For me, I'm a Hankook kaki. If I can't find Hankook, then I would go for Michelin PS3 as 2nd choice, since I saw it in action at the 4G1 Series track day yesterday in the wet. Superb water dispersion & grip, even when tyres was almost bald. For price of tyres, please refer to Tyre Price list here or at Autoworld. hmm ok...then u got experience using v12?how was it?
Quazacolt
Mar 12 2012, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Mar 12 2012, 03:17 PM) If you die-die going for 17' rims, then please follow TRD specs since I saw someone posting it earlier. For tyre choice, it's very subjective. One man's poison, another man's meat. For me, I'm a Hankook kaki. If I can't find Hankook, then I would go for Michelin PS3 as 2nd choice, since I saw it in action at the 4G1 Series track day yesterday in the wet. Superb water dispersion & grip, even when tyres was almost bald. For price of tyres, please refer to Tyre Price list here or at Autoworld. warmed semi slicks also damn good in wet (LOL!  ) anyways TS: you need to be more specific on your performance/comfort priorities. if comfort is your priority, c.drive 2 or even the high end advan Db is among the best choice one can have for tires
TSyamasce
Mar 12 2012, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 12 2012, 03:25 PM) warmed semi slicks also damn good in wet (LOL!  ) anyways TS: you need to be more specific on your performance/comfort priorities. if comfort is your priority, c.drive 2 or even the high end advan Db is among the best choice one can have for tires  hmm...more inclined towards better handling and cornering stability but not 2 the extent whole ride became very bumpy and noisy lo
DSV4600
Mar 12 2012, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 12 2012, 03:22 PM) hmm ok...then u got experience using v12?how was it? I'm using Ventus V8 AKA V2 Blackbird. Superb handling & grip, wet weather is excellent. My friend is using V12, same feedback, but even better. Sat with him yesterday as he speed around Dato Sagor in the wet.
TSyamasce
Mar 12 2012, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Mar 12 2012, 04:47 PM) I'm using Ventus V8 AKA V2 Blackbird. Superb handling & grip, wet weather is excellent. My friend is using V12, same feedback, but even better. Sat with him yesterday as he speed around Dato Sagor in the wet. kinda expected tat...saw a few good reviews on v12...seems like a mid-end all rounder choice of tyre..is it better to change to 215/45/R17 profile or stick to 205/55/R16 profile but change better tyre?
DSV4600
Mar 12 2012, 05:11 PM
If you don't want bumpyness or rough ride, trust me, stick to stock specifications (50 - 60) profile and switch to UHP (Ultra High Performance Tyres).
Added on March 12, 2012, 5:11 pmIf you still feel unsatisfied, then switch to 17" after your new set needs replacement. At least you've tested for yourself.
This post has been edited by DSV4600: Mar 12 2012, 05:11 PM
turbocharged
Mar 12 2012, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 12 2012, 02:55 PM) how much F1A1?its performance will b on par with v12 and t1r? F1A2 if u see the review, pwn all UHP tire. ( for both dry and wet) F1A2, Ps3, F1D5,CSC3/CSC5. 1st one F1A2 is the best, and PS3 so on. the rest are pocket friendly, but in the wet must be careful. those 4 above are emphasis on both dry and wet. but, they are not cheap  the rest of the tire, just dont drive so fast in the wet, all should be ok.
TSyamasce
Mar 12 2012, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 12 2012, 05:30 PM) F1A2 if u see the review, pwn all UHP tire. ( for both dry and wet) F1A2, Ps3, F1D5,CSC3/CSC5. 1st one F1A2 is the best, and PS3 so on. the rest are pocket friendly, but in the wet must be careful. those 4 above are emphasis on both dry and wet. but, they are not cheap  the rest of the tire, just dont drive so fast in the wet, all should be ok. hell yeah they r fukken expensive lol...i'm not driving porsche or lambo 2 begin with so no need la...hehe...i'm thinking of getting either F1A1, V12, PS2, c.drive or CSC3...any feedback?i will b sticking to stock (205/55/R16) profile...not sure bout pricing for F1A1, PS2, CSC3 and c.drive for this tyre profile...initially thinking of getting t1r but mostly review say t1 sport good wor...
Quazacolt
Mar 12 2012, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 12 2012, 05:38 PM) hell yeah they r fukken expensive lol...i'm not driving porsche or lambo 2 begin with so no need la...hehe...i'm thinking of getting either F1A1, V12, PS2, c.drive or CSC3...any feedback?i will b sticking to stock (205/55/R16) profile...not sure bout pricing for F1A1, PS2, CSC3 and c.drive for this tyre profile...initially thinking of getting t1r but mostly review say t1 sport good wor... if you got the dough, you can look into advan db instead of c.drive 2. additional nano compound, more complex treading design. main features of less rolling resistance and superior reduction in NVH (the c.drive 2 is basically a cheapened/scaled down version of it after all)
TSyamasce
Mar 12 2012, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 12 2012, 06:28 PM) if you got the dough, you can look into advan db instead of c.drive 2. additional nano compound, more complex treading design. main features of less rolling resistance and superior reduction in NVH (the c.drive 2 is basically a cheapened/scaled down version of it after all) how bout s.drive?i'm referring to c.drive (not sure still on sale or not)...not c.drive 2... anyway my budget not >400/piece for sure lol...
Quazacolt
Mar 12 2012, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 12 2012, 07:06 PM) how bout s.drive?i'm referring to c.drive (not sure still on sale or not)...not c.drive 2... anyway my budget not >400/piece for sure lol... s.drive are more for performance. and if you want good wet grip too, these are not for you. they are better on dry grip. comfort wise its nothing to shout about. c.drive is vastly inferior to c.drive 2. no point to look back to c.drive and i guess advan db is out of your budget
TSyamasce
Mar 12 2012, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 12 2012, 07:07 PM) s.drive are more for performance. and if you want good wet grip too, these are not for you. they are better on dry grip. comfort wise its nothing to shout about. c.drive is vastly inferior to c.drive 2. no point to look back to c.drive and i guess advan db is out of your budget hmm...how come i see review on c.drive better than c.drive2 lolz...not sure wat's the reason
Quazacolt
Mar 12 2012, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 12 2012, 07:32 PM) hmm...how come i see review on c.drive better than c.drive2 lolz...not sure wat's the reason c.drive have better treadwear, and probably slightly better performance. however it defeats the purpose of marketing it as a comfort/silent tire. C.drive 2 excels much more in that, at the cost of treadwear due to very soft compound. if you're not a very heavy driver, it matters not as you will need to change your tires around 3ish years even if the treading is still good as rubber ages and hardens under weather conditions anyways.
TSyamasce
Mar 12 2012, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 12 2012, 07:36 PM) c.drive have better treadwear, and probably slightly better performance. however it defeats the purpose of marketing it as a comfort/silent tire. C.drive 2 excels much more in that, at the cost of treadwear due to very soft compound. if you're not a very heavy driver, it matters not as you will need to change your tires around 3ish years even if the treading is still good as rubber ages and hardens under weather conditions anyways. hmm...not sure if my occassional spirited driving style can b categorized into heavy driver haha...if i driving alone (true for most of the time) surely hantam the car one...
Quazacolt
Mar 12 2012, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 12 2012, 07:40 PM) hmm...not sure if my occassional spirited driving style can b categorized into heavy driver haha...if i driving alone (true for most of the time) surely hantam the car one... i drive my car at 150+ km/h and whack some corners hard if thats what you're wondering. and yes i am a c.drive 2 user.
turbocharged
Mar 12 2012, 07:47 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 12 2012, 07:41 PM) i drive my car at 150+ km/h and whack some corners hard if thats what you're wondering. and yes i am a c.drive 2 user. i did that too....with ps3....in the rain  drive carefully TS
Quazacolt
Mar 12 2012, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 12 2012, 07:47 PM) i did that too....with ps3....in the rain  drive carefully TS  i think in rain i went 130-140 max. c.drive 2 compound auto hardens during wet/cold conditions, which increases its NVH considerably and that defeats the purpose of having a comfort/silent tire. that, and yokohama has never been a top performer in wet performance, so nothing to shout about on their wet performance in almost every model they have. still, the noise on a hardened c.drive 2 is still NOTHING compared to semi-slick tires
TSyamasce
Mar 12 2012, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 12 2012, 07:41 PM) i drive my car at 150+ km/h and whack some corners hard if thats what you're wondering. and yes i am a c.drive 2 user. lolz me 2...and i did it wif my myvi then y r u using c.drive2 then lol...since u said nt really gd for our type of driving??? QUOTE(turbocharged @ Mar 12 2012, 07:47 PM) i did that too....with ps3....in the rain  drive carefully TS  ahaha...i never do tat in the rain man...nt scared later skidded then terbalik meh...hehe..i think u r the 1 who should drive more carefully...  very tempting to go for GY F1A1...guys do u know how much roughly?last year introduced onli...now gt A2 liao should reduce price alrdy kua...i'm guessing bout 400ish?mayb slightly more... This post has been edited by yamasce: Mar 12 2012, 07:56 PM
turbocharged
Mar 12 2012, 07:54 PM

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 12 2012, 07:53 PM) lolz me 2...and i did it wif my myvi then y r u using c.drive2 then lol...since u said nt really gd for our type of driving??? ahaha...i never do tat in the rain man...nt scared later skidded then terbalik meh...hehe..i think u r the 1 who should drive more carefully...  yaya, u are right  that time was....a little high on the adrenaline, lol.