TSumapathy
Mar 8 2012, 09:34 PM, updated 14y ago

Hai Guys,
Yesterday i received a statement from Prudential for last year. I was really shocked and dissatisfied with the statement. I paid RM1770 last year and the units that are left at the end of the year is only RM40 +++.
What a crap eat up most of my money. I'm reconsidering to buy a standalone medical card since it is not been a yer i'm paying for the scheme.
Sifus please advice. Even my son's ING plan is a lot better.
Thanks for the feedback.
ronnie
Mar 8 2012, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(umapathy @ Mar 8 2012, 09:34 PM) Hai Guys, Yesterday i received a statement from Prudential for last year. I was really shocked and dissatisfied with the statement. I paid RM1770 last year and the units that are left at the end of the year is only RM40 +++. What a crap eat up most of my money. I'm reconsidering to buy a standalone medical card since it is not been a yer i'm paying for the scheme. Sifus please advice. Even my son's ING plan is a lot better. Thanks for the feedback. That's normal when you just started the policy last year.
TSumapathy
Mar 8 2012, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 8 2012, 10:42 PM) That's normal when you just started the policy last year. So what is the best option? take up a standalone card or remain with this? Thanks
ronnie
Mar 8 2012, 11:07 PM
IT's up to you.... Insurance with Investment linked need to be looooong term >20+ years to see a good return.
RA78
Mar 8 2012, 11:10 PM
Depends on your age, normally standalone card premium increase every 3-5 years.
When you are young 20-30 plus with tight budget , then it is fine to go with standalone card.
Once you reach 50, the premium will become very expensive.
It is advise to get a medical plan caused cheap in long term and provide higher annual limit/lifetime limit compare to standalone
Just my 2 cents..
Colaboy
Mar 8 2012, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(umapathy @ Mar 8 2012, 10:58 PM) So what is the best option? take up a standalone card or remain with this? Thanks Its how the agent quoted the policy for you . . . Investment-link policy is Unit trust + Insurance. So you can have 90% for insurance & 10% for unit trust or the other way round. From what i see here your agent quoted max in coverage for you . . . thats why the return is abit low for 1st year I'll advise you to carry on rather than switching to other
TSumapathy
Mar 9 2012, 12:50 AM

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Mar 8 2012, 11:47 PM) Its how the agent quoted the policy for you . . . Investment-link policy is Unit trust + Insurance. So you can have 90% for insurance & 10% for unit trust or the other way round. From what i see here your agent quoted max in coverage for you . . . thats why the return is abit low for 1st year I'll advise you to carry on rather than switching to other If i remove some of the coverage like hospitalization benefits it could lower the premium and increase the allocation in units? More coverage means more commission to agents? Please advice. Thanks
Colaboy
Mar 9 2012, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(umapathy @ Mar 9 2012, 12:50 AM) If i remove some of the coverage like hospitalization benefits it could lower the premium and increase the allocation in units? Not really . . . if you wanna increase on cash value, increase your investment (include Prusaver) to your policyMore coverage means more commission to agents? Higher coverage of cause you need to fork out additional payment for insurance charges therefore commission is higher.Please advice. Thanks This post has been edited by Colaboy: Mar 9 2012, 01:51 AM
TSumapathy
Mar 9 2012, 06:25 AM

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Mar 9 2012, 01:50 AM) But for Prusaver we have to pay monthly right? What if our commitments are high and unable to pay monthly. If we can top up whenever we want should be okay too. Another thing if a policy lapses, we can always re-activate any time or there is a time period. What do you think? Thanks
Colaboy
Mar 9 2012, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(umapathy @ Mar 9 2012, 06:25 AM) But for Prusaver we have to pay monthly right? What if our commitments are high and unable to pay monthly. If we can top up whenever we want should be okay too. Another thing if a policy lapses, we can always re-activate any time or there is a time period. What do you think? Thanks You can include additional PruSaver RM100/200/300 monthly for a period of 12 months, if you feel the fund & market is good you can continue invest Policy lapse if more than 6 months need to Medical check up before re-active back Policy lapse below 6 months can immediate revive back but have to pay back the previous monthly premium for 3 months
TSumapathy
Mar 13 2012, 10:35 AM

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Mar 9 2012, 10:42 AM) You can include additional PruSaver RM100/200/300 monthly for a period of 12 months, if you feel the fund & market is good you can continue invest Policy lapse if more than 6 months need to Medical check up before re-active back Policy lapse below 6 months can immediate revive back but have to pay back the previous monthly premium for 3 months I think keeping the current medical card and getting another standalone medical card would be a good move. My next option looks like ING since the medical card is good. Any advice from sifus. Thanks
thunderaj
Mar 13 2012, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(RA78 @ Mar 8 2012, 11:10 PM) Depends on your age, normally standalone card premium increase every 3-5 years. When you are young 20-30 plus with tight budget , then it is fine to go with standalone card. Once you reach 50, the premium will become very expensive. It is advise to get a medical plan caused cheap in long term and provide higher annual limit/lifetime limit compare to standalone Just my 2 cents.. Agreed with you.after 3 years mine increase about 1000 rm .
Colaboy
Mar 13 2012, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(umapathy @ Mar 13 2012, 10:35 AM) I think keeping the current medical card and getting another standalone medical card would be a good move. My next option looks like ING since the medical card is good. Any advice from sifus. Thanks
klboy
Mar 13 2012, 03:37 PM

May i know how old are u? The cost of insurance is higher if your age grow older. The cost of insurance is depend on your age.
Also don't forget that the first year, 25% of your RM1770 will go into the agent commission and another 13% will go into the agency.
Breakdown: Agent Commission : RM265.50 Agency : RM230.10
The balance u check on your policy on the cost of insurance.
saintprayer
Mar 13 2012, 08:51 PM

want to ask a side track question. is it possible that i can stop paying premium if the account value in my IL policy is enough to cover all basic + rider? any maximum duration for not paying premium as long as account value is sufficient?
MaxWealth
Mar 14 2012, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(umapathy @ Mar 8 2012, 09:34 PM) Hai Guys, Yesterday i received a statement from Prudential for last year. I was really shocked and dissatisfied with the statement. I paid RM1770 last year and the units that are left at the end of the year is only RM40 +++. What a crap eat up most of my money. I'm reconsidering to buy a standalone medical card since it is not been a yer i'm paying for the scheme. Sifus please advice. Even my son's ING plan is a lot better. Thanks for the feedback. RM 40++ including no claim bonus? Is the fund performing poor?
TSumapathy
Mar 14 2012, 07:51 AM

QUOTE(MaxWealth @ Mar 14 2012, 01:17 AM) RM 40++ including no claim bonus? Is the fund performing poor? Yes including the No Claim Bonus. Mine is invested in Pru Equity. Any advice on the fund performance or any sifus from Prudential who could recomment aither fund names. Even though age is another factor i don't see how come the unit fund is just RM40++.
MaxWealth
Mar 14 2012, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(umapathy @ Mar 14 2012, 07:51 AM) Yes including the No Claim Bonus. Mine is invested in Pru Equity. Any advice on the fund performance or any sifus from Prudential who could recomment aither fund names. Even though age is another factor i don't see how come the unit fund is just RM40++. Actually how many units you have? and what is the fund pricing?
TSumapathy
Mar 14 2012, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(MaxWealth @ Mar 14 2012, 10:44 AM) Actually how many units you have? and what is the fund pricing? I'm not sure bro i need to check the Statement sent by Prudential. Any other good funds that i can do switching? Thanks
Colaboy
Mar 14 2012, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(umapathy @ Mar 14 2012, 10:58 AM) I'm not sure bro i need to check the Statement sent by Prudential. Any other good funds that i can do switching? Thanks Equity fund & Dragon Peacock fund is good for medium & long term investment . . . its depends on your risk tolerance also
TSumapathy
Mar 15 2012, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Mar 14 2012, 01:37 PM) Equity fund & Dragon Peacock fund is good for medium & long term investment . . . its depends on your risk tolerance also So anyone can quote me a standalone medical card plan plz? Please quote a reasonable plan i dun want high premiums. My DOB is 6 Nov 1974, male, and a non smoker. Thanks