Oil & Gas Career v3, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

azraeil
post May 9 2012, 09:05 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(pick11 @ May 9 2012, 02:42 PM)
I have exp in fabrication n in consultant,I might say I don't enjoy design so much,so stressful,Im thinking of becoming a PE,more exposure perhaps then just sitting at the office doing calculations..do u guys think company will still hire you as PE even if u have no background in doing projects before?
No. PE is a specific discipline and you need to have either a PE degree or something close to PE like Chem Eng. to be able to be hired as a PE. If you have a Mechanical Eng. maybe you can be trained as a drilling engineer but that is also unlikely.
heavenhell
post May 9 2012, 09:09 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(pick11 @ May 9 2012, 07:42 PM)
I have exp in fabrication n in consultant,I might say I don't enjoy design so much,so stressful,Im thinking of becoming a PE,more exposure perhaps then just sitting at the office doing calculations..do u guys think company will still hire you as PE even if u have no background in doing projects before?
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 9 2012, 09:05 PM)
No. PE is a specific discipline and you need to have either a PE degree or something close to PE like Chem Eng. to be able to be hired as a PE. If you have a Mechanical Eng. maybe you can be trained as a drilling engineer but that is also unlikely.
Erm not sure he meant project eng or pet eng lol.

Btw to be drilling eng need to hav pet engineering degree?
LO79
post May 9 2012, 09:14 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Jun86 @ May 9 2012, 08:56 AM)
do FMC and cameron had offer job oppurtunity at Malaysia
i go to FMC website, they just offer at SG......
Yes, I knew a young engineer got an offer to join them in Johor.
But due to family commitment, he joined for a while and then resigned to return back to KL.
Another guy got a call for an interview also in Johor.

kingozil8
post May 9 2012, 09:41 PM

what is the suitable position in OnG for mechanical Eng grads?
Qirana82
post May 9 2012, 10:16 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(LO79 @ May 8 2012, 10:58 PM)
Have you tried MMC Oil & Gas?
And also Technip?
They have a kind of trainee programme.
Also FMC and Cameron (in the area of subsea).
i already send to those..but no news... sad.gif
wilmington
post May 9 2012, 10:18 PM

27 posts

How is your opinion of EMEPMI in Malaysia? Do you think its still worthwhile to join them?

yunodie
post May 9 2012, 10:28 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(klein @ May 9 2012, 11:38 AM)
Thanks for the tips. I will need them for my upcoming 2 days assessment.

So I guess one has to be low profile yet at the same time, still be able to catch their attention since we are competing against other candidates?
Exactly. Don't speak for the sake of getting attention. Make sure it has substance.
klein
post May 9 2012, 11:16 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(thenukid @ May 9 2012, 01:39 PM)
Good luck on your upcoming assessment. As many have said, try no to dominate the competition, but at the same time, try not to be too passive. Balance is key for us job-seekers I suppose.
QUOTE(yunodie @ May 9 2012, 10:28 PM)
Exactly. Don't speak for the sake of getting attention. Make sure it has substance.
Thanks guys. Was being told the exact same thing by the speaker who was giving us job interview talk this afternoon. wink.gif
kyser645
post May 9 2012, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(weekeng911 @ May 8 2012, 02:57 AM)
its not im racist, its the situation and policies of government and certain parties. dun be naive into thinking everything is pure. there is a race quota of 80% bumi and 20% non bumi. its on newspaper and said by the Petronas CEO. i had alot of good malay friends. in the past i choose not to believe in racial bias, but i got friends who all apply for petronas. even the 3.9, 3.8, 3.7 (chinese) cant even get the interview while the 3.1, 2.8 get interview AND the job as well. as u can see here, the ratio is 3:1 , malay : chinese. 
since im extending, my batchmate who already graduated and working in petronas is the only chinese in the department. and also she's lucky to got it since she had petronas scholarship bond.
of cz people are denial and claim they are fair but things always happen under the table.

Added on May 8, 2012, 5:00 pmthe fact that petronas is always associated with racial quota is because there's a certain truth to it. its on newspaper, ppl talking bout it, insiders revealing info (HR ppl), connection n etc.
i too applied for petronas and hopefuly i can get it but lets see how
Thank you for your opinions and I have few things to say about this. This is just my humble opinions, so I hope no one will get offended.
1. I am not naive to think that this things doesn't happen under the table. Shit like this happenend anywhere, not only in Petronas. I said this based on my short stint living and working with foreign company overseas.
2. Petronas is an EQUAL OPPORTUNITY employer. Your judgement saying the Petronas is implementing race quota is trully inaccurate. The 80:20 ratio is reflecting on the CURRENT RATIO of Petronas employees by race. NOT a racial quota.
3. In case of your friends with high CGPA but didn't manage to get in to Petronas: some companies doesn't ONLY look on CGPA alone, but other achievement as well. I have lots of Malay friends got rejected because of OVER-ACHIEVING. This is not down to any racial bias, but the companies recruitment policy itself.
4. Get your facts right, Petronas CEO NEVER said anything about any racial quota. And, they will NEVER WILL said something like that. Petronas is our NATIONAL oil company and it is their job to protect national interest. Hiring Malays only is not protecting national interest.

This racial issues are sensitive. But some Malaysians tend to lose their judgement easily when it come to this matter. Listening to what other people say is not a good source, because of bias. And one bad experience doesn't make true either. Maturity is the key. Our country's future will be ruin if all races are prejudice against each other. Afterall, what we all want is to live in a peaceful, democratic and dynamic society.

This post has been edited by kyser645: May 9 2012, 11:54 PM
hj.pet
post May 9 2012, 11:54 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ May 9 2012, 09:09 PM)
Erm not sure he meant project eng or pet eng lol.

Btw to be drilling eng need to hav pet engineering degree?
i have to disagree with this. one of my friend who graduated in electrical eng working for slb as a drilling eng and other friend also graduated in electrical eng working for slb as well testing eng. got other friend who's working also with slb as field eng sand management segment graduated in mech eng. i believe as long as u graduated in eng bground n good enough, those companies will hire u n train u to be either drilling, production, or wireline eng. but maybe to be a reservoir eng, yes u should have either pe or chem eng bground. just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by hj.pet: May 9 2012, 11:58 PM
alhakam88
post May 10 2012, 12:40 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(camel_active @ May 5 2012, 07:54 PM)
if u get pointer above 3, its alos hard.

Added on May 5, 2012, 8:44 pmdear friends,

i've got selected to go for graduate trainee interview at murphy oil. has anyone been to the interview before? mind to share the experience?

thanks!
How do you apply for Murphy graduate trainee? I am also in the midst of job hunting. I have degree in Petroleum Engineering.
H.K. Lee
post May 10 2012, 12:44 AM

159 posts

Hi guys, engineering freshie here too. I'm looking forward in joining O&G with the mindset that the industry can offer high pay and probably can earn oneself some respect for doing the "real" engineering work.

I just want to get some advice from all the experienced engineer and sifu in O&G here. can you please let us know what kind of position in O&G is prospective or maybe 'sweet spot' position that you would like to take given that you live another 'fresh graduate's' life? maybe we start with a list of prospective positions?

and by prospective means not only totally based on salary, I know some of you might spill those 'my friend earn more than 10k within 2 years without experience' kinda talk. but I think that it's too surface to just talk based on salary. How about the workload? how about the occupation risk? how about job satisfaction? how about the 'work 2 weeks offshore and rest 2 weeks' lifestyle? how's career affecting relationship with family?

It's just that i like engineering, but i don't like the fact that we work like bull to earn the somewhat big amount. there a lot more option in life in my opinion. if we can earn decent amount in O&G and still work office hour. by all means we can learn to invest the money, or maybe start a side business. or maybe if the position is prospective, we can seek opportunity oversea (say aussie), do little and still earn 10k(value in malaysian ringgit) without a sweat.

all in all who am I to say right? pour us your perspective and wisdom.
alhakam88
post May 10 2012, 12:52 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ May 6 2012, 01:08 PM)
Yes,more than 5K basic for trainee and i believe they will revise this since Petronas basic pay for freshies will be increased to 5K.After breakout from trainee,you will get an increment of around 1.5k to 2k.Offshore allowance depends on segment,can be as low as 300/day to 500/day or <put some crazy amount here for few days work> for wireline.As far as I know the salary is standard accross segment but I am not sure for the newly acquired company like SWACO,SMITH,Geoservices,@balance...
I think the salary is different but they use the same pay grade as slb. I believe Geoservices has the lowest salary in slb and I see a lot frustration among Geoservices staff. Since Geoservices is still integrating with slb, Geoservices will have something like fixed step program similar to what slb has. According to the program, you need at least 3 years before you can change segment within slb.
kyser645
post May 10 2012, 01:01 AM

QUOTE(alhakam88 @ May 9 2012, 10:40 AM)
How do you apply for Murphy graduate trainee? I am also in the midst of job hunting. I have degree in Petroleum Engineering.
QUOTE(camel_active @ May 6 2012, 09:47 PM)
dear kyser645, i drop my resume at murphy oil booth at career fair. and they said, they will call me for interview at may for this position.
azraeil
post May 10 2012, 01:55 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hj.pet @ May 9 2012, 06:54 PM)
i have to disagree with this. one of my friend who graduated in electrical eng working for slb as a drilling eng and other friend also graduated in electrical eng working for slb as well testing eng. got other friend who's working also with slb as field eng sand management segment graduated in mech eng. i believe as long as u graduated in eng bground n good enough, those companies will hire u n train u to be either drilling, production, or wireline eng. but maybe to be a reservoir eng, yes u should have either pe or chem eng bground. just my 2 cents.
For one, most drilling engineers works with operators not service providers. SLB is not well known to have a drilling services. They have wireline and well testing services and they only bought Smith about 2 years ago (and that company sells drilling bits)

To be a drilling engineer you need to have fundamental knowledge of

1. Rock mechanics
2. Reservoir engineering data such as reservoir pressure and temperature
3. Some bit of Geology as you'll need to know what kind of reservoir you're drilling into
4. Cementing knowledge
5. Well completion knowledge

So yes, you'll need some engineering background but any engineering background won't do.

I personally have not heard of drilling engineers being provided by services providers such as SLB/Halliburton etc, most drilling engineers if they are not working with the operators are on their own contract or Direct Hire basis on Daily Rate.
Jun86
post May 10 2012, 09:55 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(LO79 @ May 9 2012, 09:14 PM)
Yes, I knew a young engineer got an offer to join them in Johor.
But due to family commitment, he joined for a while and then resigned to return back to KL.
Another guy got a call for an interview also in Johor.
thanks...means they had no offer at KL is it....

ICDeadPeople
post May 10 2012, 11:12 AM

783 posts

I was told there will be a big recruitment campaign by adco this coming June. So anyone with some experience and thinking of changing their diet to kebab can try their luck. Detail as as follow (copy paste from a forum):

Event
Recruitment Campaign

Date
6th – 9th June 2012

Venue
Abu Dhabi, UAE (Exact venue to be advised)

Position No. Of Vacancies
1. CORROSION ENGINEER 10

2. MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (INSTRUMENT/CONTROL) 15

3. MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (MECHANICAL) 30

4. OPERATIONS ENGINEER (FIELD SERVICES) 40

5. SENIOR FIRE OFFICER 20

6. PIPELINE ENGINEER 15

7. CORROSION FOREMAN 15

8. FIELD SERVICES FOREMAN 50

9. MAINTENANCE FOREMAN (ELECTRICAL) 30

10. MAINTENANCE FOREMAN (INSTRUMENT/CONTROL) 50

11. MAINTENANCE PLANNER & SCHEDULER 10

12. PIPELINE FOREMAN 30

13. HSE ENGINEER 10

-Make sure and confirm that you will be available to attend the interview tentatively on 6th – 9th June 2012 (both days inclusive) in Abu Dhabi UAE.
-Please advise your current residence location along with your date of birth and nationality, and contact number as it is a compulsory.

send your CVs to this guy, idcman6@idcman.ae.

By the way, I will not be responsible if anything went wrong. Im here just to share some info that i got.

juniey89
post May 10 2012, 11:26 AM

URGENT! we are from WME Engineering Works under PFCE company..looking for manpower who are interested & qualified for OIL AND GAS shutdown project at PETRONAS, Kerteh Terengganu.
we are looking for:

1) fitter
2) semiskill
3) welder ( TIG)
4) helper
5) rigger

Those who want to apply, must have NIOSH OGSP
and CIDB Green Card

Please directly contact to WAN - 014-5162554

a.s.a.p

Jun86
post May 10 2012, 11:37 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ May 10 2012, 11:12 AM)
I was told there will be a big recruitment campaign by adco this coming June. So anyone with some experience and thinking of changing their diet to kebab can try their luck. Detail as as follow (copy paste from a forum):

Event
Recruitment Campaign

Date
6th – 9th June 2012

Venue
Abu Dhabi, UAE (Exact venue to be advised)

Position No. Of Vacancies
1. CORROSION ENGINEER 10

2. MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (INSTRUMENT/CONTROL) 15

3. MAINTENANCE ENGINEER (MECHANICAL) 30

4. OPERATIONS ENGINEER (FIELD SERVICES) 40

5. SENIOR FIRE OFFICER 20

6. PIPELINE ENGINEER 15

7. CORROSION FOREMAN 15

8. FIELD SERVICES FOREMAN 50

9. MAINTENANCE FOREMAN (ELECTRICAL) 30

10. MAINTENANCE FOREMAN (INSTRUMENT/CONTROL) 50

11. MAINTENANCE PLANNER & SCHEDULER 10

12. PIPELINE FOREMAN 30

13. HSE ENGINEER 10

-Make sure and confirm that you will be available to attend the interview tentatively on 6th – 9th June 2012 (both days inclusive) in Abu Dhabi UAE.
-Please advise your current residence location along with your date of birth and nationality, and contact number as it is a compulsory.

send your CVs to this guy, idcman6@idcman.ae.

By the way, I will not be responsible if anything went wrong. Im here just to share some info that i got.
can apply online?? how to apply those position?

Added on May 10, 2012, 11:41 am
QUOTE(juniey89 @ May 10 2012, 11:26 AM)
URGENT! we are from WME Engineering Works under PFCE company..looking for manpower who are interested & qualified for OIL AND GAS shutdown project at PETRONAS, Kerteh Terengganu.
we are looking for:

1) fitter
2) semiskill
3) welder ( TIG)
4) helper
5) rigger
Those who want to apply, must have NIOSH OGSP
and CIDB Green Card

Please directly contact to WAN - 014-5162554

a.s.a.p
any others position offer r? i am newbie in oil and gas industry dont have those qualification but interest to join smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jun86: May 10 2012, 11:41 AM
Current Events guy
post May 10 2012, 12:38 PM

966 posts

Could anyone please list the work load differences and their personal preference of either chem eng or reservoir eng?

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: May 10 2012, 01:51 PM

117 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:51 AM