14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

AS1M/ASM/ASW2020/ASN/ASB and other PNB funds V3, lending your money to the government

davinz18
post Aug 28 2013, 04:54 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Aug 28 2013, 04:30 PM)
I'm not one to bursts everyone hopes but I kinda have a rough idea as to why SC would shoot down the idea. It is safe to say that all of PNB's fixed priced funds easily accounts for a large majority of the local stock market. If one is to assume that these funds make up say 1/4 of the entire market capitalization, any "run" on PNB where its investors decide to redeem their units would be catastrophic to the stock market.

Remember that these fixed priced funds are pegged at RM1 regardless of its actual NAV. Even if the NAV for these funds are MYR0.70, PNB still has to honor the RM0.30 difference by whatever means necessary, including liquidating its equity securities at fire-sale prices. This has to be done as PNB honors redemption transactions on the spot or issues a cheque for large transactions pretty much on the same day of the transaction.

If you put yourself in the SC's shoes, you can see the systemic risks that these fixed priced fund can cause in the event of a severe economic slowdown and a run on PNB. Having ASB+AS1M+ASW+ASD+ASM wipe out a large chunk of market capitalization is not only bad for the stock market but creates after-effect shocks that can shake the entire economy. Panic is not good for anyone.

My assessment that PNB's fixed priced fund make up 1/4 of the entire market capitalization maybe on the low side. Judging how large ASB alone is, one could speculate that PNB's exposure to the local equity market might be higher especially since its true equal is only EPF because Khazanah is allowed to diversify its investment overseas and you can't do a "run" on Khazanah . One can't simply withdraw from their EPF or LTAT or KWAP but one can easliy do so from PNB.

That's how I come to the conclusion that SC will not sanction future fixed priced funds but....

There's nothing stopping anyone from hoping and wishing there is wink.gif
You got some interesting point in your argument, I can't denied it. It's good information for all of us.

You & I are not the securities regulators, only SC are the one approved any new fund.

Anything can happen in BolehLand

We shall wait & see icon_rolleyes.gif
davinz18
post Aug 28 2013, 06:16 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 28 2013, 05:42 PM)
Good analysis
If u r holding 1 of the fixed price Funds now, will u liquidate if CI drop to 400 points?
ASNB products "very good", why need to "cash out"? biggrin.gif
davinz18
post Aug 28 2013, 06:18 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 28 2013, 05:45 PM)
Agreed as they need to diversify the assets into equity, bond, money market, cash n etc
Any fund managers knows that. They cannot simply put "all eggs in one baskets", need to diversify sweat.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 03:20 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 29 2013, 12:29 PM)
have u guys ever thought of parking your funds in someone else's account?

get a trusted bumiputra fellow / friend. write up a contract. give him 0.5% earning. then u can top up as much as you want into his account.

i know a few of my non-bumi friends do that... i wondered why no one mentioned about this here?

park the fund under ASB. ASB declares 8+% dividend. u give 0.5% to 1.0% dividend to account holder and pocket the rest. it's still better return than ASM / ASW /AS1M
I don't trust anyone with money related matters. Money can sometimes change people even it's your relative shakehead.gif

This idea already done by people since the 1990. Some are suffering, some are happy. It's depend on the person.

davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 03:22 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Aug 29 2013, 02:44 PM)
Yape, agreements although could be signed but there would be still risks of not getting back the investments..

Its like when people owe us money, it is not our money yet..

Always remember, MONEY IS NOT YOURS UNLESS ITS UNDER YOUR NAME...  nod.gif
I agree rclxms.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 03:24 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(mrsdragonphoenix @ Aug 29 2013, 12:03 PM)
i have been a silent reader in this forum for last few months. managed to topup in AS1M last month around RM1250. this month only RM50. sigh....

btw i am non bumiputra.
Congrats rclxms.gif

You're one of the lucky person thumbup.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 03:26 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 29 2013, 12:13 PM)
wow !!

I only got 300 for ASM, no account for AS1M sad.gif
You managed to increased ASM? Before this you said got only rm50 hmm.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 04:11 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(mrsdragonphoenix @ Aug 29 2013, 04:08 PM)
yup can consider very lucky that day.
You "try" on monthly basis ?
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 04:24 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 29 2013, 04:17 PM)
yea.

50 1/8
50 2/8
50 2/8
50 12/8
100 19/8

cry.gif
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 29 2013, 04:19 PM)
Weekly basis also can't get that much O.O
2/8 you "try" at same place or you went others branches? Mon & Fri very "lucky" for you. I cannot get any ASM units at all cry.gif cry.gif

It's depend on luck sweat.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 04:28 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(mrsdragonphoenix @ Aug 29 2013, 04:24 PM)
i went to post office that day to pay some bills. i take first number and the staff say no units after checking. then shopping a bit come back try again. luck on my side. first attempt RM10 then got RM50 then the amount gets bigger. The highest one time attempt i manage to get is RM400. After that no cash available to topup anymore.
oh like that, It's your luck rclxms.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 04:34 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 29 2013, 04:26 PM)
Same spot. The PM people say " encik, nak try sekali lagi tak ? "

I so damn happy u know.

But think think think, how she know or predict.... maybe there is more than 100 units....

then i doh.gif

or i think too much LOL
Wah, the PM staff so friendly. You very2 lucky yo, others places they won't ask like that doh.gif Once already successful, they expect you to "buzz off" doh.gif

Agents cannot "see" how much units available (I don't know if ASNB office can see) hmm.gif They only "key-in" amount. Once okay, status would "pop-up" on the computer screen telling success or failed sweat.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 05:04 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Aug 29 2013, 04:56 PM)
Well, i have less trouble in trying to top up in account in PM..

But when it comes to bank, the whole issue come out like:-
a) The Officer will tell me..'you have to wait because i have to entertain other clients also'
b) They show you their sorrow face when you are trying to deposit
c) I even received comments like.. 'Chinese very difficult to bank in, you still wanna try ar?'

Ai yo, so many excuses and issues.. I prefer PM la.. lol...
Banks always like that doh.gif vmad.gif

PM gives better services yo thumbup.gif PosMalaysia always the better choice biggrin.gif

davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 05:25 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Aug 29 2013, 05:21 PM)
Yape, there was one time i went to a bank..

The next queue is me, for waited 20 minutes never call my number one..

Make me feel frustrated with their service.. The bank name starts from C.. Haha...

Right now, I even dont want to maintain a savings account with them.. Always creating problems with me.  rolleyes.gif
Don't forget their "cut-off" time for asnb transaction is 4pm. If you go at 3.55pm also they don't want to give number (bank C) doh.gif vmad.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 05:28 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 29 2013, 05:07 PM)
Agreed
The only setback is the quantum of top up
If u want to top up big $ in PM, need to carry cash which is a bit risky
If u want to top up big $ in Bank, no need to carry cash. Just contra with CASA/FD plus no risk at all
The main point is the banks don't want "layan" you, so how?
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 06:03 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 29 2013, 05:50 PM)
Start to build good rapport with your regular banker n staff lo  brows.gif
They've no time for you, got others "Big $$$" then you biggrin.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 10:06 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 29 2013, 10:01 PM)
Of coz
Bot 5k @ 1st time a couple of times b4
Which fund you managed to put 5k one go??? shocking.gif tell me! smile.gif

This post has been edited by davinz18: Aug 29 2013, 10:07 PM
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 10:17 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 29 2013, 10:14 PM)
ASW2020/ASM/AS1M
You "try" everyday,week,month?
Morning, noon or evening?
Before or after dividend announce? hmm.gif
davinz18
post Aug 29 2013, 10:33 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 29 2013, 10:27 PM)
No specific occasion  laugh.gif
stingy cry.gif
davinz18
post Aug 30 2013, 02:52 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Aug 30 2013, 08:09 AM)
Yape, not only that... Between 12pm to 2pm (if i still remember), if you go there, they will tell you the counter will only open at 2pm..

Bank C is the worse.. lol...  rclxms.gif
It's depend on branch.
Some 12-1.30pm, 1pm-2.30pm, 1.30pm-3pm. Some would assign different person to "take-care" sweat.gif
davinz18
post Aug 30 2013, 02:56 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 30 2013, 02:49 PM)
Very ulu branch in sarawak. Not sure if they are still willing to do kopi o stuff or not. Will ask them next week since my asw2020 almost max.
You're very lucky. Nowadays I'm not sure can do it, macc very "active" smile.gif

14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0452sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:23 AM