4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Planted Aquarium V8

usermode
post Mar 29 2012, 07:15 PM

25 posts

not all plants la. i just meant anubias, ferns and moss only.
usermode
post Mar 30 2012, 09:55 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Mar 29 2012, 10:37 PM)
Mine 30.3 =.='''

Added on March 29, 2012, 10:41 pmNEED HELP  icon_question.gif

Tank hike up to 30.3 celcius....i was wondering beside shiiler, how to reduce it? directly put ice then put anti-chlorine? any1 tried this??

My mini riccia, i could see some hairy/silky algae i guess...how to control it beside using manually? any fish to KO it?

DW moss, also have a level of dust (brownish). what is that, n how to overcome it?

Sifu, please suggest any ikan / medic to settle it...tq ya!  notworthy.gif
- your water temp part since u have done everything (fans, ice and stuff), i couldnt suggest much other than a chiller. you could try to DIY a chiller. there's lot of links to guide you in google. but i am not sure about the effectiveness of the DIY chiller. never made one myself.

- hair algae perhaps. or it might be silk algae. whatever it is, if it's still young... SAE and yamato will helps to keep them in check. if it's already grow long/matured/getting harder, SAE will ignore it and Yamato will just munching like chewing gum. you need black mollies because they does eat hard hair algae (but you need a lot if your tank seriously infected). the risk of black mollies, they tends to get stucked in the hair algae and die sometimes (but this only occurs if you had a very bad situation of HA and trust me, i've experienced it). Also, they might munching (not eating) your riccia. worse case, they'll uproot your riccia. if you;re having black mollies, make sure your tank is not newly planted.

other than that, manual removal. You also could try Hydrogen Peroxide (H2O2) solution by doing spot treatment.

- those black brown dust is normal. otto and yamato does eat these stuff. especially otto. they will keep those brown algae and dust in check.

This post has been edited by usermode: Mar 30 2012, 09:57 AM
usermode
post Mar 31 2012, 12:56 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 30 2012, 11:31 PM)
but i already set up all inside tank + filled with water now  blink.gif

can i just put my hand inside and rearrange?

how to exactly trim the fern leaf?
about the light. do u guys switch it on 24 hr?
- good thing about moss (tied to rocks or small wood), anubias and ferns, they area mobile. which anytime you can move here and there to suits your tank overall growth.
- means, u can just rearrange in ur tank. since it;s very newly setup tank. disregard the disturbance of the soil anyway. your tank is just one day old. just do WC or WIWO necessarily.

- trimming ferns, u cut the old and unheathy leaves near the rhizome. do this step also now. since u just bought it from LFS. before put in tank, make sure your fern is in good conditions.
- old leaves and unhealthy ones is a burden for the plant actually. they need to channel all the ferts not only for the needs of their new growth, but to those dying as well. take into account they arent like stem plants which absorb faster. this applies to nana petite and same family as well.
- the main part of ferns are their rhizome. as long there is one leaf minimum, the plant will NEVER Die!.. hahahhaa.. so dont be afraid to trim. it might makes it less attractive initially, but hey.. this hobby needs PATIENCE.. tongue.gif

- every of my tank have 2 types of lights. photo-period lights, and display lights. photo-period lights only turned on for my plants to use during daytime just for 6 hours. then at night for 2 hours, i turned on the display lights (lower watts and not really penetrating - normal aquarium lights).
- plants needs dark time to grow. the light time is to absorb and do photosynthesis. so they need light and dark like humans needs day and night smile.gif

This post has been edited by usermode: Mar 31 2012, 01:04 PM
usermode
post Apr 2 2012, 10:39 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(wkeongabguide @ Apr 2 2012, 10:21 PM)
any recommendations for plants (carpet and background) for a shrimp tank without CO2? other than mosses and ferns smile.gif
- try marsilea
usermode
post Apr 3 2012, 01:39 AM

25 posts

erm.. sorry guys. where do you guys actually buy a pure KNO3 powder? need it quite urgent in about 1-2kg... can suggest me any place around PJ/KL ?
usermode
post Apr 5 2012, 06:05 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 5 2012, 03:28 PM)
cry.gif kesiannye..marimo kena sembelih... rclxm9.gif

by the way, beside molly can use to counter BBA, who else i need to recruit? (dun tell me yamato la..i also scared to hold that fellor~)

Added on April 5, 2012, 3:35 pmI saw a BLACK GUPPY (Whole thing black) in LFS..and they are selling it at the rate or RM10 seekor.

Any idea why its so expensive? Not albino, but the whole fish is HITAM~!
black mollies?
usermode
post Apr 6 2012, 09:40 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 6 2012, 08:51 AM)
I was in Jalan Pudu ALive there. Both father and son sibeh lansi..keep on playing their new buy gadgets...Father (Eric) bought an ipad2 if im not mistaken, and the son (steve) bought an andriod phone. They dont even entertain customers..keep playing.

1 malay customer so pissed off. He take his item to
Steve, and said boss, kira harga. Then the fellor ask hte poor guy, u buta ka? U tengok harga, letak wang dah cukup (LOUDLY). then the malay guy get angry n throw the money on the floor. Steve said Pxkixmak......!@#$@#^% <- i think those who go there b4 should know the type of language he will use.

I remembered last time, 2 shop before alive got another LFS. but they moved to cheras.

Luckily i din buy anything there...just go survey price.
- tat's why most of us only go to only reputable LFS ONLY. we dont go to LFS hat have poor behaviour and those that only know how to sell their stuff but they dont even know what stuff they are selling and simply recommend anything to their customer as long they got money.
usermode
post Apr 9 2012, 02:16 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 8 2012, 08:30 PM)
its been a week.my tank is not hot for sure, but not really cold as well. just normal room temperature, i got a table fan blowing towards it so it should be better
could it be the light source or ferts? currently im using only BW essence k. need to wait few more days for my BW growth
ur moss burned. exposed to too much lights or too close. some says moss need to be in shaded area but i;ve experienced a moss exposed to a sufficient (not overdosed) lights will be bushier and moss love cool water. the more cooler ur water, the more green and fresh the moss. google will teach u how to grow moss basically but experince wont teach u how to get the best end result. different tank will have diifferent spec since all tanks have different type of layouts and plants. so plan ur layouts and plants wisely.

again... learning this hobby NEED PATTIENCE!! no newbies having their early tanks perfectly. my recommendation to newcomers.... LEARN HOW TO GROW PLANTS first. then only think about scape layout. a nice scape layout but dying plants still sux.

This post has been edited by usermode: Apr 9 2012, 02:19 AM
usermode
post Apr 9 2012, 10:32 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Apr 9 2012, 08:25 AM)
my glosso still dont want to creep. i've put 47w on the light.
i'm using cheapo tesco brand spiral energy saving bulb..
will change to philips this evening.

my water parameter seems stable. put 5 feeder fishes yesterday, still ok this morning.
- sorry... forgot. wat size ur tank? simple rules, if a carpet plant growing tall, it simply means they try reaching ur lights. wattage also useless if penetration isnt good enough to reach the bottom. we humans can see the lights till bottom but plants, they need to reach it, not just see it. use a correct lightings.

-lights are quite a factor for a growth pattern of plants. do you know even a rotala can creep instead growing tall? same do other stem plants as well? they wont creep like HC or glosso fo course, but they'll growth horisontally and will have few many more along the horizontal ones. bit hard to explain if you still not understand... if got chance i'll take photo from my tank.

- plus, one day doesnt shows anything. wait for a week at least. monitor their behaviour along the time. they didnt die doesnt mean they're already happy. lot of ways t o check fish behavior on their particular species. do some homework from google. try throw some yamato or RCS at least in there and see hwo many survived in a week. then only you'll know exact result of your water stability.
usermode
post Apr 10 2012, 10:23 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Apr 9 2012, 08:14 PM)
any idea to make the left stone higher?? top up soil??
- put another stone below that stone. it wont be visible anyway once your glosso carpetting up until one inch thick.
- a tips when scaping, you need to have imagination to imagine how your tank later gonna be look like when it's ready. consider the plant matured growth size/ bushiness, height and all those.
- your right side front ohko rocks will be almost gone covered and overtook by your glosso later. but still okay. consider that as a 'sacrifice stone' in iwagumi.
- your main rock to me is not outstanding enough because it;s short. either make it higher, or lower your water level.
- with the moss attached to your main rock, seriously... they would serve well as a good 'queen' rock but u need a stronger 'king' rock to create the 'identity' for the tank.

wall opinions above are just from my personal input still no matter wat it;s your tnak... as long u love it, then it's already best for you smile.gif

This post has been edited by usermode: Apr 10 2012, 10:25 AM
usermode
post Apr 10 2012, 11:29 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Apr 10 2012, 10:53 AM)
and Abg Jawa, for the light, can you enlighten me?? i want my glooso to creep. dont want to make glosso tower
- just buy aquarium lights la... PLL or LED or MH or T5.... as long not those table lamp or those included in 'commercial nano tank set RM100" type of promotion.
- dun scared one... just boom lights! hahaha... my tank got 250+Watts over it... just booM~ as long u get the balance right, ur plant grows like crazy! if something goes wrong, algae pulak comes like crazy. LOL~ but hey, in this hobby, u cant runaway from algae anyway. there's no tank without algae.
- for your size of tank, erm.. gimme the size in feet" la easier. i dun use WPG or whatever thsoe formula one. simply hantam and find balance myself. different tank have different plants, depth and requirements. one tank might not be the same suits another. so no spesific advise can give you on this unless i come to your hosue and see your whole tank and lightings and everything (including water temp, dosing schedule etc), then only can advise u... tongue.gif

usermode
post Apr 12 2012, 08:17 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kkwjustin @ Apr 12 2012, 08:02 PM)
Hi just found this thing coiling around a bunch of my japanese hairgrass so i pulled it out with my pinset. It gave a light resistance but thwn it came off anyhow. I assume its some algae. What is this n how to remove it. I dose bw growth n essense k.

The thing i took it out on the table
- how long your tank age already?
- how big the lumps already?
- careful with ur dosings...
-... and finally, "Welcome to WE LOVE HAIR ALGAE club".
usermode
post Apr 13 2012, 03:54 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 13 2012, 03:44 PM)
oo..rupanya bikini..aiyo..want to buy those filtered water to pour in tank meh..so mahal lo..hahahhaa..put 10sen 1 litre?
- aiya. no need to be so kiasu one ah on CO2... as long ur fish not gasping on top of the surface and ur plants thriving, then walla... just nice for ur tank. throw longkang ur indicator.. LOL!!
usermode
post Apr 16 2012, 08:14 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 16 2012, 08:06 AM)
Good Morning Plantese and salam 1Malaysia.
- f**ker s**t!!!
usermode
post Apr 16 2012, 11:44 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(sisaiko @ Apr 16 2012, 11:16 AM)
luqee
pity but nice polka dots..tot that were ur medias
i also thought that were the medias too. shakehead.gif

anyway, bro.. sorry sebab masih tak gi kedai ko lagik. tak berkesempatan le. family emergency.... ulang alik johor-kl tetiap minggu dah nih ...
usermode
post Apr 16 2012, 01:17 PM

25 posts

otto do not eat gsa. even if you put thousands of them.
usermode
post Apr 16 2012, 01:26 PM

25 posts

how to "LIKE" comments above in LYN eh? ha ha ha~

- so do not blame the ottos on ur GSA tongue.gif
usermode
post Apr 16 2012, 01:47 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Apr 16 2012, 01:42 PM)
were told that GSA hav lifecycle of 3 weeks...after that theyll die off n wont come back again...if scrape would spread them to other part of tank...

had alot of GSA in my tank 2... already left them for 2 weeks... hope theyll just magically die off next week...lol...
drool.gif share the results (happy.gif)
usermode
post Apr 17 2012, 04:01 PM

25 posts

aquascapers indeed a shopaholic. :S
usermode
post Apr 18 2012, 10:59 PM

25 posts

- FOC, reply before tomorrow morning!! ha ha ha... just trimmed and ready to throw! tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0484sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:48 AM