Planted Aquarium V8

calvin_ng
post Apr 11 2012, 09:00 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 11 2012, 08:58 PM)
i got issues with middle glass brackets...since my tank is old's man tank  tongue.gif
if i cut it, i think it will weakened the structure integrity.
any advice?
any one having problems with very long branches poking out of their tanks? how do you hang your lighting then?
i prefer not to use drilling holes in the wall method.

How big is your tank... how thick is the glass... middle brace or side brace?
calvin_ng
post Apr 11 2012, 09:15 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Apr 11 2012, 09:12 PM)
aiyaa~, wrong colour  doh.gif

currently there's an unused 2ft tank in my room. its the old fashion tank, usually u see people use it as sump tank or just plain fishing hobby one.  tongue.gif 
glass thickness is pretty thin, so i guess im going to use it as my ripa or paludarium setup then since the water level will be low and the cost of maintianing these are way cheaper. bw, its just a middle brace, and all fully glass.

Dont think it will hold the water preasure it may crack or silicon give way... anyhow you will end up flooding your house...
calvin_ng
post Apr 11 2012, 09:28 PM

1,583 posts

4mm way too thin bro dont take chance keep the brace...
calvin_ng
post Apr 11 2012, 09:45 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Apr 11 2012, 09:31 PM)
calvin is right. 4mm too thin. if u look at the glass frm the side, u could probably see the glass 'bulging' or have a 'pregnant' state. it shows its about to burst!! take no chances pls...

Added on April 11, 2012, 9:32 pmbtw, anyone know where to get seachem products? looking for the potassium and root ferts... or any recommendations? hehe..

Added on April 11, 2012, 9:33 pmsellers can PM me too...
Root fert can look for SERA product pretty good

sera florenette A pretty good

http://www.sera.de/us/pages/products/in_ca...orenette-a.html

can get at NA
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 12:06 AM

1,583 posts

PLL not sure which is hotter mine is 2x55w not aquazonic... aquazonic has huge problem with ballast...

Chiller not that big ler look big cause tank only 2ft... it is a 1/10 hp chiller hope electric bill not too expensive haha

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Apr 12 2012, 12:08 AM
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 10:10 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 12 2012, 09:37 AM)
Morning,

Just to my curiosity, did u transfered your previous soil to new tank?

want to ask,

i am planning to chg to 2f tank.

i wonder the soil from old tank, how to transfer it out? do i need to make it dry 1st? or directly can use and put in the base of new tank? then cover with 1 layer of new soil?
I just scoop the old soil (I think I take 1/2 of it dispose another 1/2 since all turn to mud) then new aquarium I put in Lava Rock follow by old soil and use it to create slope then add bacteria powder (not much just a little since old soil got some bacteria) and add new soil (ADA normal and Ada fine soil) settle hehehe...

you can see my pic there the bottom part is muddy thats because it is old soil
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 10:42 AM

1,583 posts

nnot 1 scope just 1/4 of the powder just to be safe... my canister filter is new
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 11:13 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 12 2012, 10:48 AM)
keke..chiller also new ar? berapa juta invest?
chiller 2nd hand lah but the condition is tip top...
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 11:24 AM

1,583 posts

around 500 to 650 depend on condition
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 11:30 AM

1,583 posts

sure you can... you can turn your 1hp aircon 24/7 and I sure visit you home smile.gif fish will be happy, TNB will be super very happy!!
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 11:41 AM

1,583 posts

with that money you can buy all sorts of thing but 1 thing I know HOBBY dont come cheap... live with it.. haha...

oh... if you buy a aircon for your fish... let me know hahaha
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 11:48 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 12 2012, 11:41 AM)
then set up the tank in the fridge? hahahaha...

i was walking in midvalley lz time, n i saw this product in ACEWARE shop..said it helps to reduce electric..is it true? any1 used it?

Chiller + light + solenoid + cannister = TNB  rclxm9.gif
used it before it works by converting dirty current to stable energy... for aircond and chiller it should works as when the energy spike when the chiller kick in the device which has tons of capacitor which store un-used energy will compensate for initial current spike which mean your TNB meter disc will not suddenly turn fast but maintain the speed which help on reducing the electric bill... as for light bulb and selenoid I doubt will see any different...

if want super energy efficient light should convert to LED...

if want chiller without killing your wallet look for TEM chiller (Dolphin chiller) which will reduce the temperature and not so hurt your wallet... also FAN lor... but TEM and FAN can only do that much...

Selenoid not much power draw...

canister... I think eheim pretty energy efficient
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 12:07 PM

1,583 posts

hahaha... it works this way

Cheap but low cooling = Fan (TNB cheapest)
not so cheap but offer better cooling than FAN = TEM (TNB - Cheap)
Expensive but AWESOME cooling = Chiller (TNB - OK laaa)
SUPER EXPENSIVE but AWESOME for aquarium and room = Aircon biggrin.gif (24/7 might as well setup your aquarium @ office)
calvin_ng
post Apr 12 2012, 01:20 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Apr 12 2012, 12:12 PM)
rclxm9.gif

Good explanations...

My current tank is still in 30.3celciusĀ  vmad.gif that also with a BOYU Fan.

I wonder with the TEM, how much it will reduce to now w/o modifications ^^
you want I can borrow you to try... hahaha
since I have no chance to tryout the TEM...yet.... hahaha now with a proper chiller the TEM will be put a side until I figure what to do with it...
makesure the TEM or your aquarium is a room... the TEM chiller fan is super noisy... hahaha I still wanting to mod to better heatsink and more quiet fan... really kenot tahan the fan noise

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Apr 12 2012, 01:25 PM
calvin_ng
post Apr 13 2012, 09:18 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(kkwjustin @ Apr 12 2012, 08:02 PM)
Hi just found this thing coiling around a bunch of my japanese hairgrass so i pulled it out with my pinset. It gave a light resistance but thwn it came off anyhow. I assume its some algae. What is this n how to remove it. I dose bw growth n essense k.

The thing i took it out on the table
Staghorn Algae very nasty stuff!!!
calvin_ng
post Apr 13 2012, 10:30 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(kkwjustin @ Apr 13 2012, 10:02 AM)
Some say hairgrass, some staghorn. What is what lol. Yesterday that bunch was the second bunch i found.
Confirm staghorn algae... hair algae is much lighter in colour and dont branch out...

This is staghorn why I got a bunch in my nanotank now treating with OF O' Algae... it works extreamly good now all my algae turn red...
calvin_ng
post Apr 13 2012, 02:20 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Apr 13 2012, 01:59 PM)
OF O' Algae safe for shrimps?

Added on April 13, 2012, 2:11 pm

your shrimps will become snack to them, very barbarian fish.

Did you guys try b4 with ghost shrimp, i once drop a hair & staghorn infected java fern into ghost shrimps tank , within a week
all algae gone, 'satu bulu pun tak nampak'.
so far my RCS, guppy fry, RCS fry, oto and yamato shrimp still alive... oh put airstone and turn off co2 during medication... airstone (airpump) super very important...
calvin_ng
post Apr 13 2012, 02:47 PM

1,583 posts

reduce the bubble count lor
calvin_ng
post Apr 13 2012, 03:17 PM

1,583 posts

check your water... maybee the water effect the indicator
calvin_ng
post Apr 13 2012, 03:37 PM

1,583 posts

use filtered water (RO the best) as it will benchmark the indicator... sometime our tap water got problem 88 aquarium tell me.. it will render the indicator not accurate

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0511sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:01 PM