Hiring interior designer, approx 2300sqft

billy1220
post Jun 26 2012, 01:01 PM

Hi There,

We are ID consultant. We only do interior designing phase, which is basically the space planning, 3d visualizing, detail drawings.

FYI, usually typical interior designer they charge RM10-15 per sqft. Which is ridiculously incorrect as a professional. The ID society like this was influenced by some other party. And usually after they have done the design and they will send them for quotation which will them be marked up by the designer themselves by, say 15,20-25%?
That is just so not proper.

Hence, we, my team and I, we only do consultation. Which we will not involve in any quotation in the after that can assure you no further mark up of cost estimated. You can definitely entrust us, where we deliver quality and also true professional service, no further mark up.

If you are interested, please kindly contact me at 016.2549515 or send me email at billy.irend@gmail.com

Thanks and Warmest Regards,

Billy

hanieharis
post Jul 9 2012, 11:32 AM

83 posts

billy, i just want a professional advise on electrical port and oso few idea for my living hall, master bedroom and paints.. basically i already have a theme and general idea bout my renovation...owh my house is a double storey bungalow approximately 2750sqf... tq
adrianjc
post Jul 10 2012, 12:04 PM

898 posts

Here's how majority of ID companies work.

You consult them for ID for your home and they come up with a quote that looks affordable and they tell you we can help you manage your renovation as well as we know the design and have relationships with material suppliers to ensure the ID comes out exactly how it was envisioned.

Bad thing, a friend of mine hired an ID consultant and he wanted to put in a wooden table into his house and the ID consultant said no... design does not allow for ANY wooden finish furniture... talk about paying someone to tell you how to live, plus the glass table recommended comes at a cost of RM13k.

Hahahaha... so how do ID companies make their money anyway? Well, the design fee is one but because its usually discounted for owners who take up their project management service, that cost is sufficient to cover manpower time cost + small profit margin.

Majority of their income comes from managing your project. Yes you've paid them a fee to cover that together with the design charges but do you think they're not getting a cut from all the materials selected bought, etc...? Of course they are otherwise profitability is a problem.

I would suggest comparing costs for ID and non-ID executed projects to find out the differences in prices.
hoera75
post Jul 11 2012, 12:42 AM

57 posts

The good thing about engaging ID company is that they will be able to make a very nice design of your house that most normal contractors would not be able to come up with. If you just want to have a normal design, you do not need to engage an ID company, a normal contractor will be able to fulfill your need. If you want a very nice design, you might need to consider engaging an ID company. I just engaged an ID company to design my condo ( since I want it to be design quite unique), and I am quite happy with the result. Not only that they could come up with very nice design, they also have knowledge on wide variety of material selection.

However, the bad thing is that when it comes to actual build work, those ID companies will typically cost you a bomb. They usually sub-con the work to other people or have partnership with other parties, that;s why the price is high. I engaged an ID company that is supposed to have in-house factory, I was quite dissapointed that the price was ridiculously high and when I asked them they said that even though it is an in-house factory they also have partnership. Now I have done the design with that ID company, and for the build work I engaged my previous contractor. If you know a good contractor, it would be good to do it that way: engage the ID company to do the design, and give the technical drawings to the contractor that you know well ans ask them to do the bujild work. I am not done yet with my renovation work ( my contractor is still in the progress of doing the work), so I need to see how it turns out, but so far for my case I think this is the best way forward.

eymc
post Jul 11 2012, 02:56 AM

852 posts

to me..using Id is very overated.
i see so many house renovated using ID all not practical one.

Nice to see...but hard to use.
Nice stuffs need constant maintenance, like steel u need to polish very often to have the first day look for example.

for me...i see lots of magazine and online site for ID idea and then show to contractor with some tweaking of mine own for practicality.

I have seen ID people argue with their own contractor...both cannot agree....so who at the end will suffer? the owner because they compromise on your expense!!

and ID people only for expensive stuffs when they design...cause cheap things dont carry"DESIGNER'' image.

well...this is only m2c..no offense to all ID out there.

iamwho
post Jul 11 2012, 08:31 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(eymc @ Jul 11 2012, 02:56 AM)
to me..using Id is very overated.
i see so many house renovated using ID all not practical one.

Nice to see...but hard to use.
Nice stuffs need constant maintenance, like steel u need to polish very often to have the first day look for example.

for me...i see lots of magazine and online site for ID idea and then show to contractor with some tweaking of mine own for practicality.

I have seen ID people argue with their own contractor...both cannot agree....so who at the end will suffer? the owner because they compromise on your expense!!

and ID people only for expensive stuffs when they design...cause cheap things dont carry"DESIGNER'' image.

well...this is only m2c..no offense to all ID out there.
+1 (no offense) .. but clients now are seeking practical solutions ... the word "design" simply means asthetics + functionality .. if the design only focuses on aesthetics, it is not design, it is just a piece of art ...
koalatam
post Jul 24 2012, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(peterjoo78 @ Mar 6 2012, 06:47 AM)
Hi, I recently decided to renovate my house. Lot size around 2300sqft
Would like to ask how much does a interior designer cost?
Say I want him to design my whole house.
1.Do they charge by price per sqft? Another thing I heard people say that they charge by taking 10% from your reno cost, which mean if you use 100k to renovate, they charge you 10k. Is that true?
2.If not how they charge?
3.Is it worth the cost ? I won't have enough time to supervise the site visually.
4.I heard they only provide floor plan (their design)
5.For a regular person I don't think I can fully understand what they draw lol.. do they sketch it out? but i think sketch also cannot bring the whole feel without color and i think 3d drawn by them nowadays almost look like real so 3d is better ..How they charge for 3d? per view? per area or what? What's the price?
6.Can I find student to design for me? How much cheaper will it be?  tongue.gif is it worth the risk?
7.Is it better to let the designer find his own contractor? or i myself find outside? I scared they pakat with contractor chop me here and there  rclxub.gif

Anyone who hired a interior designer before please help me, interior designer can help me also if you want tongue.gif

Added on March 6, 2012, 5:24 pmno one can help? D:
Hi, im a freelancer. if you are still interested you may PM me as the price is base on what you want me to include then from there i may quote you accordingly.
i also do design and built if any of you interested. the workmanship of my carpenter is very good.

PM me if any of you are interested.

babbulu99
post Jul 26 2012, 05:26 PM

40 posts

bRO,

Can you pm your email

QUOTE(koalatam @ Jul 24 2012, 11:49 AM)
Hi, im a freelancer. if you are still interested you may PM me as the price is base on what you want me to include then from there i may quote you accordingly.
i also do design and built if any of you interested. the workmanship of my carpenter is very good.

PM me if any of you are interested.

koalatam
post Jul 27 2012, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(babbulu99 @ Jul 26 2012, 05:26 PM)
bRO,

Can you pm your email
hey PM-ed you.
happy4cathy
post Aug 10 2012, 06:50 PM

119 posts

hi, i have a best experience with a contractor, she is a friendly and helpful designer, renovation fees is reasonable coz she has own production team and the main thing is she is a responsible person, what i request to fix or repair, she will arrange her ppl come to help!! is a super good contractor... let me know if u need help in renovation and design! if i not mistaken, they will provide free design if the renovation also pass to her company.
khieni
post Aug 10 2012, 08:22 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(happy4cathy @ Aug 10 2012, 06:50 PM)
hi, i have a best experience with a contractor, she is a friendly and helpful designer, renovation fees is reasonable coz she has own production team and the main thing is she is a responsible person, what i request to fix or repair, she will arrange her ppl come to help!! is a super good contractor... let me know if u need help in renovation and design! if i not mistaken, they will provide free design if the renovation also pass to her company.
haha....i think she is really good, else, u wont copy paste same comments at several post....

tat's why i always advise contractor, do good job, people will appreciate your help de..... rclxms.gif
idoblu
post Aug 10 2012, 08:58 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(khieni @ Aug 10 2012, 08:22 PM)
haha....i think she is really good, else, u wont copy paste same comments at several post....

tat's why i always advise contractor, do good job, people will appreciate your help de..... rclxms.gif
Haha....busted ! tongue.gif
happy4cathy
post Aug 10 2012, 10:48 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(khieni @ Aug 10 2012, 08:22 PM)

hi khieni, haha,,,u r rite,,she is really good !! but,,,haiz,,she has bf lo,,if not ....i maybe got some chance smile.gif
khieni
post Aug 10 2012, 11:02 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(happy4cathy @ Aug 10 2012, 10:48 PM)
hi khieni, haha,,,u r rite,,she is really good !! but,,,haiz,,she has bf lo,,if not ....i maybe got some chance  smile.gif
Initially I tot Cathy is her, your designer...."Happy For Cathy?" tongue.gif
happy4cathy
post Aug 10 2012, 11:53 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(khieni @ Aug 10 2012, 11:02 PM)
Initially I tot Cathy is her, your designer...."Happy For Cathy?" tongue.gif
!! u r so clever,,, haha ... bingo !
techhunter
post Apr 7 2015, 09:15 PM

232 posts

No offense for some ID:-
Some charging few K to 20-30k per design. And find contractor to renovate the house.
Upon getting quote from contractor, markup the price 20-30% to customer, at the same time press contractor by 10-20%.

Outlook fantastic, inside "Kayu Lembik". Great outlook, no quality.

If you want to charge per project, go ahead, but make sure it is reasonable price.
If you are worker in some company, you know how much you get. When you part time as freelance, charge what you suppose to charge, and not OPEN MOUTH Crocodile bite.

Ending up, everyone throwing price here and there.

Currently there is no proper medium for people to engage, if there is all buaya going to die soon.

Do ethically for a better future.
commtrader
post Apr 7 2015, 10:03 PM

343 posts

so the conclusion is just hire a general contractor and do design our own....haha
andrewlimkn
post Jun 6 2015, 01:24 AM

203 posts

so any recommendation for honest good IDs who can do design and build... dont mind paying a bit more as long as you can get a good job and not getting chopped
Bellabella
post Jul 2 2015, 12:09 PM

QUOTE(happy4cathy @ Aug 10 2012, 06:50 PM)
Hi. Can i have ur contractor's contact? Tq
MeToo
post Jul 2 2015, 12:19 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Apr 7 2015, 10:03 PM)
so the conclusion is just hire a general contractor and do design our own....haha
The conclusion is try not to necro a 3 yr old thread.

Anyway... ID cost for a house, yardstick... RM150~180 psft. That's all in cost.

If you are aiming cheaper, dont let the ID do an all-in work for u.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0214sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:00 AM