QUOTE(sklchan @ Feb 29 2012, 04:01 PM)
QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Feb 29 2012, 04:05 PM)
lol...that's why i was quite doubtful when you say about using 3g towersusual 384kbps upload rate for sure cannot handle 1080p
Nokia 808 The New King of Cameraphone!, Available now!!
Feb 29 2012, 03:19 PM
143 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Feb 29 2012, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Feb 29 2012, 05:05 PM) i trying to mean is getting something like maxis tower so u can transmit your radio frequency for very far distance. There's a lots of challenge for radio frequency especially u r using UAV in cities. technically is possible but working on it its not as easy as talking. mounting 808 on it, is another challenge lol... taking picture is boring, need to play something more interesting, haha... i totally understand the challenges, that's why i would like to know your streaming setup for this.let's say there's no problem on mounting, but the real problem is how to transmit the data or signal. if it's possible to output the video feed to another transmitter, what kind and type would it be and the bandwidth? that's why i'm very interested to know when you mentioned using the camera on this phone. "getting something like maxis tower so u can transmit your radio frequency for very far distance" - i think i understand your point on this as to use some kind of signal repeater for the carrier that you're going to use. This post has been edited by haley0918: Feb 29 2012, 04:52 PM |
Feb 29 2012, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Feb 29 2012, 05:54 PM) my idea is, instead of using bolehland 3G data plan, y not use wifi that comes with the phone? The only things u need to do is the boast up the wifi signal with 4 way point or more. And ur video streaming for 1024p is as good as done. To make it more interesting you can make use of the GPS in phone after u done with all these challenge. Sounds like a plan? it is a plan! but will require a custom software server in the phone. as for wifi antenna and repeaters, that's going to cost alot and trouble of deployment not to forget that range of wifi is restricted to about 100m for public use, further will need license. but for now and hobbyist use, 3G data services with low resolution video is still the way to go GPS is already in my list too just that i didn't ever consider using a phone Added on February 29, 2012, 5:15 pm QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 29 2012, 05:56 PM) for you guys in west malaysia there's unifi but not yet for me in sarawak.it's quite disappointing that there's no coverage map of unifi to evaluate it's coverage profile This post has been edited by haley0918: Feb 29 2012, 05:15 PM |
Feb 29 2012, 07:27 PM
people compare 808 with dslr when they see the picture quality
808 probably only enough to "touch" the dslr zone but i know 808 works in a different dimension compare to dslr |
Mar 1 2012, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 1 2012, 01:32 AM) It seems that the 808 forgo the small pin nokia charger for a usb one... meaning my nokia charger in my car will probably be useless unless i can find an adapter for it... if your in car charger also has a USB out then just get another nokia USB-A to micro-USB data cable or just nokia usb charger cable |
Mar 1 2012, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 1 2012, 12:09 PM) GSMArena publish the interview with Damian Dining, those that do not understand the technology about the 808 41MP sensor, and thought it's a 5MP should go take some time and pay attention and read it. It's informative. ESPECIALLY the person who wrote the front page article, it's so disappointing! this is why 808 PureView works in a different dimension compare to conventional camera technology out therehttp://www.gsmarena.com/d_dinning_intervie...-review-728.php Basically, the 5MP is oversampling (just imagine processing a 38/34MP image and resample (oversample) into 5MP) resulting a very high quality image. You can still take FULL Resolution photo, which means no oversampling is done. Besides, there's no need to take full resolution everytime, imagine the file size! If you zoom in 5MP mode, it will reduce the oversampling as you zoom until the maximum. The reason for this: It's like Optical zoom, but you don't need a zoom lens. The benefit: Cheaper than investing in a optical zoom lens and maintain the size, plus, the best yet, maintain the aperture. With typical zoom lens, when you zoom, the aperture will change, thus loosing light. For those still not understand, basically, it's really a 41MP sensor capable of capturing 38MP photo (4:3) or 34MP photo (16:9). What it does it, it provide oversampling for lower resolution. Just imagine N8 is 12MP, if there is oversampling, it will be for lower resolution file, not 12MP. But, on N8 or any other camera, when you choose lower resolution mode, does it have any oversampling? That is the difference. In short, 808 is shooting at 38MP/34MP depending on what ratio chosen. |
Mar 1 2012, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(sklchan @ Mar 1 2012, 12:46 PM) so the pureview is a technologies renew and not platform selected... so we can expect it will be release for others platform in future, but same thing is would there be another same camera module be use... since the major IP is in the co-processor of 808 PureView, moving to other platform is just a matter of making the target platform suitable and port over the interfacesinclusion of camera sensor module of similar large size will depend on how market react to thicker phone size if everyone don't like the phone to be thick then there's no option for larger sensor module |
Mar 1 2012, 12:03 PM
Mar 1 2012, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Mar 1 2012, 01:09 PM) If you look back into history when SJ not died, he brainwashes his iSheep (fans) that a lots of "innovation" that iCopy that introduced is made by him. But the fact is Nokia or other handheld company invent it for the 1st place. Lets c when iCopy going to say 41MP camera is belongs to them in future. Let's wait & see... ![]() even if there's "true" innovation that comes out from that brand, it's not really made by him, it's his employees Added on March 1, 2012, 12:13 pm QUOTE(sklchan @ Mar 1 2012, 01:10 PM) although it got transfer the pureview tech to others platform, but will the same 808 camera module follow that's the ultimate questionmark... as it's not a cheapo module yes, totally agree!for this price with that much stuffs inside This post has been edited by haley0918: Mar 1 2012, 12:13 PM |
Mar 1 2012, 12:31 PM
you can throw your worst at the CEO but please don't take down the awesome R&D team that makes 808 PureView possible
Mar 1 2012, 03:10 PM
there are a few questions/requests for higher fps of video with lower resolution for slow motion but no response so far
Mar 1 2012, 04:01 PM
Mar 1 2012, 05:10 PM
Mar 1 2012, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(kae7 @ Mar 1 2012, 06:15 PM) of course yes... , just download the latest Maps , the latest voice navigation , and others , for free QUOTE(emino @ Mar 1 2012, 06:20 PM) but will see if the map for kuching here is sufficiently updated or not, else going back to garmin with MSM |
Mar 2 2012, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(pikacu @ Mar 2 2012, 02:31 AM) from Damian and 808 PureView team![]() but seriously if there's any problem just shoot it at Damian they're still working on it before the final launch otherwise would probably in later updates just like n8 continuous autofocus for video |
Mar 2 2012, 03:33 PM
Mar 2 2012, 03:35 PM
Mar 2 2012, 04:24 PM
Mar 2 2012, 04:42 PM
most people who had taken Digital Signal and Image Processing class in electronics engineering will roughly know what the PureView's oversampling, averaging, filtering etc. jargon are about.
other than that i can't comprehend why quite some E&E people can't understand this unless they're bad at this subject or pure fan/brand loyalty |
Mar 2 2012, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Mar 2 2012, 05:44 PM) After this 808 model has been release, this is what i can see from people's reaction: i can see some of the 808s will fall into good hands on people who posted in this thread1) People who understand the concept of oversampling & digital imaging. 2) iSheep (fans) saying: oh this is crap, nothing is better than 4S photo(shop). 3) Andriod fans + Windows fans: y Nokia no porting 808 into their OS? 4) "End user" who doesn't know whats going on: Wow 41MP, lets buy it!!! 5) Programmers: Lets enhance the camera & bring out its potential. 6) the list goes on & on... feel free to add... |
| Change to: | 0.0223sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:36 AM |