Nokia 808 The New King of Cameraphone!, Available now!!

feimeng
post Jun 8 2012, 12:06 AM

637 posts

the video recorded with 808 can kill most of the PnS and even DSLR for only just taking account of the sound quality, it's simply ridiculously amazing
Thx nokia for the Nokia Rich Recording technology thumbup.gif
and thx faizal for all the samples laugh.gif

This post has been edited by feimeng: Jun 8 2012, 12:31 AM
feimeng
post Jun 8 2012, 12:41 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Roger748 @ Jun 8 2012, 12:40 AM)
Just got my Nokia 808 PureView @ Nokia Store. Have to wait for the free gift (tripod) though...
tahniah rclxms.gif
wait for ur unboxing and sample shots nod.gif
feimeng
post Jun 8 2012, 11:32 AM

637 posts

is that the camera plate made using metal? faizal
feimeng
post Jun 8 2012, 02:33 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 8 2012, 02:28 PM)
it is possible to select focus mode in creative mode but i have no idea how to activate it, sometimes there's pop up to select when i accidentally touching something or when i practice to do zoom gesture.

i haven't read the manual so i cannot help on how to activate the pop up
touch on the screen and hold on for N seconds
just like the way adding widgets on the home screen
try and see if it works?

This post has been edited by feimeng: Jun 8 2012, 02:39 PM
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 12:17 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 9 2012, 11:29 PM)
if OS is your main concern then better don't buy it.
to be honest if i don't own another proper OS phone (at least for me), galaxy nexus, i won't buy this phone.

i bought this phone as substitute to my camera and also as a second phone.
IMO
OS is not something needs to be concern
because they are all identical to each other nowaday
the main thing to concern is the third party supports
if symbian has the greatest quality and amount of apps in the market today
there will be lesser complaints about it for sure
and another fact is that nokia always kedekut on bringing decent hardwares to their devices compared to other hp manufacturers
what i'm trying to say is Symbian is not old or outdated, Belle is still consider decent and comparable with other OS,
it's just nokia to cause it looks outdated.
the conclusion is just one word to describe "kedekut"
and some more nokia already judged the fate of symbian
what else ppl can expect from it......
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 12:25 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Jun 9 2012, 11:50 PM)
"not unproper but outdated ..?" may I know in which/what way ?

For me, in term of apps - developers seems have lose interests to make Symbian apps anymore..
but in other aspects... it is still okay..
it is nokia who commited death of symbian itself
what for to invest again on something with no future, right?
thx to Elop doh.gif
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 12:29 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 10 2012, 12:25 AM)
sorry i haven't read the manual, but what is ND for?
how to set exposure duration with ND mode on?
ND filter wiki
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neutral_density_filter

isn't tat 808 ND filter will kick in by itself when needed?
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 12:35 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Roger748 @ Jun 10 2012, 12:30 AM)
This is what i got when I zoom into the two towers...

2012-06-09-0164 by Roger 808, on Flickr

2012-06-09-0165 by Roger 808, on Flickr
if those are fully zoomed which means that they are just cropped from the original full resolution
just one word to describe "WoW" thumbup.gif

Added on June 10, 2012, 12:36 am
QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 10 2012, 12:31 AM)
there's an option to turn it off, set to auto and forced ND.
wow good thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by feimeng: Jun 10 2012, 12:36 AM
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 12:55 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 10 2012, 12:52 AM)
Just curious, since this 1 got 41mp the file size is super big eh?
if you shot under full resolution mode
the file size will be around 10MB+/-
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 01:17 AM

637 posts

who's gonna starts a new thread as the 808 already officially launched now?
this thread already exceed 100 pages......

faizal how about you?
you are the 1st who owned it in this forum brows.gif
or remain the same? hengguowei?

feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 01:19 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jun 10 2012, 01:12 AM)
Jz got the 808 device, am i still in top 10 owner list? lol

Anyway, since many sifu pro in taking outdoor photography for 808. Then i jz do a macro-shot with unique device  nod.gif

Feel free to comment...
oh my buddy,
don't use full resolution where there is not enough light
full resolution cannot survive in low light environment sweat.gif

Added on June 10, 2012, 1:25 am
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 10 2012, 01:19 AM)
My god, that monster pic made my whole com lag upside down rclxub.gif
Can't even load finish, lol.
Anyway, why so blur 1? hmm.gif
simple to say
it is not "PureView" tongue.gif

This post has been edited by feimeng: Jun 10 2012, 01:25 AM
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 01:32 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jun 10 2012, 01:28 AM)
soli har, indoor no photography light setup...

just simply do a point & shoot thing c how worst a noob user can handle 808 & how worst the 808 photo can be... Sry for lagging ur comp  notworthy.gif
have a try with the pureview mode and see

Added on June 10, 2012, 1:33 am
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jun 10 2012, 01:29 AM)
Huh? Wat u mean ooo...  sweat.gif
you don't even know what the pureview is, huh?

This post has been edited by feimeng: Jun 10 2012, 01:33 AM
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 01:50 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jun 10 2012, 01:44 AM)
This is the second macro-shot photo i done. Pureview mode, file size 3.6MB

Anytime.  nod.gif
Cannot tahan liao, c that model terus buy~~  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
this time ISO too high
set it lower to 400/800
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 01:56 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jun 10 2012, 01:52 AM)
Thanks for the tip bro..

its late now, tmr continue play notworthy.gif
gd9
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 09:56 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jun 10 2012, 04:16 AM)
I tried this phone today at the Nokia store in Gardens. UI is much smoother than expected, in fact feels faster than Android.

A pity about the price though. RM1899.
yes, this is what i felt too about 808
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 10:29 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:16 AM)
this experience is the same on Nokia 700, 701 just no one given it a 2nd chance to try.
the failure of previous symbian models is because of the so called "full focus" camera
it was nokia itself not given them a chance in the 1st place
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 11:58 AM

637 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 10 2012, 11:14 AM)
Cannot really compare WP7 against Symbians or Androids. WP7 is a simple and basic OS, more like a media OS rather than a proper smartphone OS. It's full of restrictions and limitations, it very controlled, basic and simple, just lik iOS. Surely, something that you controlled very TIGHT and LIMIT what the user can do, you can easily achieve smoother and more reliable OS.
If you organize a concert, and you only allow one door for enter, you only need little manpower and it's very easy to manage; The problem is the customers have to suffer, but as the management, you can choose to not bother as long as you can easily manage the crowd.
If you open many doors, you need to have many manpower and harder to manage and control every part, but for customers, they suffer less and it's more convenient for them.

Not everyone can live with the limitations and restrictions of WP or iOS, for those who can, then it's good for them. The most important thing is, to understand the limitations and restrictions of WP, many people bought it and later found out they cannot live or accept the restrictions and limitations, end up selling it. There's no easy or good jailbreak method like iOS.

Symbian and Android is just in different league and level from iOS and WP. iOS and WP are very similar, both being a media OS, with similar characteristics, full of restrictions and limitations (no bluetooth file transfer, no file manager (totally no access to file system), no mass-storage mode, reliance of software to transfer ONLY media files (e.g. iTunes for Apple, Zune for MS), etc. These characteristic are simply not a proper smartphone OS, it's just like a media device (e.g. iPod Touch, Zune Player, Creative Zen, etc).
It's the same for the old iPhone. The reason they gave is so lame.
No need to focus, fast capture.
Well, with AF, you can switch to Landscape mode and you get similar EDOF capability... no need to focus.
Without AF, you have no option.
yes, indeed, i agreed with both your replies.
WP is something that still yet to be completed and it's just so much identical to iOS in every aspects
I never had any interest in iOS, that's why WP is not catching my eyes although i admitted that i like the metro ui of it but not the OS itself.

i still dun get it why nokia decided to continue using the "full focus" camera even though there was so much of negative responses/feedbacks received back then. Without AF, a camera is just completely a no go, even apple already aware of this too and started implement AF into their phone's camera but what nokia did was going backwards......

It was not symbian pulled down nokia but terbalik instead.

This post has been edited by feimeng: Jun 10 2012, 12:14 PM
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 12:42 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 10 2012, 12:27 PM)
Based on current, I would say MS or WP pulled down Nokia. There's nothing wrong adopting WP, but why not multi-platform and get sales from other market? Nokia is loosing huge customer from their customers switching over to Androids and many of them would've stick to Nokia IF Nokia have an Android alternatives. But instead, they go single  platform and expect all their customers to switch to WP. Worst yet, WP is not solely for Nokia, it's also provided by other manufacturer. Now, Nokia even need to compete with other manufacturer which are now more famous, namely Samseng. Unlike Apple, iOS is solely for them.
Nokia going single platform on this is really doesn't make much sense at all.

If Nokia had Android alternatives, Samseng and HTC woudn't have been able to climb so fast today. What was Samseng a year plus ago? And now? I was shock to see their business expanded rapidly and their service centre now looking more professional than Nokia; Back then, Samseng store looks just like a typical phone shop. Where is their customer from? Well, for one, Nokia lost a huge portion of their Symbian customers.

Imagine Nokia had PureView technology (or simply a very good camera like N8) for all 3 platforms, Android, Symbian and WP. They could've captured portion of their market and maintain many of their Symbian customers who wish to use Androids... This is the part I would say, not listening to their customers?
I just can't agree with you no more.
But nth much to expect now, since the day nokia decided to take that trojan as their CEO, they've already decided their fate as well, sigh~~~

and btw,

This is the part I would say, not listening to their customers?

I said this a lot in the past too XD
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 12:45 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(ne0cz @ Jun 10 2012, 12:31 PM)
Indeed. If Nokia produced Androids, I think a large portion of their customers will not run away. I have seen many people who are actually attached to Nokia, since most had Nokia as their 1st phone, therefore feel a certain attachment.. But with the temptation of Android and such, many people left Nokia for Samsung, Samsung being the Android of choice because they offer cheaper phones..

If Nokia produced Android withs pureview or just a good camera like N8, I think Samsung and HTC will have a much harder time competing, and not just produce flagships with a meager 8MP.
I'm one of the run away too XD
but not to samseng, htc instead
feimeng
post Jun 10 2012, 12:49 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 10 2012, 12:44 PM)
Yea nokia indeed have the name and potential they have all the niche people need like Nokia Drive and Nokia Maps until today nobody can compete with this.

Lastly the camera with carl zeiss lens

The only lacking are apps. If they resolve this i dont see how others can challenge.
and jangan kedekut anymore on their basic hardwares
and one more importantly, get sum1 else to replace the current CEO......

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0494sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:39 PM