6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

hye
post Aug 23 2012, 10:10 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(shuangping @ Aug 23 2012, 01:15 PM)
izit anyone using diners club now?
any comment for this card?
Do you have an idea what is Diners Club card ? If you do then you wouldn't be posting here.
And if you are clueless then obviously you should not be applying / considering it.

First rule ... understand what you are signing up for.
Second rule ... Initial info do it on your own effort and not by being spoon fed in here.

Added on August 23, 2012, 10:13 pm
QUOTE(kkbelinda @ Aug 23 2012, 10:09 PM)
Hi, i want to ask, is that safe to received the credit card through mailing?
Why not ? I receive such all the time with no issues. Card is often deactivated and require activation before initial use.
Poslaju will use secure docket/plastic which is tamper proof and can only be received by the person printed on the docket.

This post has been edited by hye: Aug 23 2012, 10:13 PM
hye
post Aug 23 2012, 10:26 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Aug 23 2012, 05:33 PM)
hmm im not sure of your case. but i do know some people who have got no idea of their own banking details (zero) and obviously they tend to fail verification. That is when the CS will refuse to assist further, but instead get the person to go down to the bank personally. Then the customer will go into a rage mode and demand for assistance.trust me, i have seen so many weirdos that makes me wonder why do they exist in the world...

Added on August 23, 2012, 5:35 pmand no, they will not have access to your personal INB. if they do, obviously something is wrong somewhere.
I have to add that sometimes CS (+bank) are not prepared for special cases. For instance, where a customer require urgent attention while overseas.

1. Customer may be in a different time zone so it is not very easy to place another call. It is critical the problem need to be solved right there and then + quickly. Customers need to take caution of banks which practices temporary shutdown of their systems at midnight coz it might impact you in a different time zone + you are very vulnerable at that time.
2. Limited access to phone. Not everyone has roaming activated.
3. Roaming / International calls are very expensive. CS + banks take their sweet time to answer + response.

It is a shame coz it all goes back to poor CS mentality in Malaysia and no way we are comparable to some developed countries in terms of services. Countries such as South Korea will have a different approach + attitude to customer service altogether.
Sorry folks, no malice intended but I'm just speaking upfront from my mind.

This post has been edited by hye: Aug 23 2012, 10:31 PM
hye
post Aug 24 2012, 09:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(shuangping @ Aug 23 2012, 11:15 PM)
please dun said like this.

do u understand english?
if i hv any idea for this card,then i not need ask here!!!

and please respect ppl!!!!!!

what is this post for?is for general question for credit card,so i hv right to ask any question!

if you dislike,you can choose not answer,not mean you can scold ppl here!!

respect ppl you oso dunno,mean you more clueless!!!!!!!
Most of the guys here also echo my statement. You need to respect yourself and equip yourself with some basic knowledge of what Diners Club is. You are not being respectful to any by the seniors here by asking to be spoon fed like a baby / kid. If you can come here then you'll know how to use Google, Yahoo, Naver and a whole bunch of search engines. You really and absolutely can't find anything on Diners ? I can understand English perfectly well ... I'm just worried about your wrong spelling, bad grammar, questionable writing style (not thinking as an English speaker) and use of improper English which much said be said if you want to compare English proficiency levels.

You need to have self awareness of financial products - read it up from the sites. Asking in forum and you'll get all sort of answers which may mislead you. Ask a Diners lover and you'll get the best answer in the world ... ask a Diners hater and you'll get the exact opposite. Do you understand what you need and expect from the card ? Are you aware financial products - debit, credit and charge cards target specific needs ? You didn't even say what you expect - the best for someone else might be the worst for you. And if your knowledge is totally 0% about the product then how do you expect to understand what we are talking / synonyms used to explain to you about the product ?

The same way these financial products target specific needs - all of the sections in this forum give specific answers to a particular problem. Especially in the "Recommend a card section" where one need to specify specific answers else you'll get general answers. Special note - we (thanks to all the many TS) / they compile FAQ in the first few posts of any threads - one just need to spend time reading it and about 70%-80% (if not more) of your queries will be answered. I appreciate the many contributors for their time and contribution and to reciprocate - I have ZERO tolerance in spoon feeding kids + brats who browse the many sections looking for answers just by asking and not making efforts to read the contributors contribution.

For example, OCBC cards is one of the hottest card in this forum (hundreds if not thousands of fans for this product) but I'm not interested in it as it give me minimum / mismatch of benefits. There's nothing wrong with the product but the product does not matches my needs. I'm not wrong to say this and many here will agree on this example.

Your answers just echos the many trends all over the world for typical kids who want answers to come their feet just because they ask. I know what Diners Club is and that's why I told you off for posting in here because you are in the wrong section. Come here and ask detailed questions about the product and we don't mind - we know you put in effort. Come in here and just ask - you didn't put in any effort and you want me (or anyone here) to respect you ? Honestly ... ask anyone whether you deserve any. If you still want answers your way then go to other forums which will accomodate your request including your demand to be respected just because you ask.

You need to rethink your mindset if you want to help the country to evolve. If you remain what you are then .... it's your own loss and all the best + good luck with your attitude.

This post has been edited by hye: Aug 24 2012, 10:37 PM
hye
post Aug 26 2012, 08:56 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Aug 26 2012, 08:33 AM)
when did the ruling come into effect?

Kinda stupid if you ask me ...

What if there's a super rich guy who doesn't want to work?? Or expats retiring in our country??
The ruling is there to prevent uncontrolled unsecured credit which I'm in full support if we don't want our country to be full of debt filled citizens. And if you are trying very hard to advocate the "large logo" which you have in your signature then take a seat back and think in a broad picture of that decision made by Bank Negara and your reaction itself. I'm sure there's no need for the country to bend over so whatever demands made by the public - the ruling is made to protect the public in the long term. Rethink the intelligence of your own answer which you just posted.

No need to rant -
1. Are you that super rich guy ?
2. Are you that expat retiring in our country ?

- A super rich guy who has money but without work - sounds suspicious right ? Super rich people have their assistants paying for them. They just walk in, point to whatever they want and walk out. Their assistant behind them are the one who runs over to pay the bill. (in most cases) In short, they can pay/hire someone who has a credit card to pay for them all around.
- It is not easy for expats to get a local credit card - not just in Malaysia but it's the same thing all over the world. Even in Singapore, South Korea, Japan (worst) it's the same thing.

Even if there's exceptions, what's the percentage of non coverage ? 1%? 0.5%? Isn't this is normal for any human written law anywhere on planet earth ? Only god's law would guarantee coverage for 100% of the population and applicable to every single human being on planet earth.
I'll be alarmed if Malaysia is so lax ... are you possibly indicating we that backward till we need to be desperate ?

This post has been edited by hye: Aug 26 2012, 09:08 AM
hye
post Aug 27 2012, 10:17 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Just to add for what Gen-X already mentioned ...

The procedure Gen-X mentioned would be critical to a speedy process to your case, so please ... please reconfirm the procedures from the CS.

You need not worry about the amount incurred for the fraud transaction if it is not truly yours nor it is the fault of your neglect. It may take some time for the amount to be removed from your account as it depends on how fast or slow the investigation is. It won't be removed just because you reported it. My own experience ... it took up to 3 months for the reversal to occur and it most cases within 30 days.

Again ... nothing to be concerned if it is a genuine case. (No malice to my statement)
hye
post Aug 28 2012, 09:37 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(virgoguy @ Aug 27 2012, 10:58 PM)
Gen-X, Hye

Thanks for the info. So my understanding from your statement that the transaction is definitely going through and it is going to charge to my CC statement regardless my card is barred and the fraud transaction is still floating.
The way the CS feedback doesn't convince me at all. If what you said is true why does the CS still ask me to wait for 7 days to see whether it is going to charge to my amex?

My next question is do I still have to pay for that fraud transaction during the long run investigation?

If I am not going to pay for the fraud transaction during the investigation period, do I get charge for the interest?
I'm sure you are a seasoned credit card user and you'll be able to appreciate the following info

Reason for such is that the transaction needed to be posted to your account first. (And this may take a while or several/many days) You can't dispute a transaction which is currently in float. If you want to appreciate this further ... if you are pumping petrol the floating amount is higher but the actual amount (posted) is much lower. Also, you may have encountered errors while pumping petrol ... you swipe your card but you are unable to pump. There might have been multiple floating transaction but the actual posted transaction is only one. Sorry if my example a bit bad but as I said only posted transaction can be disputed. System applies to all banks and not just your bank is practicing it.

Yes and No. CS will advise you to pay the bill first as unless the transaction is reversed by the system, you are still "technically" viable for the amount and the system will charge you interest if you omit it from your payment. Normally I'd pay first to avoid the interest.

However, if you are persistant not wanting to pay then you may omit the amount and if there's any interest charged, it'll be reversed as well later. However, I'll take the reversal with a pinch of salt coz you don't know whether the bank reverse the interest automatically or you need to call. I wish to avoid the problems thus I just pay the amount if it is not too much.

Take it this way ... I'd yet to encounter any cases of banks in Malaysia cheating their customers of their money. Have you ?
hye
post Aug 28 2012, 09:38 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(czyhades90 @ Aug 28 2012, 07:34 AM)
Hi guys, i called a 5 star hotel to book for a buffet dinner, and the staff asked me to give him my credit card number and expiry date of the card, so called to ''secure'' my booking. Security number on the back of the card is not needed.
Which 5-star hotel is practicing this ?
hye
post Aug 29 2012, 08:30 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Aug 29 2012, 06:46 PM)
My bad. But basically my question would be, "How can I 'use' this installment service?" because I'm not familiar with credit cards and installment, never tried before and will be using it for the first time  blush.gif
Definitely cheap but I don't wanna spend all at one go because I might need to use those moolah for emergency. Personal. hehe

p/s : paying the monthly $ is not the problem, only thing is how to get installment tongue.gif
I have to be upfront about this, sorry beating around the bush won't make you understand

1. The service you are asking is not credit card thus the reason you are getting roundabout answers. It's akin to Courts Mammoth system if I'm not mistaken. (I might be wrong) Likely Aeon will ask you to post payment on a regular schedule. In this case Aeon assumes the risk of you being a default vs. the bank if you are using a credit card.
2. Everyone who gets into huge debts will start from your sentence "I don't wanna spend all at one go because I might need to use those moolah for emergency. Personal." Sorry but I need to ask you to rethink your attitude (and have the right attitude) towards debt. Denial about "I won't get into debt" won't get you anywhere, it's the beginning of the problem.

It's not personal nor belittling your intelligence or judgement but I have seen my own friends having such attitude and 3-6 months down the road, the banks hound them for payment + they are in deep debt for the next 2 years. And they blame the bank for being tough on them. (Duh!) Many visitors to this thread had the same story.

Such may be true for business where liabilities is limited to the shareholding and any legal implication are limited to the company and not to the individual.
This involves personal finance, where legal / financial implication will hit the person/individual directly.

I have to agree with Gen-X. In certain shops you can even bargain if you are paying in cash. Save money .... that's a good reason (and good enough) for you right ? Your choice.

This post has been edited by hye: Aug 29 2012, 08:57 PM
hye
post Sep 1 2012, 09:12 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(dig_dug @ Aug 31 2012, 07:43 PM)
but I don noe the reason I tried call the customer service to ask for the reason but they say cannot reveal....
Yes CS will say that and they are supposed to reply you in that format.
Questions
1. What card did you apply and what type ?
2. Did your income qualify ?
3. How much commitments do you have ?
4. How many card do you have ?
5. Any problems with your personal financial history ?

I don't want anyone reading your posting, thinking it is alright to appeal just because application did not go through. Sometimes there's a mismatch between the qualifications and the application, so card will not be approved - accept it. Credit card approval are tighter these days.
hye
post Sep 5 2012, 07:48 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Sep 3 2012, 04:06 PM)
(MUST use your card at Overseas baru get 5x or 10x reward points  )... blink.gif
Are you absolutely sure beyond doubt with your statement/posting here ?
hye
post Sep 6 2012, 09:26 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Sep 6 2012, 02:49 AM)
I know what I'm saying...
I'm saying that because Mostly Overseas's Spend get more reward point than Local's Use..
I also knew that both local and Overseas spends can get same  amount of 5x reward points
I'd appreciate if you were to focus on clarity and accuracy of your posting.
Usage of "Mostly" would not be enough as there are many products out there offering 5x and the next question to be asked to you is which one ?

I appreciate your contribution but a misleading/incorrect contribution is of no use as well and it'll create trouble later from demanding readers of this forum. If you can't provide the clarity and accuracy of your posting then I'd appreciate if you were to avoid from answering at all and to allow others in this section to answer that question.

On another note, I'd like to mention that vulgarities are not welcomed here. The recent post have seen some hot blooded members posting using inappropriate language. If you or anyone can't post properly then please take time to cool off before coming here or we'll make sure you'll be cooled off before being allowed to come back.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 6 2012, 09:29 AM
hye
post Sep 11 2012, 11:48 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(isildur88 @ Sep 11 2012, 11:35 PM)
Hi.. If my salary slip for this month is basic rm2000 up 200 from rm 1800. Can i apply for credit card or do i have to wait until the 3rd salary slip of rm2k
You'll stand a better chance of approval if you give the bank 3 months pay slips. Some banks may be content with 1.
I'd suggest you to just wait for 3 months.
hye
post Sep 16 2012, 11:44 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(heterosapiens @ Sep 16 2012, 04:37 PM)
Thanks, the problem is when the traveling to a country where a non-3G-GSM phone stops working. Like Japan for example. Well, one of the option would probably get a new 3G prepaid number + phone and update it with the bank to be able to receive the sms. T_T
The answer would be to just get a 3G phone with the right band support. These days I cant think of any telco not using a non-3G SIM unless your card is very old.
Hassle is just once off, please don't make it sound bad as if the bank is doing you a great injustice.
hye
post Sep 22 2012, 03:13 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 22 2012, 12:32 PM)
Bro, if it is clearly a fraud case, we don't really have to worry since our maximum liability is RM250. However, if it due to one's negligence, like reporting they lost their credit card "late", then it is subjective.
Just to add, in all my many years of using credit card - no funny issues ever been done or occurred.
It's when you fail to meet your obligation end as a cardholder will something happen - bank is not to be blamed if such.

Pink Spider and knighty ... if you have such doubts, please contact your bank to cancel your credit card. You are right as there's no such thing as perfection in this world and the only way is not to own a card in the beginning to open such probability. If you wish to make negative comments without any confidence in our banking system then please don't be a hypocrite by holding a credit card / debit card.
hye
post Sep 23 2012, 06:27 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 23 2012, 12:06 PM)
Correct me if I'm wrong, this forum are mainly made up of laymen members. Finance professionals wouldn't need to ask questions here, would they? We don't need the holier-than-thou tone of posting here. Why insult u may ask? Some professionals/middle-higher income ppl would never stand in the shoes of the laymen.

He has been targeting me ever since I attacked him over the GST waiver offset issue. We as laymen/consumers, why would we want to care about the law/technical stuff? All we want to know is whether we can get it or not, simple as that. Leave the compliance to the bankers. If the bankers want to find creative ways to manoeuvre around the laws, its to our benefit and their problem, not ours. He made it as if using the GST waiver word could land us in jail.
Ask anyone here ... it's never a personal attack. What is wrong is wrong. I don't see problem getting the terminology spot on as it's part of the education to our readers and that's what the thread aim for anyway. So, if you have a problem with that and want things your way, there are other sections in LYN which allows you to do so.

The misuse word in GST at that of time has became an epidemic...it got to the point where people are getting obnoxious asking for something they don't understand. Healthy discussion/debates is fine with me but the wrong use of the word need to stop ... more readers to this forum understand that now right ? How wrong is that ? Isn't it good for everyone to have the same common understanding instead of practicing selective discrimination on who should know more or less ?

Goodness ohmy.gif Do continue posting your insults in this forum and I'll leave the public to judge you. I'm from 서울, South Korea so what do I know right ?
hye
post Sep 25 2012, 11:46 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mengfart @ Sep 25 2012, 11:27 AM)
if lets say 1 month need pay RM100 will the bank charge me the interest rate ?
I'd sincerely advise that if you don't have the money, don't go on debt using your credit card. Credit card debt/interest is up to 18% per annum.
Credit card should be treated like a cash equivalent. And thinking that credit card debt is manageable is not the way to go.
hye
post Oct 8 2012, 03:03 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Oct 8 2012, 10:29 AM)
it is never recommended to use a CC for cash advance. Think that is the message everyone is giving you.
does your upcoming expenses allow the usage of credit cards especially 0% installment plans?
Yes ... I agree that is what the message everyone is telling you - politely. I myself would have said the same thing.
It is not we are not being helpful but we are by replying in a responsible manner - giving an honest and sincere advice to ask you to reconsider your planning. Other areas in the forum will give you crappy Kopitiam like answer but not in here. (And I'm quite proud of the senior folks in here)

We don't want to be responsible to push you off a cliff which you will have problems climbing back up.
hye
post Oct 16 2012, 07:53 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(gloryglory888 @ Oct 16 2012, 07:54 AM)
Where can I find tool to compare effective interest rates vs. reducing balance interest?
I reckon this will help many of us to compare interest rates
You are sending a message it's OK to create debt via cc. It is not and we tell our members to treat credit card like cash.
If all members pay on time so why bother about interest rates ? It can be 1.5%, 15% 150%, or even 1892% per month and nobody is affected.
hye
post Oct 17 2012, 08:51 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(gloryglory888 @ Oct 17 2012, 06:39 AM)
I do believe u have issue with my posting n u yet to reply to my PM. This is not kindergarten forum, if u think so, go shutdown personal loan thread, MLM forum n other high risk investment threads. Don't do selective readings & as moderator don't ASSUME too much.

Added on October 17, 2012, 8:56 am
QUOTE(gloryglory888 @ Oct 17 2012, 08:44 AM)
You ASSUME way too much. The knowledge of understanding the type of interest impose by banks will help members to manage their debts better.
can you guarantee everyone pay on time? This is forum for discussion & sharing. Moderates moderately.
If you so keen to protect the members here then go shutdown MLM threads, PL loan threads & any other high risk investment threads.
Why do selective moderation? Again you interpret my postings differently, similar to my earlier posting.
I choose not to reply because I see no sense in replying to the remarks. I do not wish to turn this thread into a playground thus the posts were hidden but your remarks left me with no choice but to go public. I have nothing to fear, do post your threats and attacks.

1. I have no intention to change the world thus I have no interest in those threads.
2. There was no personal attack involved contrary to your belief. The reply was in response to the post and not to the person.
3. If you wish and able to post a rebuttal to my remark, by all means do so constructively. Don't just talk about calculating credit card debt but to also post credit card interest levels vs. other forms of loans. The number of credit card defaults in the country - do it comprehensively. Posting and replying in a childish way ... well I let the readers decide.
4. I see no need nor wish to pick an argument thus I choose to not continue with the debate, so is that wrong ?

Now ... many may view credit card as a financial tool but it is the last tool to use to build debt. A tool can go both way ... the wrong way and the right way. Such debts spiral out of control very quickly because people build it without realising and in denial that they are in trouble with this "wonder" tool. My stand is to discourage posts encouraging credit card to be used the wrong way coming from this thread. If it appears in other sections of LYN, they are not of my concern. And there are sections which mentions credit card interest rates for education purposes.

And I kept my answers to just credit card topics. I never touched any other forms of loans/debts because they are not in my interest and I subscribe to other loans as well, just like any other guys/gals.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 17 2012, 09:17 AM
hye
post Oct 17 2012, 11:52 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 17 2012, 11:26 AM)
You are smart, thus you ask smart questions... but there are also "not-so-smart" fellas reading this forum.
You have put it spot on Ronnie - I was looking for that.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0544sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:56 PM