Cycling V2, General talks on bicycles

malleus
post Feb 27 2012, 10:41 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Feb 27 2012, 10:23 AM)
what's the differences between race tyre and training one? actually I am changing the tire to prepare for my kenyir triathlon
From what I understand so far, the race tires are supposed to be very lightweight with good grips, but you sacrifice on durability. The training tires are supposed to last longer.
malleus
post Feb 27 2012, 10:59 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 27 2012, 10:56 AM)
here comes pr@wn...

how's this one? smile.gif

malleus
post Feb 27 2012, 04:13 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 27 2012, 04:06 PM)
cycling is a low impact sport... unlike running..

Hmmm.. does the low impact still apply to technical downhills? tongue.gif
malleus
post Feb 27 2012, 04:17 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 27 2012, 03:58 PM)
i want to check something with your...

yesterday ride from Orang Asli Hospital to Batu Tinggi and Hot Spring total 65KM, my right knee is hurting, not so serious but can feel the pains when coming up from Hot spring to Genting Sempah.

As we know, cycling is less impact sport for knee, now my right knee is hurting, this must be a serious case right?  meaning i shall rest more?

oh, 1 last thing, i'm just completed HK100 ultra trail race on 18-19 Feb. so i suspect my right knee is not fully recovered.
Don't think that's an impact problem. I encountered this 3 times so far, and managed to narrow it down to the angle of my foot on the pedals.

I just rested my leg for 2 days, then its alright after that.
malleus
post Feb 28 2012, 05:44 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 28 2012, 04:50 PM)
"The ideal candidate is able to fix a flat tire in under 10 minutes, using only tire levers and a mini-pump."

er... use tire levers to pull the tube out... find a pokok getah... scratch some rubber liquid out... patch the tube... put it back... and pump?
a piece of duct tape can work to patch the tube too in case of emergencies. Found that out when I had 2 punctures on the same day, and don't have my patch kit with me
malleus
post Feb 28 2012, 06:04 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 28 2012, 05:48 PM)
duct tape cannot la... it creases up and is quite unflexible... maybe you are lucky... it should leak air because it can't seal as well...

my most champion one was.. during mountain biking days... stuff the tyres full of grass to ride home... problem was brought spare tube.. but didn't realize the tyre was ripped.. so immediately bocor once i got on the bike...

hard to ride.. but at least got me home without ruining the rims... but spent like an hour pulling and collecting to try to get enough grass into the tyres...
yeah, won't be surprised if its still leaking air, but was enough for the 30 minutes for me to get home
malleus
post Feb 29 2012, 08:10 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 29 2012, 03:44 PM)
my Fizik saddle is yellowish on the white area. sad.gif 

any idea how its can turn yellow? i suspect my saddle was directly under evening sun around 5-6pm....
You got a poisonous butt? smile.gif

Added on February 29, 2012, 8:11 pm
QUOTE(mJ4y @ Feb 29 2012, 05:47 PM)
How much a Raleigh Diablo Pro should priced at?
Wheeee my first bike smile.gif should be priced around 800 now if I'm not mistaken

This post has been edited by malleus: Feb 29 2012, 08:11 PM
malleus
post Mar 1 2012, 04:10 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Mar 1 2012, 03:49 PM)
Bdr Sunway to Pantai Morib (via KESAS Highway).

facebook link

This Sat 3/3 -Bdr Sunway to Pantai Morib (via KESAS Highway).
Distance - 120km
Meet point - 5 Bintang Restaurant, Bandar Sunway.
Time - 7.30am
GPS - N3 03 40 E101 36 37
Ride Facilitator - Sk Yeong 012-3772628
Option - Turn back via Bandar Botanic - 50km

Anyone interested?
I'm going for that one
malleus
post Mar 2 2012, 09:11 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 2 2012, 08:51 PM)
wrong price posted maybe? haha if it is really around 6k i better get that one before getting my merida  tongue.gif  but anyway I'm at the point of giving up on my cleat positioning..at first I thought i nailed the correct position without any pain felt during the ride..somehow the feeling is still there and i adjusted and adjusted but to no avail  flex.gif now my left knee already in pain. both knees are in pain actually..not really painful but feels uneasy there..and pain a bit if pushing in big gears or hill climb  rclxub.gif
You can try taking butthead's advice, which is to try riding without the cleats first to see which foot position angle fits you best. I find that the foot positioning is the primary key to resolving my knee pain problem. That and the saddle seat height too

If its both knees then it must be quite bad indeed. I only had gotten it in my left knee
malleus
post Mar 4 2012, 07:45 PM

2,096 posts

My record weekend. Puchong to Pantai Morib & back on Saturday (132km) and then Genting Sempah climb on Sunday.

Legs about ok I guess, butt still pain
malleus
post Mar 4 2012, 08:05 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(ryan3721 @ Mar 4 2012, 08:04 PM)
Bruce Lee jersey  nod.gif

ok lar, not so bad. still not as loud as the captain america one tongue.gif
malleus
post Mar 5 2012, 07:15 PM

2,096 posts

Mwahahaahahahaha... just got myself the KCNC TI Pro Lite 8000 + Tioga Spyder combination smile.gif
malleus
post Mar 5 2012, 07:53 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 5 2012, 07:24 PM)
yippie! i'm on AL tomorrow for some errands early morning..after that will hoping from one bikeshop to another bikeshop. wanna get myself a new helmet..

what do you guys think about cratoni brand? specialized? giro? budget rm400 and below...any spesific model in your mind? i'm using MET btw. will give to my gf once I get a new one smile.gif
thought of getting these? smile.gif

http://www.yakkay.com/Products.aspx
malleus
post Mar 5 2012, 08:20 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 5 2012, 08:16 PM)
haha thx bro. agreed that I have to find one that looks good on my head. my current one is a bit flat hence I dont prefer it that much..wanna something that is spiky at the top and the back  tongue.gif anyone knows the price of specialized echelon? i think i fell with its marketing bs about the ariflow..however they still not spiky enough and looks odd to me from the front view..but i love the side view btw.
errr..pretty cool but not gonna goes along with my cycling attires biggrin.gif
hmm.. spikes.. like this?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/skateboarding-rubb...S-/170738875454

or like this?

http://www.doobybrain.com/2009/03/26/cyber...bicycle-helmet/
malleus
post Mar 6 2012, 09:51 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 5 2012, 08:48 PM)
haha bro..those are overkill! not that mohawk-ish spikes..haha..i'm looking at something like this. but this one is a bit out of my budget..
the echelon looks more subtle...anyone knows the price at the specialized store?
or you can try those helmets with the viking horns that you see those american motorbike gang wears tongue.gif

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 5 2012, 08:48 PM)
and lastly where can I get this chain cleaning tool? along with it's degreaser, and lubricant...what's the budget for a complete kit? looks fun cleaning the chain  rclxms.gif
should be able to find it any most bike shops. just ask them for
1) chain cleaning tool
2) degreaser for use with 1)
3) chain lube

I tend to just use a degreaser from Ace hardware and an old toothbrush to clean my chain though. dry chain after cleaning then apply the lube

Added on March 6, 2012, 9:51 am
QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Mar 5 2012, 10:13 PM)
Today came back from Terengganu with a friend...

the purple fellow?

This post has been edited by malleus: Mar 6 2012, 09:51 AM
malleus
post Mar 7 2012, 01:08 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 6 2012, 09:43 PM)
yeah.. i admit it...

i gotta go see a shrink soon before i become a serial killer  icon_question.gif
Say, what's worse? a serial killer or a serial bike upgrader? tongue.gif
malleus
post Mar 7 2012, 12:30 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 7 2012, 12:13 PM)
I am thinking to get a cadence meter as everyone around me keep mentioning it's importance..

Next I would want to ride a lot more to upgrade my 'engines"

nothing more to upgrade except maybe getting a trainer to train my engines at home
Actually yeah, the cadence meter is important for longer rides. You will want to keep your cadence at a constant, and adjust your gears to suit your cadence. I started with a cadence of around 80 or so, then slowly work my way up. I'm now able to spin at 100 over long distances smile.gif and now working my way up to 110

Added on March 7, 2012, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 7 2012, 12:20 PM)
"nothing more to upgrade"??? you wish... it depends on who is poisoning you...if you find a expert master sifu of level 255 in brain wash - mind poisoning ... you better kiss you bank account bye bye...
does nothing else to upgrade means its time to get the Madone 6.9SSL Radioshack team replica? smile.gif

This post has been edited by malleus: Mar 7 2012, 12:50 PM
malleus
post Mar 7 2012, 01:27 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 7 2012, 01:10 PM)
depends on individual i think. my cadence sensor just lie in store room, not using it. additional sensor on my bike is just too messy. what's important to me is just speed and HRM. cadence just comes naturally
yeah, depends a lot on the individual. I just have got no sense of rhythm at all smile.gif But some people can measure tempo in their heads
malleus
post Mar 8 2012, 08:20 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 8 2012, 12:48 AM)
I meet him in person a few times, he is perfectly normal except is prepared to enjoy the suffer
Don't the crazy ones all look rather normal? smile.gif
malleus
post Mar 8 2012, 07:27 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 8 2012, 05:42 PM)
you know la.. like KCNC stuff... sometimes buy right thing but wrong color also cialat... not that we are woman "right season hand bag but wrong size or shape"... bike geeks have their finickiness...
heh.. sounds like how I'm limiting my choices to anything of either blue or black colors tongue.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0787sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:33 AM