4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V28, A smart phone, a smart user.

erymanthus
post Mar 2 2012, 06:40 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(tshin810 @ Mar 2 2012, 01:10 PM)
I still on prepaid plan. Last year September when I bought s2, I downloded speedtest app to try Maxis speed. After 1 speed test, RM50+ gone because of super expensive data price  mad.gif
Nice. Can you post a simple review of 3M Estoc+ VS SGP ultra fine?
Actually before this, I was using SGP Ultra Optics (not Ultra Fine).

Comparing 3M Estoc + versus SGP Ultra Optics....okay, my personal opinion:

Pricing: 3M Estoc a bit more expensive and DIFFICULT to get.

Clarity and brightness on screen : 3M Estoc is slightly better than Ultra Optics

Reflection: 3M Estoc a bit more reflective

Anti-fingerprint property: 3M Estoc slightly better than Ultra Optics

Touch and feel: Both about the same. When it is new, both has a bit of "chit chit" sound and stick to finger a bit...over time, it became smoother with Ultra Optics....as for 3M Estoc, I only use 2 days...cannot comment yet....but the overall feeling is still quite nice and smooth (ignoring the slight "chit chit" sound)

Adhesion of screen protector on phone: Ultra Optics slightly better. For 3M Estoc, the part near the speaker cut out area doesn't stick 100%...but it could be due to my SGS2 older now, collected more dust over the last 8-9 months..haha...but the rest of the ares stick very well....not a single dust or bubble...

Overall conclusion: I would say I prefer 3M Estoc + a bit more for now.....
erymanthus
post Mar 3 2012, 11:19 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Mar 3 2012, 10:55 AM)
CM9 UNOFFICIAL BUILD
http://developer.clockworkmod.com/download...xys2-signed.zip
- fixed hw codecs (videos smooth as butter)
So, are you on CM9 or Foxhound now?

erymanthus
post Mar 3 2012, 08:20 PM

1,279 posts

I have been using Neak Kernel 1.3.3x for a few days.

Just now I flashed to Siyah 2.6.13...but noticed that the screen is much dimmer and colour less contrast... cannot get used to it....cham leh.......so flashed to Neak kernel 1.4 again...

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Mar 3 2012, 08:21 PM
erymanthus
post Mar 3 2012, 09:45 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 3 2012, 08:22 PM)
You can change kernel setting to increase brightness. For now you can use scripts or through the default.profile file. When the xan's app is ready you can change the brightness setting through the app.
Thanks for the advice

erymanthus
post Mar 4 2012, 10:32 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(rd33 @ Mar 4 2012, 01:24 AM)
Hi guys,

Whats the best scree protector for SGS II?

Suggest me the shop around KL.

Thanks!
There is no best screen protector.
But SGP Ultra series is quite good.
3M Estoc + is also very good.
erymanthus
post Mar 4 2012, 12:28 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Mar 4 2012, 12:22 PM)
Hi guys, can you suggest me the best custom rom for s2? I am using miui and realise it not super stable afterall, still get fc like accessing browser or market.
Try CheckROM or Turkbey ROM.

For ICS, you can try Batista Foxhound or Thebyani ROM...

Have fun flashing rclxms.gif
erymanthus
post Mar 4 2012, 01:26 PM

1,279 posts

Actually, I'm quite perplexed how come I have been hearing a lot of hang/ force close/ shut down/ reboot/ skipped music/ camera hang/...etc issues with the SGS2...

Is there a drop in quality control with the newer batches of SGS2?

I'm sure many of you who owns the 1st batch of SGS2 (bought last year June/July) never face any of this issue, right?

Just curious... rclxub.gif
erymanthus
post Mar 4 2012, 06:20 PM

1,279 posts

Hi guys, besides the Browser, Facebook for Android and Friendcaster, what other Facebook app do you all use?

erymanthus
post Mar 5 2012, 09:27 AM

1,279 posts

Wah, some of you guys are real sifus...talking of scripts, voltage, frequency, tweak here tweak there...haha..I'm lost already...

I can only flash ROMs, Kernels and Modems.....

cry.gif

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Mar 5 2012, 09:28 AM
erymanthus
post Mar 5 2012, 04:33 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(Feinberg1 @ Mar 5 2012, 03:59 PM)
any nice apps for battery monitoring ?
Battery Monitor Widget by 3C?

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Mar 5 2012, 04:33 PM
erymanthus
post Mar 5 2012, 04:50 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Mar 5 2012, 04:39 PM)
I think my gf nonG S2 have some hardware problem, and it is AP so I'm quite worry now.
Even staying on XWKF1 has problem, like going to setting screen it freeze and can't touch anything, after around 15 seconds phone restart or Setting closed without message and return to homescreen. Some apps will act like this as well.

So I go to 3e recovery, factory reset wipe cache, go download mode, open Odin and put XWLA4 on PDA and flash it.
Afterwards the phone still act weirdly, so I go to recovery and do a factory reset and wipe cache again.
This time I don't want to do any rooting first and observe.
Problem still occur, playing around in Setting sometimes will still restart/freeze.
If not mistaken problems only start occurring once I've on Wifi, I suspect there is some problem with the modem inside.

I used to do a lot of flashing on my own phone no problem, I afraid I might have done something wrong to my gf phone (other ppl phone so a bit pressure maybe).

Now I want to try flashing stock ROM through Odin with REPARTITION ticked, is that a good idea?
No harm trying since you are kind of desperate. Seriously, I myself have tried flashing via Odin with repartition ticked. No problem but make sure you get the correct pit file

erymanthus
post Mar 5 2012, 04:52 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 5 2012, 04:50 PM)
No need to tick repartition.
Have you tried just swapping modems?
Ya, maybe you should try that first.

erymanthus
post Mar 5 2012, 11:37 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Mar 5 2012, 08:21 PM)
Where is the samsung service centre in Klang Valley? vibration motor got problem. =(
There is one along Federal Highway...next to those car showrooms
erymanthus
post Mar 6 2012, 12:33 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(allskoolguru @ Mar 6 2012, 11:55 AM)
Hi does anyone having issues with the Maxis 3G on the S2? Mine shows 3G up but randomly i cant surf the net or receive 15-20mins delayed message via whatsapp. The APN settings is by sim card default. Previously the sim card was on my Nokia but never encounter this problem before. Not really sure is the S2 problem or the sim card as the sim card is only 3months old. Call up maxis but not as helpful. Any advise? Thank you

Phone is running:
Android v2.3.6
Kernel v2.6.35.7 (se.infra@SEI #2)
Build GINGERBREAD.DZKL3
GT-I9100G
I'm on Maxis 3G but didn't encounter any service disruption recently...could it be your area no reception?
Or did you flash any new Modems?

Added on March 6, 2012, 12:39 pm
QUOTE(kazama82 @ Mar 6 2012, 07:45 AM)
I bought a dock station but never used already. Used powerbank instead since I can carry anywhere.
Ya, I think Powerbank is more practical....most of us are using phone casing and we can't use the Dock with a phone casing on, right?

This post has been edited by erymanthus: Mar 6 2012, 12:39 PM
erymanthus
post Mar 6 2012, 04:09 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Mar 6 2012, 04:00 PM)
guys...is it too late for me to get S2 now? sad.gif
If you are not in a hurry, wait for S3

erymanthus
post Mar 6 2012, 04:23 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Mar 6 2012, 04:12 PM)
im not in hurry,but feel like having a new phone now though.

btw,is there any places are still selling non-g ver?
I heard it is difficult to get non-G S2 now....suggest you get Galaxy Note or wait for S3...

Btw, are you Arsenal supporter? Big game tonight...but looks impossible lah cry.gif
erymanthus
post Mar 6 2012, 05:23 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Mar 6 2012, 05:04 PM)
Will the price of S2 drop when Samsung launches S3?

Street price is RM1750. Can I get one at still cheaper price  hmm.gif
Only time will tell smile.gif
erymanthus
post Mar 6 2012, 06:34 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Mar 6 2012, 06:23 PM)
Wow have always been looking for something like that, first time see for s2 laugh.gif

Hmm will consider
Check your PM

erymanthus
post Mar 6 2012, 10:24 PM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Mar 6 2012, 09:55 PM)
No la. I just bought s2 non g yesterday. Straight flash to Turkbey XD. Its definitely a good buy. S3 earliest also I think will launch in June since they also said they don't want to launch it so fast since the US version just launch a few months ago and they want to launch s3 globally at the same time if possible. smile.gif
Turkbey XD.. new release?
I thought the latest is Turkbey v37SE?

erymanthus
post Mar 7 2012, 09:36 AM

1,279 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Mar 7 2012, 05:16 AM)
Emotion ler tongue.gif wah, I think the battery life not bad. Even though I didn't do a full battery cycle( so I don't really know hoe long an z2 should last LOL) but I have been using it pretty heavily on wifi yesterday but now I have about 17% battery left. U guys normakkg put airplane mode at nitd is is? Bcoz I feel the idle battery drain not so good compared to when I am using it . hmm.gif 

Or maybe I should wait for a few days until the ROM settles down. Any of you guys using siya with turkbey? Or all jump to ICS ready? tongue.gif
I'm using Turkbey with Neak kernel 1.4. Overnight drain about 6-7hours is 2%.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0261sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:27 AM