12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V28, A smart phone, a smart user.

TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 27 2012, 12:13 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Feb 27 2012, 12:06 PM)
The HTC devices look pretty slick until you turn to the back and see the huge camera nipple! I've no idea why they love that design cue; it looks so hideous. (to me at least)
totall agree, looks absolutely hideous. And worse, its protruding doh.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 27 2012, 06:35 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Feb 27 2012, 06:28 PM)
Not sure if anyone notices this, but on RedPill, sometimes it doesn't go to deep sleep >.<
It doesnt? Standby time on RP seems to be OK
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 27 2012, 08:25 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 27 2012, 08:11 PM)
Hmm will try and see. But i do know i have bad wakelocks with siyah 2.6.8 and above. So far RP is sleeping well. Could it be app related? After sometime, maybe some app/service got stuck running in the background.

On a side note, RP gave me 3 hrs screen on time using only 50% batt. Should be able to do 5 - 6 hrs screen on time with full batt.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Same here, but i usually only get 2 and a half hrs. With real world usage usually around 3 hrs plus, which is very impressive
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 08:19 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(lord_aminkin @ Feb 27 2012, 11:28 PM)
Before this already tried a few times using CWM but it always stuck around 15~20%. I watch youtube tutorial it said to be done around 10~15 minutes only. But mine stuck around 15~20% for half an hour.
Maybe the zip file is corrupted, try redownloading it. Also, in recovery page, does the top say CWM Recovery?
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 09:47 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Feb 28 2012, 09:42 AM)
just wanna say thanks to the guys here in LYN and this thread.

i have succesfully rooted my phone, and the phone performs so much better. battery life is good, and for some reason, the screen, when i move left and right, it switches so much nice or smoother.

overall, im just glad i followed this thread. smile.gif i now know rooting is a MUST. hehe .next maybe ill try superROM V2. looks nice.
U rooted with superatmos right? The dev optimised the kernel for smoothness and battery, so technically rooting didnt make it smooth, it was the custom kernel that made it smooth smile.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 09:55 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Feb 28 2012, 09:54 AM)
yea line and viber i use most
but both sucking batter to the max
only line is the worst and viber so so only
i would say whatsapp is the best but it seems that we need to pay yearly for the service
Whatsapp need to pay? shocking.gif i downloaded it for free from market hmm.gif

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Feb 28 2012, 09:56 AM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 10:02 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Feb 28 2012, 10:01 AM)
yea free to dl from market but if you check on your account status it show as trial account and will due to expiry at specific date
really?
since this is my first android phone never use on whatsapp before let's see mine will be extended or when near expiry
hope to get extend since this is one of my favourite apps
Mine expiration date in 2021 sweat.gif so no worries
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 10:21 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Feb 28 2012, 10:15 AM)
owhhh...yeah i used superatmos 2.1.

thanks for the calrification bro laptopdude. still getting used to the terms.

you guys strongly suggest i get the superROM 2.0?(this is known as a custom kernel right?)

will the phone perform much better than it currently is? thunderbolt scripts?  shocking.gif no idea what this is but sounds cool
superROM is a custom ROM not kernel. Thunderbolt scripts are scripts made by our very own pikachu01 that will give the phone performance + battery boosts. If ur daring, u can go ahead and try superrom and thunderbolt. Instructions are on their xda pages

Added on February 28, 2012, 10:23 am
QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 28 2012, 10:03 AM)
So far true for me smile.gif

But if really need to pay, I would. I use it alot, find the subscription worthwhile actually
QUOTE(sil3ntHunt3r @ Feb 28 2012, 10:18 AM)
Yeah. Worth it and it just around RM3/year if really need to pay. So far my trial has been extended twice. biggrin.gif
Definitely agree, save me so much money by using whatsapp thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Feb 28 2012, 10:23 AM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 10:47 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Feb 28 2012, 10:45 AM)
doh.gif the the superROM should have been a clear give away that it was a ROM.

ill google up and do more research on kernels and scripts.

is superROM also those one of the MUST have on an S2.?

do you guys get random shutdowns on your S2? its happened twice when i was unrooted and stock rom. once today after rooting.
Stock ROM is already pretty good, so if u want to try out superrom u can always try it out. Nope, i never get any shutdowns.
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 11:03 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Feb 28 2012, 10:56 AM)
omg howwww shocking.gif
I dont know, what about u guys?

Added on February 28, 2012, 11:04 am
QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Feb 28 2012, 11:02 AM)
thanks for explanation bro..that pretty much clears it up for me  icon_rolleyes.gif

well i might just go with supeROM la..cause i saw the screenshots.looks yummy. hehe gives the phone some life.

but im a affraid of the custom scirpt, after laptopdude saying " IF YOU DARE" hehe

the randowm switch off issue, seems like many ppl having this prob too, normally when its in their the pockets, it might be the battery connection. im going to inspect the phone tonight when i meet my GF.
Not necessarily its dangerous, but if u dare means if u dare cross over to the dark side brows.gif well you gotta determine whether its software or hardware problem. Maybe consider doing a factory reset and see if still have this problem or not

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Feb 28 2012, 11:08 AM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 11:32 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 28 2012, 11:31 AM)
Mine 22 Sept 2012. They just renewed it. Your account from iphone is it cos i think they got lifetime free.
Yea that makes sense my ex phone was an iphone after all biggrin.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 11:33 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Feb 28 2012, 11:32 AM)
thanks bro for the re-assurance.

what are the gains for the thunderbolts script
Well, you get extra performance boost and battery optimizations
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 11:55 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Wira_lover @ Feb 28 2012, 11:50 AM)
thanks alot bro for putting me in the right direction.

I9100. G or non G doesnt matter right
If u flash non g rom on g version and vice versa, your phone will semi brick
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 11:59 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Feb 28 2012, 11:57 AM)
script oni la bro. i dun think will brick the phone but probably wont work perfectly la.
Well, i did say if flash non g rom to g tongue.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 06:30 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 28 2012, 05:57 PM)
Haha why silly tech, I'm pretty impressed by it. Would have considered if it were WP instead of Symbian tongue.gif

And in regards of quad, as I've mentioned before, not too fixated on it personally. Would be more interested in seeing 28nm duals rather than 45nm quads. Abit skeptical on real gains for quad as well unsure.gif
Same, im not interested in quads, i prefer the A15 dual core. Seems like the new transformer prime will use snapdragon s4 based on A15 drool.gif quad core gonna suck juice like no tomorrow, htc one x got 4.7 inch screen and quad core, yet only 1800mah batt doh.gif plus non removable somemore
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 07:06 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Feb 28 2012, 06:35 PM)
we still got something know as yoobao power bank brows.gif

but yeah i'm not into quad core too, will sure be sucking battery juice
Im not really a fan of carrying around a extra battery pack/battery to be honest tongue.gif i prefer the phone itself to have a good battery life
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 08:28 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(Laier @ Feb 28 2012, 08:16 PM)
Hey guys,I'm kinda concern about the arrival of ICS for S2 G variants. There hasn't been even a single leak for it. Afraid that it might not come for us G user.  sweat.gif
Dont worry, it will come out for g version. Just that non g version more users so got more leaked.

Added on February 28, 2012, 8:41 pm
QUOTE(freddy manson @ Feb 28 2012, 07:41 PM)
again? the waiting game?

hahaha  brows.gif then i wait for Samsung Galaxy Note 4 lah..  icon_rolleyes.gif

about the custom ROM, there's more than UI, its the speed, the customization~ etc etc etc
It really mystifies me how normal geeks can do a better job at performance and battery optimizations than a huge company with hundreds of people working for them doh.gif

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Feb 28 2012, 08:41 PM
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 08:46 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(ice666 @ Feb 28 2012, 08:45 PM)
help~ tolong~

was riding my bike and suddenly rain heavily, precious SGSII was in my pocket. later at home cannot switch on, let it dry for few days then can switch back on, but my screen goes blank. quickly do my backup to my PC.

now a week has passed,the screen still blank.

will warranty cover this? if not,what is the RM damaged would be?

thanx..
If the water sensor in the phone indicate water damage, then warranty wont cover it.
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 28 2012, 09:37 PM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 28 2012, 09:22 PM)
Quickpic just got an update thumbup.gif
Old news bro tongue.gif really like the new ICS look, so much better than default gallery app, its now my main gallery app biggrin.gif
TheLaptopDudeGuy
post Feb 29 2012, 08:16 AM

2,583 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 29 2012, 07:57 AM)
Thanks for all the great wishes guys smile.gif doctors are going to tell me the result in an hour time.
Wish you a speedy recovery smile.gif

Added on February 29, 2012, 8:17 am
QUOTE(lord_aminkin @ Feb 28 2012, 11:55 PM)
thanks man! now, searching for stock rom. Before this I'm using DJKJ2. Is it possible if I use latest firmware instead?

Added on February 29, 2012, 12:01 amArghh, couldn't find stock rom anywhere on Google. Almost all link on multiupload and my browser can't open it. Too long to respond. Anyone got stock rom .tar? Mind sharing it at mediafire or something?
Why dont u just go into CWM and flash? No need to use ROM Manager

This post has been edited by TheLaptopDudeGuy: Feb 29 2012, 08:17 AM

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0564sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:47 AM