11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V28, A smart phone, a smart user.

ellimist
post Mar 4 2012, 08:03 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 4 2012, 08:01 PM)
-e means if the file exists. I added that so that the script won't generate errors if the file is missing (as in the case the user chooses some other governors.).
Ah was just about to edit and guess that it means exist laugh.gif

Yeah, so I could add the line below that right, if I want 200mhz for ondemand, since the file would exist.

Or if I add it right at the end of the file without the "if" function, it'll run for all governors, something lidat? tongue.gif

Edit : Oh wait, code was to push into ondemand/suspend_freq, so won't happen for other governors. So should stick back to the if method to avoid script generating errors

Added on March 4, 2012, 8:06 pmOut of curiosity, why are some parts of the script indented inwards, as in necessary or just to make things neater/ easier to amend

K I should stop asking, not exactly a scripting for dummies thread here tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 4 2012, 08:06 PM
ellimist
post Mar 4 2012, 09:37 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 4 2012, 09:20 PM)
If you just stick it without the if, it will run for ondemand governor, however it will error out (skipped) for other governors.

The indent is something I need to fix (some are inconsistent).
Ah ok, cools.

Should learn basic scripting one of these days, seems so nice to be able to freely tweak stuff when you want to smile.gif
ellimist
post Mar 4 2012, 11:08 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(bananalow @ Mar 4 2012, 11:05 PM)
hi , today i just bought a poweramp full licence which only USD1.99(promotion)~~

just wonder why the buying process so easy? it doesnt need any TAC or whatever security~~ what if other ppl access ur phone and use the card to buy all the things?i just wondering how to improve this situation ~~
Lock your phone with pin/pattern password.

Alternatively (very leceh way), remove your card from market after purchase. Add back when you intend to make next purchase. Leceh, but if you don't purchase too often, it's the safest way.
(Say you buy movie tickets from the website, generally you have to enter your card details whenever u wanna purchase, can think of this as the same thing)
ellimist
post Mar 4 2012, 11:21 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(aiman39 @ Mar 4 2012, 11:19 PM)
Other than set a pin/pattern to the phone, just set a pin for any purchase made. Settings inside market got.  nod.gif
Wow honestly that I didn't know. Should definitely do that. Thanks for the tip smile.gif
ellimist
post Mar 4 2012, 11:36 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Out of curiosity, anyone using interactive as default governor? tongue.gif

And Siyah ppl : Latest build is apparently #84 (I'm on #66, which was the one after the first release). And he only put tar files there laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 4 2012, 11:52 PM
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 12:09 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Mar 4 2012, 11:56 PM)
Mine is #56. Where did you get the latest version from? XDA or his website?
XDA, his site also links to XDA oredi.

Think yours is the initial one, while I downloaded the next day when antt00 informed got minor change.

But doubt it's anything significant, though brief reading I think he did mention something about lulz and smartass. Apparently ppl said it spent too much time in upper frequencies
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 01:28 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Wanted to ask previously:

Anyone using social hub to sync FB SNS pics? The contacts I sync have emails jumbled up x.x So when I go to gmail, shows wrong pictures for contacts sometimes sweat.gif
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 08:25 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 5 2012, 07:43 AM)
Latest siyah 2.6.13 is #96 and xan's app is out, ExTweaks

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.d...ZWFrcy5hcHAiXQ..

Edit and the app got settings to change ondemand suspend freq. So much for all those script discussion yesterday.

Added on March 5, 2012, 7:49 am
hah never notice that before. thanx for the tip.  smile.gif
Ah finally. Thanks for informing biggrin.gif

But it's nice to learn bout scripts, at least I did get a vague idea about scripts yesterday, thanks so much for helping me with it smile.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 5 2012, 08:40 AM
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 09:04 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 5 2012, 08:55 AM)
You must be on ondemand freq i think. Then go to misc tab its there.
Hmm setting governor and scheduler part says it'll be overridden by int.d scripts for eg. Assuming same for the rest of the settings.

Like hotplug and smooth scalling parameters seem different in bolt_siyah. Looked into the directory, seems to keep init.d one so concept should be correct. Guess have to amend/remove the script part if wanna use the interface for things which you already have a script for

Hmm I can just move bolt_siyah out of init.d to some other location if I wanna test the other settings via interface right. Then shove it back into init.d and reboot if I want those settings back

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 5 2012, 09:12 AM
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 09:25 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 5 2012, 09:16 AM)
The kernel setting will run first. If you got other scripts in init.d such as bolt_siyah, it will overwrite the kernel settings. So yes, remove bolt_siyah from init.d. Also GPU/governor/scheduler settings will be overwrite by apps such as voltage control. Remove voltage control settings at boot if you dun need UV or make voltage control settings the same.

Actually, you do not need bolt_siyah script anymore, all of the script setting can be done from the app. You just need to take note of the numbers and plug it into the app if you want to use pika's settings.
Yeah think easier to manage in a centralise location. Gonna move bolt_siyah but leave system_tweak, those seem different. out and You on pika's default settings for hotplug/smooth scalling or GM's one? tongue.gif

Hmm I get the feeling GPU control is not overriden by voltage control. Actually, when I change the voltage of GPU in voltage control for eg, the settings don't stay after I open ext tweaks and go back to voltage control. Seems to revert to what I've meddle with in tweaks. Will meddle n reboot again and check what's in the directories

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 5 2012, 09:29 AM
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 09:33 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 5 2012, 09:27 AM)
Neither. I play round and use my own settings. But its almost similar. Yes only move bolt_siyah. You can leave the other scripts.
Cool, mind sharing what works for you for hotplug and smooth scalling? tongue.gif

Hmm smooth scalling for tb has "0" as values, isn't that 1600mhz. Doesn't that mean smooth offset and steps are 0, so CPU will still scale like normal (without going to x frequency before y frequency). unsure.gif

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Mar 5 2012, 09:27 AM)
Wah, some of you guys are real sifus...talking of scripts, voltage, frequency, tweak here tweak there...haha..I'm lost already...

I can only flash ROMs, Kernels and Modems.....

cry.gif
It's quite fun, makes stuff more tweakable tongue.gif Go play around with it yourself xD
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 09:54 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 5 2012, 09:46 AM)
So confusing considering this is my first android phone  rclxub.gif

Added on March 5, 2012, 9:47 am
Same here, happens occasionally, usually a reboot solves the problem. It's pretty annoying though, i wonder if its just us only
But it's the fun part bout android, get to tweak as you like biggrin.gif

But yeah, learning curve is steep

Edit : Nvm read wrong, it's pc info not android info rclxub.gif

K roughly tested. Till xan releases an update for whichever app:
1. On boot, if you've tweaked GPU via VC, that'll prevail since it runs later
2. Simply opening ext tweak will revert GPU control to the ext app settings, and now if you open VC, you'll get ext settings minus one 3rd step which you can't see.

A little skeptical if 3rd step works if you have VC, assuming it does rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 5 2012, 10:35 AM
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 10:37 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:30 AM)
Posting here just in case tongue.gif

News
Updated ThunderBolt! to v2.6.0 with major changes to the RAM as well as governor settings as well as moved everything to /system partition. This means /sdcard/bolt_scripts is now in /system/etc/bolt_scripts. Removed kernel panic related settings (use kernel defaults instead).Also updated LMK to only use the /system partition. Moved zipalign script to bolt_scripts as first boot will slow down if a lot of APKs are not zipaligned. Zipalign manually or move it to init.d if you want to.

Updated ThunderBolt! to v2.6.1 with fixes to the main CWM updater script as well as moved S98bolt_siyah to bolt_scripts. Move it to init.d if you want to use ThunderBolt!'s hotplug/cpuidle/brightness settings for SGSII kernels.

Changelog:
3/5/2012 (2.6.1)
- Fixed updater script for main CWM. Just removing obsolete lines (no feature impact)
- Moved S98bolt_siyah to /etc/bolt_scripts as Siyah currently has a tweak app called ExtTweak by xan In order for it not to be override it. you can move this file to the init.d or run it with Script Manager if you want ThunderBolt!'s settings to override it.
3/4/2012 (2.6.0, screenstate_scaling 1.6.0, LMK 1.0.6, Restore 1.1.0)
- Less aggressive RAM tuned at screen on. Same aggressiveness when screen is off.
- More battery centric governors at sleep (with 99 up_threshold on most of the governors at screen off).
- Ondemand is at 95 up_threshold if io_is_busy is set.
- Removed kernel panic settings. Leave it at kernel defaults (whatever that is)
- Updated LMK to not use /data/local.prop. Instead it uses /system/default.prop
- Updated main CWM to not use /sdcard. bolt_scripts is now located at /system/etc/bolt_scripts. Be sure to point your Script Manager settings there now.
- Moved the zipalign script to bolt_scripts to ensure first time boot is faster. First time boot for some people might be slow as they might have a lot of unzipaligned APKs. You can move the script to init.d and give it rwx-rwx-rwx permissions if you want to.
Woot didn't notice, time to update biggrin.gif

Edit : Nvm think I figured it biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 5 2012, 10:50 AM
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 11:06 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:54 AM)
There are updates for the addons too wink.gif
Oh didn't notice. Thanks!

Btw for zipalign, I can run as root and boot right? Instead of moving to init.d
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 11:17 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 5 2012, 11:14 AM)
Yup. You can do that too smile.gif
Ok cools smile.gif

As usual, many thanks for having the patience to answer my many questions biggrin.gif

And of course, thanks for the scripts!
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 02:15 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Haha didn't notice that. Naturally navigated to bolt scripts tongue.gif

@pika : since I came off TB before new siyah, and you've moved stuff, I should delete the zipalign in init.d right, since now I use the one in bolt_scripts. Don't think there's anything else I need to delete apart from that

And on another note, you planning to hop over to ICS like GM? (hoping for other tweaks by you in ICS tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 5 2012, 02:23 PM
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 02:27 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Mar 5 2012, 12:48 PM)
Just set the gpu in VC to be the same as first and second step of extweaks app.  VC only support the first 2 step.  If those 2 step is the same as extweaks then there is no conflict.  U can do that way until he fix VC.

Edit: VC just got an update.  Now gpu is hidden if extweaks is installed.
Yup wasn't sure, but meddled with settings and did benchmark, and figured VC will show first 2 steps with ext will allow the 3rd.

Ah nice, that will reduce confusion, thanks for the tip. Time to go update
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 02:33 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Mar 5 2012, 02:30 PM)
But this is what I got after reflash Thunderbolts

icon_question.gif
Hmm just checked and I got the same error on the first command. This one need pika to help us, no idea myself rclxub.gif

For second command, I get HOME_APP_ADJ as 3

Added on March 5, 2012, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(ellimist @ Mar 5 2012, 01:28 AM)
Wanted to ask previously:

Anyone using social hub to sync FB SNS pics? The contacts I sync have emails jumbled up x.x So when I go to gmail, shows wrong pictures for contacts sometimes sweat.gif
And help with this if anyone has the same situation. Like contact A has email of contact C, etc etc rclxub.gif

So it's fine in general, but kinda affects my gmail usage. Affects SMS usage too (i type contact A and I see numbers of both contact A and C as option) if they entered mobile into FB.

This post has been edited by ellimist: Mar 5 2012, 02:40 PM
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 02:43 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Mar 5 2012, 02:41 PM)
Suppose will get this, like last time..

dirty_ratio = 90
dirty_background_ratio = 75
vfs_cache_pressure = 1
[ro.FOREGROUND_APP_ADJ]: [0]
[ro.VISIBLE_APP_ADJ]: [1]
[ro.PERCEPTIBLE_APP_ADJ]: [2]
[ro.HEAVY_WEIGHT_APP_ADJ]: [4]
[ro.SECONDARY_SERVER_ADJ]: [5]
[ro.BACKUP_APP_ADJ]: [6]
[ro.HOME_APP_ADJ]: [3]
[ro.HIDDEN_APP_MIN_ADJ]: [7]
[ro.EMPTY_APP_ADJ]: [15]
First one I'm missing vfs

Second one I'm getting those values.
ellimist
post Mar 5 2012, 03:01 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Mar 5 2012, 02:54 PM)
The vfs,dirty_* has been changed. I updated it in the first post. The _ADJ is stock it seems. You didn't flash the LMK?
The error is kernel dependent. It's ok.
The 90/75/1 is when screen is off. Screen on is 80/40/10.
Same explanation above.
Ok thanks smile.gif

I still have s70 darky_zipaling in my init.d, should I delete that since it's running from etc/bolt_scripts now?

Not sure if that comes with siyah or checkrom or somewhere else

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:40 PM