5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V8, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!

TSCynox
post Feb 24 2012, 08:51 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

new ICS Rocket ROM 1.5 is out!! most issues iron out. Hand itchy thinking to flash. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: Feb 24 2012, 08:51 PM
TSCynox
post Feb 24 2012, 10:01 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(SyarkStorm @ Feb 24 2012, 09:26 PM)
Flashed MIDNOTE 2.0 ICS LP1, it seems that i cant restore with titanium backup. Exm, if i tried to restore contact data alone, phone will vibrate too many times and Force Close which result to reflashing again.

If i tried to run batch restore, nothing happen... its been 3rd time i have reflashed the phone and it seems that either my backup file is corrupted or the titanium backup is corrupted(btw, installed via sd card)

ima look into this problem again and hopefully it will resolve. @.@
i think your Titanium backup corrupted. I encountered this too when i change from Rocket ROM 2.3.6 to Chinese ICS leaked ROM. Luckily i have done a Nandroid backup of the GB. sweat.gif

@Benny: Any faster way to flash direct to 1.5? I am back to Rocket ROM V21. Saw the ICS Rocket ROM thread mention need to flash to 1.4 then only flash again to 1.5. I need to download both, will take whole night with my sucky streamyx line. rclxub.gif
TSCynox
post Feb 24 2012, 10:31 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 24 2012, 10:14 PM)
The instruction is very clear - you need to flash ontop of 1.4. But I think you can safely try flashing it ontop of the Chinese leak.  Some users has reported flashing successfully ontop of Midenote 2 too
Surprisingly today I just took 45 mins to download the 1,.5. Ver 1.4 I downloaded 2 days ago but I never try it
so mobile odin the repack chainfire chinese ics rom and flash the 1.5. hmm.gif maybe i should just wait for your feedback few days later see how. tongue.gif
TSCynox
post Feb 25 2012, 12:12 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(balok23 @ Feb 25 2012, 12:02 AM)
seems my phone had an issue now..can some pin point me the correct way to

flash back my note?
need to let us know what is the issue and what mods you have done so far - how you root, what rom you are on now, etc. smile.gif
TSCynox
post Feb 25 2012, 10:54 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 25 2012, 10:32 AM)
I never tried the 3rd party dialer as default dialer is working ok. I don't see how a 3rd party dialer will affect the display name as the call coming in will be shown on default dialer screen. You use 3rd party dialer only to call ; I could be wrong.

Yes it is recommended to flash the rocket rom ontop of the Chinese leak first. After you have successfully boot it, than only flash the rocket 1.4 with full wipe ( cache, dalvik, data )  . Important before you flash 1.4 make sure you change your kernel to at least abyss ver 3.9. After successful reboot , than only flash ver 1.5 with just wipe caches will do

These are the steps :
1. Flash chinese ROM using MobileOdin (tar file)
2. Wait for successful bootup of Chinese rom.
3. Off phone, boot into recovery mode
4. Flash abyss kernel 3.9 or 4.0 and above
5. Do not reboot after flash
6. Proceed to flash 1.4 rocket - don't reboot
6. Now proceed to wipe cache, dalvik and wipe data
7. Now select restart
8. Setup your google account
9. Switch off, reboot to recovery
10. Clear all cache no need clear data
11. Flash rocket v 1.5

Flashing the abyss kernel mainly to ensure you have full root enabled and also to ensure modem is successfully flash in ver 1.4

If you read the XDA thread , many users has problem falshing as they do not even read the instrucctions at the first post. Modem stuck half way during flash, flash directly without going thro the chinese rom, root lost completely or root only partially . i see the same questions being asked and repeated several times a day
The important thing is dont take shortcut
This is the exact guide i am looking for. Pin to first post!!!!!!! Million thanks. notworthy.gif

btw, i din know can still flashed abyssNote for ICS rom. So can flash the latest AbyssNote 4.1 to pair with the 1.5? or not relevant at all?
TSCynox
post Feb 25 2012, 11:11 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 25 2012, 10:58 AM)
Abyss kernel just to flash the rocket rom. After ICS is installed , it cannot be used for ICS rom. So far no other 3rd part kernels available for ICS based rom

Another important point : once you flash to ICS, you might have problems restoring back to your GB rom. So use the abyss kernel Hyperdroid Recovery to backup rom and use it to recover back. A bit leceh - learn from experience testing it. If you have install abyss kernel and try to reboot into ICS rom, it will be stuck with funny noises in background. Just take off battery and reflash back the chainfire kernel than
oic. yes, i kena that issue when i did a nandroid restore back to Rocket GB rom v21 from the repack CF ICS rom. I think it is becoz the recovery is slightly different between the GB rom (red colour font) and ICS rom (blue colour font). I got a restore fail message for restoring system but the boot image did get restored. Then i pandai pandai go unplug the battery. Upon boot up, stuck at AbyssNote boot up screen. Pull battery and try to get back into recovery the second time and luckily it boot into GB recovery (red colour font). Tried do Nandroid restore again and this time all went smoothly and boot up swee swee back to Rocket V21.
TSCynox
post Feb 26 2012, 10:01 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Feb 26 2012, 09:36 PM)
anyone will buy note 10.1 ???

http://t.co/PB10WDYn
Nice. Will consider it against the current Tab 7.7 and Transformer Prime II (TF700T).
TSCynox
post Feb 27 2012, 01:49 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

get to see the Nexus Prime in person yesterday during a friend gathering. I put it beside my Note then only know Note really dwarf the Nexus. Din feel my Note is so huge if not compared side by side. laugh.gif

@benny: since you have played with all the latest android gadget recently, will you recommend Tab 7.7 as the tablet to get? I like it's form factor but really need to hold one in hand and feel it before can make my final decision. Still undecided to get it or go all the way to 10.1". hmm.gif
TSCynox
post Feb 28 2012, 03:19 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(mikeis18 @ Feb 28 2012, 02:45 PM)
Just thought I'd post a pic I drew on my Note... smile.gif Not easy drawing in color, really.

Just rooted my Note yesterday (no longer virgin LoL)... installed chinese leaked ICS repacked by Chainfire, really like the smoothness, gonna download MidNote ICS now to test it out smile.gif

[attachmentid=2709379]  [attachmentid=2709449]
definitely gotta PIN IT UP!! thumbup.gif
TSCynox
post Mar 5 2012, 12:31 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 5 2012, 12:23 PM)
I am always amazed at guys like you who does not even bother to understand the basics and embarked on rooting and flashing - respect !
Maybe he is just a 12-year old kid - flash first, talk later!! laugh.gif
TSCynox
post Mar 6 2012, 10:29 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Mar 6 2012, 10:26 AM)
latest rumor, we r not getting ics..haha...i dunno whether is it true or not..

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsung-loo...oid-4.0_id27693
i doubt so since there is already a leaked ROM.
TSCynox
post Mar 7 2012, 12:49 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(darknessz @ Mar 7 2012, 12:46 PM)
bought Swiftkey X from Google Play deal today for rm 1.50 after conversion, a pretty good deal i would say!
yes, another round of shopping spree after the $0.99 promo. thumbup.gif Just bought Shadowgun - saw it in so many android tablet/phone review, must get it to test play in my Note. biggrin.gif
TSCynox
post Mar 8 2012, 09:20 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

just got a new toy. Dun ask me how it sounds like coz i not yet open it. sweat.gif But heard some online review saying it is bassy. biggrin.gif

TSCynox
post Mar 8 2012, 11:01 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Mar 8 2012, 10:53 PM)
earphones ? what price & where buy ? some review a.k.a poison...please  wub.gif  cool.gif
Pro review >> here <<. Got it around RM188 from Singapore. The main reason i bought is becoz of it is build for android. Can download the Jay control app free from Market and control your music player with the single button on the headset - play, pause, skip to next track, go backward to previous track, etc and of course answer and reject incoming calls. It has mic, so it is actually a wired headset with mic. thumbup.gif

briefly tested the set - it is bassy and clear. and the control button works perfectly with PowerAmp. rclxms.gif
TSCynox
post Mar 9 2012, 01:04 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 9 2012, 11:04 AM)
There are few minor bugs in Rocket rom. I have finally decided to settle to midnote v2.0 ICS rom. The bugs if any are too minor and just negligible. I'd say it is a 99 .9 % rom , already very close to be as stable as my last GB LB1 rom
My latest update of Gapps.zip dated4 March has eliminate my caller id display problem
I have zero issues using it now daily as everything I need works perfectly. No comments on gaming as I do not play games
wow... finally they iron that caller id display problem. Time to download and flash mine. biggrin.gif
TSCynox
post Mar 9 2012, 07:12 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

long time din see photo in this thread. Finally got a nice permanent case for my beloved Note.

TSCynox
post Mar 9 2012, 07:20 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(doublezul @ Mar 9 2012, 07:17 PM)
how much is the casing ?

looks tempting
RM190+RM6 postage. Got it from kirra0820. Not cheap but top notch quality. My original flipcase start to peel off, so time to get a nice replacement. biggrin.gif
TSCynox
post Mar 9 2012, 07:33 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(SyarkStorm @ Mar 9 2012, 07:27 PM)
grr looks tempting! what other skin option? Black, or dark blue etc?
i think you are spot on. laugh.gif

TSCynox
post Mar 9 2012, 11:16 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Mar 9 2012, 11:14 PM)
welcome to the magnet leather case club laugh.gif
can't you see from the photos? it is not a magnet case. doh.gif i know magnet is not good for our beloved Note, that's why i purposely get this. sweat.gif
TSCynox
post Mar 9 2012, 11:20 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Mar 9 2012, 11:18 PM)
the front holder for the case button is magnetic if i'm not mistaken  hmm.gif
yes, you are mistaken. It is definitely not magnetic. biggrin.gif i think there is another similar leather case with similar design but come with a magnetic closure.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:50 AM