my renovation size..at the back..

TStomjason
post Mar 12 2012, 09:07 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Mar 10 2012, 01:26 AM)
Wow, big house. From the diagram it is bigger than 23x43 la. 4 rooms but can accommodate 6 cars!!!. You can have a lory + cars.

You know if you live in selangor you can get some free water I think 20 cu meter per house. when you have two houses in one you rugi 20 cu meter. Moreover the more you use the more expensive it is. That means you pay much more. And if you have two meter the pressure will not be constraint by one half in meter pipe. Two meter each with half inch means equal to one 3/4 inch pipe. Oh yes if you use PVC thick pipe the volume is smaller than it should be if you were to use other type of pipe like ABS or s/s or even coper and poly. This is especially so if it is half inch PVC class 7. So, considering the requirement of the thickness of the pipe wall to withstand pressure, ABS is better than PVC. So long as the pipe is not underground you cannot get acid like in the wall I think ABS is a better choice in these circumstances.
TQ steve8...the drawing i design for my front house is cater when i want to renovate my front house..there is no porch that can accommodate 6 cars yet..that my dream..hehehe...not start saving for my front house renovation....for my newly extension house at the back is attached to the existing front house...i did not apply new water meter. for my main pipe after meter using 1 1/4 inches pipe..then branches into two..the water volume and pressure is good..no drop of pressure.
TStomjason
post Mar 13 2012, 11:56 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Mar 13 2012, 11:38 AM)
I went to a hardware shop yesterday. The shopkeeper told me that it is better to use a very thin stanless steel pipe now availble, not the old usual thick one. It is cheaper than copper pipe and stronger and better in many ways compared to PVC, poly, ABS (in volume and strength, durability and easy fixing and to change screwing and unscrewing). The fittings/joint use copper compression fittings and outlet use stainless steel head. What you say?
ya...i agreed with you..i notice that stainless steel when syabas change my main pipe before meter last week..i notice that the stainless steel quite thin like what you said..for new reno house better use this stainless steel like what you said....maybe a bit costly compared to poly...but this SS is good whoever what to install pump..can stand pump pressure.

TStomjason
post Mar 14 2012, 02:22 PM

866 posts

yes..it depend on the impurity of the SS..some manufacture had 'campur' the ss with other thing, mau untung lebih...so it depend on the manufacture..but i believed if SIRIM approved, no problem.

TStomjason
post Mar 15 2012, 01:33 PM

866 posts

i dont mean that the SIRIM approved is not rust..but the quality at least better than without SIRIM..
TStomjason
post Mar 20 2012, 08:56 AM

866 posts

update on the pic my ABS that eat by anti termite acid as i mention before.

TStomjason
post Apr 2 2012, 02:02 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(soonyeap @ Mar 30 2012, 05:01 PM)
is this really eat into the pipe or its taken off the outer blue color ?
it really 'leak'..my water bill cost RM80 and the water flow to my neighbour house. all 5 locations where i put the anti termite.

TStomjason
post Apr 3 2012, 08:05 AM

866 posts

Added on April 3, 2012, 8:05 am
QUOTE(wdarke @ Apr 2 2012, 10:21 PM)
Just curious, what termiticide did you use? Were you supposed to dilute it first before pouring it into the ground?
yes, sure already dilute but still the ABS cannot stand.

This post has been edited by tomjason: Apr 3 2012, 08:06 AM
TStomjason
post Apr 24 2012, 12:01 PM

866 posts

if you want good water flow follow my design.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2271767

by the way..there is no such thing as termite eat poly pipe..i think that contractor just want fool you.

This post has been edited by tomjason: Apr 24 2012, 12:02 PM
TStomjason
post Apr 25 2012, 11:09 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(solame @ Apr 25 2012, 09:19 AM)
Thanks a lot. This is simple. I am yet to make up my mind if to install a pump.

Feasibility study:
double storey c/w 3baths. Will frequently use 1st floor's bath only. GF's toilet will be for visitor. So, will temporary install 1no water heater (with pump) for the house.
Price difference for water heater with and without pump is around RM 250.
To buy and install a Grundfos pump now RM 1.5k.
=>Not feasible to install pump.

But if i "gamble", combine tomjason and ozak's piping map, MAY BE i do not need to install a pump at all.
may be... still 15 16...
Most importantly is the selection of right size of your piping and not to share the outlet between toilet........if you are not clear or confident as ozak suggest check the pressure first.
TStomjason
post Apr 25 2012, 02:47 PM

866 posts

hi bro solame:

this is my calculation:

using formula :

Pressure = a + rho*gravity*height

a = atmosphere pressure (normally not count)

So after few calculation:

1 meter height of tank = 0.102 kg/cm^2 pressure.

3.3 meter (10 ft normal house height) = 0.3366/0.07 = 4.80 psi.

that your water pressure on upper floor or single storey house.

For pressure at ground floor (for double strorey house). Total height ~ 23 fts. So pressure at ground floor is (7.67 meter) = 0.7823/0.07 = 11 psi.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

My house is single storey height = 12 fts (4 meters). Pressure is 0.408/0.07 = 5.82 psi. Therefore with pressure 5.82 psi and combination of 1 inches and 3/4 inches of pipe, you can have good shower head without pump.

I do not know about height 10 fts = 4.80 psi can have good shower or not. but certainly the pipe size is important.
In my opinion should be no problem as the differences is 5.82 psi - 4.80 psi = 1.02 psi only.

This post has been edited by tomjason: Apr 25 2012, 04:55 PM
TStomjason
post Apr 26 2012, 10:07 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(solame @ Apr 26 2012, 09:56 AM)
good one bro rclxms.gif
just checked, beam-beam height is about 10 ft. 0.07 bar difference with yours. Should be bearable. Still, decision on my hand now sweat.gif 
if install pump 3 or 5 years later, that time piping connections may be "aged" and lagi cannot tahan pressure surges? depends on workmanship today, is it?
bro, not 0.07 psi difference but 1.02 psi dfifferences..

for your case....just use water heater with pump for upper storey and downstair...let say you want install pump later..then just install the pump...

for me....i not keen on pump as later after few years using....there could be water leaking due to high pressure of the pump...

This post has been edited by tomjason: Apr 26 2012, 10:16 AM

0.0160sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:17 AM