Jun 6 2012, 10:04 PM
106 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Is it possible to purchase games from origin without credit card? Its hell cheap now due to 50% anniversary discount ! I cant afford to miss the opportunity to buy awesome and cheap games..
Jun 6 2012, 10:56 PM
1,192 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(ClassifiedGamer07 @ Jun 6 2012, 10:04 PM) Is it possible to purchase games from origin without credit card? Its hell cheap now due to 50% anniversary discount ! I cant afford to miss the opportunity to buy awesome and cheap games.. unless u planning to buy some origin exclusive game... else wait for steam summer sales which is even better deal. |
Jun 6 2012, 11:09 PM
What do you mean by exclusive game? I am getting ME3 and BF3.. How can I buy them without using credit card? I am just a student btw..
This post has been edited by ClassifiedGamer07: Jun 6 2012, 11:10 PM |
Jun 7 2012, 09:23 AM
Jun 7 2012, 09:53 AM
2,255 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: meditating at Mt Emei |
Jun 7 2012, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(TiF @ Jun 7 2012, 09:23 AM) I did "live chat" with EA Origin support. She said, if you buy the games, they will send you the activation code to ur email first so that you are able to send the activation codes to someone else. The activation codes wont automatically tied to ur own account and able to use at other account. FYI, if you purchase any expansion of dlc's like Back to karkand, close quarter then it will automatically tied to ur own account except for compete games. Is that true? I going to ask someone to buy the game with his own Origin account and send the activation code to me.This post has been edited by ClassifiedGamer07: Jun 7 2012, 10:03 AM |
Jun 7 2012, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(ClassifiedGamer07 @ Jun 7 2012, 09:56 AM) I did "live chat" with EA Origin support. She said, if you buy the games, they will send you the activation code first so that you are able to send the activation codes to someone else. The activation codes wont automatically tied to ur own account and able to use at other account. FYI, if you purchase any expansion of dlc's like Back to karkand, close quarter then it will automatically tied to ur own account except for compete games. Is that true? I going to ask someone to buy the game with his own Origin account and send the activation code to me. hmm, i bought few game directly from Origin, and they were added to my Origin library straight away. so i seriously dunno wat she meant by 'they will send us the code'. maybe someone else experience this? |
Jun 7 2012, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(TiF @ Jun 7 2012, 10:04 AM) hmm, i bought few game directly from Origin, and they were added to my Origin library straight away. so i seriously dunno wat she meant by 'they will send us the code'. maybe someone else experience this? Yeah. I dun really trust her as well. I need someone to clarify this.Added on June 7, 2012, 10:23 amMy live chat's history. Help me understand and confirm this. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by ClassifiedGamer07: Jun 7 2012, 10:23 AM |
Jun 7 2012, 08:15 PM
2,209 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(ClassifiedGamer07 @ Jun 6 2012, 11:09 PM) What do you mean by exclusive game? I am getting ME3 and BF3.. How can I buy them without using credit card? I am just a student btw.. BF3 is not in the 50% list, read the fine word in the terms and condition in the main page. U kena troll by EA. http://store.origin.com/store/eara/en_SG/home |
Jun 7 2012, 08:53 PM
132 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jun 7 2012, 08:15 PM) BF3 is not in the 50% list, read the fine word in the terms and condition in the main page. U kena troll by EA. I believe you read it wrong..http://store.origin.com/store/eara/en_SG/home It said 'Battlefield 3 & Kingdoms of Amalur DLCs' The BF3 Shortcuts Bundle doesn't have any discount.. Weird though B2K got discount, so B2K not considered as DLC? This post has been edited by andy0212: Jun 7 2012, 08:54 PM |
Jun 7 2012, 10:38 PM
2,255 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: meditating at Mt Emei |
EA Senior VP criticizes Steam sales: “I just think it cheapens your intellectual property.”
![]() QUOTE Gamesindustry.biz had a chat with EA’s David DeMartini, Senior Vice President of Global Ecommerce. DeMartini talks about the state of and future of Origin, EA’s digital distribution service, which has apparently been downloaded 13 million times, and generated more than $150 million in revenue. Things get interesting with GI’s interviewer asks if Steam’s regular “deep discounting” is something EA plans to mirror, and DeMartini says no and explains why. DeMartini, when asked about replicating Steam’s strategy of giving deep digital discounts: “We won’t be doing that. Obviously they think it’s the right thing to do after a certain amount of time. I just think it cheapens your intellectual property. I know both sides of it, I understand it. If you want to sell a whole bunch of units, that is certainly a way to do that, to sell a whole bunch of stuff at a low price. The gamemakers work incredibly hard to make this intellectual property, and we’re not trying to be Target. We’re trying to be Nordstrom. When I say that, I mean good value – we’re trying to give you a fair price point, and occasionally there will be things that are on sale you could look for a discount, just don’t look for 75 percent off going-out-of-business sales.” DeMartini goes on to add: “Also what Steam does might be teaching the customer that “I might not want it in the first month, but if I look at it in four or five months, I’ll get one of those weekend sales and I’ll buy it at that time at 75 percent off.” It’s an approach, and I’m not going to say it’s not working for Valve. It certainly works for Valve; I don’t know if it works as well for the publishing partners who take on the majority of that haircut.” PCG TLDR version here |
Jun 8 2012, 04:28 AM
479 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(andy0212 @ Jun 7 2012, 08:53 PM) I believe you read it wrong.. I'm confused because BF3 is listed as 50% off. It said 'Battlefield 3 & Kingdoms of Amalur DLCs' The BF3 Shortcuts Bundle doesn't have any discount.. Weird though B2K got discount, so B2K not considered as DLC? Only the latest BF3 Premium got no discount since just released. |
Jun 8 2012, 08:02 AM
2,209 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
QUOTE(andy0212 @ Jun 7 2012, 08:53 PM) I believe you read it wrong.. its quite confusing really. Should have just said Battlefield 3 DLCs.It said 'Battlefield 3 & Kingdoms of Amalur DLCs' The BF3 Shortcuts Bundle doesn't have any discount.. Weird though B2K got discount, so B2K not considered as DLC? I have no idea why they wanna add all these into exception. Just claim a storewide discount + adjust those that already with offer back to original price so it only get 50% discount, not offer +50%. QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Jun 7 2012, 10:38 PM) EA Senior VP criticizes Steam sales: “I just think it cheapens your intellectual property.” It works for everyone of us even valve tho, selling 10 times more copies @ $9.99 is far better than selling 1 @ $59.99. ![]() PCG TLDR version here IMO, EA just want more money. This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jun 8 2012, 08:04 AM |
Jun 8 2012, 11:56 AM
451 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jun 8 2012, 08:02 AM) It works for everyone of us even valve tho, selling 10 times more copies @ $9.99 is far better than selling 1 @ $59.99. EA not really in the wrong here. Valve makes most money off steam, so just having more users pretty much means more $$$$$.IMO, EA just want more money. that's why Valve keep promoting steam by having more f2p games & even introduce their own--TF2 & Dota 2. that who hurts the most here are big companies who produce AAA games thanks to most steam users who ONLY buy game when there's a discount (which in steam, it's pretty much inevitable). hell...even Portal 2 selling numbers are pretty low before the discount. |
Jun 8 2012, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(ray148 @ Jun 8 2012, 11:56 AM) EA not really in the wrong here. Valve makes most money off steam, so just having more users pretty much means more $$$$$. kind of true, i put on hold my plan to buy some AAA games becoz i know i can get it cheaper on steam later...that's why Valve keep promoting steam by having more f2p games & even introduce their own--TF2 & Dota 2. that who hurts the most here are big companies who produce AAA games thanks to most steam users who ONLY buy game when there's a discount (which in steam, it's pretty much inevitable). hell...even Portal 2 selling numbers are pretty low before the discount. |
Jun 10 2012, 12:28 PM
292 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(ClassifiedGamer07 @ Jun 7 2012, 10:06 AM) Yeah. I dun really trust her as well. I need someone to clarify this. I've try bought a game from Origin, its a Sims 3 Expansion Pack for my little sister. What I get is, the key is e-mailed to the origin account e-mail, which mean, my sister got the e-mail. The e-mail will consist of Receipt and Activation Key. I'm not sure this key can be activated by other origin account.Added on June 7, 2012, 10:23 amMy live chat's history. Help me understand and confirm this. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jun 11 2012, 04:14 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
since they send key codes..
is there origingift.. ? like steamgift ? |
Jun 11 2012, 06:06 PM
1,813 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Lower Perak |
just purchase BF3 at SGD 32.xx . is 50% off now !! hurray