Origin Discussion Thread, EA Digital Distribution Platform

TiF
post Feb 20 2012, 05:57 PM

1,192 posts

Origin Store lack of big sales like steam, however, amazon has a lot of EA games on sales there that could be activated on origin - no complain.
however, the origin client lacks a clean backup/restore function like steam, that i no rike.
and yea, when starting origin, the pc will freeze for a sec there, but no login issue.
TiF
post Feb 21 2012, 02:02 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 20 2012, 06:03 PM)
^probably malware?

My pc never freeze when starting origin thou. wink.gif
it is not exactly freeze.. how shud i describe it....
try: after i click on the origin.exe, within that short time if i try to do sth else, like resizing a windows, etc, it is not responsive. but for a split second only. all other program don't have this problem. but for 1 sec, i can wait.

QUOTE(DrBlueBox @ Feb 20 2012, 07:13 PM)
go to settings and note the game install directory. you can just backup that folder whenever you want to reformat your pc and Origin will automatically detect the game is installed when you install origin in the same directory again. I also do this with steam but for steam i need to install the client, exit, copy back backup and run steam again. If i reinstall steam to the same folder with the backup already there it will delete it for some reason, something that origin won't do thankfully.

Also Origin has sales but mostly region specific. I got NFS Shift II for 5 euro 2 weeks ago
my dragon age: origins directory is inside C:\programdata\ (the path of my installer under the Settings) but my newer games are inside c:\program files\origin games.

and yup, i know i can just copy pasta, doing that now actually. and i have no problem the way origin handle new game (put them all inside a single folder), but for older game, they appear in other folder. and what if i forgot where the game folder shud go in the future when i wan to restore the game and play? for steam, each time i download a game, i know where it goes to, each time i use the backup function, i know where the backup files go to, etc. with origin, i cant be sure.

i am not debating or bashing origin, in fact i believe 1 was one of the first ppl to use it and try to promote it in steam thread ><

PS: there's an old game that i downloaded but din found the 'installer folder' in either location.. nid to think back what game is that...

Added on February 21, 2012, 2:03 pm
QUOTE(alex82 @ Feb 21 2012, 10:23 AM)
List of games can be activate on origin client

Alice 2: Madness Returns
    Battlefield 3
    Burnout Paradise
    Command & Conquer 4: Tiberium Twilight
    Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3
    Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3: Uprising
    EA Create
    Crysis 2
    Darkspore
    Dead Space
    Dead Space 2
    Dragon Age: Origins
    Dragon Age: Origins Awakening
    Dragon Age 2
    FIFA Manager 09
    FIFA Manager 10
    FIFA Manager 11
    FIFA Manager 12
    FIFA Soccer 09
    FIFA Soccer 10
    FIFA Soccer 11
    FIFA Soccer 12
    Gattling Gears
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
    Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
    Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning (Non-Steam)
    Mass Effect 2
    Mass Effect 3
    Medal of Honor
    Mirror's Edge
    MySims
    Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit
    Need For Speed: Shift
    Need For Speed: The Run
    Need For Speed: Undercover
    NHL 09
    Shank
    Shift 2 Unleashed
    SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition
    Syndicate
    The Lord Of The Rings: Conquest
    The Saboteur
    The Sims Medieval
    The Sims Medieval Pirates and Nobles

Legacy Games can be activate via this link https://activate.ea.com/gameactivation.do

Crysis
Crysis : Warhead
Battlefield 2: Complete Collection
Mass Effect
Mercenaries 2 : World in flames
Need for speed Carbon
Simcity Societies
The GodFather 2
Spore
Spore : Creppy and Cute parts pack
Spore : Galactic Adventures
The sims 3 + dlc activate link https://www.thesims3.com/myAccount.html > Register a game and those games activated will appear on your origin account
very useful info, TS nid to put this on opening post

This post has been edited by TiF: Feb 21 2012, 02:03 PM
TiF
post Feb 21 2012, 03:01 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Feb 21 2012, 02:16 PM)
Finding a full team on Mass Effect 3 multiplayer is a major pain.

If one guy drops out when you set up a game, you have to exit and start over sad.gif
i drop out countless time liao becoz suddenly 'cant connect to ea server'... jelesing u guys can play without connection problem every 10mins, even with my 4.8mbps pee one

Added on February 21, 2012, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(alex82 @ Feb 21 2012, 02:26 PM)
both title for me mass effect & crysis & crysis warhead,activated my copy few days ago

not sure why did't work for you  rclxub.gif

or it could be that your mass effect & crysis ultimate edition key is not from 2009 batch

here all the title i try activating using this link https://activate.ea.com/gameactivation.do and all works

[attachmentid=2696157]

try this two links, if both did't work for you then you need to contact ea customer support via email and ask them to manually add those games to your origin account

https://activate.ea.com/applyentitlement.do
https://activate.ea.com/activategame.do
sth to add after i re-read ur post: crysis, warhead, c&c3, ME1 doesn't work for me oso, same link. end up i contacted EA support and manage to activate them on origin. my steam's bulletstorm oso has been activated on origin with the help of EA customer support.

This post has been edited by TiF: Feb 21 2012, 03:06 PM
TiF
post Mar 5 2012, 11:11 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(Axalter @ Mar 1 2012, 08:58 PM)
DA and ME getting extended with cloud storage. This is good indeed.
finally cloud storage for dragon age and mass effect series, shud have this feature earlier mang since the saved game from previous game will/can be imported into sequel. I lost my precious saved game from dao, me1 due to external HDD failure, no fun mang.
TiF
post Mar 6 2012, 10:34 AM

1,192 posts

Benefits Of Origin

Live Streaming Demos and Free-To-Play Games - Did you know that you can play web games, including streaming demos of some of our latest titles, completely free on Origin? Whether you’re looking to demo Dead Space 2 or just want to kill some time playing online games like Plants vs. Zombies or Bejeweled, Origin’s got you covered.

Cloud Storage - Still in beta, our new Cloud Storage feature means you’ll pick up from exactly where you left off, no matter where you’re playing. Have to turn off your game right as you’re about to beat the boss level? Well don’t worry – now your game data will live in the Cloud. When you start up again, you’ll be right back at the same spot, ready to secure your victory.

Consolidate Your Library - Origin now offers you the ability to add virtually any EA game you’ve ever purchased digitally to your Origin library, regardless of where you originally bought the game. Just enter the product code and a new copy will be added to your Origin library.

Origin Goes Where You Go - Designed to go where you go, Origin lets you connect and play with friends on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Android smartphone. In addition to the world’s leading portfolio of mobile games, Origin also offers mobile gamers the ability to find and connect with friends so that you can play in real-time – no matter where you are.

sos

where to download Origin for android? icon_question.gif
TiF
post Mar 8 2012, 09:50 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(qhalidx @ Mar 7 2012, 06:44 PM)
maybe origin need that verify files like steam because i had to download 10GB of Mass Effect 2 for the second time.i don't mind re download if the error states so,but it just stop and data error install message popped up.i'm just using 1mb streamyx,bila mau habis..
no wonder origin is complained to be buggy..
dafuq? gonna backup my games tonite in case origin ask me to redownload..
TiF
post Mar 14 2012, 10:37 AM

1,192 posts

I tried download ME2 from Origin out of curiosity yesterday using my office 20mbps unifi.
And I do not encountered any problemo, install successfully, run successfully...

Gonna copy the game folder to my gaming laptop tonight~
TiF
post Mar 14 2012, 10:55 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Mar 14 2012, 10:45 AM)
DDE version?
no, normal only. the problem only happened for DDE?
TiF
post Mar 14 2012, 11:49 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Mar 14 2012, 11:22 AM)
not sure about that. the one from the news bought DDE. i also bought DDE, but not download yet, dun have streamyx/unifi tongue.gif
ooo.. nvm, can be a notice to others ME2 nonDDE buyer. their version an be dl
TiF
post Mar 21 2012, 05:48 PM

1,192 posts

copy and paste the file folder from:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games

this is what i did for my downloaded game, not sure if origin will detect u download incomplete or not
TiF
post Apr 25 2012, 09:35 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Apr 24 2012, 11:10 PM)
Maybe wrong thread im asking,

why did i always got kick out of the game (Saboteur)? And any solution to this?
kick out?

wat graphic card u using? if not mistaken, the game has problem running on AMD card.
TiF
post Apr 25 2012, 02:29 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Apr 25 2012, 02:13 PM)
when playing, suddenly the game quit by itself. using GT220  rclxub.gif
update gc driver?

i played with gt240, gt555m (laptop) but never encountered such problem. but this game failed to run on 5870CF (my gaming desktop)
TiF
post Apr 26 2012, 09:00 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Apr 25 2012, 02:35 PM)
oh didnt notice got new driver update currently using 295.73
i try with the latest driver 1st then report back  smile.gif

Added on April 25, 2012, 4:20 pmUpdate: I update the driver, and the game run smooth.. thanks TiF smile.gif
glad to hear that.
TiF
post Jun 6 2012, 10:56 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(ClassifiedGamer07 @ Jun 6 2012, 10:04 PM)
Is it possible to purchase games from origin without credit card? Its hell cheap now due to 50% anniversary discount ! I cant afford to miss the opportunity to buy awesome and cheap games..
unless u planning to buy some origin exclusive game... else wait for steam summer sales which is even better deal.
TiF
post Jun 7 2012, 09:23 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(ClassifiedGamer07 @ Jun 6 2012, 11:09 PM)
What do you mean by exclusive game? I am getting ME3 and BF3.. How can I buy them without using credit card? I am just a student btw..
apply for debit card?
TiF
post Jun 7 2012, 10:04 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(ClassifiedGamer07 @ Jun 7 2012, 09:56 AM)
I did "live chat" with EA Origin support. She said, if you buy the games, they will send you the activation code first so that you are able to send the activation codes to someone else. The activation codes wont automatically tied to ur own account and able to use at other account. FYI, if you purchase any expansion of dlc's like Back to karkand, close quarter then it will automatically tied to ur own account except for compete games. Is that true? I going to ask someone to buy the game with his own Origin account and send the activation code to me.
hmm, i bought few game directly from Origin, and they were added to my Origin library straight away. so i seriously dunno wat she meant by 'they will send us the code'. maybe someone else experience this?
TiF
post Jun 8 2012, 12:13 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jun 8 2012, 11:56 AM)
EA not really in the wrong here. Valve makes most money off steam, so just having more users pretty much means more $$$$$.
that's why Valve keep promoting steam by having more f2p games & even introduce their own--TF2 & Dota 2.

that who hurts the most here are big companies who produce AAA games thanks to most steam users who ONLY buy game when there's a discount (which in steam, it's pretty much inevitable).

hell...even Portal 2 selling numbers are pretty low before the discount.
kind of true, i put on hold my plan to buy some AAA games becoz i know i can get it cheaper on steam later...

0.0276sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:23 AM