16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Renovation Secret & Tips Revealed, Secret&Tips contractor wont tell you

TStomjason
post Dec 3 2013, 10:23 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(vjeyamahla @ Nov 27 2013, 12:37 PM)
Dear Tomjason,

I found your information very useful.I would be extremely happy if you could calculate how much it would cost to renovate my wet kitchen.It is double storey endlot. I intend to hack the back wall and extend the wet kitchen till the end. The yard need to level as it is 8 inches below the wet kitchen. I also need to move the back door to the back of the new wet kitchen and install another door at the side. The side wall need to be tiled until the ceiling. A contractor has quoted RM 30K to do these renovation.. What is your opinion?
Thanking you for your time.
Sorry late reply..busy..Pmed already.

TStomjason
post Dec 3 2013, 10:35 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(limlim78 @ Dec 2 2013, 10:21 AM)
Just want to ask piling beside terraced double storey. I want to extend my double storey terraced house (corner lot) Engineer proposed to piling ask foundation for column, i just want to know if we piling beside my house, will it affected other house? Anyone piling beside terrace house before? Thank you.
Hi bro,

it all depend on your soil....the best is to have piling for double storey..bakau piling is enough thou the concrete piling better but for double storey link house, i doubt you can have concrete piling cause it will effect your neighbour house...the size of you base footing varies, also depend on your soil and space......you can have 5x5, 4x5,4x4, 4x3 or the least is 3x3 (i not recommend this)..

gd luck

TStomjason
post Dec 3 2013, 10:28 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(limlim78 @ Dec 3 2013, 09:46 PM)
Engineer propose 600mm x 600mm. One column two piling point.
r u sure 600mm?...or typing mistake?...
TStomjason
post Dec 14 2013, 09:54 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(kato @ Dec 8 2013, 01:42 AM)
Hi tomjason, been going through ur post n i gotta say ure a great help esp with all the wetworks stuff. Wonder if u could help me estimate cost for my reno, its js a small bit at the side,hacking livingroom wall and adding a wet kitchen with tiling on floor only.ive attached a rough reno plan, with a bit of diy 3d layout of the proposed outcome, excluding all the furniture and kitchen cabinets ofcourse. Need ur advise and wisdom on this coz gile noob here.thanks for ur time bro rclxms.gif [attachmentid=3758605]
Hi bro,

PMed you the estimate reno price.

TStomjason
post Dec 14 2013, 09:57 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Dec 11 2013, 09:18 PM)
sorry for the lost, he is in a good place
TQ to you and all...Pmed you the pic of the K screw i used that you want.

TQ

[attachmentid=3768034]

This post has been edited by tomjason: Dec 14 2013, 10:03 AM

TStomjason
post Dec 15 2013, 04:43 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(JY. @ Dec 15 2013, 12:28 PM)
hi tomjason, im planning to extend my wet kitchen for my double storey teres, roughly measure 22' x 5' with concrete slab, can i know roughly how much it will cost me together with full height wall tiles?
ho bro,

Pmed you already..actually i m already not active in lowyat.but however whenever had request i will answer.

TQ
TStomjason
post Dec 18 2013, 01:02 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Dec 17 2013, 10:05 PM)
how bout concrete imprint, i read it on other forum and it look nice for car park, should be cheaper to build? since only concrete involve
hi bro,

from my experience and knowledge..not much different in term of installation price...i would rather use tile cause robustness and long life compare to concrete imprint...for me one issue is after long time...since concrete imprint not smooth surface will later cause mold...you need to regularly to water jet the floor...that my opinion...

bro, i hv PM you my preferred and cheapest and yet reliable indoor water filter/dispenser that i use...

to others, i hv stop giving formula but still give advised whoever need when i got free time to answer...

This post has been edited by tomjason: Dec 18 2013, 01:13 PM
TStomjason
post Jan 1 2014, 01:29 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Dec 31 2013, 07:05 PM)
happy new year, Bro Tomjasen
Happy new year to you too...

Since i hv already 'turunkan' my knowledge to you about 50% cause sifu cannot give 100%..haha....now can represent me to answer the forumer question...at least 50% correct...good enough... rclxms.gif cause i m busy and not active in lowyat anymore....

This post has been edited by tomjason: Jan 1 2014, 01:47 PM
TStomjason
post Jan 1 2014, 07:42 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Jan 1 2014, 04:43 PM)
rclxms.gif

haha, i enjoy learning as well, renovator profit margin is too big, from 50 to 80%, most of the chinese is succeedful business man, thats why for consumer as we ourself must upgrade .

tq shifu Tomjasen notworthy.gif

and many ppl online purchase from China website and after shipping cost still feeling cheaper and better quality than most of the furniture we found local, does that mean the local big tao ke is earning too much themself?

force the consumer to seek from out of malaysia

sweat.gif
hi bro,

contractor normally take 30-40% profit margin...

why need buy furniture from oversea..no need lah unless it is exotic furniture..malaysia is one of the biggest furniture producer..especially at my home town muar (one of the biggest manufacture of furniture).....

tip:

today i feel want to give one more tip about the piping size of the water aircond out let that many house owner do not know the important of this water piping aircond selection...inform me if need more detail..i will post in forum...

TStomjason
post Jan 4 2014, 11:35 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(MNM6776 @ Jan 1 2014, 08:59 PM)
yes bro tomjason ... pls pls do enlighten us on the piping size of the air cond water out let.
ok bro..
TStomjason
post Jan 4 2014, 11:57 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(MYJoker @ Jan 3 2014, 08:33 PM)
wa. shifu Tomjasen even know about exterior and interior ah.. geng... yes like to know about piping size too,

cause if not heavy user . i not going to choose inventor type air con too
ok bro to you and MNM6776,

i know a lot about reno from A to Z ...but not 100%...who can know 100% in this world...if read my story and in the thread you will know my experience and hardship previously...

ok back to the piping for aircond water outlet...normally for house split aircond the size of the piping is 1/2 inches standard...if you notice after long time the piping water out aircond will produce a bit 'sludge'..this will some time cause blockage and need to clear the blockage.....my advised is specifically for conceal aircond water outlet cause once conceal difficult to clear the blockage...not many people or contractor aware about this...

for my house all my airconds water outlet are conceal in wall (i don like water outlet aircond danggling hanging and along the wall, tak cantik) and for my case i will conceal the piping in wall and going to under ground before going to drainage main hole..quite long the water journey...haha....for this i don not use 1/2 inches pipe size..from aircond 1/2 inches i will convert to 3/4 inches...with this i will avoid in future the blockage..the bigger the better.....even in my master bedroom (due to distance to drainage main hole is quite far..i convert from 1/2 inches to 3/4 inches and to 2 inches pipe to main hole....

one more things normally aircond installer will use thin type piping (since water aircond outlet is has no pressure)...i myself avoid this cause thin type senang pecah and consider if you were to clear the bockage lagilah senang pecah...myself i use type D pipe for water syabas...

hope you all understand

=========================================================================================

tip: update 23/1/2014

As my post before the crappy ABS pipe...

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2238249&hl=

the ABS pipe will always crack or leak..you just wait and see...

below is my crack ABS pipe..need to hack tile...

below tip is to repair the leak pipe the correct way without to need to hack many tile..normally you need to hack many tile to repair the pipe using straight joint..to avoid hack many tile..use elbow and made the pipe upward or downward..hope u understand.

before repair:

After repair:

I dont want to use ABS to repair..instead i use PVC with special glue to joint PVC and ABS

This post has been edited by tomjason: Jan 22 2014, 08:02 AM
TStomjason
post Nov 13 2014, 10:32 AM

866 posts

hi all,

it has been long time since i stop forum in lowyat...i hv stop giving formula to all ..sorry for that.

i hv just finished my friend's abandon project and my small project fencing.

I m become online consultant to forumer for their house renovation, for those want to contact me can whatapp 0137440012. Dont worry about payment, the amount is it up to you.

TQ

This post has been edited by tomjason: Dec 9 2014, 08:09 PM
TStomjason
post May 4 2015, 03:30 PM

866 posts

Hi all,

It has been long time since i m not active anymore in lowyat...today just want to update my house small project..but yet to finish..

TStomjason
post May 5 2015, 12:25 PM

866 posts

for your information , i still offer my service (help others) giving online consultation. My consultation start from quotation till end. I also can give recommendation trusted contractor (if owner want) for the project. For online consultation owner can WhatApp me and send photo so that i can advised. This is to avoid owner being cheated or to avoid any problem in future. Remember, your reno is your investment.

Tips:

I hv seen a lot of reno, contractor making mistake is doing the slab...emm...what a waste...

======================================================================

update my new Impact driver..bought before GST... biggrin.gif

TStomjason
post May 5 2015, 01:18 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 5 2015, 01:08 PM)
Long no come here. Where you been?
ya bro......long time not been here.....i m just hibernate and doing my house small small project and helps others for their reno.. biggrin.gif
TStomjason
post May 5 2015, 05:15 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 5 2015, 01:24 PM)
That's is good. Keep it up. And do post some DIY project here.

That is not much DIY here. Mostly ppl rely on contractor.

GST already here. DIY can help some saving.
hi...

apart from my latest project sink above..till now project sink is the last at this moment.. biggrin.gif

since u requested...attached is my latest project for my right fence rejuvenate..the left fence completed....haha..actually i build cause for 2 reasons...

1. To avoid cat stray cat and neighbours cat (i cannot tahan every day throw the shit)
2. For safety cause my neighbour is working in dubai..his house empty. The fence was build by neighbour at first place..he said do not touch his fence at his area...

i feel tak berapa cantik but as long it serve the purpose and i can sleep at night..fine by me...

the completed fence later i will post...i hire indon to help me...

TStomjason
post May 6 2015, 12:53 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 6 2015, 09:18 AM)
That is really tall wall. I don't think you can avoid the cat with that high wall. It come thru the decoration hole and elsewhere. It already mark your garden.

Sometime such wall doesn't help prevent thief. And it given them more time to slowly break in. Cause the wall hide away from outside view.
hi bro,

attached below is my final product...now my house is cat proof house...i m using Y10 steel bar..i m not using hollow steel like kedai grill use that always rusted and need frequent paint. Cat cannot climb the steel bar. For the thief, the steel bar is not preventing the burglar but can slow down the attempted. I also seal the decoration wall. If i hv welding equipment i would put one horizontal bar all way to the back to strengthen the steel and structure. I hv eyeing for welding equipment but due to GST, i hv to postpone to buy the welding equipment.

Even i hv put the steel bar, few weeks ago, burglar tried to enter my house and bend the steel bar, luckly they did not break into my house as i woke up cause heard noise. So for me, luckly i hv the steel bar, to slow them down.

Now i put extra measure, I hv put also CCTV at beside my house wall.

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 6 2015, 01:03 PM
TStomjason
post May 6 2015, 05:56 PM

866 posts

Giving my formulas to forumer that want to use my service and also my advised on reno. TQ for helping me to help you.

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 6 2015, 06:07 PM
TStomjason
post May 7 2015, 12:49 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ahpoo @ May 6 2015, 07:31 PM)
Hi Tom, can u give me the formulas pls...planning to do my house in october..

Hi bro,

Due to some abuse and normally free, some not appreciated, there is very small 'contribution' to me for all the formulas. PMed you already.

I strongly recommend for house owner that want to reno to have these formulas, this to avoid them being cheated. Your reno is your investment, your reno cost you thousands thousands of RM.

Tq

This post has been edited by tomjason: May 7 2015, 01:51 PM
TStomjason
post May 7 2015, 01:56 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(loty @ May 7 2015, 11:57 AM)
Hi tomjason,
      My friend house is having some issue with the floor tile. Some part of the floor start cracking and the tiles just comes out. I am wondering if you can give some advice
          1. Just change the affected part. I am skeptical if it will cause other part to crack in the future?
          2. Change the whole flooring. Of course this one cost more

Her place is at sg buloh area and it is just a normal walk up apartment.  So far 3 rooms and the living room is affected. The tenant already left the unit.
By the way any contractor to introduce? Also aluminium windows shop? She may need to do tile flooring and maybe aluminium windows depending on budget.
Hi bro,

You said that 3 rooms and living room have been affected, for your case mostly due to not enough cement when tiling by the tiler. Try knock (by hand also can) the floor, if you feel 'kosong' or empty, then sure not enough cement.

Solution :

1. If want to save budget, patch the tile.
2. Else need to retile.

If serious want to change, you can WhatApp me , maybe my previous tiler can help.

16 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0445sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:34 AM