Streamyx Streamyx SNR Margin, --Read here if you face disconnections--

scorps
post May 16 2007, 02:19 PM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

QUOTE(bravobronzo @ May 16 2007, 01:57 PM)
i cant surf my streamyx..my YM and skype online but cant surf...how to resolve a??anyone?
did you put the dns server or not??
it should be 202.188.0.133
scorps
post May 22 2007, 10:14 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ May 22 2007, 11:09 PM)
Just when i puji them my line down to 4db today..Damn! My adsl light blinking again.. When will this ever end?? When will their tmnut cust service say Dun worry sir, it'a all done. U won;t face this problem again instead of we are still processing. Yeah rite, been processing for a week liau vmad.gif
don't puji them loll.. tongue.gif
scorps
post May 30 2007, 10:36 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(phillys @ May 30 2007, 11:27 AM)
Thanks for the reply. I have just tried that but unfortunately I couldn't see anything on the screen related to SNR Margin or Line Attenuation. Below is a screen shot of the system summary page.
try find modem status in there,
scorps
post Jun 4 2007, 10:50 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jun 3 2007, 11:01 PM)
SNR at night always at 10-15db only but morning or afternoon can go up to 20db...Hmm wonder why
maybe humidity factor
scorps
post Jun 7 2007, 05:20 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jun 7 2007, 06:17 PM)
Jumper?? Which jumper? We can set jumoer our own? What do u mean by check back??
jumper in the TM exchange (MDF)or in the cabinet,
and you can't to do it yourself,

scorps
post Jun 7 2007, 07:07 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Jun 7 2007, 06:55 PM)
may i know SNR Margin izit this meaning?

****************************USB DSL TEST GUI***************************
********************************************************************************
* DSL GUI Version : 1.09
* Driver  Version : A.2
* Hardware Version : 500B
* Firmware  Version : 43E2EA3A
* Operating System: Whistler  build: 2600
* Number of Processor : 1
* Processor Architecture : INTEL
* Processor Level : 15
* Processor Model : 5
* Processor Stepping : 19
* Memory Usage : 51%
* Total Physical Memory : 804769792
* Available Physical Memory : 393949184
* Total Virtual Memory : 2147352576
* Available Virtual Memory : 2112851968
* Start Time : Thursday, June 7, 2007 17:52
********************************************************************************

DSL TEST CONFIGURATION

INTERFACE TEST CONFIGURATION :
TEST : ENABLED

MODEM TEST CONFIGURATION :
TEST : ENABLED
EXPECTED DSL MODE : G.DMT
DATA MODE TIMEOUT : 60
VPI : 0
VCI : 35

LINE TEST CONFIGURATION :
TEST : DISABLED
OAM_VPI : 0
OAM_VCI : 0
NUMBER OF CELLS TO SEND : 0
OAM LOOPBACK TYPE : F5E2E

NETWORK TEST CONFIGURATION :
TEST : DISABLED
EXPECTED DRIVER TYPE : WAN
EXPECTED ENCAPSULATION : BRIDGE_LLC

DSL TEST RESULTS

1 - INTERFACE TEST RESULTS :
        The interface test is passed

2 - MODEM TEST RESULTS :
        MODEM test is requested but is not done yet

3 - LINE TEST RESULTS :
        LINE test is not requested

4 - NETWORK TEST RESULTS :
        Network test is not requested

CMV CONFIGURATION

1 - DIAG02 : 0
2 - DIAG03 : 0
3 - DIAG22 : 0
4 - DIAG23 : 1
5 - DIAG25 : 26
6 - DIAG47 : 0
7 - DIAG49 : 1A
8 - DIAG51 : 3C0936
9 - DIAG52 : 3C0C72
10 - DIAG53 : 0
11 - DIAG54 : 0
12 - INFO10 : 43E2EA3A
13 - INFO08 : 1C
14 - INFO14 : 0
15 - OPTN00 : 8002C444
16 - OPTN02 : 0
17 - OPTN04 : 0
17 - OPTN07 : 0
18 - PSDM01 : 23E77
19 - RATE00 : 200010
20 - STAT00 : 82208210

not, not at all

scorps
post Jun 7 2007, 09:40 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Jun 7 2007, 09:43 PM)
erm.. my modem brand is Aztech, model is ADSL USB DSL 206U (is a USB modem.. kinda cheap.. jz RM88..)
if i m wrong, den can teach me how 2 check that thing? i dunno how 2 check..
i think your modem also can't to check this, never use this model before, can't give any comment on it,
but if it have the manual try refer to it
scorps
post Jun 8 2007, 03:26 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(pixma @ Jun 8 2007, 01:20 AM)
your line is good
scorps
post Jun 12 2007, 09:26 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Jun 12 2007, 09:59 PM)
Is this good?
[attachmentid=246504]

Anything I should report to them about? (Using 512k Package)
your snr margin look like problem,
do you face disconnection problem when using streamyx?
scorps
post Jun 13 2007, 01:35 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Jun 12 2007, 10:33 PM)
Nope, 24/7 online no dc, ever =\ (unless intentional)

Though when I ping yahoo.com usually its around
404-418ms and google.com is around 309-311ms (If your interested, but I don't think it's relative to the problem.. no?). And page loading is fast (google 1s,yahoo 4-5s, with or without proxy). Oh 1 more thing, not using VPN (any service).
SN Margin (AKA Signal to Noise Margin or Signal to Noise Ratio)
Relative strength of the DSL signal to Noise ratio. 6dB is the lowest dB manufactures specify for modem to be able to synch. In some instances interleaving* can help raise the noise margin to an acceptable level. The higher the number the better for this measurement.
> 6dB or below is bad and will experience no synch or intermittent synch problems
> 7dB-10dB is fair but does not leave much room for variances in conditions
> 11dB-20dB is good with no synch problems
> 20dB-28dB is excellent
> 29dB or above is outstanding

your upload speed is ok or not??
scorps
post Jun 18 2007, 04:09 PM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(FrozenPrince @ Jun 18 2007, 04:51 PM)
ADSL Firmware Ver  : FwVer:3.3.2.5_A_TC3084 HwVer:T14.F7_0.0 
  Line State  : Showtime 
  Modulation  : G.DMT 
  Annex Mode  : ANNEX_A 

Downstream  Upstream   
  SNR Margin  : 8.0  13.0  db
  Line Attenuation  : 63.5  31.5  db
  Data Rate  : 1024  512  kbps
Is the stat above is ok for my connection? I'm having problem with this streamyx of mine..felt slow..and utorrent can only reach max speed of 15kB/s..previously can reach up to 60 and above..
not ok i think
your line attenuation too high

scorps
post Jun 22 2007, 05:35 AM

9,572 posts

ok,please don't off topic yaa.. tongue.gif
now in this thread discussing about snr margin, not about change the ip address or what ever..
please mention that... brows.gif
scorps
post Jul 24 2007, 07:27 PM

9,572 posts

my opinion, maybe the modem is not suitable for your line
you need a luck to get a stable modem with TM line

maybe i got wrong ,,
ehehheehe
scorps
post Aug 21 2007, 08:06 AM

9,572 posts

QUOTE(mintec @ Aug 12 2007, 02:02 AM)
Just wanted to share my joy with all you guys. I got my Streamyx Line about 3 years ago but never had a stable connection. Always disconnect esp. during rain but sometimes even in fine weather! My phone line is about 30 years old.

1. Complaint to the 1300 no. and the technician came and said I was running parallel lines.
2. Complaint to 1300, technician came while I was out and said everything was ok.
3. Complaint to 1300, technician didn't come. Called and was told technician came and I told him everything was fine.
4. Complaint to 1300, technician came and lowered the line from 1024kbps to 512kbps cos he said it'll be stable.
5. Complaint to 1300, technician came and said my line is old and asked me to report to Telekom (100) to change the line.
6. Complaint to 100, technician came and replaced the line from nearest pole to my house.
7. Complaint to 100, technician came while I was out and told my sis that everything seems ok.
8. Complaint to 100, technician came and replaced the line from the pole with the black box (4th pole from my house) right up to my modem.
* I've made many other complaints but they refuse to make the reports.

After complaint no. 8, my connection is stable for the past 2 weeks. How does my stats look?

Connection Status    Connected
Us Rate (Kbps)    256
Ds Rate (Kbps)    512
US Margin    23
DS Margin    30
Trained Modulation    GDMT
LOS Errors    0
DS Line Attenuation    51
US Line Attenuation    31
Peak Cell Rate    603 cells per sec
CRC Rx Fast    52
CRC Tx Fast    2