Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

bearbear
post Jan 2 2013, 11:38 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

I've check April - early April the hotel are very expensive due to some convention going on.
bearbear
post Jan 21 2013, 03:03 PM

10,061 posts

is the pearl the only western restaurant on the peak?

Shopping can try Dong Chong outlet but i only managed to get a AX Tee, interested in some shoes and shirts but no size available.

Maybe can try Esprit at TST - i miss it on my trip last week and will surely go for it come April biggrin.gif

If you are a lady you will go crazy with all the Sasa outlets laugh.gif
bearbear
post Jan 22 2013, 10:30 AM

10,061 posts

shortleg88, same 3-pin as Malaysia.
bearbear
post Jan 25 2013, 02:29 PM

10,061 posts

The cable car at NgongPing 360' is about 30 minutes/way, this has not taken the queue time into consideration. I went on a weekday afternoon 11-ish and queue for more than 30 minutes. *The queue for crystal cable car cabin with glass flooring was much longer than the standard ones

To walk up and down - minimum 90 minutes haven't take into consideration of makan time (Must try the tau fu fah at the canteen, ignore all the shops you will passby).

I would say half a day for decent walk around and photo taking.
bearbear
post Feb 15 2013, 02:45 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(sskw @ Feb 13 2013, 01:13 AM)
hi, i check on the tissot price in hk, is more expensive than msia for prc 200 auto.... msia selling RM2650 before 15% discount... hk selling hkd6600 before 10% discount... may i know where u bought ur tissot which is slightly cheaper than msia? thanks
For watches it seems like Malaysia is one of the cheapest place to get. Even Switzerland is more expensive
bearbear
post Feb 26 2013, 09:17 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(wyen @ Feb 25 2013, 10:41 PM)

Hi wyen - on my last trip i passed by Australian Dairy as well but did not test. Did they use any milk on the egg?I like mine pure without milky taste biggrin.gif
bearbear
post Feb 27 2013, 09:39 AM

10,061 posts

many thanks just the way i like it!! - will try it when i go again soon biggrin.gif
bearbear
post Mar 5 2013, 04:44 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(william1980 @ Mar 5 2013, 03:18 PM)
i plan to go macau. i would like to ask. when i reach macau, i saw alot of casino bus. can i seat for foc to the casino? or do i need to pay it? plan go venetian hotel there or maybe go casino lisboa there. tq
FOC - so stay nearby those big hotels and you don't need to walk so much / take taxi
bearbear
post Mar 8 2013, 09:38 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(surf-it @ Mar 7 2013, 12:49 PM)
Various Sifu, going to shenzhen now can do visa on arrival or not? No time to do my china visa in Malaysia...

thx
From what i know nop - you have to get your visa ready upon arrival.

Just go for the express - pay for it. Get it approved within a day.
bearbear
post Mar 8 2013, 11:35 AM

10,061 posts

just wonder if anyone tried watching a concert at the HK Coliseum?
bearbear
post Mar 8 2013, 12:10 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Mar 8 2013, 11:53 AM)
i wanna try.. during my previous trip Eason and Lee hom got concert there.

But its all sold out..
just checked - no concert during my stay mad.gif
bearbear
post Mar 19 2013, 12:05 AM

10,061 posts

Can try Macau if you are planning to visit Macau - i managed to get RM308/pax to Macau for this April. Then just take those speed boat to HK. Last minute can try Cathay - i think i flew for less than 1k earlier this year with very last minute buy. (MAS code share with Cathay)
bearbear
post Mar 19 2013, 11:53 AM

10,061 posts

Halal food might be tough cos even fast food chain serve pork.

For cable car - i posted this few pages back

The cable car at NgongPing 360' is about 30 minutes/way, this has not taken the queue time into consideration. I went on a weekday afternoon 11-ish and queue for more than 30 minutes. *The queue for crystal cable car cabin with glass flooring was much longer than the standard ones

To walk up and down - minimum 90 minutes haven't take into consideration of makan time (Must try the tau fu fah at the canteen, ignore all the shops you will passby).

I would say half a day for decent walk around and photo taking.

bearbear
post Mar 25 2013, 12:16 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Mar 25 2013, 09:54 AM)
Student price is cheaper 10%, some cards also have 10% discount, I used Amex that time and can get 10% disc

But do take note seat is limited and can't choose, even if you buy at counter.
Maybank Amex?
bearbear
post Mar 25 2013, 03:53 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Mar 25 2013, 01:22 PM)
I used Maybank2card Amex

As of end January 2013 (I went that time) still valid

PS : mine is only gold but it was entitled to
Thanks - mine is gold as well if the promo if still on might just watch it.

How was the show by the way?which area did you seat in?
bearbear
post Mar 25 2013, 05:44 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Mar 25 2013, 04:20 PM)
I actually took the combo hard rock hotel + 2 tickets of HOD. I think that's a good deal.

Enjoy my stay at hard rock, very large room.

6 person fitted into 2 rooms no issue. Bought additional 2 tickets of HOD when go there since there's 6 of us.

Bought the cheapest ticket there. If budget not an issue to you better to get those near stage seat (2nd exp?). That's better experience (have risk getting splashed, but not that major)

I must say the show did not disappoint, one of the highlights in my short Macau stay. I went only 2 days 1 night in between my HK trip
Thanks for the feedback - the package was on my radar as well but doing a detail calculation it show that its much more worthwhile for me to purchase separately.

Will try to catch the show if possible biggrin.gif
bearbear
post Mar 26 2013, 12:17 AM

10,061 posts

I found on a web - HKD788 for C reserve + ReturnCotaiJet + Galaxy meal coupon

bearbear
post Mar 26 2013, 06:26 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 26 2013, 06:16 PM)
Yeah, always keep an eye for cheap AA promos  biggrin.gif HK-macau is not far anyway...but everytime will go with different friends, and they will always wanna visit disneyland laugh.gif
waste of time, no? tongue.gif
bearbear
post Mar 26 2013, 06:34 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 26 2013, 06:32 PM)
haha going for my 5th time end of year  doh.gif what to do ler..luckily they have been introducing new attractions..on the other hand, i never been to ngong ping 360..nobody wanna go there  laugh.gif
5th time? notworthy.gif

i didn't even plan to visit it tongue.gif
bearbear
post Mar 27 2013, 09:45 AM

10,061 posts

Grab it before it's gone!

https://www.groupon.hk/deals/getaways/Macau-Tower/716811914

As i know entrance ticket on the spot alone already MOP130, this is worth it thumbup.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:25 AM