Full P3-21A Specs and Info!

mat79
post Mar 5 2012, 08:15 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(poilam @ Mar 4 2012, 09:35 PM)
abang Mat79, will the the current CEO Dato Zainal be replaced after the coming of new boss ? any internal news ? quite curious bout tis..
as currently the QC mat salleh guy also left Proton d, will Dato Zainal be the next ?
dunno about that, so many rumours, so many word of mouth lingering around even in prtn themselves, but the true one, still dont know. But 1 things i know for sure, majority of prtn's family really wants dsz to stay eventhough not much they get interm of remuneration, bonus or insentive, but the team spririt, good direction n excellent yet himble leadership are what they seek now.

Previously,many dislike him coz he's so strict, performance basis incentive kind of a person. But in the end, they manage to see the reason why dsz act like that. If u want tp earn more,do a better job, so everybody must work hard, but really hard actually for him to diminish all typical malaysian attitude earlier, yup, still exist nowadays, but in smaller scale, not as big as before.

However,really like him in person, really humble. Rarely u find somebody like that, in his position, have that kind of attitude. This person is really 'bukan bekerja utk saya, tp bekerja bersama saya', but the other one,i dunno. Really sad dr karl wolfgang epple leave out prtn b4 the launch of p321a which his doing a lot of effort. But he has his own reason for that.

:-)
mat79
post Mar 6 2012, 07:22 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Mar 6 2012, 12:46 AM)
why saga flx cvt still facing issue ya?
the car keep jerking during low speed and engine check light will sudden on. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
im not dsz by the way. Wish to be but frankly not. Not related directly like working for prtn. Indirectly,yes, as friend with some members.

By the way, if i not mistaken, prtn already issue recall for that which actually come from punch itself to one to one change cluth oil pump of cvt. U can check the letter been scanned in cari gold forum. Its happen to 1st batch flx,thats why there have been a little delay on delivery. The batch effected had been recalled n the newer one already been replaced in the factory.

About check engine light, better check the battery connected whether it was connected unproperly or loose. It is not connected with cvt coz if cvt problem, the light on gear lever numbering will blinking, means gbox prob. Is it the aduanrakyat(not official blog for tv3 by the way), is it?

As i said earlier about how oem work rite. The jerk is inconvinience, but not causing gerbox@engine damage,it just not smooth during low speed, and punch did rectify that.

If u have experience driving dsg during cold start without warm it up properly, u face jerking problem, so as amt in savvy. It is clutch based after all,same as dsg,same as amt. The diff,punch cvt with single clutch, dsg twin clutch,amt single clutch.
mat79
post Mar 6 2012, 01:07 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Mar 6 2012, 10:56 AM)
i see
i also saw some member mention after replace the oil pump
the jerking was reduced but still there.
even now the flx 1.6 also has the same problem but this can be solve by press the pedal.
i info my friend tighten the battery. see will improve or not
thx ya. brows.gif
u said jerking solve by pressing the pedal. Meaning that the jerk is when u lifted the pedal rite?
If that the cause,then in slow speed, when u decellerate@lifted the pedal, since cvt works using belting attach to pulley n using wet clutch,yup,it jerk coz it is slowing down at slow speed. But only at slow speed. It involve engine braking also coz belting always attach to pulley, n ratio change,since it is infinite, its diff. To see the diff how fast it decellerate compare to conv auto, drive up to 100kmh, lift off the pedal, the speed will reduce at fast speed compare u drive conventional auto at the same speed n lift off the pedal. This is really useful when overtaking long que cars coz not really need to press brake pedal after overtaking one to another,just lift off the throttle. Maybe shud watch how cvt works at youtube by nissan showing how to drive cvt. The same when attacking corners, lift off pedal, n after arrive at apex,then accelerate back. Due to cvt characteristic, no need much press the brake,unless necessary.

The jerking that issues i mentioned earlier when u press the pedal during low speed, it jerk catching up speed,only a short while, example from stagnant to move.or pressing it during low speed.

Hopefully this answer ur question.
mat79
post Mar 6 2012, 07:43 PM

1,011 posts

To Mr sg999m,forgot to mentioned about this, since, ur friend's car experience jerkiness which i dunno what kind of jerk or level of jerkiness, why dont u ask u friend to do this test. Try to drive the car in L mode, then lift off pedal. Normally engine braking become harder n u really can feel the cvt characteristic of jerkiness when lift off pedal. If not, try SAT mode on for the whole week, never engage full cvt mode. Just do SAT mode only. Try to monitor whether it has the same behaviour during low speed when lift off the gas pedal or not coz in SAT, it is in simulated fixed ratio which means, the transmission is given fixed ratio through software. If the problem persistent(if it is severe, not part of cvt clutch based behaviour), i think ur friend shud send the car for checking even the light is not blinking coz jerk during lift of pedal,its normal, but it not really exercive. But jerking during pressing the pedal, yesm that is a problem. So, try out okey asap coz ur friend can send to sc asap for solution if the probs is severe
mat79
post Mar 6 2012, 08:34 PM

1,011 posts

errr, i'm not the owner and in position to do a report sir, and the owner is suppose to report. And by the legit report by the owner will become an issue that they will check n investigate.

Coz the slow jerk when lifting the pedal, i dunno whether to call it jerk,is normal as mentioned by my insider n by own test driving it so many times, but what kind of jerk mentioned inside the forum still in question coz didnt know the condition. The owner need to send it out for checking if it is not a normal one.

As i mentioned earlier, i dun work in prtn. Even if i mentioned this car problem,that car problem, im not in power to do the complain coz the owner shud do it. Unless im a high ranking like ceo, md or chairman position in prtn or vvip in drb, then people will acknowledge my comments n reports.

Try out to complain about maybe ur friend car at any car manufacturer, they dont bother coz u r not the owner.

I just try to help by sugesting friendly way to check it. Any engineer or hnt team dunno what is the probs coz prior testing, no prob submerged, so,with the report,they can check it n rectify it. Any manufacturer will do the same.Do u know everything has SOP?

Anyway, it doesnt matter. I wish that i can do anything i like, but i dont coz im human by the way.

Just can share some info about what new in prtn. Yup, have all the confidential details slides on p321a earlier, seen the pictures early last year during development,but since ethics concern, only can convey in words, not uploading pictures n pnc slides or data to the net. Not only exora, has internal circulation booklet from neo, blm,persona n exora which comparing with competitors.

Dont like the info,its ok. I think no need to share here rite. I did spill out some info earlier before been exposed to the net indirectly mentioned this is the real info n etc coz it is no official anouncement by prtn,even the tyre size. Ok, i think no need to spill any info,the launch is near. Off by now in this topic, he...he...nice knowing u guys.
mat79
post Mar 6 2012, 08:50 PM

1,011 posts

on stealth mode
mat79
post Mar 7 2012, 07:44 AM

1,011 posts

sg999, read my previous comment prior to this comment which u dun reply.

Ha...ha...need to go to stealth mode in info coz it just next week, n no need to spoil it n spoil my friend, u knowla,so many cctv.
mat79
post Mar 7 2012, 11:12 AM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(stargate8 @ Mar 7 2012, 09:31 AM)
i wonder hmm.gif

got cupholder or not, notice flx and persona no cup holder de.
have it,beside handbrake.
mat79
post Mar 7 2012, 11:46 AM

1,011 posts

forget 2 mentioned, 2 besides handbrake on front passenger side coz handbrake on the driver's side, another 2 at the armrest centre console for rear passenger.

Added on March 7, 2012, 11:48 am
QUOTE(stargate8 @ Mar 7 2012, 09:16 AM)
ooh, next week, so probably weekend? sat or sun? oh coincide with Matta Fair...
heard sneek preview of the car mentioned(soft launch), n maybe the future as well, just rumours, he...he...need to wait n see, pwr of 1.

Added on March 7, 2012, 11:50 amIF there is a sneek preview, see it live, n then comments, even negative one, who knows, they take note here for future reference. Kui...kui...

This post has been edited by mat79: Mar 7 2012, 11:50 AM
mat79
post Mar 9 2012, 12:49 PM

1,011 posts

[quote=jetpacker,Mar 9 2012, 08:59 AM]
havent learn how to walk already want to run..LOL

its personal opinion from dr m, not official statements by prtn.

About emblem on steering, yes,its not high tech, not a big thing but people keep shouting on the net about that. So, somebody just highlighted it n it wont be in the brochure i think ha...ha...

Erm,prepare to skodeng2. Kui...kui...kui...the making of...

Exora r= exora replacement,sorry 4 the late reply.
mat79
post Mar 10 2012, 08:59 AM

1,011 posts

about the delay, read the news properly. Businesstimes mentioned one of the sources, not prtn n prtn never announce that. Check other news on the denial bu dsz coz prtn never ever issue any official info regarding the delays, some parties seems doing some things overhere,like the info from flyingspaghettimonster from i dunno who prtn engineer.

About start stop button fonts, is that really an issue? For me the most important part is being readable. Thats all. Standard font. Maybe the shud used caligraphy fonts, so,it will be wonderful, rite :-). Just joking.

Ok, i did mentioned p3 will be there, n the name start with p :-). So, check it out especially on weakness n flow. (this is common coz malaysian dont really like the positive things, they like to search on negative first, then maybe positive,if they want to, but never bother, not another way around. Ha...ha...
mat79
post Mar 10 2012, 04:42 PM

1,011 posts

already mentioned about skodeng, means peekaboo n let me finish previous sentence, the making of p321a, like the saga blm previously :-).

Anyway, p321a premium comes with key fob without the key. Just slot in, push once for turn on, push second to start the engine, then vroom...

The sound previously in cfe associate with vvt one way valve. They solved the problem n the sound wont hurt ur engine. But its better if the assembling line for engine not overtorque tighten it,it will be perfect though. Haiya, s****d mistake by human.
mat79
post Mar 11 2012, 08:53 AM

1,011 posts

it just a code,easy to identify the products :-). Yup,mclaren mp4-12c engine sound thunderous. Maybe they shud come out lighter version, mp3-12c :-)
mat79
post Mar 12 2012, 12:11 AM

1,011 posts

some guesings are seems rite :-)
mat79
post Mar 15 2012, 01:48 PM

1,011 posts

i dun understand when someone stated exec p3 dun have esc n etc, but i think the same as forte 1.6 which one of his choice. but still wondering why u choose executive lines for p3 which shud be around 65k+- when u can spend 79k for forte 1.6 ex, while need to spend 85k+- for sx 1.6, same safety equip, vios at 80k++ with less safety equip, n if talking about power output, still less than iafm+,but u can opt for 75k p3 which has bundle of safety specs,which cheaper than forte ex n sx 1.6 n even vios j.

Sometimes it makes me wondering how prtn need to do coz already give out i think the best value in money in malaysia, but still, people only want to spend on medium line,luckily doesnt have for the moment the baseline,if not,people will choose the most basic spec even if he afford the highest spec.

Ha..ha.. Malaysian, including me :-)
mat79
post Mar 15 2012, 01:59 PM

1,011 posts

if u r talking about manual flx se(which not availabale at the moment) against p3 manual,yes, they loose it badly coz for saga, it just mere 10scnd to do that while p3 12scnd. But if u r talking about cvt p3 n cvt flx se, yup,still loose, but not in a big margin, p3 century sprint around 12.5 scnd, flx se 12 sncd.

Yup, many will question why? They have diff weight,diff pwr to weight ratio n etc. Yup, but u forget to add transmission factor. That is the advantage using cvt which has infinite ratio, ratio can immitate torque,incase of cvt,it limitless.

Diff case for mt, even thay change the ratio n final drive, they only have 5 gear ratio to play with.

The easiest way to immitate how it will move with additional weight is by immitating it in flx se, full load with above average 5 guys, n drive :-)

mat79
post Mar 15 2012, 02:10 PM

1,011 posts

oic, if 2nd hand 2.0 forte,yup better spec, but if 2nd hand 1.6 forte better spec than exec p3, i think u have been con by somebody. No esc n just 2 airbags for 2ndhand 1.6 forte n if not mistaken,is it 4 speeder one? N by the way, if comparing scnd hand with newly make, quite amusing. Just wondering if p3 in 2014, at 2nd hand value, dun u think it is better than 2 years old forte interm of pricing? I think it is better compare new one pit against newly make.

Wish u luck.
mat79
post Mar 15 2012, 02:20 PM

1,011 posts

cps only euro 4 compliant n only comes with dated 4 at from mitsu n dated 5mt from mitsu which sometimes hard to shift.

There are some market of p3 will enter is euro 5 compliant.

If comparing gen2 cps manual vs p3 manual, yup, still loosing, but compare gen2 cps at vs p3 cvt, p3 is on par. U shud also pwrloss of trans n tech behind it. Not saying cps is not good, but iafm+ is better interm of drivability,unless u r hard revving kind of a guy.

P3 manual 1.6, perform not far of flx 1.3 manual. If u want to try out, try the flx 1.3 manual, is it really bad or just ok. Not the fl@blm, the newly flx that come with getrag transmission.

mat79
post Mar 15 2012, 03:53 PM

1,011 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Mar 15 2012, 02:51 PM)
why proton didnt upgrade cps to euro 5 spec?
or maybe adding cvvt on its intake side to complement the cps?
as been informed, yup, can do cps to meet euro 5, but the power will reduce especially torque wise. Couple vvt n cps, it can be done, but it is high cost coz initially pheonix project is for cfe only, it just that the engineers try also to come out with the na version. Cfe n iafm+ has similar based compare to cps which using distributor n spark coil while cfe n iafm+ using cop@distributorless system.

Iafm+ 50% component diff from iafm. It is not visible, more focussing on cooling element to ensure engine is always at atmost optimum temperature so that it will work at optimum efficiency, emmision compliancy coz current cps n iafm is only euro 4. Come in also 32bit torquebased ecu to replace 16bit loadbased ecu in cps n iafm, which means better controlling of torque spread n broader torque band.

Still remember when exora come out, when they explaining on hp@kw, people all saying that is not important, the most important is torque. But now they are focusing on torque, people say why less hp n etc.

Look at cps n iafm+ torque. Cps 150nm@4500rpm.
Iafm+ 150nm@4000rpm.

Cps 85-90% of torque at 3000rpm.
Iafm+85-90% of torque at 2000rpm.

Cps 125hp@6500 rpm.
Iafm+108hp@5750rpm.

Which one has better drivability? Which one has better top speed? Iafm+ has better drivability while cps is better at top end speed. But how much is hp generated for cps@5750 rpm? I think cps generate around 112hp at the same rpm, not that much, only 4hp more.

Erm, if cps been compliant to euro 5, so let say the hp maybe reduce to 120hp, but what if the torque is 140nm only?

Look at the new avanza engine 1.5, based on same engine, but old one didnt comply with euro 4, current one comply, so look how much hp n torque that they need to sacrifice for meeting eu emmission.

Couple vvt n cps n vim, not only really complicated, but also expensive to build. Thats why toyota mainly using vvti n dual vvti, rather than their own valvematic tech engine.

Added on March 15, 2012, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(ben_panced @ Mar 15 2012, 02:51 PM)
why proton didnt upgrade cps to euro 5 spec?
or maybe adding cvvt on its intake side to complement the cps?
as been informed, yup, can do cps to meet euro 5, but the power will reduce especially torque wise. Couple vvt n cps, it can be done, but it is high cost coz initially pheonix project is for cfe only, it just that the engineers try also to come out with the na version. Cfe n iafm+ has similar based compare to cps which using distributor n spark coil while cfe n iafm+ using cop@distributorless system.

Iafm+ 50% component diff from iafm. It is not visible, more focussing on cooling element to ensure engine is always at atmost optimum temperature so that it will work at optimum efficiency, emmision compliancy coz current cps n iafm is only euro 4. Come in also 32bit torquebased ecu to replace 16bit loadbased ecu in cps n iafm, which means better controlling of torque spread n broader torque band.

Still remember when exora come out, when they explaining on hp@kw, people all saying that is not important, the most important is torque. But now they are focusing on torque, people say why less hp n etc.

Look at cps n iafm+ torque. Cps 150nm@4500rpm.
Iafm+ 150nm@4000rpm.

Cps 85-90% of torque at 3000rpm.
Iafm+85-90% of torque at 2000rpm.

Cps 125hp@6500 rpm.
Iafm+108hp@5750rpm.

Which one has better drivability? Which one has better top speed? Iafm+ has better drivability while cps is better at top end speed. But how much is hp generated for cps@5750 rpm? I think cps generate around 112hp at the same rpm, not that much, only 4hp more.

Erm, if cps been compliant to euro 5, so let say the hp maybe reduce to 120hp, but what if the torque is 140nm only?

Look at the new avanza engine 1.5, based on same engine, but old one didnt comply with euro 4, current one comply, so look how much hp n torque that they need to sacrifice for meeting eu emmission.

Couple vvt n cps n vim, not only really complicated, but also expensive to build. Thats why toyota mainly using vvti n dual vvti, rather than their own valvematic tech engine.

This post has been edited by mat79: Mar 15 2012, 03:53 PM
mat79
post Mar 15 2012, 04:01 PM

1,011 posts

6 getrag mt, herm...wait next year maybe, but not for p321a maybe :-), but this year, i think u already get 7 speed protronic paddle shifter n gear shifter, why do u need 6mt? Maybe fun factor? Can u eleborate more,just for sharing.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0634sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:12 AM