recommend me car air con shop, near old klang road/kuchai lama/pj

kelsem
post Oct 17 2020, 04:48 PM

22 posts

So this was my repair bill for my Wira car at Hoo air conditioner shop.
https://maps.google.com/maps?q=3.0784074%2C...6628&z=17&hl=en
This link is not accurate to go to the shop. It only directs me to the nearby condo. It's really easy to find the shop. I had to phone him up and it is very near to the big Toyota service centre.
Cooling coil (evaporator) RM 280
Receiver (dryer) RM 240
Total inclusive of labor is RM 520
That was a month ago. Then a week later the air conditioner gave trouble again. So back to the workshop and another RM280 for the blower. Still not as cold as it was originally. Mr. Hoo said will have to do some more repair. Something about the honeycomb shape item. What is wrong with my once perfectly cold air conditioner?

This post has been edited by kelsem: Oct 17 2020, 04:51 PM
Thrust
post Oct 17 2020, 07:25 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,762 posts

QUOTE(kelsem @ Oct 17 2020, 04:48 PM)
So this was my repair bill for my Wira car at Hoo air conditioner shop.
This link is not accurate to go to the shop. It only directs me to the nearby condo. It's really easy to find the shop. I had to phone him up and it is very near to the big Toyota service centre.
Cooling coil (evaporator)  RM 280
Receiver (dryer)              RM 240
Total inclusive of labor is  RM 520
That was a month ago. Then a week later the air conditioner gave trouble again. So back to the workshop and another RM280 for the blower. Still not as cold as it was originally. Mr. Hoo said will have to do some more repair. Something about the honeycomb shape item. What is wrong with my once perfectly cold air conditioner?
The honeycomb shape item is the cooling coil @ evaporator coil lor. Maybe you need to replace the expansion valve.

So how do you find Mr. Hoo's service?

I went there few years ago to replace my cooling coil and it's been working well. After a few years, the aircond is not so cold now. Thought I might want to look for his services again.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Oct 17 2020, 07:26 PM
kelsem
post Oct 18 2020, 01:10 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 17 2020, 07:25 PM)
Maybe you need to replace the expansion valve.

So how do you find Mr. Hoo's service?

I went there few years ago to replace my cooling coil and it's been working well. After a few years, the aircond is not so cold now. Thought I might want to look for his services again.
I quite like him. His young son (early 20's maybe) can speak English quite well. In fact he seemed to like to talk to me in English.
I found Mr. Hoo quite professional. He was busy that day with an Audi car and we didn't have chance to talk to him much.

Ok maybe I will go to the workshop in Glenmarie that someone recommended to see about the expansion valve and also ask him why the parts are still not working at optimal efficiency.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5026180/all (Post #51)

All this while (old Wira) the air cond has been very cold. Maybe showing the effects of wear and tear. The new spare parts not as good as the older ones.

This post has been edited by kelsem: Oct 18 2020, 01:19 PM
Thrust
post Oct 18 2020, 01:36 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,762 posts

QUOTE(kelsem @ Oct 18 2020, 01:10 PM)
I quite like him. His young son (early 20's maybe) can speak English quite well. In fact he seemed to like to talk to me in English.
I found Mr. Hoo quite professional. He was busy that day with an Audi car and we didn't have chance to talk to him much.

Ok maybe I will go to the workshop in Glenmarie that someone recommended to see about the expansion valve and also ask him why the parts are still not working at optimal efficiency.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5026180/all  (Post #51)

All this while (old Wira) the air cond has been very cold. Maybe showing the effects of wear and tear. The new spare parts not as good as the older ones.
His shop actually specialises in servicing aircond for Audi cars but he repairs aircond for all other cars.

I think for your wira, most likely you can't restore the aircond to the original state as the aircond compressor will have wear & tear. Thus, it can't compress the refrigerant as efficiently as it was new. Unless of course you replace the compressor.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Oct 18 2020, 01:37 PM
kelsem
post Oct 18 2020, 11:21 PM

22 posts

Ya, hubby had at first sent the car to the mechanic who does car repairs and he said to change the compressor which would cost RM400. Will have to consult another air cond specialist for advice on the compressor.
Thanks @Thrust.
Never thought I would spend so much on just the air cond alone when the value of Wira would be less than cost of repairs. That's what one old taxi driver in Kota Bharu told me recently. He was using an old Wira to ferry passengers around the city. It was he who told me where to look for Proton spareparts in KB
The spare parts shop proprietor ( in his 70's) and his wife in KB were extremely helpful.

This post has been edited by kelsem: Oct 18 2020, 11:22 PM
darkdevilrey
post Feb 28 2021, 01:19 AM

Silly Fools
1,156 posts

QUOTE(kelsem @ Sep 24 2020, 11:16 AM)
Thanks to all the folk who chip in to help locate an air cond. specialist to fix my Wira car.
I have been to the shop in Jalan Kuchai Lama before to fix the leak in my air cond system but still the problem persists. The young assistant of Mr. Alvin was not very helpful. Mr. Alvin wasn't in.
So this time around I decided to go a bit further to Hoo Car Cooler & Accessories".
Tel no: 019-2268793 in Petaling Utama. He has changed his address.

Will let you all now how it goes.
hows the fees like?
kelsem
post Mar 1 2021, 11:52 AM

22 posts

The fees was ok but after sending the car two times, still having problem with the airconditioner. The 2nd time was about 2 weeks after the initial repair. Then a 2 months later the air conditioner still gave problem. It was still leaking after spending RM700+. Then because of MCO I was not able to cross over to Petaling Jaya. I just went to the one in Jalan Kuchai Lama and had it fixed, or so it seems. Still the air cond was not as cold as it was originally. Both shops told me that I would need to change the compressor if I want it to be as cold as before.
Finally because my Wira was having problem with the distributor, the car repair shop nearby finally found that the 2nd air cond specialist didn't tightened the screw properly and now it is as good as new or as can be expected of such an old car.
MISMan
post Mar 2 2021, 02:44 PM

719 posts

isnt wira drier a very cheap item? rm 20-40max!

https://shopee.com.my/wira-sanden-system-re...fsaAjl6EALw_wcB

if repair man charges u rm 240, its a super ripoff!
red flag!

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0197sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:28 PM