About Car Temperature, Wira temperature

TSalex458
post Feb 14 2012, 12:52 AM, updated 14y ago

48 posts

Hi, I got some question about my wira (1.6A) temperature. "Know about car things little only, need some recommend from the expert."
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
In this few days, i noticed that my temperature is pointing at the middle of the gauge. blink.gif

Then my question is:
1. Does the temperature pointed at middle is consider normal? or hot?
2. when i run high speed around 120km/h at highway, the temperature start climbing above middle slowly. Will it be dangerous? blink.gif
3. What kind of issue cause this kind of problem? icon_question.gif

I checked the water level is full. 2 fans work together. water pump just change last 2 years.

P/S : if u say removing the thermostat solved the prob. that's not the answer i want. cause i heard ppl say thermostat is needed. So do avoid this answer for me. sad.gif

As the picture below shown, the red circle is my current car temperature operate.(Q1)
Then the yellow circle is appear when i run high speed in highway. (Q2)

This post has been edited by alex458: Feb 14 2012, 12:53 AM

Daniel John
post Feb 14 2012, 01:04 AM

38 posts

ur engine is healthy or not?

linear
more kmh = more engine rpm = more heat...so the engine in yellow circle is running hotter than the red one...cooling agent like coolant/water drain as well? or is it remain the same...it could be the gauge itself...

any leakage signs?

SeNnDoh-7
post Feb 14 2012, 01:05 AM

492 posts

ideally the pointer must be pointed between level 3 and 4..
my experience is that sometimes the needle can climb till level 5 but eventually will settle itself within level 3 and 4..

i think ur thermostat is slip out of level already..might need to recalibrate of replace..
kentchow75
post Feb 14 2012, 01:14 AM

Best Biz Card Printing Service
1,353 posts

How bizzare.

I've opposite situation as yours.

My car water temp will raise when I'm in traffic Jamming, it will raise up until level4.5.
It immediately falls back to level 3.5 when I leave the Jam zone and speed up to 75kmph, and never ever raise temp beyond that speed. ):

Thinking that your problem might be the thermostat being not healthy?

This post has been edited by kentchow75: Feb 14 2012, 01:15 AM
TSalex458
post Feb 14 2012, 01:24 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Feb 14 2012, 01:04 AM)
ur engine is healthy or not?

linear
more kmh = more engine rpm = more heat...so the engine in yellow circle is running hotter than the red one...cooling agent like coolant/water drain as well? or is it remain the same...it could be the gauge itself...

any leakage signs?
more kmh = more engine rpm = more heat. true about that.
I not sure my water is draining or not since the temperature is high. So i will check later morning and see wherever is working fine or not.

I'm sure the gauge should not have prob since before i use this car 3 years ago, the whole set gauge,(temp, tachometer, etc etc) has change to new set 1 and my ODO meter is reset to 0.

So i thikn should not be the gauge prob.

Added on February 14, 2012, 1:27 am
QUOTE(SeNnDoh-7 @ Feb 14 2012, 01:05 AM)
ideally the pointer must be pointed between level 3 and 4..
my experience is that sometimes the needle can climb till level 5 but eventually will settle itself within level 3 and 4..

i think ur thermostat is slip out of level already..might need to recalibrate of replace..
could be. or could not be. haiz... i have to let my dad check and see what he say. he do told me before when car move and stop or hv a long run, the temperature will operate at red point. hmm~

Added on February 14, 2012, 1:30 am
QUOTE(kentchow75 @ Feb 14 2012, 01:14 AM)
How bizzare.

My car water temp will raise when I'm in traffic Jamming, it will raise up until level4.5.
It immediately falls back to level 3.5 when I leave the Jam zone and speed up to 75kmph, and never ever raise temp beyond that speed. ):

Hahaha.... actually ur situation also happen in my car.
When coming jam, the temperature sure will climb since we hit accelerate and brake, the engine sure will get hot 1.

when avoid jam area, the temperature will fall back lo~

Thermostat not healthy? hmm~ could be...... not sure that time service got change the thermostat or not. ><||

This post has been edited by alex458: Feb 14 2012, 01:30 AM
littlefire
post Feb 14 2012, 09:36 AM

2,736 posts

If middle still can accept, if over the middle line.. I think you need to check your car...

Sometime brake jamed, thermostat rosak, engine & gearbox issue (Got check & service your engine/gearbox oil level or not?!?), water pump jam/or fin broken, radiator rusty & not enough coolent (1:1 ratio) also can coz engine heat... Just sent to a nearby mechanic shop to check it out...

This post has been edited by littlefire: Feb 14 2012, 09:38 AM
Deja Vu
post Feb 14 2012, 10:06 AM

1,864 posts

TS,
Assuming ur water pump, thermostat n fan r working perfectly wit no leakage, I'm suspecting a couple of blocked water lines in d radiator. U might wanna send ur radiator for flushing n servicing.
TSalex458
post Feb 14 2012, 10:24 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(Deja Vu @ Feb 14 2012, 10:06 AM)
TS,
Assuming ur water pump, thermostat n fan r working perfectly wit no leakage, I'm suspecting a couple of blocked water lines in d radiator. U might wanna send ur radiator for flushing n servicing.
Just went down and check the radiator water is draining or not. I found my water didn't drain well like last time. sad.gif look like my radiator has some rust stuck inside.
soon going to flush the radiator.

How much will it be cost to flush radiator? @@
less than 100? blink.gif blink.gif

Added on February 14, 2012, 10:26 am
QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 14 2012, 09:36 AM)
If middle still can accept, if over the middle line.. I think you need to check your car...

Sometime brake jamed, thermostat rosak, engine & gearbox issue (Got check & service your engine/gearbox oil level or not?!?), water pump jam/or fin broken, radiator rusty & not enough coolent (1:1 ratio) also can coz engine heat... Just sent to a nearby mechanic shop to check it out...
Going to send to shop flush my radiator and see 1st. last time i serviced the people help me change the coolant alrdy and my dad accidentally add water into it.
haiz... "cant blame my dad since he didnt know i use coolant on my car"

anyway, i got a question:
How long a radiator should be flushed?
2-5 years? without coolant?
3-5 years? with coolant?

This post has been edited by alex458: Feb 14 2012, 10:26 AM
tiganasfx
post Feb 14 2012, 10:57 AM

How bizzare.

This should not happen when everything is normal. Please check your radiator fan. Its either not running or running too slow.

This post has been edited by tiganasfx: Feb 14 2012, 10:59 AM
SnoWFisH
post Feb 14 2012, 11:01 AM

2,250 posts

I think you better check your radiator and coolant. My 1995 wira 1.6A go up genting also, the temp gauge nvr exceed middle line.

Unless your coolant is premix coolant, you ARE suppose to add water to mix with your coolant. Coolant alone will not be able to cool your radiator down fast enough.

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Feb 14 2012, 11:03 AM
littlefire
post Feb 14 2012, 11:04 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(alex458 @ Feb 14 2012, 11:24 AM)
Just went down and check the radiator water is draining or not. I found my water didn't drain well like last time. sad.gif  look like my radiator has some rust stuck inside.
soon going to flush the radiator.

How much will it be cost to flush radiator? @@
less than 100? blink.gif  blink.gif

Added on February 14, 2012, 10:26 am
Going to send to shop flush my radiator and see 1st. last time i serviced the people help me change the coolant alrdy and my dad accidentally add water into it.
haiz... "cant blame my dad since he didnt know i use coolant on my car"

anyway, i got a question:
How long a radiator should be flushed?
2-5 years? without coolant?
3-5 years? with coolant?
Depending on your radiator condition, if the radiator is totally rusty and beyond service.. Better buy a new 1...

If with coolent ( I only support genuine Toyota long life Coolent!), i think almost 10 years the radiator & water wont rusty also.. But is better to change the coolent & service it every 100,000km or 5 years..

Without coolant? I think almost yearly (Maybe months only!) must service... few days only the radiator will sure got rust de..
TSalex458
post Feb 14 2012, 11:10 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(JOKERACTS @ Feb 14 2012, 11:00 AM)
you are man or woman? husband or wife? married or single? chinese? Indians? Malay?, Native? Japanese? Korean?, how old are you? what is your education background?

very dangerous, someone said removing the thermostate that solve the problem, they were those doctor that did human experiment.... blink.gif
what engine lubricant you use?, petrol consumption rate?,  which petrol you use? Petronas? Shell?, Exxon?, Caltex?, BP? RON95? RON97?, TURBO charged?
cast-iron engine?  hmm.gif
Ur question too much for me to ans ~ =.=||
I only answer the related part. yala~ that's y i nvr accept that solution. removing thermostat? hell no way.
I'm using castrol lubricant and sometimes i use pennzoil lubricant. depend on my dad order which 1.
now i pump BHP 95. Normal engine only, no modification.

Added on February 14, 2012, 11:12 am
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Feb 14 2012, 11:01 AM)
I think you better check your radiator and coolant. My 1995 wira 1.6A go up genting also, the temp gauge nvr exceed middle line.

Unless your coolant is premix coolant, you ARE suppose to add water to mix with your coolant. Coolant alone will not be able to cool your radiator down fast enough.
Wow shocking.gif shocking.gif
Wira can climb up to genting? shocking.gif

ur wira are strong ~ thumbup.gif
i'm sure my car is 50/50 coolant and water. somehow i think maybe is the rust causing the prob.

This post has been edited by alex458: Feb 14 2012, 11:12 AM
SnoWFisH
post Feb 14 2012, 11:17 AM

2,250 posts

QUOTE(alex458 @ Feb 14 2012, 11:10 AM)
Ur question too much for me to ans ~ =.=||
I only answer the related part.  yala~ that's y i nvr accept that solution. removing thermostat? hell no way.
I'm using castrol lubricant and sometimes i use pennzoil lubricant. depend on my dad order which 1.
now i pump BHP 95.  Normal engine only, no modification.

Added on February 14, 2012, 11:12 am
Wow  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Wira can climb up to genting?  shocking.gif

ur wira are strong ~ thumbup.gif
i'm sure my car is 50/50 coolant and water. somehow i think maybe is the rust causing the prob.
Can ler why not....use 2nd Gear brows.gif . Oh, i'm using Petronas R95 btw, so far that's the best petrol for me.
Im using Rm40 Sharlu mineral oil sommore haha...go up without problem...at least dint get smoked by those unker in nissan taxi's tongue.gif.
Yeap check the rust, i have a feeling there must be a small crack or leak somewhere in your radiator...

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Feb 14 2012, 11:18 AM
TSalex458
post Feb 14 2012, 11:18 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 14 2012, 11:04 AM)
Depending on your radiator condition, if the radiator is totally rusty and beyond service.. Better buy a new 1...

If with coolent ( I only support genuine Toyota long life Coolent!), i think almost 10 years the radiator & water wont rusty also.. But is better to change the coolent & service it every 100,000km or 5 years..

Without coolant? I think almost yearly (Maybe months only!) must service... few days only the radiator will sure got rust de..
blink.gif
buy a new radiator ka? maybe i gonna save that money for other purpose. my wira alrdy 17 years old liao.
scare after change radiator, other thing rosak and service service again and again.

well previously my car havent run coolant before, it alrdy run with water ==||

and i was told by my dad: once water decrease or what, add water to fill it max. i think the condition for my radiator is full of rust gua.

There is a question i'm wondering.
Does the engine timing will cause the engine more hot? "i mean the RPM, sorry poor english."
and also i heard people say nissan coolant also not bad. hmm~

Added on February 14, 2012, 11:20 am
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Feb 14 2012, 11:17 AM)
Can ler why not....use 2nd Gear  brows.gif . Oh, i'm using Petronas R95 btw, so far that's the best petrol for me.
Im using Rm40 Sharlu mineral oil sommore haha...go up without problem...at least dint get smoked by those unker in nissan taxi's tongue.gif.
Yeap check the rust, i have a feeling there must be a small crack or leak somewhere in your radiator...
Hahahhaha biggrin.gif
so far i use BHP because it more quite and my engine more smooth abit. xD
if say leaking, i check my floor just now and there is no sign on leaking. except i open the radiator cap and water flow out only ~

This post has been edited by alex458: Feb 14 2012, 11:21 AM
littlefire
post Feb 14 2012, 11:26 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(alex458 @ Feb 14 2012, 12:18 PM)
blink.gif
buy a new radiator ka? maybe i gonna save that money for other purpose. my wira alrdy 17 years old liao.
scare after change radiator, other thing rosak and service service again and again.

well previously my car havent run coolant before, it alrdy run with water ==||

and i was told by my dad: once water decrease or what, add water to fill it max. i think the condition for my radiator is full of rust gua.

There is a question i'm wondering.
Does the engine timing will cause the engine more hot? "i mean the RPM, sorry poor english."
and also i heard people say nissan coolant also not bad. hmm~

Added on February 14, 2012, 11:20 am
Hahahhaha  biggrin.gif
so far i use BHP because it more quite and my engine more smooth abit. xD
if say leaking, i check my floor just now and there is no sign on leaking. except i open the radiator cap and water flow out only ~
Bro, if your radiator got stuck inside & too rusty even the radiator shop will ask you to buy new 1.. Why waste so many time servicing it, if a new local radiator cost around RM200?!? icon_idea.gif
TSalex458
post Feb 14 2012, 11:32 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 14 2012, 11:26 AM)
Bro, if your radiator got stuck inside & too rusty even the radiator shop will ask you to buy new 1.. Why waste so many time servicing it, if a new local radiator cost around RM200?!?  icon_idea.gif
Cause what can i say, that's not my car. i get it from my uncle side there and use only. well i dun wan spend too much money on it. but minor service wherever needed. brows.gif brows.gif

Assuming i change radiator, my dad sure will bla bla on me waste money fr bla bla shakehead.gif ==||
so i wan avoid it from my dad again ~ sweat.gif sweat.gif
azbro
post Feb 14 2012, 11:42 AM

4,403 posts

I phobia kena overheat...happened to my Benz...then my Vios...once car kena overheat it will never be the same again....always asking for money to repair this and that in the engine bay.

For your case, if you are wondering if its overheat or not....just send it to the SC for checking...it might be expensive, but outside shop also cut-throat. Most (not all) outside shop always say they are expert changing this and that, but eventually, you have to go there again to solve the issues and then some. So its better to send it to the SC.

For overheat issue, better treat it fast before its too late.
littlefire
post Feb 14 2012, 12:16 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(alex458 @ Feb 14 2012, 12:32 PM)
Cause what can i say, that's not my car. i get it from my uncle side there and use only. well i dun wan spend too much money on it. but minor service wherever needed.  brows.gif  brows.gif

Assuming i change radiator, my dad sure will bla bla on me waste money fr bla bla  shakehead.gif ==||
so i wan avoid it from my dad again ~  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Sometime saving it from not fixing it, only will cause the problem still happen... If ur car suddenly overheat again and stall somewhere in the middle road.. Later ur father will scole u why no fix it that time.. tongue.gif That time u sure kau lat loo... Need to skim the head & overhaul everything... sweat.gif Better go check in a reputable mechanic shop and c..
TSalex458
post Feb 14 2012, 12:29 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 14 2012, 12:16 PM)
Sometime saving it from not fixing it, only will cause the problem still happen... If ur car suddenly overheat again and stall somewhere in the middle road.. Later ur father will scole u why no fix it that time.. tongue.gif That time u sure kau lat loo... Need to skim the head & overhaul everything...  sweat.gif  Better go check in a reputable mechanic shop and c..
every time i drive, i will check temperature wherever operate at normal temperature or not."ensuring myself it all way fine" Just now go out buy thing and check the temperature whole way go and back. it stick at middle point. i guess still allrite. i guess the moment i go back hometown i let my dad go service lo sweat.gif sweat.gif

2 fans work fine. check the floor only air-cond water only. no water leak from radiator. sweat.gif
azbro
post Feb 14 2012, 10:21 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(alex458 @ Feb 14 2012, 12:29 PM)
every time i drive, i will check temperature wherever operate at normal temperature or not."ensuring myself it all way fine" Just now go out buy thing and check the temperature whole way go and back. it stick at middle point. i guess still allrite. i guess the moment i go back hometown i let my dad go service lo  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

2 fans work fine. check the floor only air-cond water only. no water leak from radiator.  sweat.gif
Car temp up is not your fault, i'm sure your dad understand.

But if car temperature overheat until breakdown the car, than that is your fault! And the damage will be so bad that you will eventually sell the car due to problematic.
TSalex458
post Feb 14 2012, 10:30 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 14 2012, 10:21 PM)
Car temp up is not your fault, i'm sure your dad understand.

But if car temperature overheat until breakdown the car, than that is your fault! And the damage will be so bad that you will eventually sell the car due to problematic.
sweat.gif sweat.gif
anyway i got a noob question to ask:
The each car got a timing right? i mean when engine running. "i dun know how to put into word, sry"
Does timing affect the temperature? blink.gif
turbocharged
post Feb 14 2012, 10:32 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(alex458 @ Feb 14 2012, 01:24 AM)
more kmh = more engine rpm = more heat. true about that.

when u in traffic jam, wind = 0 km/h, rpm= 800

when u in highway, wind=100km/h. rpm= 3000

so tell me, when is your car hotter?

answer = windspeed, not rpm. 100km/h can dissipate all the heat.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Feb 14 2012, 10:32 PM
magnate
post Feb 14 2012, 11:04 PM

89 posts

I have problem with temperature too,,,my car is kancil 850 only,,recently i notice that when my engine is cold,after warm up few minutes and start moving,my temperature will climb more than half or very near to red line,but will go back to normal after about 30 second,,,,also same problem with TS,as speed increase,my temperature also increase,,,,any idea what's the problem?
TSalex458
post Feb 15 2012, 12:43 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(magnate @ Feb 14 2012, 11:04 PM)
I have problem with temperature too,,,my car is kancil 850 only,,recently i notice that when my engine is cold,after warm up few minutes and start moving,my temperature will climb more than half or very near to red line,but will go back to normal after about 30 second,,,,also same problem with TS,as speed increase,my temperature also increase,,,,any idea what's the problem?
possible ur radiator dirty? didnt work properly. else i think u have to send your kancil go to SC and check lo.
Aquariusdenz
post Feb 15 2012, 01:09 AM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(magnate @ Feb 14 2012, 11:04 PM)
maybe fan got problem.. Mine getting hot when waiting at traffic light.. but once moving then the temperature will be less than 1/5 of the temp meter.. usually when the temp reach 2/5 of the meter.. the fan kick in.. this happen in my kancil.. as for wira got 2 fans.. gonna check my wira how it works tmr.. hahaha
TSalex458
post Feb 15 2012, 08:48 AM

48 posts

Drive to college just now and check the temperature whole way to.

Still operate at the middle point. and then when i switch off the Air-cond off. the temperature raise between level 4 and 5. that's should be normal cause only 1 fan work while air-cond off. I guess either is my radiator too dirty or other probs like: Engine too old, Timing reset, Head Gasket leak, etc etc...
magnate
post Feb 15 2012, 09:41 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(alex458 @ Feb 15 2012, 12:43 AM)
possible ur radiator dirty? didnt work properly. else i think u have to send your kancil go to SC and check lo.
i will never send back to SC,,,their service advisor have no experiance
lewmoker
post Feb 15 2012, 10:38 AM

59 posts

How bizzare.

please check your radiator fan. the temperature goes down once you start moving due to incoming air from the front grill. when you're stuck in jam or not moving, there are no air moving thus accumulated heat raise the temperature.
happen to me once. i change the fan and the problem solved.

Added on February 15, 2012, 10:50 amTS, based on my experience with my 10 years old wira, what you've experienced is engine overheating.
in the process you can see your engine getting more dirtier especially on the lower side (you might need to crouch down to see the bottom part) as the gasket starts to fail.
i have the same problem with you before when my car is around 7 years old.
i send for full overhaul. the shop takes out the engine, dissassemble everything, change what wears out and complete new gasket. put it back in and the problem solved.
total cost me RM1500 and 2 days work. that is 2009 price.

This post has been edited by lewmoker: Feb 15 2012, 10:50 AM
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 15 2012, 12:01 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I recently had the same problem...my Wira temperature slowly went up the "red mark" towards the yellow mark (but I didn't let it reach that high). For me, I noticed that everytime I exceed the 90kmph mark, the temperature slowly increases...so I was forced to drive 90kmph all the way to my destination on a 110kmph highway =.=

I checked and one side fan seemed to be running slower than the other, water was full, etc. One suspicion I had was the radiator coolant as I had been wanting to flush it for a while now but didn't coz some people told me not to touch it. When I went to the workshop, some experienced old man said it was the radiator coolant indeed. Best part is, when he removed the radiator head to clean the thing, we found heck lot of rust-dust laugh.gif it was ancient radiator coolant! Anyway it took half a day to clean, change piping and insert new coolant all for RM130.

Why don't you give it a try smile.gif
TSalex458
post Feb 15 2012, 03:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 15 2012, 12:01 PM)
I recently had the same problem...my Wira temperature slowly went up the "red mark" towards the yellow mark (but I didn't let it reach that high). For me, I noticed that everytime I exceed the 90kmph mark, the temperature slowly increases...so I was forced to drive 90kmph all the way to my destination on a 110kmph highway =.=

I checked and one side fan seemed to be running slower than the other, water was full, etc. One suspicion I had was the radiator coolant as I had been wanting to flush it for a while now but didn't coz some people told me not to touch it. When I went to the workshop, some experienced old man said it was the radiator coolant indeed. Best part is, when he removed the radiator head to clean the thing, we found heck lot of rust-dust laugh.gif it was ancient radiator coolant! Anyway it took half a day to clean, change piping and insert new coolant all for RM130.

Why don't you give it a try smile.gif
i would like to give a try flush my radiator. So total is RM130 include coolant, change piping, and also take whole radiator out for cleaning? blink.gif blink.gif

well, now i gonna make sure what's my car's problem having. then only do decision. smile.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 15 2012, 09:11 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

why don't you check first...open the cap and see if the insides look like its rusted. If it is, high chances of rust affecting your radiator. By no means you need to change the radiator...hopefully. Just need to clean it.

To be honest, at least for my case, flushing the radiator won't really fix the problem. If it doesn't make things worse...
TSalex458
post Feb 15 2012, 09:25 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 15 2012, 09:11 PM)
why don't you check first...open the cap and see if the insides look like its rusted. If it is, high chances of rust affecting your radiator. By no means you need to change the radiator...hopefully. Just need to clean it.

To be honest, at least for my case, flushing the radiator won't really fix the problem. If it doesn't make things worse...
Of cus i got open the cap and look inside. sure rust alrdy ==||. a car more than 13 years old car the radiator didnt rust is miracle. else why i asking?? ><||
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 16 2012, 01:15 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

so what you waiting for smile.gif
ericcc
post Feb 16 2012, 01:18 AM

216 posts

definitely got problem. Wira temp usually around 1/4 only. anything at half or above needs checking, as lengthily discussed above. good luck
shinjite
post Feb 16 2012, 08:32 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

If everything is checked and it still goes up, it is a faulty temp meter
Those analogue meters tend to KO overtime eventually smile.gif
littlefire
post Feb 16 2012, 09:01 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(ericcc @ Feb 16 2012, 02:18 AM)
definitely got problem. Wira temp usually around 1/4 only. anything at half or above needs checking, as lengthily discussed above. good luck
If not mistaken all wira 1.6/1.8 SOHC engine tend to be at half or lower a bit.. At first i tot my temp meter got problem also when i got the car.. Sent to 2~3 mechanic shop to check, all said normal for wira 1.6/1.8 SOHC engine, due to bigger cc engine... sweat.gif

If over half, then u should be worried...

This post has been edited by littlefire: Feb 16 2012, 09:02 AM
TSalex458
post Feb 16 2012, 10:25 AM

48 posts

Actually i remember before i change to coolant, my car operate exactly at middle. that time my car only use water and temperature operate at middle. sweat.gif sweat.gif

Since i have take better care to my car, i guess i will take action soon later. because i still need my car to go anywhere i want. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 16 2012, 11:50 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(ericcc @ Feb 16 2012, 01:18 AM)
this is not usual...
Alan
post Feb 16 2012, 07:31 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(alex458 @ Feb 16 2012, 10:25 AM)
Actually i remember before i change to coolant, my car operate exactly at middle. that time my car only use water and temperature operate at middle.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Since i have take better care to my car, i guess i will take action soon later. because i still need my car to go anywhere i want.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Sounds like the radiator is rusty... coolant has the anti corrosion property, maybe the radiator is rusty due to long term using water only.

Besides, do check the engine oil also as either the cooling system not working or your engine is generating extra heat (gasket leakage leak all the lubricant oil away...). Maybe as mentioned, the radiator fan run slower due to aged motor...
90Boyz
post Feb 17 2012, 04:09 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

Mostly was radiator causing the issue ..
Unless your radiator fan,thermostat, fan Sensor connector is spoiled then you need to replace it ..
Nowadays new radiator cost very cheap .. Get a denso brand new radiator is about rm210 ..
Mine running on it with shell oat coolant .. Serve me well even driving @ 160km/h for one hours and the radiator never raise over the middle line .
btw im driving a satria 1.3m ..
To be safe i have change the water pump, radiator hose, radiator fan motor and thermostat to assure everything working in the perfect condition ..
fensiang
post Feb 17 2012, 04:35 PM

114 posts

i found out that almost all wira car have the same problem
my wira also same
lasttime overheat until engine mati
after that found out that tangki no water,kipas rosak
cost me a lot of money to repair it

TSalex458
post Feb 22 2012, 09:39 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(fensiang @ Feb 17 2012, 04:35 PM)
i found out that almost all wira car have the same problem
my wira also same
lasttime overheat until engine mati
after that found out that tangki no water,kipas rosak
cost me a lot of money to repair it
Truly agree, all wira do facing almost same problems ~ ><
nelsonlye
post Feb 22 2012, 10:16 PM

57 posts

For Wira better get a Water Temp with warning... it safe me 2 times....

1. Noon time with very hot weather. Further more traffic jam...usually my Water Temp is below 90'c and above 86'c out of sudden the temp go up more then 90'c warning beep (90'C Warning Set). When drive fast then temp goes down. First was tot is the Radiator Fan spoil or Radiator no water. After check found out is the fuse had burn, cause the fan not running at full speed which make the temp goes up.

2. Driving at normal night time, when traffic light temp suddenly goes up. So when to check, end up found out the radiator water lesser. So refill it then no issue happen.....hoho.....

Some advise, change car collent after 3 or 4 times oil changed or even 2 times, cause coolent won't cost you much. So just get it changed when ever u feel like tongue.gif

Further more i'm using 3 layers aluminium radiator, seldom won't have temp go up.... tongue.gif so when ever temp goes up, confirm sure something's not right... so better get it check.....

- Radiator Water Level
- Spare Tank Water Level
- Air con Fan, Radiator Fan
- Thermostat
- Water Pump
fensiang
post Feb 23 2012, 10:36 AM

114 posts

for all wira owner better always check your tangki whether got water or not
lols
RootOfJesse
post May 15 2012, 05:13 PM

241 posts

I'm using 2003 iswara. Just now when i open the radiator cap, the water spill out abit.
Then the temperature in the car seems like increase a little to slightly below half. The mechanic say the water is still alot.

Is it true? hmm.gif
wemglucas3
post May 17 2012, 02:43 PM

139 posts

why i replaced a new radiator for my wira 1.5 beside the radiator cap there got stated "No coolant", and then the mechanic also advise me not to use coolant. the mechanic is my uncle actually, so he told me do not ever let others mechanic pour coolant into your radiator... lolx. so issit i got misleaded all the time ? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by wemglucas3: May 17 2012, 02:44 PM

0.0350sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:13 PM