SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V26, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

ellimist
post Feb 12 2012, 08:39 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 12 2012, 01:44 AM)
well said sifu! notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Thinking out loud je, I where got sifu blush.gif

QUOTE(markypcs @ Feb 12 2012, 02:12 AM)
Thanks for this.

I have always liked iPhone's music player, but as you said, the music player is generic stuff. The main reason I'm considering Android is because I got bored of iOS and want to try something new; friends keep telling me you can customize this and that on your Android.
What do you mean by Android being a hassle if not managed properly? I see LYN forumers rooting and flashing their Samsung Galaxy's, is that what you mean by managing?
Also, Android is becoming a bigger threat to iOS (read from an article "Android can no longer be ignored", and ICS looks very very promising.

I don't really mind if it releases in June actually, then I can actually compare iPhone 5 and S III, since I'm not in a rush (unless my 3GS suddenly breaks down). I'm still tied down to a 2-year plan (1 year left) anyway, hopefully, Vodafone will allow me to upgrade to whatever phone by the time those 2 big names are released.
Ah yea. Not just cutomizing your homescreens. If you wanna root and all, there's a whole lot more. You can customize more than just looks, if you see some of our discussions previously, we customize kernels and a forumer here (sifu sebenar smile.gif came out with custom tweaks as well, which basically customizes the very core of your phone (CPU governers, etc)

If not managed properly, in the sense Android is rather open. So individual manufacturers add stuff, then there's all sorts of apps in the market, and if not programmed properly may run in the background etc. So yeah, in a way rooting and flashing stuff helps manage these. You can of course "manage" without rooting too. Guess I'm trying to say open-sourceness of Android can be a double edged sword. So if someone just goes happy clicking on everything in market, it could backfire. e.g: battery drain from poorly programmed apps, etc
ellimist
post Feb 12 2012, 06:31 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Feb 12 2012, 06:22 PM)
Guys, i found a good deal from Jusco for sgs2 G version.
As someone who roots, messes with the kernel, use custom roms.
Would it be okay/safe to get the G version, root, and install custom kernel, and custom rom?

as i've been hearing that there's less roms, firmware, mods, for the G version than the non-G.
Yeah definitely less stuff on the G version. If your primary purpose is to mess around with it, would suggest hunting a non G version instead. Either AP or second hand SME warranty.
ellimist
post Feb 12 2012, 07:02 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Feb 12 2012, 06:43 PM)
Laptopdude, antt00, could you please write a short tutorial on how to root the non G variant?

I looked at the link and I wasn't sure which to include and not too, once again I apologize for being a total noob in this aspect of the phone as I don't even own the variant for that phone xD

I have wrote a beginning paragraph for the rooting process :

Please backup your apps using Titanium Backup as said in the previous Post before proceding to root your phone, We will be using your the CFRoot Kernel method as it is the easiest and comes with ClockWorkMod, which is an essential if you plan to flash a custom Rom or any other packages.
TB is a root app, you can't use it without root.

Alternative is using MyBackup (Pro), but that one doesn't backup app data, just the apk of the app for easy batch reinstall.
But it does allow for backup of other data like sms/mms/etc

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0333sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:07 AM