r1v3r
post Mar 19 2012, 11:46 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 19 2012, 12:26 AM)
another alternative is to stay in JB but get a Sg mobile phone number

Added on March 19, 2012, 12:28 am

that's why it's important to plan early. I just hope they would hang the prc.
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2012, 09:50 AM)
If it was me who kena bang, I wonder if my insurance would pay out. I only got 'accident' insurance which pays a measly $3k if my death was not "accidental."
"The victim is Mr Chandra Mogan, who is a Malaysian."
I took up a few policies when I first started work as full time staff with $1k+ salary. I have low pay and young but if accident happen, I am sure my parent and siblings sure suffer as their investment on me have no return. I was taking high coverage since insurance was cheaper when I was young.

Once married, we quickly buy a property with whatever we had. SG provides relatively cheap housing insurance (100% of remaining loan if something bad happen on one of us). So that's our new insurance protection/investment as we don’t pay rent anymore.

Years later, I only up my insurance coverage a little after my agent keep pushing and it stay there. When Kids arrived, they got moderate medical insurance, other than that I will stop buying more insurance. If I have more money, I will buy properties with 100% housing loan insurance (those reducing premium cost) as additional protection/investment.

Knowing how much an insurance agent earn make me think twice about buying "extra" insurance. You are better off to invest in other things.

In, SG. It is too expensive to sick/loss of income than to die. So some form of insurance is needed if you have dependant.

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 19 2012, 10:08 AM)
^ the victim family most can get S$140k
http://www.mom.gov.sg/legislation/occupati...n-act-faqs.aspx
I wish a kind laywer in SG will help the Victim to fight for more justice from Taxi company insurance and the PRC.

Sadly, my guess is this PRC will not be hanged or life-time imprison based on his status, condition and how the taxi actually hit a few object first then "loss control" and hit the victim. At most a few years jail term then deport back to China and he can say :"Big Deal cool2.gif I killed a guy in SG and they provide me a few years "hotel" stay then fly me back to China on SQ for free!"

Both party are FT and the Singaporean Taxi drver did not suffer major injury... so not much incentive for the SG gov to feed this PRC for life in their world class changi "hotel" (The living condition in Changi Prison may be better than some poor village in other country, thus the "hotel"). With criminal record, this WP holder can't work anymore so deportation is the only options. I really hope I am wrong on this.

So, only a lawyer can help the victim family to get more compensation at this stage.

Best, a Malaysian Lawyer to step forward for Chandra.

r1v3r
post Mar 20 2012, 06:21 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 20 2012, 05:19 PM)
Any of you hosted family for a couple nights before on the cheap? As in like, I need to house like 8 adults for 2 or 3 nights. Too many people to fit into my HDB, and hotel accommodation is like $200 x 4 rooms x 3 nights = $2,400 doh.gif
try People Association (PA) Pasir Ris Holiday Flat ... rental in a block of a few days. Cheap and Good + SEA View. Not to mention it is right in the Pasir Ris Park itself.

Sorry, have problem loading the image page.. just use the following link to view the Pic and rate... select "Pasir Ris Flat"

link

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Mar 20 2012, 06:26 PM
r1v3r
post Mar 22 2012, 06:18 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 22 2012, 05:32 PM)
just pull your legs only la...

that tasik is the most famous in singkapore for people jumping in. u jump i jump.... plenty of ghost there... aiyeeerrr... sei lor... pontianak... now they thinking of putting up a fence work... what a joke. They should put a shark or crocodile there. then people dare not jump in. lmao... wink.gif
There was some water sport at Bedok before a number of people "walk-in", not sure do they still continue their sport there.

A crocodile was spotted in Yishun some years ago... your pet?

r1v3r
post Mar 22 2012, 08:29 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 22 2012, 07:37 PM)
i don't get what you mean actually...they do sports in reservoir?  rclxms.gif
You never been there?

Dragon boat and kayaking.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Mar 22 2012, 08:32 PM
r1v3r
post Mar 23 2012, 10:11 AM

1,305 posts

Is your CO giving same/more bonus (on average) than last year?

mine is >1 month less.

emo friday...

r1v3r
post Mar 23 2012, 01:00 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 23 2012, 12:50 PM)
mine is kinda fixed smile.gif
there are Fix Bonus and Variable Bonus (growth bonus, PB....)

I am refering to PB, will your company actually adjust the total PB base on the industry performance of the year or strickly follow a formular based on the performance grade and salary band?

r1v3r
post Mar 23 2012, 01:34 PM

1,305 posts

I see, our AI also tied with performance grade. You must be having larger AI year after year smile.gif

AI= annual increment.

Added on March 23, 2012, 1:39 pm
QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Mar 23 2012, 01:30 PM)
mine here is "based on score on ones performance grade and salary band"!! but total $$ PB pay-out (budget) as a whole to all still based on industry performance of the year. LPPL lo
Yah, the total pay-out is much less than last year (higher than normal). Hope for good news end of the year.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Mar 23 2012, 01:39 PM
r1v3r
post Mar 23 2012, 03:43 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Mar 23 2012, 01:48 PM)
was told by HR, LCCI will do.. pay bracket 1600-2000..by the way, wat is LCCI?
1 position filled by a 21yrs 'mei mei' fr jb yesterday. 1 more vacancy available
Well done, you up the incentive for some potential candidate here smile.gif

r1v3r
post Mar 27 2012, 02:55 PM

1,305 posts

hold up the camera phone, the driver should get the idea to stop talking nonsense. Then ask for a PRINT receipt.
r1v3r
post Mar 27 2012, 03:37 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 27 2012, 03:09 PM)
Wouldn't that 'hold up camera phone' action just provoke more aggression from the taxi driver? (though in any case, the moment she's on the taxi, her options to defend herself is somewhat limited. sigh.)
doh.gif This is Singapore, you think too much. SG taxi is driven by Singaporean, if you think they are dangerous then I can't imagine what will happen to your GF in other country.

If your GF already start working here, she should know how to make good use of the phone in this situation right?

After the PRC hijack Taxi case, the taxi driver here need more protection than the passenger.

r1v3r
post Mar 28 2012, 11:37 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(ptit @ Mar 28 2012, 09:00 PM)
Hi Guys,

Lucky I found this thread, im considering moving to SG since my company have a big centre there. Internal move.

I never been to SG before so im scared kena lelong.

So I planned to move to SG with my family (wife + 1 son + 1 daughter).

Question is:

1. Which is better for family man like me, renting house in SG or JB?
2. What is the price rate for renting apartment in SG?
3. What is comfortable salary to survive in SG plus family?

Hope all sifuu here can share their experience with me..

Your kids schooling? Getting a place in nearby school is one thing, acting like a beggar to get a seat in primary school is another.

Child Care cost is around 1k per kid without subsidy. A sg car will be better but you still can bring kids to event and park with local transport, you just Need to spend more time on road or waiting.

your wife take care of the kids and cook own meal? You need >=5k to live basic for a foreigner family.

Rental 2k+, food 1k, bills 400, misc 1k+, That's it. If your company provide housing or some allowance then the cost will be lower.
r1v3r
post Mar 29 2012, 07:11 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 29 2012, 01:28 PM)
eh where got? $5k is for two ppl leh. take out the housing rental and it's $1.2k/pax/month that's hardly what I would call "luxurious" hmm.gif
5k is possible if the wife take are of kids and cook home meals. That's family life, not for couple without kids.

My life style is very different now with young kids. We have outing almost every week but it does not cost much. That's just me and my wife. We choose to spend less. We use free pass down item instead of paying $500 for a baby stroller etc.

We will move to JB by end of this year. So I expect our family expenses will be even lower.

r1v3r
post Mar 29 2012, 07:19 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Mar 29 2012, 06:36 PM)
wah so hardcore meh , 3k not enuf for karaoke ? lol
I know a guy selling beer for corperate client. Karaoke, drinking session is part of his jobs. On company account.

Pepsi drinking session? Better insure more for diabete. Kidding. smile.gif

r1v3r
post Mar 30 2012, 12:36 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Mar 29 2012, 11:02 PM)
I wanna find job in SG...anyone got lubang?
seems so difficult to find job now..zzzz
Yes, gov is discouraging new hire of foreigner fesh grad unless you have special skills in demand. You need some experience to stand a higher chance.

Just keep trying at private sector.
r1v3r
post Apr 2 2012, 03:21 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Apr 2 2012, 09:45 AM)
Hello guy and gal...I am thinking to work in Singapore in semicon engineering field. Anyone can recommand which company open any vacancy? Please PM me and thanks in advance.
What's your qulification and experience?

r1v3r
post Apr 2 2012, 04:17 PM

1,305 posts

another sad story.... If two person can't get along, just let it go and wish each other good luck finding new partner.

Sad event..... + Cheap room for rental.

"Block 633, Jurong West Street 65" just in case the editior removed this information from the news web page later.

r1v3r
post Apr 3 2012, 12:51 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(tkhoo @ Apr 3 2012, 09:24 AM)
Hi cikopek, thanks for your reply. Do you mind to PM me you wage in SGD? I don't mind to work in factory or servicing line. Thanks again.
try seach online, many opening for you to apply. This is just one example on the expected salary for >1 years of experience,

http://www.jobstreet.com.sg/jobs/2012/3/a/...970502.htm?fr=L

r1v3r
post Apr 3 2012, 06:00 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Apr 3 2012, 04:49 PM)
EDP expressway (JohorBharu) is now ALL GO for traffic !!! thumbup.gif

a) tarmac condition very very bumpy, badly done;
b) road signage very confusing;
Did they collect toll? If yes, how much?

r1v3r
post Apr 6 2012, 03:56 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 6 2012, 07:30 AM)
are you guys interested in bersih 3.0 sg?
What's the plan for singapore?
r1v3r
post Apr 9 2012, 12:47 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Apr 9 2012, 12:04 PM)
Actually, even you are fresh grad, it is still possible for you of getting hired. Its just whether the company wanna hire you or not compare with others who have better qualification. But this is somehow depend on your luck. Sometimes even you have the great qualification and skills, the company would still try to tease you or even make fun on you. I have a real scenario among my friends.

I would say go for it, special qualification or set of skills? Its quite vary. smile.gif

Does anyone get any suggestion for me to park my car in the nearest mrt in order to go to Marina Bay? I'm not familiar with Singapore road, so I'm thinking of parking my car in the nearest mrt ( not too far from marina bay ).
Yes, for lower salary comapre to local candidate. You get calls if you have the special skills or much lower cost or BOTH.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Apr 9 2012, 12:49 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:42 PM