5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Carling Cup Final - 26 Feb 11.55pm

Adryan
post Feb 1 2012, 09:31 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(blissandecstasy @ Feb 1 2012, 05:48 AM)
3 goals, 3 wins on the bounce, 3 pts. yay!
It's actually 2 wins and a draw tongue.gif We didn't beat City in the game but technically beat them over two legs!

Anyways, made up with the win. Glad Andy scored and hope we can keep this form, momentum and performance for the rest of the campaign.
Adryan
post Feb 2 2012, 08:43 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 2 2012, 08:02 AM)
Good for Rafa. He's always wanted to manage Real Madrid and now he may become a reality. Managing the 'Galaticos' may be a challenge for him though. Rafa doesn't exactly stroke egos and he micro manages his players, something the big names may not appreciate. They may find themselves a little restricted. Anyway good luck to Rafa. Hope he gets the hot seat.

On an unrelated note, Terry's trial has been pushed to 9th July after the Premiership season and more importantly after Euro. How nice. This is so that Chelsea's players will be available to testify in court. Does this mean our players have more time to spare? The FA conducted their investigation of Suarez during the season and called up players from both our team and Man Utd. Why should the court cater to the schedule of the players? If they have to appear in court, that's the end of it. What does it matter if it's during the season or not?
Don't actually think Rafa would enjoy working under that guy ... Perez, is it?

Anyways, it's just the typical FA wanting to protect an Englishman who happens to be the captain of the country. They want him to take part in the euro 2012 finals whereas we and Suarez got f*** all. Suarez was treated like a criminal and was called a racist by everyone in the world.

The FA are so showing double-standards that its unbelievable.

I still can't understand why Terry's case is on-going since October(?) when there was evidence that he racially abused Anton Ferdinand on camera and yet Suarez's decision was made sharpish even though it was based on Evra's word alone, without any evidence.

Seeing Suarez is a foreigner (fair enough he did play in Netherlands for a handful of years), he is still a foreigner to England and he only said a word common in his country but unacceptable in England, thus, making an innocent mistake, in my opinion. As for Terry, he's a born and bred Englishman and he knows the culture in England and yet his case isn't heavily looked into.

I expect nothing less than 40,000 pounds fine and 8 games ban but it should be more because of everything I've said above.

Adryan
post Feb 2 2012, 09:45 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(reehdus @ Feb 2 2012, 09:24 AM)
Aiya let's just forget it and move on la. We all feel hard done by it but all our collective moaning and complaining won't change it. He served his 8 matches. Without him we dumped out City and MU. Justice has been served smile.gif. We're not too far off 4th place and Carroll has found some rhythm (I hope). Let's keep moving!
I know but I just expect a fair treatment towards others.

Suarez got banned for that Fulham incident...

Double standards much?

This post has been edited by Adryan: Feb 2 2012, 09:45 AM
Adryan
post Feb 3 2012, 06:03 AM

23 posts

Spearing is class. He's got that hunger and passion of a Gerrard, the tackling and desire of Mascherano and a decent vision and passes like Alonso.

With Lucas out, it's vital that he starts as the anchorman in midfield.

So, do you guys think Suarez should slot straight back into the team and who goes out for him or he takes a place on the bench?

Player with his flair can't be put on the bench, IMO, but who to take out?

Thank goodness its Kenny making that decision and not me, lol.
Adryan
post Feb 7 2012, 04:11 AM

23 posts

Enrique's actually fit but has minor tightness or something.
Adryan
post Feb 7 2012, 06:20 AM

23 posts

Same old story.

Liverpool played better than the opposition and yet just can't freaking put the ball into the back of the net. This issue has cost us this season. Just turn 6 draws into wins and we'll be 12 points better off and it's not like we didn't deserve to win majority of our drawn games.

The team played well today. The tactics were not wrong. It's just the lack of good use of the ball. Crosses were poor. Finishing even more poor.

Lowest conversion ratio in the league says it all.

In like 90% of the games this season, we have looked like the best team in the country ... until we get near the opposition box. Can't score goals to save our lives.

This post has been edited by Adryan: Feb 7 2012, 06:21 AM
Adryan
post Feb 7 2012, 06:44 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(radio_head @ Feb 7 2012, 06:25 AM)
Say what? Are you developing Arsene One Eye Syndrome?

Crosses poor, finishing poorer, but the team played well? No wonder 90% of the games Liverpool played like #1 la. If playing well = back 4 passing around, Liverpool undisputed.
Are you confused with Roy Hodgson's regime?

Liverpool are around the top in the number of shots category but have the lowest conversion ratio.

They didn't deserve to draw with City, United, Norwich, Swansea, Sunderland, Wigan, Blackburn and now Spurs at Anfield. Didn't deserve to lose to Stoke and probably deserve at least a draw against Fulham. Only games where Liverpool actually played shit was Spurs and Bolton away.

Generally have fared well themselves against the top 6 teams.
Adryan
post Feb 7 2012, 06:54 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 7 2012, 06:51 AM)
This morning match against Spurs who is in 4th position, was a load of rubbish! cry.gif
The team did well enough to win but they just didn't score. Apart from that Gareth Bale one on one chance, Spurs were parking the bus in the second half.

sad.gif
Adryan
post Feb 7 2012, 07:11 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(radio_head @ Feb 7 2012, 07:02 AM)
That's Steve McMahon talk now man, Liverpool > All.

When you don't score, you don't "deserve" to win.
That's not exactly true.

Manchester United in the past have not played at times and the game approaches 90th minute. Boom, opposition scores an own goal or they suddenly win a penalty.

That's not exactly deserving, is it since they techincally have not scored?

So based on your statement, a team who parks the bus for 90 minutes and score late on, deserves to win solely because they managed a goal from one shot and the other team who managed 25 shots, had 100 corners and 80% possession, did not?

But actually, in all honesty, whether you deserve or not has nothing to with football (contradicting myself here but it's true). What matters is the scoreboard at the end of the game.

My point is, Liverpool have not been crap this season. I'm generally pleased with their performances this season but not so much with the results.
Adryan
post Feb 7 2012, 09:47 PM

23 posts

In his defense, that was a 50-50 and he was looking at a dropping ball but honestly, not many people will even attempt to kick the ball when it is dropping like that.

I personally don't think the tactics were wrong last night. It was almost spot on. We had alot of the ball. We had decent chances in the first half but it was the second half where we really started to push towards the end but could not get a goal.

There was nothing wrong with formation and tactics. Everyone did well and put their shift in but it's the lack of clinical finishing that cost us like Carroll blazing over the bar from 6 yards (i know its his right foot and all but ...) and Suarez heading at Friedel from 3 yards.

We did enough to win but 14 goals from 12 home games is pathetic for a team with title ambitions. And I've posted the picture of us being 20th(yes! bottom place) in the conversation rate table of only just below 9%.
Adryan
post Feb 7 2012, 09:59 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(seizer @ Feb 7 2012, 09:51 PM)
20th?? i tot it was 4th  ohmy.gif
xD

If we're 4th ... that means Chelsea's and Arsenal's conversion rate lower than 8.92%!!
Adryan
post Feb 7 2012, 10:08 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(EL Pistolero @ Feb 7 2012, 10:00 PM)
I didnt watch this match. Is carroll playing better and better?
I think he has been playing quite well in the last few games actually. He put his shift in last night and could have at least scored one. Also managed to win alot of aerial balls but most of the time, no one is there to receive it. However, as a striker, he's judge on his goal scoring and his all round play doesn't matter as much as the goals he has to be scoring.
Adryan
post Feb 8 2012, 07:22 AM

23 posts

So you're suggesting that Kenny is not being adventurous enough at Anfield?

I beg to differ.

I am very sure he tells them to win and score goals every game but on the pitch, it's only the players who can do that, not him in particular.

We dominate most games in terms of shots on goal and possession but we just can't score!

Spurs only best chance was the one on one between Bale and Reina and thankfully to Reina, he saved it but we had Suarez heading to Friedel from 3 yards, Andy blasting over the bar from 6 yards, Gerrard and Bellamy both hitting free kicks from 20 yards against the wall.

We're just not clinical enough. The fact that we have a 8.92% conversion ratio says that we've got probably the most shots in the league. If we had 28 goals from 50 shots, that's more than 50% but 8.92% suggests we score 8 goals from 100 shots whereas United and City get 20 goals in the same number of shots.
Adryan
post Feb 8 2012, 09:09 AM

23 posts

Good post, Duke.

And from that 11 matches you posted, we drew 7 of them. You left out Man City at home, by the way and that was 17 shots to us, and 7 shots to them and as before, another game we drew!

I, myself, feel we've been performing generally well throughout the course of the season. I've said before that we're probably one of the best teams in the country UNTIL we get near the opposition box. If I'm not wrong, I think Pepe Reina has 10 clean sheets from 24 games? The fact that we've only conceded 21 goals (just about almost a goal a game) suggests that the defence is not much of the problem seeing we've only conceded more than 2 goals in 3 occassions in the league (Spurs, Bolton and City away).

One game that I really cannot forget is the second leg of the League Cup semi final against City (2-2). We had a massive 15 shots at goal with 12 being on target and only managed 2 goals, one being a spotk kick. That's so WTF?! City on the other hand, scored 2 goals from 4 on target (6 overall).

I also think we top the league of "number of times hitting the woodwork" with 18 or something and that's almost a woodwork a game as well. Imagine if half of those were scored and at least a quarter of chances created were converted.

We could easily be sitting 3rd now.

I've been saying that the goals will come since I don't know when but I have to admit it doesn't look like it has got any better.

We need a goalscorer and we need one fast. I can't believe we never really got anyone in, even on loan when goal scoring is our major problem.

We need a forward who can finish what others have created and whom can also create opportunites for himself.

For all the skills and trickery Luis has, he's very wasteful, IMO, and I see him more of a creator and catalyst, rather than an out and out forward/goalscorer himself.

And f*** off, Rooney with the comments that Suarez should be banned. He's probably shitting in his pants because he knows Suarez is going to Old Toilet this weekend and wants him suspended for that game.

Ferguson's Army have done too much damage to Liverpool already this season (Spearing's red card, Suarez's finger gesture (that's justified, though) and his pointless 8 games ban).
Adryan
post Feb 8 2012, 09:49 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(radio_head @ Feb 8 2012, 09:17 AM)
When your striker is Andy Caroll...8.92% conversion rate, you should start secretly smiling already bro.
WUM.

The least you could do is at leasy give your support to a player who has had a difficult time. Granted Andy can contribute alot more, namely, goals but Andy hasn't been as bad as everyone has made him out to be. It's only when the team fails to win or score, he becomes the scapegoat. I personally don't feel that his style of play is suited to what Kenny wants us to play but the least you could do is cut him some slack because believe it or not, I'm quite certain the low conversion ratio is also because of Luis Suarez. I remember watching the Norwich game and he himself had 10 shots and yet failed to score.

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 8 2012, 09:21 AM)
Is right. I get the feeling that some only look at the bottom line i.e. win or lose. In the end, it does come down to the bottom line but I think it's unrealistic to see a 180 degree change and expect us to be title contenders immediately. Aside from the number of times we hit the post and the superheroes in goal, we have to consider the number of penalties we've failed to convert also.

Rooney certainly isn't the best candidate to comment is he? He got banned for 3 matches for intentionally kicking his opponent and I don't think he was in tears when he got his ban reduced. I've lost any respect I had for him after he kissed his friggin crest in front of the Everton supporters. If you read his comments in the media or even twitter, you note that he isn't exactly the sharpest tool in the shed. Like I said earlier, Martin Tyler is older than 3 LYN posters put together and has seen everything in football from when elbows and tackles from behind were allowed. Certainly makes him more credible than a foul mouthed, disloyal punk.

It is unrealistic indeed. We have to look at the bigger picture. Look where we were about 12-18 months ago. A team of zero morale and tiny bit of tension in the dressing room, IMO.

Kenny himself has brought unity, togetherness, stability and is an inspiration to the players.

I mean, I'm disappointed myself, that we've not got more points than we deserved or because we've not got the ideal results we would have liked but at least the team has very, very much improved in terms of performance. While we may not have won alot of games, the performances in alot of those games that we didn't win, we've played well but if we're always winning 1-0, I'd certainly say three points is more important than the performance.

Agree entirely about Rooney. Comments coming from a Manure player itself has vested interest, no? But since the referee has seen the incident and gave Suarez a yellow card, there's nothing the FA can do about it anymore. I didn't think it was deliberate as Luis was looking at the ball but I tell you what, if I was in that position, I wouldn't have even raised my leg! I'd either push Parker or let it bounce, lol.
Adryan
post Feb 8 2012, 06:48 PM

23 posts

Yes, statistics do not tell the real story but like Duke_Red said, they do not lie either.

I mean, I understand how a 25 yard shot off target still counts as a shot compared to a good chance from a one v one where the player doesn't even get to shoot but they at least give a good indication for the next games (but sadly, those games just end up the same).

The team is creating enough chances in majority of the games but they are just not finishing it off. This goes against what most are saying about Liverpool not playing well. They are but they just aren't winning.

Kenny must really sort this problem out because it has already cost us since October or whatever.

I know radio_head is a Manc and I can't understand why he spends more time on the Liverpool thread than the United one.
Adryan
post Feb 8 2012, 06:51 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Immunityx7 @ Feb 8 2012, 06:48 PM)
manc won all 12 home games  sad.gif
Yeah, and I think based on history, titles are won by teams who accumulate almost maximum points from all their home games.

But meh, I'd rather City win the title than United.
Adryan
post Feb 9 2012, 07:19 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 8 2012, 07:52 PM)
The statistics are indicative of one thing to me, progress. Shots on goal alone may not tell the whole story as some efforts are half chances, that I agree. However if you also take into account possession and corners, it will give you a better indication of how dominant a team was over another. I just couldn't be arsed to post all the stats. I'll post a few.

Liverpool vs Bolton
Possession : 60%-50%
Corners : 12-6

Liverpool vs Mancs
Possession : 56%-44%
Corners : 8-3

Liverpool vs Norwich
Possession : 55%-45%
Corners : 10-3

Liverpool vs Swansea
Possession : 52%-48%
Corners : 11-4

Liverpool vs Man City
Possession : 52%-48%
Corners : 8-5

Liverpool vs QPR
Possession : 62%-38%
Corners : 17-5

Liverpool vs Blackburn
Possession : 65%-35%
Corners : 9-2

Liverpool vs Newcastle
Possession 51%-49%
Corners : 7-0

Liverpool vs Stoke
Possession : 69%-31%
Corners : 11-1

I'll stop here because I think you all catch my drift. If you couple these stats with our shots on goal, I think it's clear we've dominated our opponents at Anfield. Sure we failed to convert but these stats show how well we've been playing, and is indicative of progress. Anyone remember how poorly we were playing prior to King Kenny's return? It wasn't that long ago. I've been a fan for 20 over years and I'm in no rush to win the title. I'm willing to be patient just so long as I see progress and I see a lot of it both on and off the pitch.
Very true. I know how important performances can be in football, for example, playing well and losing is a good indication of the next games, rather than playing like crap and losing because a good performance always has positives to take from. But to be honest as well, I wouldn't mind winning all our games 1-0 even if we've been dominated biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 8 2012, 08:12 PM)
No moral to be learnt, only points to be made.

1) we should keep faith in the new owners and management so long as there is progress and no one can deny we look a totally different team (in a non literal sense) than from just over a year ago. Progress happens in stages, not instantaneously, and not only on the field. We've dominated teams at Anfield, something we didnt do over a year ago = progress. We're still in both domestic cup competitions and have reached the final of one = progress. Massive sponsorship deals = progress. We aren't leaking goals anymore = progress.

2) fans should not expect us to be instant title contenders without have a warchest as big as City. Yes being in transition is something we seem to be habitually doing but for the first time, we've owners with vision. David Moores wasn't focused on expansion which probably explains how Rick Parry kept his Jon for as long as he did. Let's not even talk about Hicks and Gilette who did a whole lot of talking and not enough doing. John Henry has proven that he is quite the opposite.
Is right. We've improved a whole lot since around 18 months ago. We have to be patient and keep faith with Kenny and FSG/NESV. Granted we can be doing much better but we're improving and I think that's important as well.

We may be in transition now but right now, what the club needs is stability from top to bottom and we'll see the rewards next season or the next. Rome wasn't built in a day. Asking the team to be title contenders this season is a little far-fetched, IMO. It's not that I'm not ambitious but we just have understand and see the situation we were in before.

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Feb 8 2012, 09:59 PM)
Nice one. Although YNWA is our anthem, "Fields of Anfield Road", holds a lot of meaning and is equally important. Now that King Kenny is back, it's sung every game numerous times.

This was posted before but it's like a walk down memory lane and I think it deserves another look. Note Phil Thompson, King Kenny, Brucie and Aldo.

Here's one of the Kop in full voice.

Try to learn it lads.
I love FOAR. One of the best ever songs sung. I love it when the Kop sings it while clapping their hands. It's just amazing. Sing it in the showers sometimes, lol.

RIP, Jessie Paisley. She was as much as a legend like the late SIR Bob Paisley, the only manager to win three European Cups.

Adryan
post Feb 9 2012, 08:59 AM

23 posts

A little too convenient, don't you think?

Capello picks a captain in JT, who gets stripped off captaincy.
Now Capello "resigns".
And on the same day, Harry Redknapp is cleared of tax evasion charges!

Anyways, Kenny Dalglish stood behind Suarez during his racism case and the whole Liverpool FC and Kenny were branded racists.

Capello, assuming he complained about captaincy stripped of JT and resigns because he supports JT. Shouldn't he get some criticism as well?
Adryan
post Feb 9 2012, 10:22 PM

23 posts

I don't think anyone played badly against Spurs. Everyone put their shift in and did well. Maybe apart from Kuyt because he dilly dallies, wastes the ball and had poor touches in that game but then again, it's normal. I love Dirk alot but he just frustrates me!

And Spearing is vital for the Liverpool midfield with Lucas unavailable.

And bitebug, you shouldn't even have Torres as your signature since January 31st 2011 tongue.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:49 PM