19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V22, The Galaxy S which started it all..

TSken2291
post Feb 27 2012, 05:27 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Feb 26 2012, 08:10 PM)
Ken. the known issue on CNA 1.4.0 is as below:

Bugs/ Known Issues:
-- When booted up, Airplane Mode is on
--Reboot > equal to Reboot into Recovery
--External Sdcard is unreadable (not confirm)
-- Cant change 2G/3G Connection (Not Even using *#*#4636#*#*)
--Signals are not shown properly

does that means i have to use 3g all the way?

thx
hmm, I never switch.. Any reason to switch? laugh.gif

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Feb 27 2012, 09:25 AM)
1 more thing. can we turn off the focus and camera shutter sound? its annoying. lol. Just realized that so far there is no camera hack for ics (according to the icssgs thread). there is very little option in this ics camera. prefer samsung one
Just switch off media sound in settings smile.gif

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Feb 27 2012, 01:29 PM)
getting bored with Stock XXJVU ROM with Semaphore... laugh.gif

any recommended stable ROM at the moment??
ICS

Added on February 27, 2012, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Feb 27 2012, 03:03 PM)
but the ICS build is all still beta... hence im sticking to GB at the moment...

just finish flashing Miui Mintberry... biggrin.gif

lets see how long would it hold me back from flashing another ROM~ laugh.gif
Though with the beta tag.. I see it stable tongue.gif

QUOTE(gaarared @ Feb 27 2012, 04:11 PM)
Wanna ask sifu here, I want to help my friend flash his SGS from eclair, can I straight flash through ODIN to JVU? or I need to upgrade to froyo first?
Yup, flash straight

This post has been edited by ken2291: Feb 27 2012, 05:29 PM
TSken2291
post Feb 28 2012, 09:04 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Feb 28 2012, 01:48 AM)
@Harddisk
all ur 3 device now with ICS? nice one happy.gif
btw.. something weird there with ur sig "SGS GT-I9250".. should be SGN/SGNex? biggrin.gif
Looks like someone has a SGNex here tongue.gif
TSken2291
post Mar 4 2012, 07:16 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Mar 4 2012, 04:53 PM)
I finally flashed to ICSSGS RC4.2.
Still need a little bit of time to get used to it.
Overall it nice.

There's one question.
How do I switch off the vibration when I unlock the phone?
I don't like vibrations... sweat.gif
that can't be disabled if I'm not wrong.. correct me in case I am biggrin.gif
TSken2291
post Mar 5 2012, 12:21 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(samsungXP @ Mar 4 2012, 10:09 PM)
so many ics rom but dunno which to choose?all need to flash back to stock rom b4 flashing?wat the quadrant score?
not needed, but recommended too if you don't want any problems later. it's considered quite fast and stable dy. Just look at feedbacks from fellow SGS users here smile.gif
TSken2291
post Mar 5 2012, 09:51 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(samsungXP @ Mar 5 2012, 06:56 AM)
so on gamerzrom need flash back to stock rom or juz do factory reset b4 flashing ics rom
1. Stock XXJVU [Odin]
2. Custom kernel to root (CF-Root / Semaphore, etc) [Odin]
3. Factory reset, wipe cache, dalvik wipe [CWM]
4. ICS [CWM]
5. After booting into ICS, go back to CWM again to flash Semaphore (ICS version) if the rom you're running is not using ICS Semaphore
6. Profit!!

P/S: In case you got stucked at the bootscreen after flashing ICS, try factory reset or reflashing again.

QUOTE(jenwai @ Mar 5 2012, 07:08 AM)
Gosh... cry.gif

What about Viber?
When I'm chatting, it also vibrate.
Haiz...  sad.gif
Sorry, didn't use Viber laugh.gif
TSken2291
post Mar 7 2012, 11:15 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Mar 7 2012, 09:45 PM)
well, recently i found an app call"sgs touch screen booster". i dont know whether it helps but the comments are good. you may try.
isn't the sensitivity related to the OS itself??

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 7 2012, 10:46 PM)
erm nope.. sorry.. i'm using the stock launcher.. smile.gif
do u experience the launcher reloading too?

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 7 2012, 11:15 PM
TSken2291
post Mar 8 2012, 10:55 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 8 2012, 04:33 AM)
in Semaphore kernel manager also got the option for Touchscreen sensitivity..
but i nvr used it b4 since i've no prob with the stock one..
so far no.. it will happen?
I think it's suppose to do with the way the OS reacts to our touch, since iOS focuses all on the touch thingy.. biggrin.gif
yeah, sometimes after running heavy applications then the launcher will reload constantly after that
TSken2291
post Mar 9 2012, 10:29 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 8 2012, 11:08 AM)
well so far i didn't face any kind of that yet.. still using my phone as usual.. fb, 4square, whatsapp, browsing (stock browser), XDA using it own app, Goal.com app, ESPN app, Malaysian News.. this is what i always do everyday..

but since using ICS.. i never play heavy game yet.. only play angry bird (still lol), cartoon wars, heaven hell, reckless racing HD, reversi free, train crisis HD, zenonia4.. but usually i'll play around 2 games only in a day..

i'll let u know if i face the same problem as yours.. btw.. maybe u can try Nova Launcher? heard that the launcher quite good and smooth.. and it's for ICS only.. i nvr tried yet la since i'm happy with the stock one..
Thanks! Maybe I have too many apps with me laugh.gif

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 9 2012, 02:32 AM)
i'm on ics.. icssgs rom.. but i play PES 2012 w/o any lag.. dunno la if modern combat 3 a bit heavy than PES or not..
Modern Combat 3 is heavier I believe
TSken2291
post Mar 10 2012, 02:16 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(disasternero @ Mar 9 2012, 02:57 PM)
ken 2291 how codename rom..??is it excellent..??bcoz i saw dat it hav more function then icssgs...
The best rom I've ever used since I bought my SGS smile.gif so far so good, no probs for me

The issues for the one I used are below:
--When booted up, Airplane Mode is on
--Reboot > equal to Reboot into Recovery
--External Sdcard is unreadable (not confirm)
--Cant change 2G/3G Connection (Not Even using *#*#4636#*#*)
--Signals are not shown properly

But they don't matter to me laugh.gif and probably some should be fixed by now.

btw I'm using the unofficial port, now there's the official one
http://codenameandroid.com/cna-1-5-0-add-m...nightly-builds/
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1533151

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 10 2012, 05:53 PM
TSken2291
post Mar 10 2012, 11:39 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(disasternero @ Mar 10 2012, 09:30 PM)
Will give it try n try to compare with icssgs..
do u already try icssgs..?
tried ICSSGS long looonngggg time ago, so can't compare biggrin.gif

oh ya, forgot to mention, the usb transfer speed on CNA is slow as hell, need to mount usb in CWM to transfer.
nt sure whether it's fixed in the official build

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 10 2012, 11:46 PM
TSken2291
post Mar 11 2012, 07:17 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(mar90 @ Mar 11 2012, 12:31 AM)
since i tried ics, i felt too much hassle to go back to gingerbread and ics again. now sticking to ics. seems much stable now. using aokp milestone 4 biggrin.gif
Is Viber working? how about the battery drain? smile.gif these seem to be the issues

QUOTE(2kia @ Mar 11 2012, 02:00 AM)
what app do u guys use to back up n restore all the other apps when changing ROM? is titanium backup working well esp if flash from a gb ROM to an ics wan?
It's like how gaarared said, but try not to restore apps' data as well

Added on March 11, 2012, 2:02 pmAny one tried this?
[SCRIPT][Tweaks]LagFreeV1.2 Fixed Errors
It claims "lag-free" hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 11 2012, 02:02 PM
TSken2291
post Mar 11 2012, 06:26 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 11 2012, 02:15 PM)
me also waiting for some1 feedback on this :-D
I'm waiting for ur feedback tongue.gif
TSken2291
post Mar 12 2012, 12:06 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 11 2012, 09:44 PM)
haha.. but i seldom play with script what.. even the thunderbolt script i nvr use yet :-D

btw.. i got a question.. this evening i accidentally press what i dunno la.. then a "voice command" app appear.. dunno what the exact name of the app.. we can command to send msg, search, map, open app etc using voice.. almost same like vlingo..

wonder what app izzit ha? how to get it back? :-D
Me too, din use Thunderbolt for ICS yet laugh.gif but gonna try soon

That's Google Voice Action I believe.
Do you have a persistent google search bar on top of ur screen? if you do, just press the microphone icon.
What launcher are u using? If you're using Nova launcher, there should be a microphone shortcut in your dock if you didn't remove it

Voice Action Command

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 12 2012, 12:08 AM
TSken2291
post Mar 12 2012, 11:04 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(mar90 @ Mar 12 2012, 12:51 AM)
viber probably not working but im using Line app by Naver. same function and working well. battery life on my phone never varies much no matter what rom i used.be it gb or ics. because the main battery drain is the display and the data(3g)  blush.gif
Thanks for the feedback. They said it's working on build 27 I think..

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 12 2012, 05:26 AM)
oh ya correct la.. actually i've try to press back the microphone icon on google search bar.. but it not the same.. now i get it, maybe 1st time open it'll show the tutorial la.. hehe.. btw.. im using stock launcher..
Yeah, it's quite accurate, more than Siri I think smile.gif

QUOTE(gaarared @ Mar 12 2012, 09:38 AM)
Same with me, I think no matter what ROM my battery drain still same, but I like ICS because no more wifi batt drain bug, I dont know why I cannot rid of this wifi batt bug in any GB rom I flash, I mean Samsung base rom, I never tried MIUI or CM7.
Did you change your router's DHCP settings? the lease time shouldn't be forever.
ICS's cool, since the battery drain is quite like normal, won't go back to GB dy biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 12 2012, 11:04 AM
TSken2291
post Mar 12 2012, 06:35 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Mar 12 2012, 04:37 PM)
is Thunderbolt compatible with Mintberry?
Mintberry comes with Thunderbolt! preinstalled smile.gif

QUOTE(normeck @ Mar 12 2012, 04:52 PM)
i dont even know how to used thunderbolt...
You must try if you never use it!

QUOTE(pikachu01)
Instructions from Thunderbolt!

1. Copy the CWM zip and all the addons you need to your internal sdcard
2. Mount /system in CWM (IMPORTANT!) (When mounted, it will show "unmount /system" for example. This means that an unmounted partition will show a "mount /system" for the /system partition)
3. Install using CWM all the CWM zips without needing a reboot in between
4. Wait for bootup
5. Open up Script Manager and launch /etc/bolt_scripts/remount[device] (e.g. remounti9000) as Root (The skull icon) and as Boot (The wheel icon).
6. Open up Script Manager and launch /etc/bolt_scripts/sqlite_optimize as Root (The skull icon). This script can be used arbitrarily at anytime that you want. Don't load it as boot or copy it to init.d though, it'll significantly slow down your boot up as the script is a very long running script.
7. Open up Script Manager and launch /etc/bolt_scripts/s70darky_zipalign as Root (The skull icon). This script can be used arbitrarily at anytime that you want. You can copy it to init.d and setting its permission to rwx-rwx-rwx. I moved it to bolt_scripts so that first boot for some people won't be slowed down.
8. ????
9. PROFIT
TSken2291
post Mar 13 2012, 11:35 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 13 2012, 04:09 AM)
eh.. dont be so sad la.. im usually use what is given by the rom itself.. nvr mod this n that.. except kernel.. i only change kernel if i feel the one come with rom not really good..

maybe 1 day i'll give a try also la.. cheers :-D
I've tried the lagfree tweaks. There're changes but quite minimal wink.gif

Now I've changed rom to the one in my sig. You guys should really try that, it's definitely fast!

And use Nova launcher too, it's smoother than Apex launcher, try the scrolling in widgets and you'll know smile.gif
TSken2291
post Mar 13 2012, 11:51 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(disasternero @ Mar 13 2012, 11:47 AM)
comparison with icssgs and codename how about it..??
pro and cons..
thx in advance..
Din try ICSSGS recently so can't comment on it. It is definitely faster than Codename.
Codename has more customisations built in where as my current rom is AOSP
TSken2291
post Mar 13 2012, 12:32 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(disasternero @ Mar 13 2012, 12:28 PM)
dis AOSP rom can compatible with semaphore kernel or not..??
Yes, but u have to read the first page on the thread to see how to change kernel (only specifically for this rom)
TSken2291
post Mar 13 2012, 07:24 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Mar 13 2012, 06:44 PM)
hey ken, saw you using AOSP beta right? how is it? was thinking to change. any bugs? hehe.
superb.. no bugs so far for me with Nova launcher. It's really snappy ohmy.gif
you'll have to switch off airplane mode when u reboot, and the signal bars are always full, but no biggie smile.gif

This post has been edited by ken2291: Mar 13 2012, 07:25 PM
TSken2291
post Mar 13 2012, 10:00 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(disasternero @ Mar 13 2012, 09:36 PM)
Really feel like want to test it..but afraid i dont like it..feel to lazy to flash back to current rom if dont like it hahaha..
what's your current rom?

19 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:40 PM