Dreamworks
post Feb 28 2012, 11:54 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Feb 28 2012, 11:46 PM)
sorry, no idea  smile.gif

i am nex 3 user  nod.gif
ya, someone bbought a konica hexanon, but i bought MD 50mm f1.7 nod.gif

permanent model? then i open class for wild owl shooting, with entrance fee  tongue.gif

want to join ? rclxms.gif
How much did you pay for the Minolta? The down side I've just noticed about buying old Konica mounts is that... There are not many choices of mf lens, so my Konica-NEX adapter is like bought specially just for this one doh.gif Nah, I wanna pet the owl laugh.gif
Dreamworks
post Feb 29 2012, 12:26 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Feb 29 2012, 12:20 AM)
but i really cant tahan the weight and size of old lens ( for those tele zoom), its terrible  doh.gif
New tele-zooms also not that light wat tongue.gif Unless you're talking about those mirror type or compact type which usually can't compete in term of optical performance.

Added on February 29, 2012, 12:30 am rclxub.gif ... How come my previous post kena overwrite doh.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Feb 29 2012, 12:30 AM
Dreamworks
post Feb 29 2012, 07:57 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Feb 29 2012, 12:08 AM)
haha! nice to here someone else is getting Konica Hexanon lens too!
here I think mainly is me to play on Konica Hexanon lenses, because it is not common mount.
Same like u, I opt for Konica Hexanon for its affordable price and quite a good reputable sharp prime lenses.
The most reputable one is 57mm F1.2, but the price is too high and very rare! (not to mentionthe M-Hexanon 50mm F1.2 for Leica M mount which is super over price!)

So i go for 50mm F1.4 (F16 early version) which someone said it is the cheaper successor for 57/1.2 with the same 7 elements in 6 groups design.
It is still rare compare to 50mm F1.7. Now the 50/1.4 is always with my camera beside the SEL18200.
Now I have collected for Konica Hexanon: 40/1.8, 50/1.4 (early), 57/1.4 (white ring), 50/1.7 (early F16), 50/1.7(late F22), 28/3.5 (early), 135/3.5(early), 135/3.5(late), 80-200mm F4.5 (late compact zoom).

All bid from Ebay, some are come in package. it is quite a gambling to bid from ebay, especially worry on getting defected items or worst missing parcel!
I think i have enough Konica Hexanon unless can get good deal on the UC version!
My next target will be the Voigtlander or Zeiss, but i think i need to sell off most of the lenses to fund it!
You sure have a very huge collection of Konicas, struck by LBA? laugh.gif And I assume the 135mm f3.5 is good, coz you even bought 2! I'm still missing a macro atm, have anything in mind to recommend? A few sites did mention Konica Macro-Hexanon AR 55mm f3.5, but working distance seems rather near which may not be appropriate in some cases.

As for missing parcel, so far I haven't experience any even with the cheap First Class Mail. For more expensive and fragile items, I'll opt for Priority Mail which is faster and trackable.

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Feb 29 2012, 12:10 AM)
what a collection

Added on February 29, 2012, 12:11 am
all lens i bought from ebay are super cheap... good luck of me

MD 50mm f1.7 is around RM100 include postage...
RM100 is a pretty good price, especially including postage. Haiz, guess my timing not right... Always got "rivals" rebut-rebut with me.

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 29 2012, 03:35 PM)
Yesterday testing wth Rokkor MC 50mm F1.4 .yeah that model on my bed for sure haha

ISO kinda high lor, ady can see some minor noise tongue.gif
Dreamworks
post Feb 29 2012, 10:09 PM

2,141 posts

More like a microscope, to get 5x magnification have to be 11m from subject... Strictly for static objects sweat.gif Aperture f11 to f32, did not seem to mention focal length in review hmm.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 14 2012, 10:41 PM

2,141 posts

Hi guys, I'm back tongue.gif Was MIA due to heavy/hectic work...

This came in last week:

And inside:

Well, the last few items actually just came in today, and for a cheap made-in-china product... The adapter's quality turned out to be way better than I expected laugh.gif

Of course, a few test shots with the aperture wide open. Dang! This thing is freaking heavy rclxub.gif

Dreamworks
post Mar 15 2012, 07:18 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Mar 15 2012, 12:09 AM)
nice!!! welcome to join the Konica Hexanon camp!!  thumbup.gif

where did u order the 50/1.7 and Fotga adapter?
Is it all from the same seller?
Both via eBay biggrin.gif 50/1.7 from procamera and FOTGA adapter from dslrbaby, the adapter also came with a hard/solid screen protector which I could not use... 5N touch screen laugh.gif Still hunting for other Hexanons, or maybe Hexars since they are quite a lot cheaper.

Also ordered another Canon FD to NEX adapter yesterday, same brand same seller, just won the bid for a Canon 70-210/4 under RM200 including USPS Priority shipping fees (~4x item cost doh.gif )

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 15 2012, 07:19 AM
Dreamworks
post Mar 16 2012, 12:04 AM

2,141 posts

Another pic with the same Hexanon AR lens, this time 1-stop down. A bit underexposed sleep.gif

QUOTE(andell @ Mar 15 2012, 02:09 PM)
drool.gif
When I saw ur Pan cake + Adapter... I already very excited ade.... But it is not an easy find rite?

Can PM me how much is the remote control? I need it fast....  Thanks...
I assume this was directed at me laugh.gif On the contrary, the 50/1.7 Haxanons are not quite as hard to find as Konica made a lot of them, the only question is how much. Some people charge a premium since they know it's good, I manged to get mine for a reasonable price I think...

As for the remote, maybe RM5 excluding postage tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 16 2012, 12:04 AM
Dreamworks
post Mar 29 2012, 11:26 PM

2,141 posts

Received my Canon FD lens last Monday including a FOTGA FD-NEX adapter, built quality is as decent as the Konica-NEX one I bought last time thumbup.gif

Still feel kinda awkward handling this type of lens with just a single barrel for zooming and focusing sweat.gif

My dog is messy, no? tongue.gif With his Favorite ball.

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 29 2012, 11:28 PM
Dreamworks
post Mar 30 2012, 09:17 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 30 2012, 07:01 AM)
Hmnn since Canon FD lens is an AF lens, how you control the aperture blades? If I'm not mistaken, there is no aperture ring?

Added on March 30, 2012, 7:34 amOpsss.. after googling, FD = Manual soli haha
Hehe, correct. FD is manual... I got mine for a good price actually, a few days ago the same lens ended @ USD75+, but mine was <USD20 tongue.gif

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Mar 30 2012, 09:07 AM)
I think only Metabones EF to E mount adapter is the only adapter that can allow NEX to control the aperture. AF is lost tho.
Unless you already have a collection of Nikkors, I don't think an adapter of such cost is worth it sweat.gif Can already get an E-mount lens for that price.
Dreamworks
post Mar 30 2012, 11:12 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Mar 30 2012, 09:55 AM)
That adapter was for canon ef mount btw. Anyway you are right. unless you have a collection of usm lenses to use, no point getting one...
oops.gif Sorry, didn't read properly... Or perhaps I was looking at Nikkors in another tab that time, my mind somehow tercampur >"<

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 30 2012, 10:17 AM)
shot using SEL1855

and for the main course

Where you get the black SEL1855? Looks so much better than silver dry.gif Or did it come with NEX-7? Even then, not all NEX-7 gets a black kit lens.

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 30 2012, 10:47 AM)
Good comparison shots there.. Since its' hv been resized, can't really compare the sharpness between 18-55 and this 50-F1.8 lenses.. Wondering this 50-F1.8 focused zone not as sharp/focused as 18-55?

Reason being.. my minolta 50-F1.4 MF although I loved the bokegness but the ceter focusing point abit soft & not as sharp as the kit lens
Try increasing f-stop to 1.7 or 2.0, not that many lenses in this price range perform well wide open laugh.gif
Dreamworks
post Apr 1 2012, 11:27 PM

2,141 posts

An unexpected visitor in my house, and this guy is huge (I think it's a guy tongue.gif )

by Canon FD 70-210mm f4, I kinda like this lens biggrin.gif
Dreamworks
post Apr 2 2012, 10:17 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(hanz079 @ Apr 2 2012, 09:57 PM)
Looking for an affordable 18-200 zoom lems for the nex5.
Besides Sony's own and Tamron, is there any others?
And where can you get the best deal?
Someone point me to the right direction please?
For native E-mount lenses, that's the only 2. Both priced above RM2k with Sony being more expensive...
Dreamworks
post Apr 9 2012, 10:47 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(clearcase @ Apr 9 2012, 06:50 PM)
selling yours? i just bought the f1.7 version.. end up using it as my primary lens  laugh.gif
Nice, another Hexanon is in da house laugh.gif The f1.7 is actually the sharpest of the bunch, I also like the colours... Reasonably priced too.

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 9 2012, 09:21 PM)
I tried but you need a steady and non moveable items rather than human bcos manual focus lens is super slow..by the time you get the focus, your moving object already 0.1km away haha.

Added on April 9, 2012, 9:30 pm

My lens mentioned earlier.  smile.gif . To use manual focus lens you must 1st "Enable" release w/out lens option in the setting so that NEX can detect or able to accept the manual lens. Thereafter get an adapter as another guy said. and thereafter..just set the option to either "A" or "M". I prefer A so that the NEX can automatically set the ISO & shutter speed. "M" really need skill and most of the time I failed using 100% manual haha  blush.gif
Your MF skill not bad wat with the dog, I can hardly get mine to stay still. Baru press the MF Assist button and he ady lari to some corner dry.gif As for M mode, you can get a rough results of your current settings thanks to LiveView. I actually prefer this as I get to pick my ISO (don't want the camera using high noisy values) and my shutter speed (subject is slow or fast we know, but camera don't) based on my aperture size. But A mode comes in handy when there is no time to make adjustments, like hanging out with friends, they wouldn't wait tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Apr 9 2012, 10:47 PM
Dreamworks
post Apr 10 2012, 07:21 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Apr 10 2012, 01:21 AM)
where got US410,000 that high? the bhphoto only selling USD10995!!! rclxub.gif
hahaha.. i wish i will be that loaded to go for the noctilux!  drool.gif
btw, there is no point to go up to f0.95. the DOF is too shallow. even for f1.4 sometime hard to get the subject fully covered if get too close.

actually for past year of search online, i found that Konica Hexanon is the best price/performance lens.
the lens are very sharp especially 50/1.7, where 50/1.4 have better bokeh. 57/1.4 slightly less sharp than 1.7 and 1.4 but the old lens colour rendition and bokeh is very nice.
those older Hexanon '70 and before have some kind of characteristic while maintain some high quality close towards Zeiss and even Leica.
Konica produced nice Hexanon lenses with highest quality at that era, with their own optical formula.
however, the hexanon are not that popular like Nikon and Canon, as their lens have shallower registered length than those lenses. So only a few camera can fit the AR mount, end up only Konica camera users.  doh.gif
Of course they have higher range for Leica rangefinder, the ultimate M-Hexanon range!!! drool.gif 
But now with Sony NEX and MFT camera, now we can enjoy this cheap but good quality lenses!!! rclxms.gif
If you live in US, you might get it at very cheap price depends on your luck!!!
Here we have limited source for Hexanon, and the US shipping is really not pocket friendly!! rclxub.gif
My advise for ebay bidder, you must avoid shipping with USPS First Class mail at all!! it is just normal airmail without tracking number and not registered. you end up missing in the hand of local post office!!! mad.gif
Priority mail is better and Express mail is the best for tracking, and both will be handled here by poslaju EMS.

now the reason i want to let go most of my Hexanon not because it is not good, but I prefer to have my NEX in more compact size. Hence I go for Leica M mount lens which is the lens is very compact as well as thin adapter,  and it seems they fit the NEX body better than the SEL lenses! thumbup.gif
I still couldn't afford the Leica M lenses which more than RM3k. So first I got the Voigtlander 28mm F2.0 which have very good review from http://www.kenrockwell.com/voigtlander/28mm-f2.htm!

The Hexanon master has spoken haha... I still only have 1 atm, the price for the rest (especially macro and f1.4) all ended up in high prices. How much for the Voigt? Looks sophisticated thumbup.gif
Dreamworks
post Apr 10 2012, 10:56 PM

2,141 posts

Any good Hexas in the 30mm focal range? 50mm doesn't really suit my shooting style laugh.gif The 30mm Sigma E-mount crossed my mind, but the speed isn't exactly that much faster than the kit lens.

2K for a Voigt... I think I'll be staying away from it until I get a promotion or a major pay raise tongue.gif
Dreamworks
post Apr 10 2012, 11:14 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(shukrie @ Apr 10 2012, 11:11 PM)
my 2nd photo on the flickr explore

This is simply stunning! thumbup.gif HDR?
Dreamworks
post Apr 11 2012, 10:19 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 11 2012, 09:03 AM)
I read some review comparing 30mm & 50mm at the same aperture of let say F1.4, the 30mm will produced a softer but not so sharp focused image compare to the 50mm lens wor
Maybe because 50mm the subject will be bigger than say 30mm? I'm no optical engineer so I have no idea. Or is the reviewer talking about the same lens but at different focal length? hmm.gif

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Apr 11 2012, 04:00 PM)
yes true, i feel also 30mm is better for everyday shoot. and 28mm is even more close to my eyes view angle!
there is no 30mm Hexanon. But I have 28mm F3.5.
I wish i have the UC Hexanon 28mm f1.8, but it is rare and now very high price to bid! doh.gif
There are 35mm f2 but very rare, maybe you can try to get 35mm F2.8. Hexanon 35mm f2.8
or else try the pancake 40mm 1.8.  thumbup.gif
f3.5 too slow for my liking, f2.8 is same with 30mm Sigma E-mount tongue.gif f2 should be good enough, but the UC Hexanon you mentioned sounds perfect... 28mm (right focal length) and f1.8 (decent speed). I guess the same basic rule applies here: you get what you paid for and good things don't come cheap laugh.gif

Added on April 11, 2012, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(sthon @ Apr 11 2012, 09:50 PM)

I'm using a cheap RM10 screen protector (brand is KEEP or something like that), it serves to protect the screen but also reflects like hell. Very hard to see what's actually on the LCD under broad daylight, so I suggest you avoid overly cheap ones.

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Apr 11 2012, 10:28 PM
Dreamworks
post Apr 11 2012, 11:22 PM

2,141 posts

The are people in forums who claim the 16mm is in shortage atm (while those with stock are charging higher prices), which might explain the lack of stock for 5ND package.

16mm is wide angle, but really not that much wider laugh.gif
Dreamworks
post Apr 13 2012, 10:31 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Kazz123 @ Apr 12 2012, 11:54 PM)
anyone experiencing high temperature warning on C3 after long period of video? let say, 2 times 29.50mm~~~ icon_question.gif
Don't worry, it's normal but try not to do it too often. You've managed to hit 29minutes which is already quite good ady, my 5N I think 20minutes++ laugh.gif

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Apr 13 2012, 06:26 AM)
I think overheating during video mode is pretty common in NEX. I got this on my 5N after 15min of shooting. I heard lifting the screen can help reduce it.
Not just NEX but pretty much every DSLR our there due to the large sensor size...
Dreamworks
post Apr 15 2012, 05:43 PM

2,141 posts

First time playing with Toy Camera picture effect, kinda like the look/feel biggrin.gif
DSC02373 by pixeltailz, on Flickr

p/s: My initial funding for SEL50F18 went to ▲ Now restart from zero sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Apr 15 2012, 05:47 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0303sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:45 AM