Selamat Hari Raya to muslim brothers & sisters! Maaf Zahir Batin if I've said anything wrong or offensive here.
This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Aug 16 2012, 01:10 PM
The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V3
Aug 16 2012, 08:47 AM
548 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Mars |
So nice!
Selamat Hari Raya to muslim brothers & sisters! Maaf Zahir Batin if I've said anything wrong or offensive here. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Aug 16 2012, 01:10 PM |
Aug 17 2012, 02:56 PM
i don't know about the photos man, but i really like where you've been traveling!!!
Sep 4 2012, 10:11 AM
Speaking of batteries, I'm thinking to get this from ebay to try. Anyone used or bought from this seller fotocola before? Great deal below USD10.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Decoded-NP-FW50-ba...=item27c8b43fcc |
Sep 4 2012, 02:11 PM
Anyone interested in an EOS-NEX adapter?
Never tried with EFS lens but vignetting might occur as EFS is for 1.6x crop and Sony NEX is 1.5x crop... http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2495450 This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 4 2012, 02:12 PM |
Sep 12 2012, 07:46 PM
Sep 15 2012, 12:12 AM
Agreed with this - one of the cheapest way. Canon EF 50mm F1.8 is around RM290 new, and I also have an EOS-NEX adapter for sale for anyone interested. Have tried it and with the peaking level it's easy to focus.
However, one big big drawback is you can't control the aperture so you're basically shooting wide open all the time at F1.8 There is another type of EOS-NEX adapter (I think >RM100) where they include a 'fake' aperture, so you can turn that to control the aperture but it's not the same as the one in the lens. Another way is to go for even older Canon FD lens, I think sevenor is selling, and you can then play with aperture and focus. And agreed also with the final point, if $ no concern go for SEL50F18 QUOTE(mucha_wan @ Sep 14 2012, 11:24 PM) If u wanna go for cheap, go get the Canon 50mm f1.8 (price around RM250-300) and Canon to e-mount adapter (I saw someone sell it here last time around RM230) but got no autofocus la I've been using these setup since I bought my NEX5 - some sample photos U have to set the peaking level so u'll know which object is focused on But if u dont mind to spend some greenbacks (roughly RM1k more or less) just go get the sel50f18 as pointed by lwliam |
Sep 15 2012, 02:42 PM
I bought one from ebay fotocola seller. Less than rm40. Tested no prob 61% remain still can shoot 60 mins of video (29x2). It weighs lesser than ori though. Ori is 60gm this is only 40gm haha... And i don't really dare charge it unattended dont know will catch fire or not you know lah china made stuff.
But it's good enough as backup, if ori batt flat, charge that and use this temporarily. QUOTE(weikoon @ Sep 15 2012, 11:54 AM) |
Sep 15 2012, 10:34 PM
Goto ebay.com search for "5n battery decoded" , seller is fotocola.
So far ok for me,but i don't know anything more about this seller. First time buying something from him/her. Do your own research and buy at own caution. I think someone else is also selling nex batteries here in lowyat, do a search and look for that. QUOTE(weikoon @ Sep 15 2012, 03:17 PM) |
Sep 20 2012, 05:31 PM
Just to share with NEX users, esp those interested in manual lens - I just got an
I just tried it and focusing is easy with focus peaking mode and continuous drive mode (shoot non stop while minor adjustment of focus ring). Managed to get very nice sharp photos, and so much better than the SEL1855 Obviously though, if you are willing to go for the SEL50F18, I think that's best with autofocus and nicer bokeh (this Canon FD is 5 blade aperture, but still very nice!!). Just thought of sharing this info - sevenor is extremely helpful and very patient in explaining the manual lens concept, and doing test shots. This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 20 2012, 05:32 PM |
Sep 21 2012, 12:08 PM
Price listed in his sales thread.
Sample photo - took some of people and looks much better than kit lens but don't want to share publicly. Here are 2 test shots, still need to get used to the manual focus... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(tplcaik @ Sep 21 2012, 12:08 AM) This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 21 2012, 12:12 PM |
Sep 21 2012, 06:31 PM
Yeah peaking works, but I find it very hard to keep it steady and focus and shoot at the same time.
So I've configured drive mode to be continuous shutter priority mode, then basically I let the shutter rip and take 10-20 shots while adjusting focus slightly. Then take sharpest/best out of these lot. LOL! What a way to take photos!!! I will surely draw a lot of attention to myself considering the NEX shutter is not exactly the quiet type QUOTE(tplcaik @ Sep 21 2012, 06:23 PM) |
Sep 25 2012, 09:28 AM
william really sifu!!!
to geek8585, here are two fantastic tutorials on rule of thirds. it's something which is all over in nature, God's creation and masterpiece. and also if you studied mathematics, then this is related to fibonacci's number. just amazing. http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials...e-of-thirds.htm http://digital-photography-school.com/divi...rds-on-steroids QUOTE(geek8585 @ Sep 25 2012, 09:03 AM) |
Sep 26 2012, 05:40 PM
RM3.52 here....
http://www.ebay.com/itm/high-quality-67mm-...=item19d506f12c QUOTE(cokehau @ Sep 26 2012, 05:30 PM) |
Sep 28 2012, 12:38 PM
i just got a 32GB Sandisk SDHC Class 4 for less than RM70! super cheap
Sep 28 2012, 06:23 PM
For 720p video, class 4 is more than enough. Class 4 will give you min. 4MB/s write speed, and that is way above the bitrate for 720p video.
For 5N, I think the max video bitrate is about 28Mbit/s, which is still below Class 4 minimum write speed Please correct me if wrong. QUOTE(crazeoneeighteen @ Sep 28 2012, 06:01 PM) |
Sep 28 2012, 11:33 PM
of course, if you're talking about transfering definitely class 10 will be faster and take less time.
if not willing to wait or really need to transfer a lot, then go for class 10 or even high speed memory stick but just have to pay $$$ I have class 4 and class 6 SDHCs and did benchmark before, as you can see class 6 definitely can read/write faster at higher cost $$ ![]() ![]() Maybe someone can test their class 10 and share for comparison sake. At 12Mb/s vs 18Mb/s read speed, we can easily understand why it takes longer to copy from fully loaded 32GB class 4 vs class 6 or 10. QUOTE(crazeoneeighteen @ Sep 28 2012, 07:17 PM) Not exactly nex camera,using 2 cameras one was 7d while the other my humble 550d. This post has been edited by poolcarpet: Sep 28 2012, 11:57 PMWas transferring 2 16gb worth of footage,one on class 4 and then another with class 10.As far as I remembered class 4 takes more or less 15 mins while class 10 is around 7 mins or so.Same goes when formatting both cards as class 4 just lag but I'm not saying class 4 is unusable.All this happens I forgot to bring the back-up class 10 sdcard during one of my video shoot. I'm not gonna measurebate what's on paper just some practical experience I had before.If you deem class 4 is enough so be it.I'm cool with it. |
Oct 2 2012, 10:45 PM
US Sony Store already listing the 5R and 6....
5R with 16-50 $799.99 5R body only $649.99 5R with 18-55 $749.99 6 with 16-50 $999.99 6 body only $849.99 and 5N with 18-55 super cheap sale $499.99 only QUOTE(crazeoneeighteen @ Oct 2 2012, 10:40 PM) |
Oct 6 2012, 08:27 PM
If i'm not wrong this may not be sony malaysia set. Find out clearly first...
QUOTE(iAwesome @ Oct 6 2012, 05:47 PM) |
Oct 10 2012, 10:21 AM
Anyone happened to be looking for the 16mm SEL16F28?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=225&t=2542105 |
Oct 12 2012, 01:02 PM
For those who really really like the 180 deg flip LCD on F3, here's a 3rd party solution for C3/5N folks... lol
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:20 PM |