Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

lil twist
post May 12 2012, 10:00 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : Around undecided
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : events, portraits, etc.
Any specific models in mind? : None.
Any specific features u want? : still thinking sweat.gif

i'm in corp comm dept which requires me taking lots of pictures whenever there's an event where my company joins or host..

i have no idea what i want, as i was a hobbyist photog few years back... biggrin.gif

i saw those press photog uses telephoto lens to shoot press interview, even though the subject is near... can someone tell me why? icon_question.gif

i am looking for a good DSLR with at least few lenses for me to use for diff occasion, more like a "near complete" package so i dont have to request budget every year.. tongue.gif

thanks!
lil twist
post May 13 2012, 01:29 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 13 2012, 01:55 AM)
Company pay or what?

My company veli cheapo wan... the company camera for our admin guy to shoot visitors/events yada yada is just a 500D + kit 18-55 + 430EX speedlite.

Even that works ok good.

Regarding telephoto.. there's less distortion and a more compressed flattering perspective for the subject. Also helps when there's a lot of other things getting in the way.
Ya why not.

XZ-1 gooding though best result must shoot RAW and the video mode sucked.
S100 gooding though the lens is not very bright.
LX5 also gooding though zoom range wide but "only" 90mm equivalent at the tele end.
X10 gooding too but kinda thick and that orb issue (which Fuji is supposed to fix with new sensor replacement)
lets just say, i have a bag full of cash worth 15k to 20k (hopefully i can get it! tongue.gif ) should i go for top notch stuffs? sweat.gif

i still dont get it.. coz as far as im aware, in the meeting room only my CEO, the journalist and the photographer.. thats all.. so why use telephoto while you can get up close with the subject? kindly enlighten me.. icon_question.gif
lil twist
post May 13 2012, 03:40 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ May 13 2012, 03:22 PM)
let's say you got 15k... buy one entry level DSLR with kit lens to serve your purpose... and a cheap flash... 3k gone... so remaining 12k will be in your pocket...  brows.gif

if just for that purpose, any camera will do, not necessary DSLR...
small PnS will do the job as well. it's not that you will print it as a big banner or wat.
but for covering event also, any entry level DSLR is good enough for that. since basically no special requirement towards high IQ and etc.
if i can, i sure buy 3rd hand ones and take the balance go holidays.. tongue.gif

we do have plans to use the photos for prints i.e. our own books.. biggrin.gif

hope i can get clearer picture on why they use telephoto lens and what combo best fit for me... nod.gif
lil twist
post May 14 2012, 10:01 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ May 13 2012, 05:11 PM)
normally, telephoto is used to isolate the subject away from other things (due to the small field of view).
let's say there's a bunch of girls standing in front of you, and if u use wide angle lens, you wil get the picture of all of them in the frame... because wide angle lens has big field of view, so it captures a lot of thing into the sensor. but if u use telephoto, u can take picture of each of them individually while u and the girls remain at the same spot... you will not be able to take everything into the frame... just like when you use normal PnS, when you zoom in you can only get very little thing into the frame, when you zoom out a lot of thing will be inside your frame.

haha... not sure this is a good example or not. but if you need to isolate a subject, compress the view, or you want to shoot from a further distance, telephoto will help you. normally i will suggest people to go for standard zoom first. when you feel that you can't include all the things u wan in the frame with your kit lens, then get a ultra wide angle. and when you feel that you can't get rid of some unwanted things in the frame with your kit lens, is time to get a telephoto.
ic ic... coz i asked my friend who is working as a photographer, he said that the reason why they use telephoto is because it can focus more on the subject and blurred/isolate the others... biggrin.gif

i think i get what he said.. now waiting for other sifus to suggest whats my weapon.. tongue.gif brows.gif
lil twist
post May 14 2012, 11:01 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ May 14 2012, 10:35 AM)
your fren is correct, but blur background and sharp subject can be achieve in two way: shoot in telephoto, of with aperture wide open. normally when shoot portrait (i mean single portrait) the sweet spot for the face to look noce without distortion is around 50-60mm for upper torso, 85-100mm for head and shoulders, and 125-135mm when you want some compression for fuller figured portraits. (all in 35mm equivalent)

That's why people may choose to use 50mm prime lens/telephoto lens as the portrait lens sometimes.
but let say if you have a 18-55mm kit lens on the APS-C sensor (assume crop factor 1.6x) you will get effective range of 28-88mm, which is already covering most of the range required for portrait. if you desired for sharper image or more compression and details in your shot, then you may need some better lens.
what sort of "better" lens in your mind? brows.gif

between Nikon and Canon, which is better? im thinking of D300 S VS 7D sweat.gif

we have currently owned a D60 with kit lens... tongue.gif
lil twist
post May 14 2012, 11:22 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ May 14 2012, 11:07 AM)
i'm not too familiar with Nikon, the only thing i know is for nikon you need to deal with the focus motor, whether it is in camera or in the lens... something like that. so can't really recommend you better lens as well.
since you already have one nikon, why not just get another nikon so you can share the lens and accessories?
if Canon? what would you suggest? smile.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 14 2012, 11:14 AM)
If you find this bag of cash... and its for work related stuff

--> Canon 5D MkIII + 24-105mm L kit

I think it may be possible to squeeze in a speedlite for this as well.

Kau tim... ultimate combo.
true, but the camera itself cost half of my budget, or maybe more... sweat.gif

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 14 2012, 11:17 AM)
Do u really need D300, 51 point AF system else D90 actually has a better sensor OR the newer D7000. biggrin.gif
to maintain the pro-ness and to show off? tongue.gif

coz ive used D80, D40x, D90, D60 and some canon... think its time to go full frame line? tongue.gif
lil twist
post May 14 2012, 04:11 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 14 2012, 12:10 PM)
Well...

FF-ness --> checked
Pro-ness --> checked
Tahap dewa dewi low light performance --> checked
AF speed for speedy CEO's --> checked
Red ring, useable focal length, image stabilization --> checked

Apa lagi lu mau? tongue.gif

With camera like this.. if photo don't turn out nice also must jump down from twin towers di.

If the above still not convincing enough, then consider that Pete Souza (official White House photographer) photographs Obama, world leaders and historically significant events using the 5D Mk II.

If its good enough for the White House, its good enough for any company biggrin.gif

http://www.flickr.com/photos/whitehouse/71.../in/photostream
Do homework for you tongue.gif

Enthuasiast compact focal length vs aperture table.

Don't just look at the widest... see the max aperture throughout common focal length.

All these sensor sweet spot less than ISO200 and more or less tops out (imo) at around ISO400 +/- 1/2 stops... everything else is noise vs details.

Example... If I wanna shoot a portrait of bini/gf/mother/mistress indoors in a restaurant.

XZ-1 - 50mm focal length, f2.0, ISO200.
S100 - 50mm focal length, max aperture f4 means my ISO have to go up to ISO800 to get same shutter speed.
LX5 -  50mm focal length, max aperture f2.7 means my ISO have to go up to ISO400 to get same shutter speed.

About the smearing.. depend on how you look at it. Yes, the XZ-1 jpeg smears but the girls like it as it blurs out blemishes tongue.gif... and most compact smears (my Sony HX9V smears even more).. S90 smears less but the details is not there in the beginning. You can always shoot raw...  and if you don't like/use Lightroom.. you can always run that awful bundled raw-editor... turn off Noise Reduction as a preset and then just apply to all your pics = kau tim.
QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ May 14 2012, 12:23 PM)
+1
if canon, you can consider 5D as you wan FF and Pro... either MkII or MkIII... with the kit lens or with 24-70 2.8 L is a nice combination.

Added on May 14, 2012, 12:26 pm
for sports 7D is slightly better, but 60D can do the job as well. If you do not need the articulated screen, i would suggest you go for 7D.
if size is your concern, go for NEX 5N. although i was planning to recommend you NEX 7 initially, but it will slightly off your budget

Added on May 14, 2012, 12:30 pm
sniper has done a good comparison for you. if technical aspect is what you will consider the most, then you can see XZ-1 always has the fastest lens in the "compact" range... personal preference: S100 (if you shoot more in jpeg) or XZ-1 (if you shoot more in raw).
how about 7D? basically, it is slightly cheaper but performs well though.. coz ive checked the price at canon, 5D cost RM8k for body only... sweat.gif

7D cost cheaper and can boost the lens line-up more with varieties.. biggrin.gif

no Nikon suggestion ka? unsure.gif
lil twist
post May 14 2012, 08:38 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 14 2012, 05:56 PM)
If you're interested... read up "exposure triangle"

Anyways, all cameras also have pro's and con's... from the cheapest to the most expensive.

Too bad I don't have my S90 anymore to compare but I just took these shots.. out of camera jpeg with everything on default. P mode and auto ISO summore in case you wanna see how it looked like.... we aim to please.

Industry standard furry bear office indoor test.

Industry standard office rooftop ciggie area landscape test

Hmm...I think I underexposed by -1/3 here.
RM8K body only must be the previous 5D Mk II di.... compared with the Mk III, the Mk II's AF is not gooding and high ISO is good but not tahap dewa dewi.

7D no fullframe goodness and low light is only as good as a 550D.

If I stumble upon a bag of cash.... straightaway take taxi go buy 5D MkIII.
but the price is sooooooo expensive! rclxub.gif sked me boss bite me when she see the price tag... shakehead.gif

then what should i get? unsure.gif
lil twist
post May 15 2012, 11:07 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(beelze_gpwk @ May 14 2012, 09:25 PM)
tel ur lady boss... she will look prettier if her picture is taken with 5D mk3 than using 7D... lol
If you don want to go for such expensive one, u can get 7D. but you need so much AF and the speed of 7D?
let's say u don need, then u further downgrade to 60D...  but the difference between 600D and 60D is not that much... then u further drop down... haha... sorry to further confuse you.
if you are talking about canon, that's more or less the story. Just get what you need is ok already. not necessary full frame.
what i know is that 5D mark 2 can record outstanding videos.. but the price a bit on the high side, leaving small rooms for more lenses.. tongue.gif

still thinking coz a friend of mine suggested Nikon over Canon... hehehe tongue.gif

pening-pening rclxub.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 14 2012, 11:31 PM)
A few post ago.. I posted that my company admin guy's company camera is just a 500D + 18-55 kit + 430ex. Frankly... In the context of this usage pattern... It enuf to getthe job done. Image wise no difference until u go fullframe. Its not like ur go creative and gonna shoot bokeh dreamy portrait of ur lady boss like some bikini model right?

Oh.. and I just came across this vid which should provide a more illustrative example on why telephoto is used for portrait

thanks for sharing the video sniper! notworthy.gif

0.0250sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:14 AM