Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

chiahau
post Feb 20 2012, 01:11 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ashkann @ Feb 20 2012, 01:08 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  compaq/light camera
Budget: below 4k
Your Location:   perak
Preferable brand :  ?
Type of photography u want to do :  shoot what i want.
Any specific models in mind? :  ?
Any specific features u want? :  can change lens..?

fyi, i just sold my d90. any light camera but can perform like dslr??
Nex 5n or Nex 7..

Your budget should have no problem affording the 5n.

Added on February 20, 2012, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(eksk86 @ Feb 20 2012, 10:10 AM)
NEX series is currently in my mind because I read alot of good reviews about it. But I would like to know around that budget (RM2k-RM2.5k), is there any other cameras that can compete with say NEX-C3 or NEX5N?
In terms of sensor size and image quality, really less competition at that price range..

Unless you are adding more budget for the Fuji X1Pro, which might or might not be better than the Nex, not much competition at that price range.

This post has been edited by chiahau: Feb 20 2012, 01:12 PM
chiahau
post Feb 20 2012, 09:55 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(nuke13 @ Feb 20 2012, 08:18 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accessories :  DSLR quality but non-interchangeable lens
Budget: RM1000
Your Location: Kuala Lumpur
Preferable brand :  Canon, Nikon, Sony
Type of photography u want to do :  Indoor, low light, close-up, family photos, candid
Any specific models in mind? :  Sony NEX-5K
Any specific features u want? :  HD video recording, compact body, DSLR quality sensor, fast lens but non-interchangeable
1k can't get u a new Nex 5..

That would be very hard 2 get even 2nd hand for that price.
chiahau
post Mar 24 2012, 08:16 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Mar 24 2012, 05:26 PM)
Dear sifus,

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Light and compact
Budget: 3k
Your Location: Penang / KL
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait, Low Light and Travel
Any specific models in mind? : Ricoh GXR / other M4/3 cameras
Any specific features u want? : Similar quality like DSLR, able to shoot at low light.

Extras : Articulated screen, Big aperture tongue.gif
Nex 5n? It has similar quality like DSLR, able to shoot at low light. APSC sensor. Articulated screen and aperture is based on the lens you wanted to mount in it.

chiahau
post Mar 27 2012, 12:32 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 26 2012, 03:17 PM)
Dear camera sifu-sifu, need your help in recommendations  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Looking for one digital camera and one DSLR

Total budget = RM4-5k

Camera 1 (Digital camera):
Type of camera/lens/accesories : digital camera
Preferable brand : Canon only
Type of photography u want to do : For bringing out for field trips, need to take photographs of specimens. Specimens will either be natural, or taken when placed on white paper background
Any specific models in mind? Err... something like a Canon Powershot G12? Any other models from Canon?
Camera 2 (DLSR):
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR + normal lens AND macro lenses
Preferable brand : Canon only
Type of photography u want to do : Also for field trips, need to be able to take higher quality photos (both normal and detailed macro shots).
Any specific models in mind? No idea at all  doh.gif

I'm not sure whether the budget is too low or not, and I have no idea what lenses should be chosen >____<
please advice sifu sifu, appreciate your help!!  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Laptop sifu change place to lurk liao? drool.gif

Type 1 - G1x from Canon if you dun care interchangeable. G12 not bad also. Total damage, about 2k+

Type 2 - Macro lens aint cheap. Around 1k++ Maybe a 60D + 1855 + a macro lens of your choice. Will cost bout 4k+ already for this.

Type 1 + Type 2 = 7k liddat liao.
chiahau
post Mar 27 2012, 04:38 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 27 2012, 04:18 PM)
Thank you very much for the reply bro, appreciate it  rclxms.gif
I know nuts about cameras... just helping my supervisor to choose and buy  cry.gif

Canon G12 so expensive one ar bro?  shocking.gif Maybe will go for older models or something haha~

I hope you don't mind me asking a stupid question bro laugh.gif
But how do you tell which macro lens to choose?

How about a budget of RM6k? Manageable?

Thanks in advance bro, and sorry for so many questions  sweat.gif
Noooo.

G12 is about 1,5k or less. I am stating 2k+ for the new G1x

Can manage for sure, just need adjust here and there lo..

Macro, maybe something like Tamron SP90 - 1500+

Add your 60D + 1855 around 3000+

Total 6k out abit if you willing to nego or compromise.
chiahau
post Mar 27 2012, 04:56 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 27 2012, 04:54 PM)
Oh I see, laugh.gif
G1x is a model name? Sorry about that haha  doh.gif
Thanks for the feedback!
Do you have a salesthread or something? Your siggy links don't work  hmm.gif
Nuked em already. Annoyed to update them for nothing.

Canon G1X is the model.

Anything you might need to ask further, can ask or PM. Same thing nia.
chiahau
post Apr 8 2012, 01:39 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Apr 8 2012, 01:24 AM)
i am now in a serious mist... if canon g1x and lumix gx1... which one u guys choose?
G1X canon..

But if you are looking for interchangable, Nex 5n ftw
chiahau
post Apr 8 2012, 02:09 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Apr 8 2012, 01:57 AM)
but nex5n dont have built in flash right?
honeslty speaking... i'm more favour to the gx1 picture quality.. just my opinion lar...
haih... i also dunno which to choose...  icon_question.gif
it comes with the small flash, i think.

Well, go try em out at a camera store nearby. It usually helps u decide faster x1000
chiahau
post Dec 13 2012, 11:20 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(kar2on @ Dec 13 2012, 03:40 PM)
Hi All,

Looking for a Christmas present for my wife, currently she has the lumix L3 and looking to upgrade beyond that.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Camera + Lens
Budget : RM3000
Your Location : KL/Selangor
Preferable brand : -none-
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape, still life..etc etc
Any specific models in mind? : NEx5?
Any specific features u want? : Nothing to heavy and bulky.

Thanks. On a side note, is an entry level SLR better than a mirrorless?
A mirrorless by Sony would fare better than most entry level SLR..

0.0223sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:07 PM