Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V5, Please read first page before posting!!!

blaze91
post May 15 2024, 12:17 PM

1,009 posts

Looking to get a brand new mirrorless camera and eyeing on Sony A6700 with Tamron 17-70mm. Any other suggestion? Was comparing with Fujifilm x-s20 but since sony has many vendor for lenses dropped out Fujifilm.

Purpose is mainly taking pic and video during travelling and maybe some internal family functions

Since this going to be my first camera perhaps would like to explore more options. Looking for more comments and suggestions from sifus here

This post has been edited by blaze91: May 15 2024, 12:19 PM
blaze91
post May 17 2024, 01:23 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ May 17 2024, 12:08 AM)
Get the fuji XS-20 and thank me later. Sony colors.....  puke.gif
Im abit concerned about budget too and now with newly Fujifilm X-T50 confused whether to go for Fujifilm X-S20. Price not much difference though. Yeah sony A6700 I have not decided to go for mainly because of need to edit which I dont like. I prefer to take pic during traveling and straight post it instead of editing it unless necessary. But the price they selling make me feel that A6700 is cheaper but again the hassle like need to edit and stuff, making me think twice.
blaze91
post May 17 2024, 01:57 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ May 17 2024, 12:49 PM)
I agreed with what you said regarding the newer sony bodies. But for the sake of TS, I would suggest him to go for Fuji. Those who need to ask what camera to buy here, normally doesn't know how to edit RAW files.  tongue.gif
You got my point hahah although im trying to learn on editing RAW images.
blaze91
post May 19 2024, 05:51 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ May 17 2024, 08:11 PM)
You don't need the latest and greatest to take good photos. Just buy what you can comfortably afford. My suggestion to you is to look at Fuji XS-10 if you have budget constraint. To be perfectly honest, XS-20 is not much of an upgrade from XS-10.

Camera these days are so good, it's hard to choose a wrong camera (if you shoot RAW and edit them all the time) . If you want SOOC jpeg, then it's a different story, sony camera colors are  bangwall.gif  My cousin just shown me a photo of him taken by the Sony A7CII the colors are  puke.gif  puke.gif If I have his permission, I will share the photo here to proof my point.

Even with XS-10, it already has the very very popular classic negative film simulation, which can be applied to both photos and video. If you want cinematic look to your video, just apply the eterna film simulation and viola.  brows.gif
A question sorry again to change option, just noticed X-T5 has almost similar price range. should I go for it if my budget allows? Or just save my money, get better lens and get XS-20 / XS-10(not sure if can find this though)

This post has been edited by blaze91: May 20 2024, 12:15 AM
blaze91
post May 20 2024, 02:32 PM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ May 20 2024, 01:23 PM)
No problems. You can ask more questions if you like. This forum is for people like you to ask questions, so that you can get the gears that are right for you.

Now back to your question. XT5 is a good camera, but then the way it operates is a bit different from XS-10/20. If you're not familiar with the dedicated old school shutter speed, iso dials, it can slow you down and you may need a bit of youtube lesson to get yourself familiar with the film camera like features.

But in order for me to give you appropriate advise, can I ask, why are you considering XT5? Is it because of the look ?  hmm.gif
Ops that looks tricky why I was considering XT-5 because the price difference for Body+ Tamron Lens(17mm-70mm) for XS-20 and XT-5 makes not much difference approximately around 1.6k++, thats what made me to think about XT-5. In addition XT-5 had some pros like better battery, Weather Shield, Double Slot SD cards.

I was thinking of future proof too but when you said these "If you're not familiar with the dedicated old school shutter speed, iso dials, it can slow you down and you may need a bit of youtube lesson to get yourself familiar with the film camera like features. " makes me worry is these functions easy to learn?
blaze91
post May 21 2024, 12:09 AM

1,009 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ May 20 2024, 06:38 PM)
Let me make this simple for you la. Between XS-10, XS-20 and XT5, I think the best option for you is the XS-20.

1. XS-20 is more beginner friendly and cheaper than XT5. (The reasons to Skip XT5)

2. It has the same bigger battery as the XT5, (the reason to skip XS10)

3. It has a flip out screen, so you can do selfie , (the reason to skip XT5)
            1. Bigger battery, yes. It's a valid reason to choose a body base on this.
            2. Weather shield, it is one of the least useful features for hobbist. Let me ask you this, have you ever do photoshoot in the rain? Are you intend to do photoshoot in the rain or
                snow?
            3. Dual card slots - Are you doing photography as a hobby or job? If you shooting wedding or events that cannot be repeated, then dual card slots is essential. If not, they are
                good to have but not necessary just like the weather seal. 
      I tell you this, the concept of future proofing is the most useless  doh.gif  idea in purchasing camera gears.  (I'm quoting this from a fellow lowyat forumer, which I whole heartedly agreed). It may apply (to a certain degree) to buying computer/laptop. You know why?

Because by the time your knowledges and your photography needs have grown, you will realize that you need something entirely different from what fuji can offer. AS such, just buy what you REALLY need right now and forget about future proofing.

And let's be honest, what can guarantee you won't become part of the majority of those buy new camera for fun, use a few time, then leave at home collecting dust because smart phone is so easy and convienient to use and then have to sell the camera at the lost statistic .  tongue.gif
Thank you so much for the explanation now im super clear on my needs. I do agree on those points you mentioned above as it's true though. Thanks again for the detailed explanation and clearing my doubts icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif

1.0032sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:08 PM