5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.14, Nikon D4 $6000 only

amduser
post Feb 11 2012, 05:52 PM

5,542 posts

just got my nikon D5100 today, although not a totally new unit, but like it very much with the 35mm 1.8g thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: Feb 11 2012, 06:04 PM
amduser
post Feb 12 2012, 09:41 AM

5,542 posts

is there any place where i can test out various lens?
amduser
post Feb 14 2012, 06:56 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Feb 14 2012, 04:00 AM)
Early morning spam tongue.gif

still dunno how to use fill flash properly outdoors sweat.gif
the leaf at the wrong place? sweat.gif
amduser
post Feb 14 2012, 08:21 AM

5,542 posts

Wanna ask, what kind of zoom lens i can get around 700-800 budget for my D5100 body? Should i go for tamron or nikkor? I realize some tamron got macro feature while nikkor dont hv hmm.gif
amduser
post Feb 14 2012, 12:54 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Feb 14 2012, 12:36 PM)
if want to have further zoom (i assume u hv 18-55 kitlens that came with the body), maybe can try nikkor 55-200 ... or nikkor 55-300 used.
i borrowed my friend's 55-300 for a zoo trip and was quite pleased with it smile.gif

some sample shots with D3100 :

I dont have kitlens, only 35mm 1.8g tongue.gif

I think i will get the nikkor 55-300mm biggrin.gif nice pic you got there

My purpose of getting zoom lens mostly is for stage photo during events
amduser
post Feb 14 2012, 01:50 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Feb 14 2012, 01:37 PM)
Yup i like the 55-300 more than 55-200. He had 55-200 previously and upgraded to 55-300. Build quality wise the 55-300 felt more solid but slightly heavier due to the metal frame.
The AF speed is quite good for me. I can take the picture i want without much problem. And it is pretty sharp too though it is not pro/nano lens! (for the price lah) tongue.gif

*Thanks for your compliment. I'm just an amateur photog with soooo many things to learn and try. smile.gif
Can it do macro photography? I've seen some review and they dont seem to advertise macro feature like tamron and sigma

It have motor in the lens? Because my d5100 no built-in motor
amduser
post Feb 14 2012, 02:04 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Feb 14 2012, 01:55 PM)
55-300 dont have macro capability. In fact most nikkors dun hv macro unless it is the micro nikkors (40/60/85/105mm micro etc).
If not mistaken the 55-300 has an MFD of 0.4-0.5m or so. But at 300mm, for sure it is more than that (e.g: too close to focus).

Yup 55-300 is AF-S lens, so it can AF with ur D5100 or D3100/3000 and below.
Hmm....maybe will get tamron 70-300 or nikkor 50-300, i wonder if nikon center got tamron lens to test hmm.gif
amduser
post Feb 14 2012, 02:34 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 14 2012, 02:14 PM)
how macro you wan to go? food? insect ? nendoroid? that thing 35mm can do i think.... except incest...i mean insect  tongue.gif
Something like bird or insect, but the main purpose is still use it as zoom lens though

35mm is enough for close up and landscape, but when taking distance subject is really limited
amduser
post Feb 16 2012, 12:01 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:19 AM)
OT: during my korea trip, good thing my red striking manfrotto bag help my colleague spot me and pull me back to team when i get lost XD

so guys, pick a striking colour camela bag when going for trip lol tongue.gif
attract more bad attention, later someone steal your bag tongue.gif

i also wanna get a bag that can fit my dslr and some other stuff, not sure sling bag or backpack better hmm.gif
amduser
post Feb 16 2012, 05:50 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Feb 16 2012, 05:45 PM)
I guess that's why "pros" shoot D3 with 70-200/2.8s. If all else fails, I'm pretty sure a swing from that combo can crack a human skull.

Or at least break noses. Badly.

A solid heavy tripod can kill too for sure.
tripod or monopod with knife attached and swing it like a boss laugh.gif
amduser
post Feb 16 2012, 11:12 PM

5,542 posts

internal focus vs external focus

no much different in term of performance other than closer focus range for IF right?
amduser
post Feb 16 2012, 11:57 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:51 PM)
not much different, just external focus some of the lens focus barrel will turn, will extend / retract , focusing ring will turn

IF totally inside.
that means petal hood cannot be used right?

according to nikon website, they say IF can get closer focus distance compare to non-IF hmm.gif
amduser
post Feb 17 2012, 11:15 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 17 2012, 12:25 AM)
Oh, cool~

Android multitasking is  sweat.gif  Nothing beats N900, using Xperia Pro with qwerty, but it doesn't perform up to expectation, no short-cut keys like N900.
Well, there's not much choice now anyway...
Back to topic...

Added on February 17, 2012, 9:23 am

Why cannot use? IF should be even better, those that extends especially for macro lens it can extend very out, if you add hood, it will be even longer which if you don't know the distance and gets too close, you may it the object/subject.
Go and see Tamron SP90 Macro lens, see how long it extends...

For closer distance, I think it depends, if like above the Tamron SP90, due to the lens extension, you wouldn't wanna get too close anyway; For those with IF, you can get very close, but there's still a minimum focus distance, so if you're too close, it won't be able to focus anyway.
For macro lens especially, the IF can be good and bad, the bad is the Focus Breathing issue.
i dont know why, but people say petal hood only for wide angle and IF lens, if non-IF where front element will rotate while focus then need to use round hood hmm.gif

i think is because the hood will rotate, so the shorter petal might facing top and bottom, which might cause problem while going wider angle and sunlight on top of the lens might shine inside causing glare because the shorter petal facing upward? hmm.gif
amduser
post Feb 17 2012, 02:33 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 17 2012, 11:29 AM)
AFAIK there are no official lens equip with petal hood which the lens rotate while focusing.

every lens has it limit on their hood, if you try to extend the hood length it might appear vignetting
manufacturer will optimise the length and usage for you.
icic....

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 17 2012, 12:25 PM)
I thought you were saying IF lens cannot use petal hood.
For rotating front element, then it's different story, same applies for some filters not just good.
hmm....some say filter might drop out on non IF lens, but i play with my cousin's 550D with kitlens no problem hmm.gif

well, i dont use filter since lens hood give a better protection, tested on my 35mm just now laugh.gif
amduser
post Feb 17 2012, 02:42 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Feb 17 2012, 02:38 PM)
It wont drop out lerr. Well, it might if we didnt screw the filter in properly. Bad thing about rotating front is it's kinda troublesome to use with filters like cir-pol or graduated neutral density
if focus properly then screw in the filter should be okay right? hmm.gif
amduser
post Feb 17 2012, 08:50 PM

5,542 posts

what kind of events you all talking about? stage event? wedding event?

if stage event like mini concert or stage performance, you cant really use wide angle right? hmm.gif
amduser
post Feb 20 2012, 01:01 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 18 2012, 11:22 PM)
yeah. thanks for the info. i guess that it's good in close-up pictures too though. kay guys. i've made up my mind to go with the 35mm.  rclxm9.gif thank you all!
i guess we all know how good is nikon under low light

further more with 35mm 1.8g on wide open, i can say you could get decent result without the need of flash

i'm using 35mm 1.8g and for street photography, this lens is good

for event like PC fair and the IT fair that just ended today, even better since those events got narrow walkway, with 50mm you need to be further away from the subject, with 35mm, you are at least few step closer to the subject

when you are closer between subject other people know you are taking photo and wont walk between you and the subject and without the need of flash, tested this on both day of IT fair thumbup.gif

but too bad my photography skills is still very bad, need to improve more to make better use of the lens flex.gif

Added on February 20, 2012, 1:01 am
QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 18 2012, 11:22 PM)
yeah. thanks for the info. i guess that it's good in close-up pictures too though. kay guys. i've made up my mind to go with the 35mm.  rclxm9.gif thank you all!
i guess we all know how good is nikon under low light

further more with 35mm 1.8g on wide open, i can say you could get decent result without the need of flash

i'm using 35mm 1.8g and for street photography, this lens is good

for event like PC fair and the IT fair that just ended today, even better since those events got narrow walkway, with 50mm you need to be further away from the subject, with 35mm, you are at least few step closer to the subject

when you are closer between subject other people know you are taking photo and wont walk between you and the subject and without the need of flash, tested this on both day of IT fair thumbup.gif

but too bad my photography skills is still very bad, need to improve more to make better use of the lens flex.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: Feb 20 2012, 01:01 AM
amduser
post Feb 20 2012, 10:07 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 20 2012, 08:51 PM)
Hmm. Good then. The bokeh effect when shooting normally good?
depends on the distance between subject and the background, if you do close up half body shot of model drool.gif drool.gif
amduser
post Feb 28 2012, 09:29 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 28 2012, 02:40 PM)

spam time...

first one is someone with D5100 + 24-70 f/2.8 (poisoning someone hehe)

second one is army of Kaito + Tako Luka  whistling.gif
oiiii..... sad.gif

next time i snatch your 24-70 2.8 and run away whistling.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: Feb 28 2012, 09:29 PM
amduser
post Feb 29 2012, 03:17 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Feb 29 2012, 01:50 PM)
^^ huhu mine at iso 1600 liao

what dslr you use?