Balut the casing

like this

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Jan 26 2012, 12:49 AM
zarul90
post Jan 26 2012, 06:51 PM

268 posts

The fabric like kelambu 1? Nyamuk also cannot enter.. hehe..

Lasttime my rig got mosquito inside.. biggrin.gif
TSwkkm007
post Jan 26 2012, 07:14 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Jan 26 2012, 04:51 PM)
The fabric like kelambu 1? Nyamuk also cannot enter.. hehe..

Lasttime my rig got mosquito inside.. biggrin.gif
sweat.gif doh.gif laugh.gif

zarul90
post Jan 26 2012, 10:07 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jan 26 2012, 07:14 PM)
sweat.gifĀ  doh.gifĀ  laugh.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

How much u buy the fabric?

This post has been edited by zarul90: Jan 26 2012, 10:08 PM
darkddly
post Jan 28 2012, 07:24 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jan 26 2012, 12:00 AM)
Balut the casing

like this

inside wont panas ka?
Langiler
post Jan 28 2012, 09:38 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(darkddly @ Jan 28 2012, 07:24 PM)
inside wont panas ka?
no la, the mesh is not that dense, but make sure to clean it, like mine
dust collecting on the filter and there no air flow then my pc overheat to max sweat.gif
darkddly
post Jan 28 2012, 10:03 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Jan 28 2012, 09:38 PM)
no la, the mesh is not that dense, but make sure to clean it, like mine
dust collecting on the filter and there no air flow then my pc overheat to max  sweat.gif
my place got lotsa dust le..pc and table as well as monitor always colelct dust ler..lulz.
Langiler
post Jan 28 2012, 10:14 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(darkddly @ Jan 28 2012, 10:03 PM)
my place got lotsa dust le..pc and table as well as monitor always colelct dust ler..lulz.
er, it mean you need to put air filter on intake fan
and clean it regularly, otherwise the dust will collecting in your rig...
darkddly
post Jan 28 2012, 10:16 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Jan 28 2012, 10:14 PM)
er, it mean you need to put air filter on intake fan
and clean it regularly, otherwise the dust will collecting in your rig...
oh camtu. faham liao..lololol
TSwkkm007
post Jan 29 2012, 06:42 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(darkddly @ Jan 28 2012, 08:16 PM)
oh camtu. faham liao..lololol
rclxms.gif
Try4e
post Feb 6 2012, 09:32 AM

65 posts

[attachmentid=2670479]
Gaia34
post Feb 6 2012, 11:47 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(Try4e @ Feb 6 2012, 10:32 AM)
[attachmentid=2670479]
blink.gif laugh.gif rclxms.gif
zarul90
post Feb 6 2012, 01:32 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(Try4e @ Feb 6 2012, 09:32 AM)
user posted image[attachmentid=2670479]
Waa this real cooling fan.. must put filter infront.. if not 2-3 day dust full inside biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zarul90: Feb 6 2012, 01:35 PM
TSwkkm007
post Feb 6 2012, 02:39 PM

3,123 posts

LOL
iSean
post Feb 6 2012, 08:48 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

[attachmentid=2670479]
brows.gif
Try4e
post Feb 7 2012, 05:48 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zarul90 @ Feb 6 2012, 01:32 PM)
Waa this real cooling fan.. must put filter infront.. if not 2-3 day dust full inside :D
no lah it helps to blow away dust mah.
amduser
post Feb 7 2012, 06:22 PM

5,542 posts

you are blowing in more humid air and will cause dust to stick on it and even harder to clean

i just buy RM5 filter paper (not sure what it called) from daiso and cut in a pieces just right for my 12cm fan, doing the same for other casing fan, i get a neat casing outside with air filter inside

after 3 months now still no dust inside my casing, i'm using black color casing so dust is highly visible inside my casing biggrin.gif
Langiler
post Feb 7 2012, 11:31 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 7 2012, 06:22 PM)
you are blowing in more humid air and will cause dust to stick on it and even harder to clean

i just buy RM5 filter paper (not sure what it called) from daiso and cut in a pieces just right for my 12cm fan, doing the same for other casing fan, i get a neat casing outside with air filter inside

after 3 months now still no dust inside my casing, i'm using black color casing so dust is highly visible inside my casing biggrin.gif
filter paper? do you have a picture of it
kinda curious here.
amduser
post Feb 8 2012, 08:37 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Feb 7 2012, 11:31 PM)
filter paper? do you have a picture of it
kinda curious here.
this
Try4e
post Feb 8 2012, 10:06 AM

65 posts

also can use laundry bag as filter. I use it for filtering my car aircon.

TSwkkm007
post Feb 8 2012, 12:16 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 8 2012, 06:37 AM)
this
do u need to clean ur filter?
amduser
post Feb 8 2012, 01:16 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Try4e @ Feb 8 2012, 10:06 AM)
also can use laundry bag as filter. I use it for filtering my car aircon.
not expensive for this one?

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Feb 8 2012, 12:16 PM)
do u need to clean ur filter?
one of the disadvantage is that you cant clean the filter, this kind of filter is the disposal filter, use once then throw

i dont know if this can be wash, but you can try laugh.gif
Langiler
post Feb 8 2012, 01:31 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Feb 8 2012, 08:37 AM)
this
Ah, these one, i saw it somewhere in supermarket

it cant be wash but ok la,
filter almost all the dust particle.
Lurker
post Feb 8 2012, 01:35 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

Ooo. Can get from daiso etc
But it may restrict airflow for those low static pressure fans
amduser
post Feb 8 2012, 01:47 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Feb 8 2012, 01:35 PM)
Ooo. Can get from daiso etc
But it may restrict airflow for those low static pressure fans
yeah, it will restrict a bit since it provide better filtration compare to mesh type

i'm using xigmatek 12cm LED fan, if you are using artic cooling fan then shouldn't be worry about the air flow

i found that the temperature is my rig is still the same before and after i install the filter, no overheat at all
Lurker
post Feb 8 2012, 02:19 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

What case may I ask?
Try4e
post Feb 8 2012, 02:42 PM

65 posts

not sure what this is called ( cooking wire mesh, oil strainer ? ) but u can cut out the fine wire mesh in the middle and use as filter. also washable and more rigid than fabric. Sory just my wild ideas.

TSwkkm007
post Feb 8 2012, 06:27 PM

3,123 posts

Added on February 8, 2012, 6:29 pmY dust stay on dead zone?

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Feb 8 2012, 06:29 PM
Langiler
post Feb 9 2012, 08:54 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Feb 8 2012, 06:27 PM)

Wahahaha! atlast!
i saw some paper tape there brows.gif
like i suggested to another user
if lazy enough to screw the mosquito net or what ever mesh it is,
USE THE MIGHTY SELLOTAPE!!
TSwkkm007
post Feb 9 2012, 09:45 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(Langiler @ Feb 9 2012, 06:54 PM)
Wahahaha! atlast!
i saw some paper tape there brows.gif
like i suggested to another user
if lazy enough to screw the mosquito net or what ever mesh it is,
USE THE MIGHTY SELLOTAPE!!
Paper tape can adjust ma
Cellotape salah tape kena tear new tape again
Langiler
post Feb 9 2012, 09:50 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Feb 9 2012, 09:45 PM)
Paper tape can adjust ma
Cellotape salah tape kena tear new tape again
tapi kat kilang aku kerja sekarang,
they use some shiny thermal tape,
will not leave sticky glue on surface, plus have strong adhesive power too
TSwkkm007
post Feb 9 2012, 09:50 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(Try4e @ Feb 6 2012, 07:32 AM)
[attachmentid=2670479]

Langiler
post Feb 9 2012, 09:52 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

._.
all hail the Creativity Master
masuhito
post Feb 17 2012, 04:25 PM

88 posts

[attachmentid=2670479]
QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Feb 9 2012, 09:50 PM)
Memang terbaaaeeeekkk ! ! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
amduser
post Feb 18 2012, 11:00 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Feb 8 2012, 02:19 PM)
What case may I ask?
corsair 400r, all vent hole with fan
tcheric
post Apr 6 2012, 02:34 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Feb 8 2012, 06:27 PM)

Brothers ... Where u guys buy this?
So just cut it out, then stick/screw based on our creativity, correct?
TSwkkm007
post Apr 7 2012, 02:50 AM

3,123 posts

yes is very fine black mesh fabric, can get @ kedai alat jahitan
tcheric
post Apr 9 2012, 09:40 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Apr 7 2012, 02:50 AM)
yes is very fine black mesh fabric, can get @ kedai alat jahitan
Means this is fabric? I tot this is metal?
DarknessChief7
post Apr 9 2012, 04:22 PM

I cannot view the picture. It's a broken link..
TSwkkm007
post Apr 9 2012, 07:47 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(tcheric @ Apr 9 2012, 07:40 AM)
Means this is fabric? I tot this is metal?
Is my by polyester smile.gif
tcheric
post Apr 10 2012, 09:49 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Apr 9 2012, 07:47 PM)
Is my by polyester smile.gif
polyester fabric?
What about those washable material used in air cond?
lawtm
post Apr 24 2012, 03:39 PM

Asus G53SX-IX113V i7-2670QM (4 core)-2.2GHz (Turbo up to 2.9) NV
1,215 posts

how much????????pm me
rudolfjie
post Apr 26 2012, 12:16 PM

350 posts

I'm using pantyhose as airfilter, it's really works
chaosneo
post May 2 2012, 09:34 AM

5,694 posts

just go get Silverstone magnetic air filter. its cheap and easy to attach/detach and clean and comes in many sizes.
because it has magnet, typically it can attach almost anywhere on your casing.

it is better to not only have a above average air filter but also easy for maintenance would be a boon as well.

kucuboy
post May 9 2012, 04:14 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(chaosneo @ May 2 2012, 09:34 AM)
just go get Silverstone magnetic air filter. its cheap and easy to attach/detach and clean and comes in many sizes.
because it has magnet, typically it can attach almost anywhere on your casing.

it is better to not only have a above average air filter but also easy for maintenance would be a boon as well.

Where to buy Silverstone magnetic air filter? and how much isit for lets say 140mm and 200mm fan slots?
TSwkkm007
post May 14 2012, 01:49 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 9 2012, 02:14 AM)
Where to buy Silverstone magnetic air filter? and how much isit for lets say 140mm and 200mm fan slots?
LYP viewnet got sell I use the 140mm on my bottom intake hole of my COOLER MASTER HAF 922.
chaosneo
post May 14 2012, 08:45 AM

5,694 posts

ops.
sorry for the very late reply.
LYN viewnet, as stated by wkkm007, sells it. i got myself the 120mm magnetic filter (rm24) for my 80mm side panel fan.
they sell around rm20-35 depending on size.

kucuboy
post May 17 2012, 03:12 AM

710 posts

I just made my own DIY magnetic air filter for my HAF 922. It looks great and it only cost me a total of RM16.80 to cover the side intake, top blower and bottom chasis intake hole. Bought the magnet and filter mesh from Daiso. The filter mesh is actually cut out of a Lingerie washing machine bag, but it seems to make do as a good filter without sacrificing too much airflow. I am actually very surprised with how good it looks and functions. The magnetic frame just holds the filter in place and is easily detachable if you want to clean/wash it and etc.

I couldn't find a black color mesh material which could be used as a filter to match the color of the casing as I was just experimenting wheter it would work in the first place. My next target is to find a black mesh kind of cloth to match the whole black look. If many people ask, I may consider putting up a thread to show step by step how I did it. In fact, this method can be used for any other type of casing coz you decide on your own measurements. And you can even choose to select any other color to be used as a frame because the magnet strip from Daiso has a sticker on the back. So that means you can paste any paper, plastic or etc on it depending on your taste. I chose a black paper to match my casing color.

[EDIT] Added another pix of the simple filter using magnets under the casing. Since no one really sees it, I didnt bother making a frame for it,

This post has been edited by kucuboy: May 20 2012, 04:28 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
kucuboy
post May 17 2012, 03:18 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(tcheric @ Apr 6 2012, 02:34 PM)
Brothers ... Where u guys buy this?
So just cut it out, then stick/screw based on our creativity, correct?
I tried this method at first, but it the sticker which looks same like your didnt seem to last more than a week withouth it begining to peel open. Worst was for the blower fan on the top of my Haf 922 casing. The mesh filter just came out! Thats when I decided to experiment with magnets which I managed to do it magnificently I might add.

jabba87
post May 19 2012, 04:06 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 17 2012, 03:12 AM)
I just made my own DIY magnetic air filter for my HAF 922. It looks great and it only cost me a total of RM16.80 to cover the side intake, top blower and bottom chasis intake hole. Bought the magnet and filter mesh from Daiso. The filter mesh is actually cut out of a Lingerie washing machine bag, but it seems to make do as a good filter without sacrificing too much airflow. I am actually very surprised with how good it looks and functions. The magnetic frame just holds the filter in place and is easily detachable if you want to clean/wash it and etc.

I couldn't find a black color mesh material which could be used as a filter to match the color of the casing as I was just experimenting wheter it would work in the first place. My next target is to find a black mesh kind of cloth to match the whole black look. If many people ask, I may consider putting up a thread to show step by step how I did it. In fact, this method can be used for any other type of casing coz you decide on your own measurements. And you can even choose to select any other color to be used as a frame because the magnet strip from Daiso has a sticker on the back. So that means you can paste any paper, plastic or etc on it depending on your taste. I chose a black paper to match my casing color.
Can i know where u bought the filter? I want to get something to cover my Corsair 500R mesh. If possible please PM me biggrin.gif TQ !
TSwkkm007
post May 19 2012, 04:38 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 17 2012, 01:12 AM)

thumbup.gif

jabba87
post May 19 2012, 04:48 PM

62 posts

woops my bad! didn't notice the word DAISO biggrin.gif will head there and buy it tomolo biggrin.gif
kucuboy
post May 20 2012, 03:41 PM

710 posts

Below are two comparison photos of the airflow before and after using the customized air filter made from the DAISO lingerie laundry bag. In the first photo, there is nothing covering the mesh holes on the blower fan on top of the HAF 922 casing. With the fan on at full speed. I used the Daiso Magnetic Strip's plastic packaging and stuck to a pen and tried to see where is the stable airflow which can support the weight of the plastic. As you can see, the plastic is quite high up showing good strong airflow from CPU to outside.

Next pix is WITH the DAISO filter in place and as you may have noticed, the plastic is not as high as pix 1 (Sorry diff camera angles may make it a bit difficult to judge). I would estimate with the filter in place, it has cut airflow by 50-60%

Conclusion: This filter is advertised as a effective lint penetrating resistant material when dumped in washing machine as such, is great to stop dust from getting into your CPU casing PERIOD. But at the same time, it will definately sacrifice your airflow for those wanting high airflow in and out of your CPU's. I damn pantang having dust going into my rig and at the same time I dont want to restrict airflow so much. After all I did buy a HAF 922 which stands for "High Air Flow" to see a lot of air going in and out of casing. Personally, unless someone tells me of a slightly more porous material but at same time is an effective dust filter I'll stick to this.

P.S. I have not really stress test my computer to find out the internal CPU heat with the filter and without it to give a definate answer. Maybe someone can try and post here or point me how to do it. Still tinkering with my RIG after assembling it part by part last month. Not much time.
My RIG specs : Intel 2500K (not yet OC) CM Hyper 212+ cooler , MSI Z68-A GD65 mobo, AMD Radeon 7850 high OC, 4GB G-Skill DD3, PSU Corsair GS600, 2x SATA2 HDD, 23" HD LED LG monitor.

This post has been edited by kucuboy: May 20 2012, 04:25 PM

zhongbie
post May 20 2012, 06:32 PM

89 posts

hmmm, or mayb u can clean it once a while without the filter? bcoz for me the air flow is quit important than the dust flow.
jabba87
post May 20 2012, 07:31 PM

62 posts

for my case, i would prefer less air flow than more dust... coz having lotsa dust is a pain in the ass to clean...

Added on May 21, 2012, 8:55 amKucuboy,

Wanted to ask you. for your casing, how many packets of the DAISO filter + Magnetic adhesive did u need? Coz i am planning to go and buy today, need a rough estimate..

This post has been edited by jabba87: May 21 2012, 08:55 AM
kucuboy
post May 21 2012, 09:57 PM

710 posts

Added on May 21, 2012, 8:55 amKucuboy,

Wanted to ask you. for your casing, how many packets of the DAISO filter + Magnetic adhesive did u need? Coz i am planning to go and buy today, need a rough estimate..
The Lingerie bag only need one. Its very big actually when you cut it and lay it spread out. Enough for several casings I feel. The magnetic strips you need two. I love the particular one I used because there are grids on it. So makes cutting them in straight line a joy. Total RM 15. But you may still need 2 black pieces of paper if you want to follow exactly like how I made mine. Tesco 80sen each.
jabba87
post May 22 2012, 10:54 AM

62 posts

Hey kucuboy, thanks for your info. Went to 1u DAISO, got the lingerie bag. However they ran out of magnetic adhesive so gonna replace it with something for a while....
kucuboy
post May 22 2012, 04:12 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(jabba87 @ May 22 2012, 10:54 AM)
Hey kucuboy, thanks for your info. Went to 1u DAISO, got the lingerie bag. However they ran out of magnetic adhesive so gonna replace it with something for a while....
Lol, When I bought 2 of those magnet strips at 1U Daiso, left only 1 more. But when I went to The Curve Daiso, still got about 8 pieces.
jabba87
post May 23 2012, 02:38 AM

62 posts

Oic. hehe so far i'm just using some musking tape to tape it for now.

Kucuboy,

U put the filter on the outside and inside? double layers?
polarzbearz
post May 23 2012, 12:24 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 20 2012, 03:41 PM)
Below are two comparison photos of the airflow before and after using the customized air filter made from the DAISO lingerie laundry bag. In the first photo, there is nothing covering the mesh holes on the blower fan on top of the HAF 922 casing. With the fan on at full speed. I used the Daiso Magnetic Strip's plastic packaging and stuck to a pen and tried to see where is the stable airflow which can support the weight of the plastic. As you can see, the plastic is quite high up showing good strong airflow from CPU to outside.

Next pix is WITH the DAISO filter in place and as you may have noticed, the plastic is not as high as pix 1 (Sorry diff camera angles may make it a bit difficult to judge). I would estimate with the filter in place, it has cut airflow by 50-60%

Conclusion: This filter is advertised as a effective lint penetrating resistant material when dumped in washing machine as such, is great to stop dust from getting into your CPU casing PERIOD. But at the same time, it will definately sacrifice your airflow for those wanting high airflow in and out of your CPU's. I damn pantang having dust going into my rig and at the same time I dont want to restrict airflow so much. After all I did buy a HAF 922 which stands for "High Air Flow" to see a lot of air going in and out of casing. Personally, unless someone tells me of a slightly more porous material but at same time is an effective dust filter I'll stick to this.

P.S. I have not really stress test my computer to find out the internal CPU heat with the filter and without it to give a definate answer. Maybe someone can try and post here or point me how to do it. Still tinkering with my RIG after assembling it part by part last month. Not much time.
My RIG specs : Intel 2500K (not yet OC) CM Hyper 212+ cooler , MSI Z68-A GD65 mobo, AMD Radeon 7850 high OC, 4GB G-Skill DD3, PSU Corsair GS600, 2x SATA2 HDD, 23" HD LED LG monitor.
Damn, should have read your post earlier. Went to Daiso 2 days ago to buy air filter.. but only bought the "paper-type" one I guess.. it's for exhaust / airconds.. doh.gif
kucuboy
post May 23 2012, 01:56 PM

710 posts

Jabba: I only use filter outside. If i put another layer, will restrict too much airflow and become useless. Besides the lingerie mesh is already very effective in stopping the dust. In fact I used it for slightly more than a week and can see the color of the mesh changing a bit to brownish, its stopping a lot of dust being sucked in the casing. My room quite dusty :-)

Polarzbearz: IMO aircond and exhaust filter too restrictive for small cpu fans. Those filters are effective for high powered fans found in aircond and exhaust blowers.

jabba87
post May 23 2012, 01:59 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 23 2012, 01:56 PM)
Jabba: I only use filter outside. If i put another layer, will restrict too much airflow and become useless. Besides the lingerie mesh is already very effective in stopping the dust. In fact I used it for slightly more than a week and can see the color of the mesh changing a bit to brownish, its stopping a lot of dust being sucked in the casing. My room quite dusty :-)

Polarzbearz: IMO aircond and exhaust filter too restrictive for small cpu fans. Those filters are effective for high powered fans found in aircond and exhaust blowers.
Hey kucuboy, for my casing, i sticked it inside my casing at the moment. I tried putting it on the outside, but with masking tape on... it looks FUGLY, so therefore switched it to the inside.
kucuboy
post May 23 2012, 02:10 PM

710 posts

Whatever works for you bro. As long there is no dust going into your comp and you are satisfied. I just wanted to share my experience making a DIY magnetic dust filter since I know a lot of other people facing same dillema as me.

My funny experience was that I read many forums and Youtube on using panty hose as filter. I actually went around looking for panty hose at Tesco and Daiso. Aiyo so memalukan when some women who were shopping in the same aisle saw a guy looking at pantyhose sweat.gif They might have thought I was a crazy cross dresser. HAHAHA. I really enjoyed myself doing this little project.

P.S. I think I saved a few Lowyat bros from embarrassing themselves by looking for panty hose at shopping malls thumbup.gif
jabba87
post May 23 2012, 02:47 PM

62 posts

Btw, forgotten to mention this. THANKS for sharing with us on ur DIY method.
TSwkkm007
post May 23 2012, 08:06 PM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 20 2012, 01:41 PM)

What is ur CPU, GPU normal temp?
TSwkkm007
post May 23 2012, 08:26 PM

3,123 posts

Added on May 23, 2012, 8:26 pmwith and without

This post has been edited by wkkm007: May 23 2012, 08:26 PM
kucuboy
post May 23 2012, 09:55 PM

710 posts

My 2500k, not oc at all. Runs at 40C idle and 72 at load. Has 212 Hyper cooler. If I leave the casing open might drop only 2C.
My Sapphire AMD Radeon 7850 runs at high OC maintains idle 40C and at load goes up to 72C

Wkkm007, you balut your whole casing with some mesh netting isit?

This post has been edited by kucuboy: May 23 2012, 09:58 PM
TSwkkm007
post May 24 2012, 01:00 AM

3,123 posts

yup

Added on May 24, 2012, 1:06 am50~51 idle, load 6x~7x cpu and gpu

This post has been edited by wkkm007: May 24 2012, 01:06 AM
rudolfjie
post May 24 2012, 10:01 AM

350 posts

I saw some ppl using pantyhose as filter, working quite well
rudolfjie
post May 24 2012, 10:01 AM

350 posts

I saw some ppl using pantyhose as filter, working quite well
supernothing
post May 24 2012, 10:37 AM

super ā˜†
1,343 posts

+1 to kucuboy, i have a lot of these net bags for my wife's undergarments.

checked them out and the holes are indeed very small. will buy a few to replace my lian li filter. might make a video to show how to's. nice weekend project to look forward to smile.gif
night
post May 24 2012, 06:03 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 23 2012, 09:55 PM)
My 2500k, not oc at all. Runs at 40C idle and 72 at load. Has 212 Hyper cooler. If I leave the casing open might drop only 2C.
My Sapphire AMD Radeon 7850 runs at high OC maintains idle 40C and at load goes up to 72C

Wkkm007, you balut your whole casing with some mesh netting isit?
Im using the same casing as you. Wonder how did you put filter for the front intake fan.
polarzbearz
post May 28 2012, 11:36 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 23 2012, 01:56 PM)
Got no time to test out the filters I bought. Hopefully the fan is powerful enough to suck in airflows even with the filter installed sweat.gif
Using Aerocool Shark tho. If all else fails, no choice but to go & visit DAISO again for lingerie bag sad.gif

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 23 2012, 02:10 PM)
Whatever works for you bro. As long there is no dust going into your comp and you are satisfied. I just wanted to share my experience making a DIY magnetic dust filter since I know a lot of other people facing same dillema as me.

My funny experience was that I read many forums and Youtube on using panty hose as filter. I actually went around looking for panty hose at Tesco and Daiso. Aiyo so memalukan when some women who were shopping in the same aisle saw a guy looking at pantyhose  sweat.gif  They might have thought I was a crazy cross dresser. HAHAHA. I really enjoyed myself doing this little project.

P.S. I think I saved a few Lowyat bros from embarrassing themselves by looking for panty hose at shopping malls  thumbup.gif
laugh.gif Just order it online and problem solved.
TSwkkm007
post May 30 2012, 01:06 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(night @ May 24 2012, 04:03 PM)
Im using the same casing as you. Wonder how did you put filter for the front intake fan.
There is a pic in post no 9.
kucuboy
post May 30 2012, 08:25 PM

710 posts

Oh i see it. Wow, it aint pretty, but it sure as hell works
AceKendy
post Jun 8 2012, 05:45 PM

230 posts

Planning to DIY my case with Air-cond filters, Might try several types of filter such as Mesh or Nylon filters (I would even go for the RM5 air-cond filter from daiso).

Case : CM Storm Trooper -Window edition-
3 x 120mm fan on the front. (blow in)
4 x 120mm fan on the side. (2 blow in, 2 blow out.)
3 x 120mm fan on the top (blow out)
1 x 140mm fan on the back. (blow out)
========================================
Casing only, cooler from RAM, Core and PSU not yet included.

I think mesh filter will absorb less dust compare to Nylon or the Air-Cond filter from Daiso, but of course...it will provide more air flow.

Luckily I'm working in a Air-Cond filter company, can research many different types of Air filter icon_rolleyes.gif
TSwkkm007
post Jun 8 2012, 07:09 PM

3,123 posts

pocket tissue it is good?
It is possible to get bigger piece of it? the raw uncut n pack version?

Added on June 8, 2012, 7:11 pmI feel it very thin and good to trap dust yet not so reduce the air flow...

Added on June 8, 2012, 7:14 pm
QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 30 2012, 06:25 PM)
Oh i see it. Wow, it aint pretty, but it sure as hell works
outlook tak kesah la, janji not so dirty inside my PC tongue.gif
No ppl come n see my PC 1 la LOL

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Jun 8 2012, 07:14 PM
night
post Jun 10 2012, 12:54 PM

1,469 posts

Courtesy of TS. I did improvised them by adding some add on.

Alfsaw
post Jul 1 2012, 08:38 PM

1,132 posts

Some of my own filter solution to share with you guys. Hope it helps out. rclxms.gif

Got the "Floor wipes" from Daiso. Made these filters for my top mesh of my chassis.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

refor_matt
post Jul 2 2012, 01:02 AM

92 posts

Heh, I just stack two foldable car-sunshades together and place them in front of my desktop's casing where the intake fans are located. The suction from the fans is sufficient to hold the makeshift filters in place. It's not elegant, but it works.

This post has been edited by refor_matt: Jul 2 2012, 01:02 AM
TSwkkm007
post Jul 2 2012, 10:26 PM

3,123 posts

So many great idea from all of us.

Added on July 2, 2012, 10:31 pm@ Alfsaw
How thick the floor wipe? If like packet tissues that good for airflow.

This post has been edited by wkkm007: Jul 2 2012, 10:31 PM
night
post Jul 2 2012, 10:49 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(Alfsaw @ Jul 1 2012, 08:38 PM)
Some of my own filter solution to share with you guys. Hope it helps out.  rclxms.gif

Got the "Floor wipes" from Daiso. Made these filters for my top mesh of my chassis.

Wouldn't the filter disrupt your air flow? The holes are kinda small though.
Alfsaw
post Jul 2 2012, 11:23 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jul 2 2012, 10:26 PM)
So many great idea from all of us.

Added on July 2, 2012, 10:31 pm@ Alfsaw
How thick the floor wipe? If like packet tissues that good for airflow.
Its like tissue thin

Added on July 2, 2012, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(night @ Jul 2 2012, 10:49 PM)
Wouldn't the filter disrupt your air flow? The holes are kinda small though.
Not likely, cuz top fan is exhaust and the floor wipes are like tissue thin. Main purpose is for dust to not enter from above.

This post has been edited by Alfsaw: Jul 2 2012, 11:25 PM
TSwkkm007
post Jul 3 2012, 01:03 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(Alfsaw @ Jul 2 2012, 09:23 PM)
Its like tissue thin

Added on July 2, 2012, 11:25 pm
Not likely, cuz top fan is exhaust and the floor wipes are like tissue thin. Main purpose is for dust to not enter from above.
Will the floor wipes on exhaust fan trap dust that blow out? The end drop back into casing sweat.gif
Alfsaw
post Jul 3 2012, 07:59 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jul 3 2012, 01:03 AM)
Will the floor wipes on exhaust fan trap dust that blow out? The end drop back into casing sweat.gif
Not likely, cuz the top mesh was the only part without filters on this case. Hence, the DIY. Front, Bottom and sides all covered with pre-installed washable filters.
SUSdreign
post Aug 24 2012, 08:19 PM

382 posts

Anyone come across such dust filter in Malaysia?

night
post Aug 24 2012, 10:28 PM

1,469 posts

I believe you can DIY them. Pretty straight forward.
rc2x
post Aug 24 2012, 11:31 PM

Ask me about my vore fettish
1,838 posts

QUOTE(dreign @ Aug 24 2012, 08:19 PM)
Anyone come across such dust filter in Malaysia?
Never seen one. Quite a weird dust filter.
SUSdreign
post Aug 25 2012, 01:06 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Aug 24 2012, 11:31 PM)
I think this meant for thoese un-moded or without fan on side or top.
Have to look for large polyester bag. to DIY.

If you open up mode case you notice dust actually coming in almost every direction.

Why are filter install into air out going fan? I dont see a purpose to it.

This post has been edited by dreign: Aug 25 2012, 01:12 PM
fireballs
post Aug 25 2012, 01:07 PM

5,650 posts

daiso RM5
night
post Aug 25 2012, 03:09 PM

1,469 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Aug 24 2012, 11:31 PM)
I believe you can find those at DAISO. Try looking at filter for aircond.
rc2x
post Aug 25 2012, 05:55 PM

Ask me about my vore fettish
1,838 posts

QUOTE(dreign @ Aug 25 2012, 01:06 PM)
I think this meant for thoese un-moded or without fan on side or top.
Have to look for large polyester bag. to DIY.

If you open up mode case you notice dust actually coming in almost every direction.

Why are filter install into air out going fan? I dont see a purpose to it.
Yes there will be scatter dust around but not much. Usually fan filter are to be put for intake fan.

QUOTE(night @ Aug 25 2012, 03:09 PM)
I believe you can find those at DAISO. Try looking at filter for aircond.
Aite thanks for the heads up. icon_rolleyes.gif
atrashadnan
post Aug 28 2012, 10:59 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(kucuboy @ May 17 2012, 03:12 AM)
thanks for the idea biggrin.gif .today i went to daiso to look for the stuffs mr.kucuboy here used for his own DIY filter rclxms.gif . i bought the same lingerie washing bag and aircond filter to test out both airflow. but unfortunately i couldnt find the magnetic sheet because they dont have stock i think.so i resorted to using Scotch clear magic tape(temporary solution).my target is to have something that can filter cat's fur(my cats love to sleep on the pc table).

i choose the aircond filter because it has better airflow with good dust filtration.my slow spinning fans does not pull enough air thru the lingerie washing bag.i tested both filters i bought on a normal 120mm fan. one pack can use for 1 pc with about 1/4 xtra left.mind you there are bigger sizes to choose from.its all RM5 only thumbup.gif

Attached Image .

the air cond filter comes with 6 small velcro with adhesive applied.this will help you when placing the soft filter on a smooth surface. maybe you guys can buy the velcro normally used for bundling 'buku text sekolah' one. brows.gif

so i placed inside the front intake panel.this is a corsair 500R casing.

and taped it on the side panel intake mesh.i needed to tape double layer coz the filter doesnt really stick that well.

i wish i could have done more aesthetically like mr.kucuboy did cry.gif ,but maybe i'll try to get that magnetic sheet or velcro to stick the filter in place.

Alfsaw
post Aug 29 2012, 11:39 AM

1,132 posts

500R? Why put on the front intake, doesnt it already have a front intake filter by default?
atrashadnan
post Aug 29 2012, 02:55 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Alfsaw @ Aug 29 2012, 11:39 AM)

500R? Why put on the front intake, doesnt it already have a front intake filter by default?
i consider the mesh holes to be too big to filter out smaller dust particles like fabric dust.but for the top exhaust the filter mesh is good enough already. smile.gif
dragon528
post Aug 29 2012, 04:58 PM

532 posts

I use the method that show in this thread, very good i can say.

It not 100% block all dust, but it help block those larger size dust. Those dust sand. Now i take several months only clean my PC.

The temp is ok. Can be found in Daiso, if dont mind the filter dirty, it can be continue use.
TSwkkm007
post Sep 15 2012, 01:42 AM

3,123 posts

friendly reminder
don't balut until no air enter later overheat then kebakaran
this use to happen laptop with on power put on bed
atrashadnan
post Sep 15 2012, 02:06 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(dragon528 @ Aug 29 2012, 04:58 PM)
I use the method that show in this thread, very good i can say.

It not 100% block all dust, but it help block those larger size dust. Those dust sand. Now i take several months only clean my PC.

The temp is ok. Can be found in Daiso, if dont mind the filter dirty, it can be continue use.
and try not to smoke in front of your pc.if not later filter become yellow.smoking is no good for health brows.gif
TSwkkm007
post Sep 19 2012, 01:36 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(atrashadnan @ Sep 15 2012, 12:06 AM)
and try not to smoke in front of your pc.if not later filter become yellow.smoking is no good for health brows.gif

thumbup.gif

yewMP5
post Sep 29 2012, 04:40 PM

499 posts

Walao...nice same case user here...where u bought the filter...gonna do it
atrashadnan
post Sep 29 2012, 07:44 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(yewMP5 @ Sep 29 2012, 04:40 PM)

Walao...nice same case user here...where u bought the filter...gonna do it
bought the filter at Daiso One Utama(old wing,basement carpark).got so many types of filter there. you just have to open the packaging one by one (illegally laa) and try the filter whether too thick or not.

post the pictures when you're done. biggrin.gif
TSwkkm007
post Sep 29 2012, 11:58 PM

3,123 posts

20sen packet/box tissue thickness very good 1 ply , is it possibly to get the uncut large version?
atrashadnan
post Sep 30 2012, 01:54 PM

112 posts

i've nvr seen a large uncut tissue before.but maybe because it can tear up quite easily i guess..
heerosakura
post Mar 13 2013, 02:37 PM

175 posts

look like many good to DIY the filter
i found DemciFlex filter also not bad but only very exp tongue.gif
ectt
post Mar 25 2013, 09:41 PM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Feb 9 2012, 09:50 PM)
impressed with the home fan! rclxms.gif
copper pipes with water circulate around may cool a bit more
TSwkkm007
post Mar 26 2013, 12:37 AM

3,123 posts

QUOTE(ectt @ Mar 25 2013, 07:41 PM)
impressed with the home fan! rclxms.gif
copper pipes with water circulate around may cool a bit more
if leakage than gg brows.gif
ectt
post Mar 26 2013, 12:44 AM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Mar 26 2013, 12:37 AM)
if leakage than gg brows.gif
condensation may brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Duckies
post Apr 12 2013, 09:01 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

How much is the Silverstone magnetic air filter?

0.0885sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:09 PM