Need help from all sifu's, speed limiter - NHC

TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 01:50 PM, updated 14y ago

I need help and opinion from all sifu's,

I owned NHC 1st model, my main probs is it's got speed limiter tht limit my car to max speed of 190km/h....i hope all sifu's can help me / giving me solution on how to remove this speed limiter.

I'm new in this car world and car modification world, so hope all sifu's can help me icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Newbies in car world...
ikiey
post Jan 16 2012, 01:51 PM

48 posts

Sorry bro, but whats NHC...??
Boy96
post Jan 16 2012, 01:52 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(ikiey @ Jan 16 2012, 01:51 PM)
Sorry bro, but whats NHC...??
New Honda City ?
turbocharged
post Jan 16 2012, 01:52 PM

250 posts

190km/h not enough for your 1.5liter engine?

rclxms.gif
zeone
post Jan 16 2012, 01:59 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

Sincerely hope our fren's gonna use his NHC ONLY@Sepang... icon_rolleyes.gif
Or else dunno who's @risk? Him or some innocent ppl? sad.gif
calvin_ng
post Jan 16 2012, 02:03 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

no laaa NHC no speed limiter just the gearbox ratio not for high speed run...
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 02:07 PM

NHC - New Honda City bro....yes my car got limiter, every tiem my speedo meter hit 190km/h it will cut the feul automatically..i'm not joking, i know you guys never heard this complaint from other new honda city owner.

No la bro, just want to try to max out the 1.5 engine oni...tht's all hehehehe...

Added on January 16, 2012, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 16 2012, 02:03 PM)
no laaa NHC no speed limiter just the gearbox ratio not for high speed run...
Bro Calvin, yes my New Honda City do had speed limiter, every time i hit 190km/h i will automatically cut my feul.

This post has been edited by shaifulempty: Jan 16 2012, 02:10 PM
dares
post Jan 16 2012, 02:14 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 02:07 PM)
NHC - New Honda City bro....yes my car got limiter, every tiem my speedo meter hit 190km/h it will cut the feul automatically..i'm not joking, i know you guys never heard this complaint from other new honda city owner.

No la bro, just want to try to max out the 1.5 engine oni...tht's all hehehehe...
The rev limiter is designed to protect your engine and gearbox (AND YOU!). Even the new Proton Saga has it.

You want it removed, you'll need to mod your ECU.
gnne84
post Jan 16 2012, 02:17 PM

276 posts

Bro Calvin, yes my New Honda City do had speed limiter, every time i hit 190km/h i will automatically cut my feul.
wao can hit 190km/h shocking.gif shocking.gif
cool but becareful tongue.gif
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jan 16 2012, 02:14 PM)
The rev limiter is designed to protect your engine and gearbox (AND YOU!). Even the new Proton Saga has it.

You want it removed, you'll need to mod your ECU.
Thanks for the info bro dares, but what makes my head "pening" is that other New Honda City model...doesn't has any of this problem..hehehehe..anyway it's kind of good to know thats the real function of this speed limiter.

Bro dares, can you explained to me further on the ecu modification?...i'm so sorry, i'm newbies here..just want to learn something new biggrin.gif
MeToo
post Jan 16 2012, 02:19 PM

9,336 posts

Huh? Non JDM also got limiter?

Well.. reflash ecu, uniship, piggy back.. etc.. i think reflash cheapest
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 02:20 PM

QUOTE(gnne84 @ Jan 16 2012, 02:17 PM)
wao can hit 190km/h  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
cool but becareful  tongue.gif
hehehehe...thanks for the reminder bro gnne84..will do becareful..life doesn't have any spare part lo hehehehe.. biggrin.gif
dares
post Jan 16 2012, 02:22 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 02:19 PM)
Bro dares, can you explained to me further on the ecu modification?...i'm so sorry, i'm newbies here..just want to learn something new  biggrin.gif
What MeToo mentioned. You'll need to find tuner shops that knows how to work with ECUs, specifically Honda ECUs.
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 16 2012, 02:19 PM)
Huh? Non JDM also got limiter?

Well.. reflash ecu, uniship, piggy back.. etc.. i think reflash cheapest
Bro MeToo..yes my car got limiter...try piggy back d...also cannot...reflash..tunggu duit masuk dulu la bro..hehehehehe smile.gif

Added on January 16, 2012, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(dares @ Jan 16 2012, 02:22 PM)
What MeToo mentioned. You'll need to find tuner shops that knows how to work with ECUs, specifically Honda ECUs.
Any advise on the shop bro dares?... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shaifulempty: Jan 16 2012, 02:23 PM
dares
post Jan 16 2012, 02:25 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 02:22 PM)
Bro MeToo..yes my car got limiter...try piggy back d...also cannot...reflash..tunggu duit masuk dulu la bro..hehehehehe smile.gif

Nahh...me poorfag, drive Saga only tongue.gif

There's a company that has been advertising on the F&F forums not so long ago...KT something I think. You search the pages and see lah.

This post has been edited by dares: Jan 16 2012, 02:26 PM
MeToo
post Jan 16 2012, 02:27 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 02:22 PM)

Er... i just remember... a colleague tried to reflash his civic last year.. i think it didnt work as in the ECU revert back to its ori state... was told one of those honda "smart" ecu.... I didnt ask more, but if that is the case... unichip is your best alternative

Next question.... how often u go above 187kmh cut anyway....
cllee86
post Jan 16 2012, 02:28 PM

540 posts

Hmm..cut fuel to the engine?
But won't the engine will die if no fuel hmm.gif
dares
post Jan 16 2012, 02:33 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(cllee86 @ Jan 16 2012, 02:28 PM)
Lol not literally cut fuel la biggrin.gif . It works by controlling/interrupting the electricity going to the spark plugs.
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 16 2012, 02:27 PM)
Er... i just remember... a colleague tried to reflash his civic last year.. i think it didnt work as in the ECU revert back to its ori state... was told one of those honda "smart" ecu.... I didnt ask more, but if that is the case... unichip is your best alternative

Next question.... how often u go above 187kmh cut anyway....
Thanks for the info bro MeToo...i see..i have install emanage blue...but still can't do anything for the cutoff...unichip?...how much is the cost to install the unichip...

hahahaha..almost every day bro...hehehehe...using max highway as my normal route..so if got chance will max the speed out..hehehehe smile.gif

Added on January 16, 2012, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(dares @ Jan 16 2012, 02:25 PM)
Nahh...me poorfag, drive Saga only  tongue.gif

There's a company that has been advertising on the F&F forums not so long ago...KT something I think. You search the pages and see lah.
Thanks for the info bro dares...ala dun't la say like tht..i'm also poorfag...

Added on January 16, 2012, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(cllee86 @ Jan 16 2012, 02:28 PM)
Sorry bro...i'm newbies...dunno wht term should be use..hehehehe...when ppl say feul cut...so i just use it..sorry ya bro biggrin.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shaifulempty: Jan 16 2012, 02:40 PM
ikiey
post Jan 16 2012, 02:42 PM

48 posts

Go to J's racing, they can de-speed limiter ur car... They are Honda expert
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(ikiey @ Jan 16 2012, 02:42 PM)
Go to J's racing, they can de-speed limiter ur car... They are Honda expert
u mean J'c Racing in sunway?...bro ikiey
Vervain
post Jan 16 2012, 02:48 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Just reflash will do. Cheap way is to cut the speed signal to your ECU but you will invite problems later. Else, install RSM. Piggyback is not cheap.
ikiey
post Jan 16 2012, 02:49 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 02:45 PM)
u mean J'c Racing in sunway?...bro ikiey
Yeah yeah. Jc racing... They tune my friend's EK to 240 wheel horse power... Heheheh
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jan 16 2012, 02:48 PM)
Just reflash will do. Cheap way is to cut the speed signal to your ECU but you will invite problems later. Else, install RSM. Piggyback is not cheap.
Bro Vervain...bro MeeToo mentioned his friend civic revert to normal state after the reflash...because of the "smart" ecu thingy by honda. I have install RSM as well.......but it won't work..i have install emanage blue already..but still won't work... icon_question.gif

Added on January 16, 2012, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(ikiey @ Jan 16 2012, 02:49 PM)
Yeah yeah. Jc racing... They tune my friend's EK to 240 wheel horse power... Heheheh
Bro ikiey..wohaaaa...your friend has a monster...i installed my emanage and rsm at jc racing..all the set up done by them..but still the cut off issue is still there... icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by shaifulempty: Jan 16 2012, 02:55 PM
Vervain
post Jan 16 2012, 03:06 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

tested during dyno? if dyno also cannot hit above 190kph, then it's speed cut. reflash means you alter the whole programming instruction on the ECU. should work if there's no instruction on speed cut. Else, its the TCU issue.

Added on January 16, 2012, 3:06 pmif dyno can go above 190kph, then its other factor.

This post has been edited by Vervain: Jan 16 2012, 03:06 PM
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 03:13 PM

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jan 16 2012, 03:06 PM)
tested during dyno? if dyno also cannot hit above 190kph, then it's speed cut. reflash means you alter the whole programming instruction on the ECU. should work if there's no instruction on speed cut. Else, its the TCU issue.

Added on January 16, 2012, 3:06 pmif dyno can go above 190kph, then its other factor.
I see...thanks for the great info bro Vervain...yes tested during dyno, and i can hit 210km/h the the cut off kick in back...after finish using that setting for 2-3 day the cut off revert back to normal 190km/h...now days if i do get lucky..the cut off will kick in at 200km/h instead of 190km/h...rarely occasion la...

Bro Vervain...what is TCU?... biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 16 2012, 03:15 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jan 16 2012, 03:06 PM)

did you ever think that 190 is the top speed? means, thats the limit?

so if u're driving 2.0 civic, what is the top speed you expecting? 240kmh?

TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 03:19 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 16 2012, 03:15 PM)
did you ever think that 190 is the top speed? means, thats the limit?

so if u're driving 2.0 civic, what is the top speed you expecting? 240kmh?
In my opinion, the new honda city can go further than 190km/h...1st because the rpm didn't hit the edge of max rpm...may b it can go up to 210/220 km/h...i didn't know..hehehehe..but i do had experience when my speed at 190km/h..other new honda city "potong" me at more higher speed...tht's why i got so curious abt the speed..hehehehe sweat.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 16 2012, 03:21 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 03:19 PM)
In my opinion, the new honda city can go further than 190km/h...1st because the rpm didn't hit the edge of max rpm...may b it can go up to 210/220 km/h...i didn't know..hehehehe..but i do had experience when my speed at 190km/h..other new honda city "potong" me at more higher speed...tht's why i got so curious abt the speed..hehehehe sweat.gif
if your honda city can do 210km/h at stock without turbo.

pls create a thread here, becos you'll almost beat honda civic.

maybe u wanna use GPS to check your speed, your speedometer might not accurate on higher speed such as 200km/h

but before that, a piece of advise, upgrade your brake first.
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 16 2012, 03:21 PM)

maybe u wanna use GPS to check your speed, your speedometer might not accurate on higher speed such as 200km/h

I do agree with you that speedometer is not 100% accurate...and what i claim here is based on the speedometer reading...of coz my car cannot beat honda civic by all mean if i still using the L15A engine...except if i do put in the supercharger or turbocharger smile.gif

thanks for the advise bro, will take that item upgrade seriously and i do understand the need of having good braking system wink.gif

hehehehe..my honda city is not stock at all..just do minor2 modification.

Added on January 16, 2012, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jan 16 2012, 03:21 PM)

I'm not qualified to open a new thread for bragging purpose la bro Turbocharger....i'm newbies in this car world...dun't have the knowledge as well as max experience like other sifu in LYN..i just want to learn from all sifu here smile.gif

This post has been edited by shaifulempty: Jan 16 2012, 03:31 PM
sleepwalker
post Jan 16 2012, 04:54 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 03:19 PM)
No you don't have speed cut. You have reached top speed for your car. This is how speedcut feels like. Full throttle until 190km/h then lift your foot off the accelerator (you will feel engine braking sensation) and let the speed drop to 180-185km/h and then full throttle again. That is how speedcut works and it feels exactly like lifting the foot off the accelerator.

If your speed is stuck at 190km/h and stays there, you have reached top speed and not speed cut. Your RPM will not hit the edge of MAX RPM (aka REDLINE) because your max power RPM and max torque RPM is not at the redline.

Only JDM models have speedcut and unless you imported your Honda City that is made in Japan (not outside of Japan) and sold in Japan, you would not get any export models with speedcut.

One more thing, if your speedometer is over 180km/h, then you don't have speedcut. Cars equipped with speedcut has speedometer maxed out at 180km/h as that is part of the JDM regulations.
TSshaifulempty
post Jan 16 2012, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Jan 16 2012, 04:54 PM)
No you don't have speed cut. You have reached top speed for your car. This is how speedcut feels like. Full throttle until 190km/h then lift your foot off the accelerator (you will feel engine braking sensation) and let the speed drop to 180-185km/h and then full throttle again. That is how speedcut works and it feels exactly like lifting the foot off the accelerator.

If your speed is stuck at 190km/h and stays there, you have reached top speed and not speed cut. Your RPM will not hit the edge of MAX RPM (aka REDLINE) because your max power RPM and max torque RPM is not at the redline.

Only JDM models have speedcut and unless you imported your Honda City that is made in Japan (not outside of Japan) and sold in Japan, you would not get any export models with speedcut.

One more thing, if your speedometer is over 180km/h, then you don't have speedcut. Cars equipped with speedcut has speedometer maxed out at 180km/h as that is part of the JDM regulations.
bro...i dont think the engine has reached its maximum speed output....full throtle on the gas paddel, when ever i reach 190km/h the engine will give me this slight jerking and thump sound...then i will have no respond on the gas paddel...when ever i go down to slight below 190km/h..i will have my gas paddle respond back..it's not that my speedometer stuck at 190 km/h...like you claim for engine that has max out its speed potential.

for a few time i have manage to push the speedo meter to reach at 200km/h....then the thump sound and slight jerking from my engine occur and there is no respond on the gas paddle..like there is no gas going to engine kind of feeling..but after the speed is reduce to 18+..the gas paddle will respond back providing the gas feeling to the engine as usual.

for this i dare to claims that my car are equipped with speed limiter...yes i do understand all the jdm car will have the limiter and limit up to 180 km/h...and for this wierdness of my car behaviour i have come here to seek all the senior and sifu's opinion...really hope all the seniors and sifu can teach me and providing me your valuable opinion. icon_question.gif
turbocharged
post Jan 16 2012, 05:25 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 05:11 PM)
bro...i dont think the engine has reached its maximum speed output....full throtle on the gas paddel, when ever i reach 190km/h the engine will give me this slight jerking and thump sound...then i will have no respond on the gas paddel...when ever i go down to slight below 190km/h..i will have my gas paddle respond back..it's not that my speedometer stuck at 190 km/h...like you claim for engine that has max out its speed potential.

for a few time i have manage to push the speedo meter to reach at 200km/h....then the thump sound and slight jerking from my engine occur and there is no respond on the gas paddle..like there is no gas going to engine kind of feeling..but after the speed is reduce to 18+..the gas paddle will respond back providing the gas feeling to the engine as usual.

for this i dare to claims that my car are equipped with speed limiter...yes i do understand all the jdm car will have the limiter and limit up to 180 km/h...and for this wierdness of my car behaviour i have come here to seek all the senior and sifu's opinion...really hope all the seniors and sifu can teach me and providing me your valuable opinion. icon_question.gif
maybe you can do this, u see what is the rpm at top gear at maybe 100km/h and 150km/h? then we can calculate the estimated topspeed.
sleepwalker
post Jan 16 2012, 05:44 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 05:11 PM)

Well, for you to say that it happens at different speed means you don't have a speedcut anymore. Speedcuts always happen at the same speed and will not 'lari'. You can exclude speed cut from the weirdness of your car and seek other issues related to it. When you hit speedcut, it's not like a slight jerking anymore. It is almost like hitting an invisible wall because lifting the throttle at 180km/h produces quite a lot of engine braking. Also you are not suppose to hear any thump sound as the engine cuts off momentarily. Lifting your throttle at 180km/h does not produce thump sound which is the exact effect of the speedcut.

BTW, did you hold the engine on 4th gear to achieve your top speed? I have seen some people drive up to 180-190 on 4th and then shift to 5th and the speed drops as there's not enough power to push the car on 5th at that speed. The sound that you hear could be the shifting of the gears. What is your RPM at 190km/h?

Added on January 16, 2012, 5:56 pm
QUOTE(shaifulempty @ Jan 16 2012, 02:52 PM)
Bro Vervain...bro MeeToo mentioned his friend civic revert to normal state after the reflash...because of the "smart" ecu thingy by honda. I have install RSM as well.......but it won't work..i have install emanage blue already..but still won't work... icon_question.gif

Added on January 16, 2012, 2:54 pm
Bro ikiey..wohaaaa...your friend has a monster...i installed my emanage and rsm at jc racing..all the set up done by them..but still the cut off issue is still there... icon_question.gif
To remove the speedcut is a simple procedure of tricking the ECU by not allowing it to read the actual speed from the speedometer. The RSM sits inbetween the ECU and speedo and it relays a 'fake' speed to the ECU so that the ECU will not cut the speed. It is so simple that the RSM is installed by using vampire taps to connect to the speedo wire. It did not work for your car because.. like I said in the other post.. you don't have a speedcut.

I find it odd that people at JC Racing would install RSM for you unless they themselves believe that there is a speedcut. If there is a speedcut, why didn't the RSM work? It's only a simple procedure of tapping the wire which I can even do myself. Either way JC Racing seems to have screwed up. That is unlike them.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Jan 16 2012, 05:57 PM
calvin_gsc
post Jun 9 2012, 12:50 AM

10,261 posts

So there is not speed cut off? Max speed 190km/h for Honda City 5G?

0.0219sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:54 AM