128 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Mountain Biking Heaven V25.5, Noobs... go read page 1

xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 07:26 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

QUOTE(snapshots @ Jan 30 2012, 07:23 AM)
Santa cruz blur lt, meta am or 575 with alloy swing arm.blur lt gets my vote
between the 3...i choose Blur LT as well!

rclxms.gif
chamelion
post Jan 30 2012, 08:17 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Jan 30 2012, 12:19 AM)
Hmmmm yeah la...so far I googled its among the lightest...but one problem....Giant problem...hehehe I dont fancy it ...just my preference

Today I went to Specialized...waaaa...boxes of Stumpy arrived...26 some more...but no Evo...I wonder why  hmm.gif
For most all purpose ride, max is 5.75 FS. You will not need more unless u go for purist DH; else you will having very challenge ride as it's PITA is climb. Generally there is no lifter in Msia except in Bkt Ramli, so what come down must go up 1st (by pedaling).

Now even to decide between 5, 5.5 and 5.75 is VERY dif. blush.gif
chyu89
post Jan 30 2012, 08:27 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 30 2012, 07:23 AM)
If u ask me...
Skip the offer.

With the nomad u can enjoy going DH albeit a bit slow...
But with the Glory...i dun think u can enjoy riding uphill....

been there, done that, hate it.

ive used an XC, Trail/AM, DH, FR...
trust me...
A trail/AM is the best way to enjoy your weekend ride...
unless u r joining the DH fellas....then u have no choice la...

but to tell u frankly...
Glory is very hard to sell off...well not just glory...DH stuff in general...
if u plan to change bike in the future...skip the Glory...
enjoy uphill rclxm9.gif
Cyphereza
post Jan 30 2012, 08:40 AM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Jan 30 2012, 12:19 AM)
Hmmmm yeah la...so far I googled its among the lightest...but one problem....Giant problem...hehehe I dont fancy it ...just my preference

Today I went to Specialized...waaaa...boxes of Stumpy arrived...26 some more...but no Evo...I wonder why  hmm.gif
I think stumpy oso not bad. 2012 version iinm uses 142 rear hub.
Cyphereza
post Jan 30 2012, 01:14 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

26 lbs 11 oz = 12.1 kg with stock parts...
Proclaimer
post Jan 30 2012, 01:55 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 30 2012, 07:23 AM)
If u ask me...
Skip the offer.

With the nomad u can enjoy going DH albeit a bit slow...
But with the Glory...i dun think u can enjoy riding uphill....

been there, done that, hate it.

ive used an XC, Trail/AM, DH, FR...
trust me...
A trail/AM is the best way to enjoy your weekend ride...
unless u r joining the DH fellas....then u have no choice la...

but to tell u frankly...
Glory is very hard to sell off...well not just glory...DH stuff in general...
if u plan to change bike in the future...skip the Glory...
Hmm, been thinking bout the uphill part also rclxub.gif Stress. Wanting to try full DH rig to see how fast i can push down hill biggrin.gif

But i dont like the glory shape and silver colour icon_question.gif

Resell value is what i consider too.

Cyphereza
post Jan 30 2012, 02:17 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jan 30 2012, 01:55 PM)
Hmm, been thinking bout the uphill part also  rclxub.gif Stress. Wanting to try full DH rig to see how fast i can push down hill biggrin.gif

But i dont like the glory shape and silver colour  icon_question.gif

Resell value is what i consider too.
From all of your posts. Its better not to swap. If you wanna add another bike, its ok, but swap, nah. Don't go for it.
Ask yourself: Why would the Glory owner wants to swap in the first place?
tareh
post Jan 30 2012, 03:05 PM

131 posts

the glory u need to change the rear shock. a fox van ok la for goin over roots, and gnarly stuff - taking drops sure habis la.

and the glory is ONLY for DH. pure DH kakis. u know with a DH bike pedal frm kiara park to KSH also mau nangis, apa lagi for leisure ride.

stick with the nomad. or lower the stem and belasah DH. jangan lupa full face yeah
TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 03:14 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(majorsinbad @ Jan 29 2012, 06:09 PM)
Technical Question: Lightest 5-inch Frame/Bike

Guys anyone can share their 2 cents on this? No carbons please ...just good ol Alus...
Just wanna see which 5inch Travel Bike is the lightest

5 inch light bike will be giant trance, blur or yeti and Scott. Hehehee! Their diff only like 100-200gr

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 29 2012, 06:42 PM)
Intense Tracer 2!
i dunno la if its the lightest...but it's quite light...
trance super heavy la. And only u ride a trance

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 29 2012, 07:26 PM)
Wow! Very informative. Btw I'm still stuck with Yeti-SB66.. Can't resist the beauty although some peoples are complaining the durability of the eccentric pivot.
LoL! This week I go window shopping.  brows.gif
Don't wait. Better go buy since ur Scott still got value

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 29 2012, 07:53 PM)
once u see tracer 2....
SB66 is like ayam d!  whistling.gif
I prefer ayam than that trance

Major... Don't talk about weight. Just early morning before ride, go for a dump.
Heavier bike will give u better control. Climbing is depending on the geometry rather than the weight.
Of course, at the end, whether u carry 111kg or 115kg does make a slight diff. All u need is a bit of diet and a dump.

Light bikes on kiara trails not as fun as heavier bikes in kiara.
This is true story.

I'd go for 5 incher not because of weight but geometry.
U can ask reza too. We both were on trance 5 incher. Both r on am/enduro bike now.
So... Dig deep and know what u want.

anthony_nch82
post Jan 30 2012, 03:56 PM

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 30 2012, 03:14 PM)
5 inch light bike will be giant trance, blur or yeti and Scott. Hehehee! Their diff only like 100-200gr
trance super heavy la. And only u ride a trance
Don't wait. Better go buy since ur Scott still got value
I prefer ayam than that trance

Major... Don't talk about weight. Just early morning before ride, go for a dump.
Heavier bike will give u better control. Climbing is depending on the geometry rather than the weight.
Of course, at the end, whether u carry 111kg or 115kg does make a slight diff. All u need is a bit of diet and a dump.

Light bikes on kiara trails not as fun as heavier bikes in kiara.
This is true story.

I'd go for 5 incher not because of weight but geometry.
U can ask reza too. We both were on trance 5 incher. Both r on am/enduro bike now.
So... Dig deep and know what u want.
Well said. Expert is always Sifu whistling.gif

Got 1 noob question here sweat.gif : That is a lots of AM bike in the market.. For instance,
1) Yeti 575, AS-R, SB66
2) Giant Trance
3) Intense Tracer-2
4) Spec Enduro
5) SC Blur LT
6) Ibis Mojo
7) Trek Fuel EX, Trek Scratch
8) Commencal Meta AM
9) Others.... You name it....

I know that brand and setting are solely depends on personal preferences.
But is anyone here mind to comment on the bikes I listed above?
I just wants to know more on the personal review, experiences, price worthiness???
(Hopes to hear Tim, Xandman or Reza's comment) brows.gif

This post has been edited by anthony_nch82: Jan 30 2012, 03:57 PM
TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 04:09 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(anthony_nch82 @ Jan 30 2012, 03:56 PM)
Well said. Expert is always Sifu  whistling.gif

Got 1 noob question here  sweat.gif : That is a lots of AM bike in the market.. For instance,
1) Yeti 575, AS-R, SB66
2) Giant Trance
3) Intense Tracer-2
4) Spec Enduro
5) SC Blur LT
6) Ibis Mojo
8) Commencal Meta AM

I just wants to know more on the personal review, experiences, price worthiness???
(Hopes to hear Tim, Xandman or Reza's comment)  brows.gif
If we know or experienced all... There r few things about us.

Either we r a bike reviewer or we have nothing else better to do.

All brands have their own pros and cons. No brand dares to say their bike is the best as at the end, it is always falls back to the rider.

As mentioned... Design, look and color always play the biggest criteria to me.

Keep in mind, some makers make sole purpose bike and some try to make multi purpose bike.
At the end, u gain some, u lose some.

anthony_nch82
post Jan 30 2012, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 30 2012, 04:09 PM)
If we know or experienced all... There r few things about us.

Either we r a bike reviewer or we have nothing else better to do.

All brands have their own pros and cons. No brand dares to say their bike is the best as at the end, it is always falls back to the rider.

As mentioned... Design, look and color always play the biggest criteria to me.

Keep in mind, some makers make sole purpose bike and some try to make multi purpose bike.
At the end, u gain some, u lose some.
LoL! For me.. Gaya is more important..... doh.gif
Now I kena the poison for getting a longer travel bike. vmad.gif
chamelion
post Jan 30 2012, 04:45 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

Wat's ur budget?
TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 04:53 PM

4,504 posts

Oh... And I forgot...
The best is get a bike others can't get.
Hehehehehe!
anthony_nch82
post Jan 30 2012, 05:06 PM

QUOTE(chamelion @ Jan 30 2012, 04:45 PM)
Wat's ur budget?
Speaking about budget? I will be confused. rclxub.gif
Before I got my Scott Spark 60 2012. My budget was $2,500.00
After I few trips to Bikepro. I got a new bike for $5,000.00 plus. doh.gif

LoL! I can't resist the look. (Matt Black+Red) shakehead.gif
xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 05:27 PM

7,214 posts

Got 1 noob question here  sweat.gif : That is a lots of AM bike in the market.. For instance,
1) Yeti 575, AS-R, SB66
2) Giant Trance
3) Intense Tracer-2
4) Spec Enduro
5) SC Blur LT
6) Ibis Mojo
8) Commencal Meta AM

i just buy what looks good!
rclxms.gif

among all my bike...all look good except one...the banned shit!

so from this list...just get what looks the best to u!
performance wise all is almost at par...albeit some pros and cons of coz!

better still...
since u have UNLIMITED budget...
get something u dun see ppl riding or less ppl riding... brows.gif

This post has been edited by xandman: Jan 30 2012, 05:28 PM
kaizer
post Jan 30 2012, 05:29 PM

60 posts

Get a Canfield...
Cyphereza
post Jan 30 2012, 05:32 PM

Jedi Cat™
2,311 posts

1) Yeti 575, AS-R, SB66
2) Giant Trance
3) Intense Tracer-2
4) Spec Enduro
5) SC Blur LT
6) Ibis Mojo
8) Commencal Meta AM

Just make sure you get a bike which is future proof. Like get one with 142 rear thru axle. Don't go with models which use too much propriety stuffs. Will make you cry when you need to change that one propriety thing. For example, Giant Over Drive 2. And for the rear suspension, make sure Fox or RockShox has the length (eye-to-eye * stroke length) of that shock just in case you want to change or replace it later.
TStimothyy
post Jan 30 2012, 06:13 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jan 30 2012, 05:27 PM)
i just buy what looks good!
rclxms.gif

among all my bike...all look good except one...the banned shit!

so from this list...just get what looks the best to u!
performance wise all is almost at par...albeit some pros and cons of coz!

better still...
since u have UNLIMITED budget...
get something u dun see ppl riding or less ppl riding... brows.gif
Eh? How come I feel like I read this somewhere...
rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Jan 30 2012, 05:32 PM)
Just make sure you get a bike which is future proof. Like get one with 142 rear thru axle. Don't go with models which use too much propriety stuffs. Will make you cry when you need to change that one propriety thing. For example, Giant Over Drive 2. And for the rear suspension, make sure Fox or RockShox has the length (eye-to-eye * stroke length) of that shock just in case you want to change or replace it later.
142mm treaxle is future proof? I thought that is proprietary thingy?
Thing like 30mm seatpost... ? unsure.gif
xandman
post Jan 30 2012, 06:26 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 30 2012, 06:13 PM)
Eh? How come I feel like I read this somewhere...
rolleyes.gif
142mm treaxle is future proof? I thought that is proprietary thingy?
Thing like 30mm seatpost... ? unsure.gif
bcoz wise minds think alike? nod.gif
hahahahaha...

142 is considered future proof la...
since it is backward compatible maaa....
can use 135 oso...with spacers...
i think that is future proof la...

128 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0544sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:06 PM